Kelly's Derbyshire Directory 1891
Entries for the area of the Ancient Parish of Glossop.


Glossop (or Glossop Dale) is a municipal borough, market and union town, head of a county court district and petty sessional division, township and parish, on the borders of Cheshire, with a station, 192½ miles by rail from London by Great Northern railway, 9½ from Ashton, 24½ from Barnsley, 87 from Birmingham, 65 from Burton, 47 from Chesterfield, 58 from Derby, 41 from Doncaster, 87 from Leicester, 34 from Leek, 47 from Liverpool, 73¾ from Lincoln, 13 from Manchester, 20 from Macclesfield, 74 from Nottingham, 30 from Sheffield, 66¼ from Stafford, 10½| from Staleybridge, 11 from Stockport, 53 from Uttoxeter and 72 from Wolverhampton. It is in High Peak hundred and High Peak division of the county, rural deanery of Glossop, archdeaconry of Derby and diocese of Southwell. The Manchester, Sheffield and Lincolnshire Railway Company’s main line from Manchester to Sheffield is carried across Dinting Vale on a lofty viaduct of sixteen arches, constructed of stone, about a mile west from the Town hall, and there is a branch line from Dinting to Glossop and Hadfield. The parish contains the townships of Glossop Dale, Hadfield, Padfield, Whitfield, Charlesworth, Simmondley, Dinting, Chunal, Ludworth and Chisworth.
The borough is divided into three wards, viz. : All Saints, Hadfield and St. James’. The corporation consists of a mayor, 6 aldermen and 18 councillors, who act as the Urban Sanitary authority. The borough has a commission of the peace and a police force. The water supply, derived from Peaknase moors, is collected in reservoirs at Swineshaw. The town is supplied with gas by a company formed in 1845.
Portions of the old parish of Glossop All Saints, have been taken to form the ecclesiastical parishes of Whitfield, St. James’; Hadfield, St. Andrew’s, and Dinting, Holy Trinity. The ancient parish of Glossop also contains the old chapels of Hayfield and Mellor, the new parish churches of Charlesworth and New Mills, Whitfield, and the new district church of Limedale, comprising the townships of Chinley, Bugsworth and Brownside. The ancient parish church of All Saints was pulled down in 1830. The present church is a modern edifice of stone, in the Early Gothic style, consisting of a chancel, nave, surrounded on three sides by galleries, aisles, south porch, vestry, organ chamber, erected in 1877, and a western tower with spire, containing a clock and 8 bells, rehung in 1877 and a chiming apparatus attached, at a cost of £180; the spire was rebuilt in 1856: the stained east window is a memorial to a late Duke and Duchess of Norfolk, Robert Shepley esq. and John Wood esq. former benefactors : the old church plate bears date 1745, but in 1877 a new set of plate was contributed by the parishioners : in 1886 the nave was reseated with open benches by Daniel Wood esq. of Moorfield : the churchyard was closed against interments, with modifications, in 1857-8. The register dates from the year 1620. The living is a vicarage, average tithe rent-charge .£283, net yearly value £270, with residence, in the gift of Lord Howard of Glossop, and held since 1889 by the Rev. Adam Pyle Hamilton-Wilson, of Cambridge University.
The Rev. Christopher Howe, vicar 1793 to 1849. and for 40 years also incumbent of Woodhead, Cheshire, established a day school at Glossop, in which he personally taught, and partly rebuilt the parish church ; he died 1st Sept. 1849, in the 85th year of his age and the 57th of his vicariate of Glossop. Mr. Charles Winterbottom, for upwards of 60 years sexton and clerk of the parish of Glossop, died at the age of nearly 88 years.
The Primitive Methodist chapel, Shrewsbury street, built 1855, has 730 sittings ; the Unitarian chapel, Fitzalan street, built about 1873, 300 sittings; the Free Methodist chapel, Hall street, built in 1860, 450 sittings: there is also a Wesleyan chapel, in High street west, built 1860, with 1,500 sittings and one in Wesley street, built in 1813, with 400 sittings.
The Catholic chapel, dedicated to All Saints, a building in the Classic style, situated near Glossop Hall, was erected by Bernard Edward Duke of Norfolk, in 1837, and consists of chancel, nave and a belfry, containing one bell: over the altar is a fine copy of Domenichino’s “Communion of St. Hyronome,” the original of which is in the Vatican ; there are also valuable paintings representing the twelve apostles: there are 350 sittings.
There is a cemetery of 6 acres, formed in 1859, with mortuary chapels and under the control of a burial board of 9 members.
The Town Hall, with the Market House, was considerably enlarged in 1854.
The Free Library and Public Hall, Fauvel road, erected in 1887 by Herbert Rhodes esq. and Captain Edward Partington, at a cost of about £4,400, on a site given by Lord Howard of Glossop, is a building of stone in the Gothic style, containing a reading room and library of 530 volumes, lecture hall and a public hall: over the main entrance a tower with pinnacles rises to a height of about 80 feet.
There are Conservative and Liberal clubs, each having news and recreation rooms.
The Public Baths, Howard Park, erected in 1887, by Samuel Wood esq. and Mrs. Wood, of Talbot House, at a cost of about £15,000, comprise a swimming bath, four private baths for males and a like number for females, and vapour and Turkish baths: the buildings include a ventilating tower 100 feet high.
Two newspapers are published here on Friday.
Hero are cotton manufactories,and in the neighbourhood, calico printing establishments and paper mills: some of the former, and especially those of Messrs. John Wood and Bros. Limited, and Messrs. Francis Sumner and Co. Limited, are very extensive, employing in ordinary times from 5,000 to 6,000 workpeople. The first cotton mill was erected about the year 1784, but previously to this a few woollen factories and fulling mills had been in operation ; one of these, The Gnathole mill, now covered with ivy, still remains, but it is at present (1891) unoccupied.
At Dinting Vale are the large calico printing works developed by the skill and energy of the late Mr. E. Potter, and now carried on by Messrs. E. Potter and Co.
Hurst brook and Whitfield brook, two feeders of the Etherow, take their rise on the adjacent moors ; the water of the latter possesses bleaching properties, which was taken advantage of in establishing the works at Charlestown. There are quarries producing building and paving stone.
The principal market day is Saturday. Fairs are held on the 6th May, also the first Wednesday on or after the 10th day of October, for the sale of horses and cattle.
The L, M & N Companies of the 4th Volunteer Battalion, Cheshire Regiment, have head quarters in the town.
There are charities of £60 yearly value, distributed among the poor on St. Thomas’ day, in money and clothing, by two representatives of the eight original hamlets-of Glossop Dale.
The Wood’s Hospital, Howard Park, founded and endowed in 1887, by Daniel Wood esq. of Moorfield, at a cost of about £6,000, the endowment fund being £19,000, is a structure of brick, cased externally with stone, and comprises two male and two female wards, holding about 16 patients, with kitchens &c. and an administrative block, containing the offices, store rooms &c.: to the west of the hospital is a detached laundry, with lodge keeper’s residence.
Howard Park, North road, formed in 1887, at the joint expense of Lord Howard of Glossop, Samuel Wood esq. and Mrs. Wood, of Talbot House, is situated on an eminence, commanding a fine view of the town and neighbourhood ; it is about 12 acres in extent.
At Old Cross, Old Glossop, are the remains of an ancient stone cross, about 10 feet in height and still in a fair state of preservation.
Glossop Hall, the seat of the Right Hon. Lord Howard of Glossop, is a noble building, in the style of a French Château of the 18th century, and stands on gently rising ground above Howard Town, surrounded by trees : it was much enlarged and improved by Henry Charles, 13th Duke of Norfolk, grandfather of the present owner.
The town and hamlets now comprising the manor of Glossop appear to have been divided in the time of Edward the Confessor into several parts among different Saxon proprietors, but in the Domesday Survey the whole of Glossop is put down as forfeited to the Crown ; and the Conqueror afterwards gave it to his natural soil, William Peveril, whose son Richard, however, being disinherited by Henry I. Glossop was again confiscated to the Crown, and in 1157 was granted by Henry II. together with the advowson of the church to the Abbey of Basingwerke, “in free and perpetual alms for ever,” and this abbey had acquired before the 15th century nearly all the hamlets now comprising the Glossop estate; Glossop remained the property of Basingwerke Abbey till the dissolution of the lesser abbeys in 1536, when Henry VIII. seized it with other conventual property and afterwards granted it to the Earl of Shrewsbury, who in turn exchanged it with the Duke of Norfolk for estates in Ireland, and in this noble family it has remained to the present time: the present proprietor, lord of the manor and principal landowner, is the Right Hon. Lord Howard of Glossop J.P. cousin to the present Duke of Norfolk.
The land is partly moor and pasturage. The acreage is 40,136, being one of the largest parishes in England; of the township, 18,432; rateable value, £18,971; the population of the township in 1881 was 6,153 ; the population within the municipal borough in 1881 was 19,574 ; Glossop Dale population in 1881 was 21,393, including 4 officers and 61 inmates in the workhouse.
Parish Clerk, Johnson Hadfield.
Whitfield is a township, and in 1844 was formed into a parish ; it is 1 mile south from Glossop, and partly within the borough. This parish originally contained the whole of the townships of Chunal, Dinting and Hadfield, and parts of the townships of Glossop, Whitfield and Padfield, but it now comprises only the township of Chunal and parts of the townships of Glossop and Whitfield. The church of St. James is a building of stone, in the Early English style, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles and a western tower with spire and pinnacles containing 8 bells, added in 1884, and a clock placed in 1885 by Miss Wood, of Whitfield House: the organ, erected in 1860, was enlarged in 1879 and 1880.: the brass eagle lectern was presented by Miss Wood, of Whitfield House, in 1882; and two stained windows have also been inserted to the memory of John, Daniel and Samuel Wood: there are 1,100 sittings, 550 being free. The register dates from the year 1846. The living is a vicarage, gross yearly value £339, with residence, in the gift of the Wood family, and held since 1873 by the Rev. Charles Bruce Ward M.A. of Oriel College, Oxford, and rural dean of Glossop. The vicarage house, a stone building near the church, has been considerably enlarged since 1872. The Sumner Memorial Catholic church, Sumner street, dedicated to St. Mary, founded and endowed by the late Francis James Sumner esq. J.P. , D.C.L.. of Park Hall, Hayfield, and erected in 1887 by his heirs on a site granted by the Late Lord Howard of Glossop, at a cost of about £17,000, including £5,000 for endowment, is an edifice of local stone in the Early English style, consisting of apsidal chancel, clerestoried nave of eight bays, aisles, side chapels, baptistery, south porch and an eastern turret with spire and ornamental finial, rising to a height of 90 feet and containing one bell: a very handsome stone screen separates the chancel from the side chapels: the altar and tabernacle are elaborately carved in alabaster, marble and Caen stone : the pulpit is entirely of Caen stone: the organ cost about £500: stations of the cross were added in 1889 at a cost of about £150 : there are sittings for 900 persons. There is a Congregational chapel at Littlemoor, built in 1811, with 800 sittings; and one at Mount Pleasant, built in 1868, with 600 sittings; the Free Methodist chapel, built in 1854, has 400 sittings, and the Wesleyan chapel, built in 1832 and enlarged 1885, 400 sittings. Littlemoor Congregational schools, Victoria street, erected in 1881 at a cost, including fittings, of about £3,000, form a building of stone in the Italian style, and will hold 700 scholars ; the schools are also used for lectures and concerts, and can be arranged so as to seat 1,000 persons: the front entrance, facing Victoria street, is surmounted by a turret 75 feet high. Lord Howard of Glossop is lord of the manor and principal landowner. The inhabitants are employed in the large cotton and paper mills just outside the township and in the bleach works within its boundaries. The soil is various ; subsoil, clay. The chief crops are oats, hay and pasture. The acreage is 1,577; rateable value, £15,178 ; the population in 1881 was 7,854.
Charlestown is a place here.
Sexton, Thomas Marsden.
Wall Letter Box, cleared at 9.30 a.m. & 7 p.m.
Chunal is a township, 2 miles south from Glossop and partly within that borough, in the High Peak division of the county, hundred of High Peak, parish, petty sessional division, union and county court district of Glossop, and in the ecclesiastical parish of Whitfield. The acreage is 885; rateable value, £668 ; the population in 1881 was 98.
Dinting is a township, and was formed into a parish in 1875 ; it is partly in the borough of Glossop and has a station on the Manchester, Sheffield and Lincolnshire railway, 11¾ miles from Manchester. The church of the Holy Trinity, erected by the Wood family of Glossop, and opened July, 1875, is a building of stone in the Gothic style of the 13th century, and consists of apsidal chancel, nave, aisles, an organ chamber forming a transept on the south side, vestry and a tower at the west end of the south aisle, with pinnacles and an octagonal spire, reaching a height of 137 feet from the ground to the top of the vane, and containing 6 bells : the nave is divided from the aisles by circular stone piers, with moulded caps and bases : the pulpit of Caen stone and marble, was erected in memory of the patron and founder: the lectern is constructed of old oak from the old parish church of Bolton-le-Moors, and was presented by J. Hick esq.: the central window of the apse is a memorial to John H. Wood esq. d. 16 Dec. 1869, and was placed by his widow; the font, also presented by Mrs. Wood, consists of a basin of Caen stone on a shaft of red marble: the organ was presented by Mrs. Wood in 1882: the building has sittings for 630 persons, 90 of which are free. The register dates from the year 1875. The living is a vicarage, net yearly value £298, with residence, in the gift of the Wood family, and held since 1882 by the Rev. William John Canton. There is a Methodist New Connexion chapel, built in 1860, with sittings for 300 persons, 100 of which are free. The area is 586 acres ; rateable value, £7,307; the population in 1881 was 2,715.
Wall, Letter Box cleared at 8.30 a.m. & 6.30 p.m. & on Sundays at 5.15 p.m.
Brookfield is a hamlet 1 mile north of Dinting station. Here is a cotton mill. The Congregational chapel, erected in 1883, is a building of stone in the Early English style : all the windows are stained.
Gamesley is a hamlet 1 mile west of Dinting station. In the hamlet of Gamesley are the remains of a Roman camp, called by the country people from time immemorial “Melandra” and “Melandra Castle;” it stands on a bold eminence at the confluence of the Course Brook and the Etherow, and traces of walls and gates may be plainly discerned : tablets inscribed to Roman emperors, coins of the Emperor Domitian, a large sword and other objects of archaeological interest have been found here: the summit is still called “The Castle Yard,” and a tradition exists that Melandra was one of the Strongholds of the ancient British in the time of the Saxon invasion. On an opposite hill, called “Mousley,” is the site of another traditional castle. Some stones which came from Mousley Castle, inscribed with rude hieroglyphics, are still to be seen walled into the gable end of a house at Hadfield, and are evidently Runic. Both Melandra and Mousley lie on the Roman road from the camp of Mancunium (Manchester) to that of Ad Petuariam (Brough, near Castleton).
Hadfield is a township and in 1875, together with the chapelry of Padfield, was formed into a parish; it is on the borders of Cheshire, within the borough of Glossop and county court district of Glossop, 2 miles north-west from .Glossop, with a station on the Manchester and Sheffield railway. The church of St. Andrew, erected at a cost of about £4,250 and consecrated July 4th, 1874, is a building in the Gothic style, consisting of apsidal chancel, nave, aisles, south porch, south transept, baptistery, organ chamber and a central bell turret containing one bell: the font, worked in native stone, was presented in 1874 by Mr. James Sherriff, of Christ Church, Canterbury, New Zealand, and formerly of Hadfield, and had previously been exhibited at the Colonial exhibition, Victoria: the richly-embroidered communion cloth was presented by the Rev. C. B. Ward M.A. vicar of Whitfield and the credence table by Mr. Braddock, churchwarden: a new organ was erected in 1879, at a cost of about £650, by James Sidebottom esq. J.P. of Millbrook, Hadfield, as a memorial to his wife: there are 538 sittings. The register of baptisms dates from July 5th, 1874, and of marriages from August, 1875. The living is a vicarage, gross yearly value £265, in the gift of five trustees, and held since 1875 by the Rev. Joseph Hadfield, of St. Bees. The Catholic church, dedicated to St. Charles Borromeo, is an edifice of stone, in the Early English style, erected in 1858 by the late Lord Howard of Glossop, and consisting of nave, aisles, sacristy, baptistery and a western tower containing one bell, a memorial to the late Father McDonnell: the beautifully carved high altar of stone was erected in memory of the late Father Hickey : in the church are several figures carved in stone and many valuable oil paintings, one of these, a copy of Raphael’s “Transfiguration,” being placed above the high altar: the church contains several monuments of the Howard family. Adjoining is a presbytery, occupied by the Very Rev. Canon Hermann J. Sabela, priest, The convent of Sisters of Charity of St. Paul, a fine building, was erected in 1887 on the south side of the church, at the cost of John Dalton esq. of Rose Bank, Hollingworth. The Wesleyan chapel, built in 1878, has 713 sittings; the Primitive Methodist chapel, built in 1876, has 500 sittings; the Free Methodist chapel, built in 1876 and enlarged in 1885, seats 280. There are several cotton mills, in which the population are employed, and political clubs with news and amusement rooms. Hadfield Hall, the ancient mansion of the Hadfields of Hadfield, dating from 1646, has been converted into a couple of cottages; some years ago the handsome black oak carving was taken down and erected in a farm house on the Glossop estate. The township contains 357 acres; rateable value, £9,749 ; the population in 1881 was 5,934.
Post, M. O. & T.O., S. B. & Annuity Office. - Squire Garlick, postmaster. - Letters received via Manchester. Delivery, 7.15a.m. 3 & 5.15 p.m.; dispatch, 10.20 a.m. 1 & 7.20 p.m.; Sunday, dispatched 7.15 p.m. Money orders granted & paid & savings bank business transacted from 9 a.m. Till 6.30 p.m.; on Saturdays till 8p.m. Wall Letter Boxes :- Hadfield cross, cleared 7.50 a.m. & 5.40 p.m.; Station road, cleared 7.40 a.m. & 5.30 p.m.
Padfield, adjoining Hadfield station, miles north-west from Glossop and partly within that borough, in the High Peak division of the county, hundred of High Peak, parish, union, petty sessional division and county court district of Glossop, is included in the ecclesiastical parish of St. Andrew’s, Hadfield. The Wesleyan chapel, erected with Sunday school in 1880 at a cost of £2,000, will seat 400 persons. The population are employed in the cotton mills. The acreage is 643 ; rateable value, £17,855 ; the population in 1871 was 1,687, and in 1881 2,485.
Letters through Manchester via Hadfield arrive at 6.45 a.m. 3 & 5 p.m. Wall Letter Box cleared at 8 a.m. & 6 p.m.
Official Establishments, Local Institutions &c.
Post, M. O. & T. O., S. B. & Insurance & Annuity Office, Norfolk square. - Miss Sarah Elizabeth Woodhead, postmistress. Letters arrive via Manchester at 6.30 a.m. & 2.55 & 5 p.m.; dispatched to Manchester & all parts at 10.20 a.m. & 1.20, 5, 7.25 & 9.30 p.m. Money order office & post office savings bank open from 9 a.m. to 6.30 p.m.; on Saturdays from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. Telegraph office open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Wall Letter Boxes :- Old Glossop, cleared at 9 a.m. & 6 p.m.; Rose green, 9.10 a.m. & 6.10 p.m.; Princess street, 9.20 a.m. & 6.50 p.m.; Simmondley lane, 8.30 a.m. & 6.30 p.m.; Railway station, 9.45 a.m. & 7 p.m. ; Brookfield, 7.50 a.m. & 6 p.m., sun. 8.30 a.m.; Gamesley, 8.15 a.m. & 6.15 p.m.; sun. 9 a.m.
County Magistrates.
Howard of Glossop Lord, Glossop hall, Glossop, chairman
Rhodes Wm. Shepley esq. Mersey bank, Hadfield, Manchester
Sidebottom James esq. Millbrook, Hollingworth, Manchester
Sidebottom Lieut.-Col. William M.P. Harewood lodge, Broadbottom, Cheshire
Sidebottom Tom Harrop esq. M.P. Etherow house, Hollingworth, Manchester
Clerk to the Magistrates, Thos. Michael Ellison, Ellison st
Petty Sessions are held at the Town hall at intervals of two or three weeks, at 10.30 a.m. Thursdays. The following places are included in the division:—Charlesworth, Chisworth, Chunal, Compstall Bridge, Glossop, Ludworth, Marple Bridge, Mellor & Simmondley
Borough Magistrates.
The Mayor & the Ex-mayor
Partington Capt. Edward, Easton, High street east
Rhodes Herbert
Rhodes James, 25 Victoria street
Rowbottom Samuel, Shipley street
Sidebottom James
Sidebottom Lieut.-Col. William M.P. Harewood lodge, Broadbottom, Cheshire
Stafford Joseph, 61 Norfolk street
Weetman John Aloysius, Wren Nest house
Clerk, Thomas Michael Ellison, Ellison street
The magistrates meet at Town hall every mon. 3.30 p.m.
Corporation - 1890-1.
Mayor - William Dawson esq
Deputy Mayor- John Hadfield
Edward Wooley, Samuel Rowbottom, Henry Buckley retire 1893
Joseph Stafford, James Sidebottom, Joseph Buckley retire 1896
All Saints’ Ward.
†Samuel Sidebottom, †John Hadfield, †Thomas Rawstorne, †Luke Darwent, *John Barnes, *Benjamin Platt
St. James’ Ward.
†Alfred Leech, †Charles Harrison, ‡Capt. Edward Partington, ‡William McMellon, *Thomas Pearson Hunter
Hadfield Ward.
†William Dawson, †Herbert Rhodes, ‡William Sargentson, ‡Fletcher Rigge, *William S. Rhodes, *James Sargentson
Marked thus † retire in 1891. Marked thus ‡ retire in 1892. Marked thus * retire in 1893.
Officers of the Corporation and Urban Sanitary Authority.
Town Clerk, Clerk to the Urban Sanitary Authority & School Attendance Committee, Thomas Michael Ellison, Ellison street
Borough Treasurer, W. H. Hollingbery, Norfolk square
Assistant Treasurer, T. S. Bowden, Norfolk square
Medical Officer of Health, James Rhodes, 25 Victoria street
Public Analyst, J. Carter Bell, Manchester
Surveyor, Thomas Haynes, Town hall
School Attendance Officer, Thomas Rhodes, Hollincross st
Water Inspector, John Garner, 46 Church street
Head Constable & Inspector of Weights & Measures, William Henry Hodgson, Ellison street
Inspector of Police, Ernest Charlton, Hadfield
Sanitary & Lighting Inspector, Samuel Dane, Primrose lane
Collectors, General District Rate, H. G. Maulkinson, Padfield; Borough & Watch, James Bridge, Hadfield place; Water, Thomas Nield, Norfolk street; Highway, W. McNath, Hadfield
Public Establishments.
Borough Police Office, Ellison street, William Hy. Hodgson, head constable; 3 sergeants & 14 constables
Borough Police Station, Albert street, Hadfield, Ernest Charlton, inspector, & 4 constables
Cemetery, Cemetery road, Hadfield, Thomas Michael Ellison, clerk to the burial board
Cheshire Regiment 4th Volunteer Battalion (L, M & N Companies), Glossop detachment, Drill hall; Capt. John Wood, commanding detachment; Lieut. Arthur Sidebottom, commanding M Co. ; Lieut. S. H. Wood, commanding N Co. ; W. E. S. Burnett L.R.C.P.Edin. surgeon; Rev. C. B. Ward M.A. chaplain ; Edwd. Sampson, sergeant instructor
County Court, His Honor Thomas Ellison, judge; John Hibbert, registrar & high bailiff; Arthur Moore, assistant registrar & deputy high bailiff; office, Norfolk square, open from 10 to 4, on Saturdays from 10 till 1. The county court is held at the Town hall & comprises the following parishes :- Armfield & district of Tintwistle, Brownside, Charlesworth, Chisworth, Chunal, Dinting, Gamesley, Glossop, Hadfield, Hollingworth, Kinder, Padfield, Rhodes, Phoside, Rowarth, Saltersbrook, Simmondley, Torside, Waterside, Whitfield, Woodhead & Wooley Bridge
Certified Bailiffs under the Law of Distress Amendment Act, Samuel Hollinworth, 1A, Victoria street & Robert Wooley Sykes, 9 Norfolk square
Free Library & Public Hall, Fauvel road
Howard Park, North road
Inland Revenue Office, Slatelands road, Thomas Kamester, officer
Public Baths, Howard park
Town Hall, High street west
Wood’s Hospital, Howard park, Albert Andrew L.K.Q.C.P.Irel., William Henry Hunt, Duncan John Mackenzie M.D., C.M., James Rhodes, William White M.D., C.M., James Harold Wylde L.K.Q.C.P.Irel., W. E. S. Burnett L.R.C.P.Edin., Bennett Ralph Sidebottom L.R.C.P.Edin. medical officers ; T. S. Bowden esq. hon. sec.; Miss Ellen Warrener, matron
GIossop Union.
Board day every alternate Wednesday at 3 p.m.
Glossop union comprises the following places :- Charlesworth, Chisworth, Chunal, Dinting, Glossop or Glossop Dale, Hadfield, Ludworth, Padfield, Simmondley & Whitfield; the population of the union in 1881 was 23,550; rateable value in 1890, £82,875
Clerk to Guardians & Assessment Committee, Thomas Swindells Bowden, 3 Wellgate, Glossop
Treasurer, William Henry Hollingbery, Norfolk sq.
Glossop Assistant Overseers, David Massey, High street east & Jesse Higginbotham, Ludworth
Collector, James Bridge, 11 Hadfield place, Hadfield
Relieving Officer & Vaccination Officer, John Wood Bowden, Fitzalan street, Glossop
Medical Officers & Public Vaccinators, Glossop district, Wm. Henry Hunt, Norfolk street, Glossop ; Whitfield district, James Rhodes, 25 Victoria street, Glossop
Superintendent Registrar, Henry Barber, New Mills; deputy, A. Barber, New Mills
Registrar of Births, Deaths & Marriages, Glossop sub-district, Thomas Swindells Bowden, 3 Wellgate, Glossop
Workhouse, to hold 144 inmates, George Hadfield, master; W. H. Hunt, surgeon; Mrs. Hadfield, matron
Rural Sanitary Authority.
Meets at the Workhouse on every alternate wed. at 3 p.m.
Clerk, Thomas Swindells Bowden, 3 Wellgate, Glossop
Treasurer, William Henry Hollingbery, Norfolk sq. Glossop
Medical Officer of Health, Jas. Rhodes, Victoria st. Glossop
Inspector of Nuisances, William McMath, Hadfield
School Attendance Committee.
Meets at the Workhouse on wed. in each month at 4 p.m. Clerk, Thomas Swindells Bowden, 3 Wellgate, Glossop
Public Officers.
Assistant Overseer, David Massey, 62 High street east
Coroner for the Peak Hundreds, Charles Davis, 6 Market st
Stamp Distributor, Miss S. E. Woodhead, Post office, Norfolk square
Town Crier, John Dyson, 213A, High street
Places of Worship, with times of services.
Parish Church, Rev. Adam Pyle Hamilton-Wilson, vicar; 10.30 a.m. & 6.30 p.m. ; wed. 7.30 p.m.
Holy Trinity, Dinting, Rev. William John Canton, vicar;10.30 a.m. & 6.30 p.m. ; wed. 7.30 p.m.
St. James’, Whitfield, Rev. Charles Bruce Ward M.A. vicar; Rev. Edward Thomas Taylor, curate ; 10.30 a.m.& 6.30 p.m.; daily 9.30 a.m.; wed. & fri. 7.30 p.m.
St. Andrew, Hadfield, Rev. Joseph Hadfield, vicar; 10.30 a.m. & 6.30 p.m.; wed. 7.30 p.m.
All Saints’ Catholic, Rev. Henry Koerfer, priest; 9.30 & 11 a.m. & 6.30 p.m.
Sumner Memorial Church, Catholic (St. Mary’s), Sumner st. Very Rev. Canon Charles W. Tasker & Rev. John Burns, priests; 8.30, 9.30 & 11 a.m. & 6.30 p.m. ; daily at 3 a.m. ; thurs. 7.30 p.m.
Congregational, Littlemoor, Rev. William Latham Parker; 10.30 a.m. & 6.30 p.m.; wed. 7.30 p.m. Congregational, St. Mary’s road, Rev. James Kendal Kirby, minister ; 10.30 a.m. & 6 p.m. ; wed. 7.30 p.m.
Free Methodist Church, Hall street, Rev. John Augustus Watts, minister; 10.30 a.m. & 6 p.m. ; alternate wed. 7.30 p.m.
Primitive Methodist, Shrewsbury street, Rev. John Farr, minister; 10.30 a.m. & 6 p.m.; wed. 7.30 p.m.
Reformers, Howard street, Rev. Thomas Bromage, minister; 10.30 a.m. & 6 p.m. ; wed. 7.30 p.m.
St. James’ Mission Room, George street, ministers various; 3.15p.m
St. Paul’s Mission Room, High street west, ministers various; 3 p.m.
Talbot Street Mission Room, Rev. Edward Thomas Taylor; 3.15 p.m. & 6.30 on second & last Sundays in the month
United Methodist Free Church, Whitfield, Rev. John Aug. Watts, minister ; 3.30 & 6 p.m.; thurs. 7.30 p.m.
Unitarian, Fitzalan street, Rev. R. Lembley, minister; 10.45 a.m. & 6.30 p.m.
Wesleyan, High street west, Rev. John Nowell & Rev. Joseph Watkinson, ministers; 10.30 a.m. & 6 p.m.; thurs. 7.30 p.m. ; Wesley street, 10.30 a.m. & 6 p.m.; thurs. 7.30 p.m. ; Whitfield, 2.30 & 6 p.m.; wed. 7.30 p.m.
Endowed, Old Glossop, with master’s residence, built & endowed in 1853 by Henry Charles, 13th Duke of Norfolk, & enlarged in 1887, for 250 boys, 250 girls & 100 infants ; average attendance, 110 boys, 70 girls & 65 infants; Arthur Henry Roberts, master ; Miss Ada J. Ward, mistress ; Miss Mary Mycroft, infants’ mistress
Endowed,Whitfield (mixed),with master’s residence,founded in 1779 by Joseph Hague esq. of Park hall, Hayfield, & endowed with £39 yearly,for 144 children; average attendance, 135; Walter P. Evason, master; Mrs. Elizabeth Ann Evason, mistress
Infants’, Waterside, Hadfield, built in 1872, for 170 children; average attendance, 136 ; Miss Ruth Turner, mistress
National (mixed), Dinting, built in 1875 & enlarged by Mrs. Wood in 1887, for 450 children & 150 infants; average attendance,252 children & 39 infants; John Henry Ogden, master; Miss Clara Riley, mistress ; Miss Ada B. Consterdine, infants’ mistress
National, Hadfield (mixed), erected 1835, for 550 children; average attendance, 334; Alfred Walker, master
National, Talbot street (girls & infants), built in 1880 for 250 children; average attendance, 162 ; Miss Jane Tattersall, mistress
National, Whitfield (mixed), for 560 children ; average attendance, 340 ; George Edward Cox, master ; Misses S. A. Morriss, A. Green & J. B. Shepley, mistresses
Day School, Padfield (mixed), erected 1887,for 217 children; average attendance, 197 ; William Lees Marshall, master
Congregational,Victoria street (mixed), built in 1881, for 700 children; average attendance, 270; Mr. Joseph Walkden, master ; Miss M. I. G. Scafe, infants' mistress
Catholic, St. Mary’s rd. for 200 children ; average attendance, 180; Sisters of the Order of St. Paul, teachers
Catholic, Old Glossop (mixed), for 100 children; average attendance, 60 ; Sisters of the Order of St. Paul, teachers
Catholic, Hadfield (mixed), for 200 children ; average attendance, 130; Sisters of the Order of St. Paul, teachers
Wesleyan, High street (mixed & infants), erected 1851 for 298 children ; average attendance, 78 boys, 61 girls & 80 infants; James Parker, master; Miss Annie Kippax, infants’ mistress
Wesleyan, Old Glossop (mixed), erected 1824, rebuilt 1876, for 225 children ; average attendance, 146; Thomas R. Haigh, master ; Miss Alice Ann Adshead, mistress
Wesleyan, Hadfield (mixed), erected 1808, enlarged 1822 & rebuilt 1854, for 300 children ; average attendance, 200 ; James Nelson, master ; Miss Maria Nelson, mistress
An omnibus runs from Glossop Town, hall to Hollingworth, about three times daily
Railway Stations.
Glossop, Joseph Sutcliffe, station master
Dinting, William Vernon, station master
Hadfield, Richard Bratherton, station master

Andrew Albert, 16 High street west
Andrew Walter, 53 Hollin Cross lane
Armitage Mrs. 77 Norfolk street
Armitage Mrs. 41 Norfolk street
Band Henry, Slatelands road
Bennett Miss, 88 St. Mary’s road
Black Capt. James, 14 Wesley street
Boote Jas. Percival,Holm dale, North rd
Booth William Alfred, Slatelands Road
Booth Wright, Rose cottage, North rd
Bowden John, Surrey street
Bowden Thomas Swindells, 3 Wellgate
Bowden William, 102 St. Mary’s road
Bramall William, 16 Hollin Cross lane
Broadhurst Harry, 51 Pike’s lane
Bromage Rev. Thomas [Wesleyan Reform Union], Hollin Cross lane
Burns Rev. John [Catholic], Sumner st
Charlesworth Alfred, 26 Howard street
Collier James, 44 Sheffield road
Cox George Edward, Rose cottage, Hollin Cross lane
Darwent Thomas, Hall street
Darwent William Henry, 21 Lord street
Davis Charles, Hurst
Dearnaley Jsph. Parkfield ho. North rd
Dickenson-Knowles Mrs. Holly bank, Talbot road
Elliott William, 69 Surrey street
Ellison Thos. Michl. Ryecroft ho. Hall st
Evason Henry Edward, 53 Norfolk st
Evason Walter P. 14 Hague street
Evason William, 53 Norfolk street
Eversden John William, 17 Lord street
Eversden William, 2 Railway street
Fairclough Walter P. MUS. BAC., F.C O. 4 Bank street
Farr Rev, John [Prim. Meth.], 1 Shrewsbury street
Fielding Christopher, 69 Norfolk street
Fielding Henry, 39 Norfolk street
Fielding Samuel, 9 Gladstone street
Garside Alfred, Surrey street
Garside Benjamin, 71 Norfolk street
Garside Cyrus, 56 Surrey street
Gillies Robert, 85 Primrose lane
Glover Rev. Wm. [Cong. ], 90 St. Mary’s rd
Greaves William, 37 Norfolk street
Hadfield Charles, Viaduct house
Hadfield Francis Charles John, Hillside, North road
Hadfield Henry, Cowbrook
Hadfield Joseph, 73 Norfolk street
Hadfield Misses, Lees hall, Turn Lee
Hadfield Mrs. Holly Mount, Norfolk st
Hadfield Thomas, 75 Norfolk street
Haigh Thomas R. 13 Norfolk street
Hall William, Sunny bank, North road
Hamilton-Wilson Rev. Adam Pyle [vicar of Glossop], The Vicarage
Hampson Joseph, 5 Bank terrace
Hampson Mrs. Highfield ho. Talbot rd
Hardman Henry Charles, Hurst
Hardman John, 47 Norfolk street
Hawke Francis, Spire Hollin house
Hawke Robert G. Spire Hollin house
Higginbottom Charles, 113 Victoria st
Hollingbery John Kidd, The Bank, Norfolk square
Hollingbery Wm. Hy. The Bank, Norfolk sq
Howard of Glossop Lord J.P. Glossop hall; & Dorlin, Loch Sheil, Scotland; & 19 Rutland gate, London s w
Howard William, 15 Primrose lane
Howarth Mrs. 100 St. Mary’s road
Hunt William Henry, Norfolk street
Hunter Thomas Pearson, Talbot road
Hurst John, 43 Sheffield road
Hyde William, 15 Sumner street
Jackson Walter, Hobroyd
Kirby Rev. James Kendal [Congregational], 27 Norfolk street
Koerfer Rev, Henry [Catholic], Royle house, Old Glossop
Lawton Mrs. 51 Norfolk street
Leech Alfred, Cowbrook cottage, Sheffield road
Lembley Rev. R. [Unitarian], Lord st
Lomas Mrs. 20 Howard street
Mackenzie Duncan John M.D. 64 & 66 High street west
Mather William, John street
Merry James, 86 St. Mary’s road
Mitchell Julian, 35 Norfolk street
Moran Frederick W. G. Arundel villas, North road
Moran Mrs. 15 Norfolk street
Nelson James, Milford house, North rd
Newton Mrs. Arundel villas, North rd
Nowell Rev. John [Wesleyan], 1 Alexander villas, Talbot road
Nuttall James, Sheffield road
Nuttall Laurence, Sheffield road
Parker James, 98 St. Mary’s road
Parker Rev. William Latham [Congregational], Littlemoor manse
Partington Captain Edward J.P. Easton High street east
Pennington Miss, 57 Norfolk street
Pettit Edwin Walter, 12 Howard street
Pilkington Peter, 3 Bank terrace
Potts Joseph, 42 Sheffield road
Potts Mrs. 28 Talbot street
Proctor Miss, 57 Norfolk street
Rawstorne Thomas, 28 High street east
Rhodes James, 25 Victoria street
Rhodes John, 127 Victoria street
Robinson Miss, Cowbrook
Robinson Ralph Bernard, 17 Arundel st
Rowbottom John, 31 Hall street
Rowbottom Samuel, Shepley street
Schofield Alfred Ernest, Surrey street
Sheppard Mrs. 23 Norfolk street
Sidebottom Ralph Bennett, 20 Hollin Cross lane
Slack Mrs. Ryecroft cottage, Hall st
Smith Alfred Blades, 8 Hague street, Whitfield
Stafford Joseph, 61 Norfolk street
Sutliffe —, Slatelands road
Swire Mrs. 6 Spire Hollin
Swire Thomas, 8 Spire Hollin
Sykes Sl. Wm. Bennett, 84 St, Mary’s rd
Tasker Very Rev. Canon Charles W. [Catholic], Sumner street
Taylor David, 55 Norfolk street
Taylor Rev. Edward Thomas [curate of St. James’], 3 Bank terrace
Thorp Walter, Talbot road
Thorp William, 96 St. Mary’s road
Torkington William, 59 Norfolk street
Tweedale John William, 45 Norfolk st
Tweedale Mrs. 43 Norfolk street
Wagstaffe John, Hollywood, Sheffield road
Walton Mrs. Moorside
Walton William, Lord street
Ward Rev. Charles Bruce M.A. [vicar], Whitfield
Warhurst Mrs. 24 Howard street
Watkinson Rev. Joseph [Wesleyan], 2 Alexander villas, Talbot road
Watts Rev. John Augustus [Methodist Free Church], 45 Sheffield road
Weetman John Aloysius, Wren Nest ho
Wilkinson Thomas, 2 Sheffield road
Wilson James, 33 Hall street
Wood John M.A., D.L., J.P. Whitfield ho
Wood Mrs. 38 Kershaw street
Wood Mrs. Samuel, Talbot house
Woodcock George, 43 Norfolk street
Wragg Mrs. 63 Norfolk street
Wyatt Mrs. Charlestown villa
Adshead Joseph & Son, house decorators, 40 High street east
Allen Edward, mill manager, Turn Lee
Allen Michael, beer retailer, 64 Chapel st
Amps & Shelton (Misses), ladies’ school, Primrose house
Andrew Albert L.K.Q.C.P.Irel. Physician, 16 High street west
Andrew Walter (sec. to Olive & Partington), 53 Hollin Cross lane
Armitage Charles Henry, grocer, 93 High street west
Armitage Mary (Mrs.), draper, 84 High street west
Armitage Jn. fruiterer,82 High st. west
Arrowsmith James, clog & pattern maker, 132 High street west
Ashcroft Mary (Mrs.) & Jane (Miss), dress & mantle makers, 98 Victoria st
Ashton Geo. drapr. & grcr. 8 Gladstone st
Ashton Matthew, umbrella maker, 44 High street west
Ashton Robert, joiner, 14 Wood street
Atkin Eliza (Miss), shopkeeper, 27 St. Mary’s road
Atkin William Edward, coal merchant, 36 St. Mary’s road & Railway yard
Atkinson Mary (Mrs.), beer retailer & builder, Old Cross
Atkinson Wm. grocer, 117 High St. we
Aveson Benjamin, watch repairer, 18 Primrose lane
Axon Joshua, newsagt. 242 High st. we
Bagshaw Henry, small ware dealer, 123 St. Mary’s road
Bailey Thomas, shopkeeper, 8 Chapel st
Bamforth Caroline & Alice (Misses), confectioners, 136 Victoria street
Bamforth & Barber (Misses), dress makers & shopkprs. 1 Whitfield Cross
Bamforth Sam, ironworks manager, 83 Surrey street
Bamforth Wm. coal dlr. 13 Free town
Band Charles Downs, mason & builder, 27 Sheffield road
Barber Albert, hair dresser, umbrella maker & furniture dealer, 6 Norfolk st
Barber Alice (Miss), confectioner, 92 High street west
Barber Elizabeth Mary (Miss), confectioner, 20 Church street
Barber & Siddall (Misses), shopkeepers, 16 Hope street
Barber Joe, shopkeeper, 16 Hall street
Barlow Betty (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 91 Victoria street
Barnes Jas. & Son, drapers & milliners, 31 & 33 High street west
Barnes William, grocer & corn dealer, 65 High street west
Barratt John, mill manager, 15 Lord st
Bates Herbt. tripe dealer, 13 Hadfield. pl.
Batty George, joiner, 45 Chapel street
Beard Eliza Ann (Mrs.), news agent, 44 St. Mary’s road
Beard James, farmer, Whitfield moor
Beard John drpr. & millinr. 3 High st. we
Beard John, tripe dealer, 134 High st. we
Beeley James, farmer, Moorfield
Beeley Joshua, yeoman, Moorfield
Beeley Nanny (Mrs.), Howard Arms P.H. 17 High street
Beeley Robert, yeoman, Moorfield
Beeley Samuel, draper, 18 High St. east
Bennett James, Arundel Arms P.H. Cemetery road
Bennett Joseph, farmer, 16 Hague st
Bennett Rt. pork butcher, 96 Victoria St
Bennett Robert, shopkeeper & beer retailer, 28 Freetown
Bennett William, butcher, 6 Bennett’s fold, Sheffield road
Bentley Joseph, farmer, Heath
Benton Wm. stone mason, 4 Mount st
Berry Joshua, coal dlr. 52 High st. east
Bill Posting & Advertising Co. Limited (John Kidd Hollingbery, see.), Howard chambers, Howard street
Blackwell Durward, pork butcher, 20 Well gate
Blackwell Samuel, brass & iron founder, George street
Boote James Percival, manager of the Manchester & County Bank High st. we
Boardman William Hyde, shoeing & jobbing smith, High street east
Boon Thomas, shopkeeper, 70 Freetown
Booth Eli, shopkeeper, Hall street
Booth Eliza (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 79 Gladstone street
Booth John, beer retailer, 14 Milltown
Booth Mary (Mrs.), shpkpr. 19 Arundel st
Booth Nancy (Mrs.), farmer, Hobroyd
Booth Wright, brewery traveller, Rose cottage, North road
Bottomley William Henry, grocer & corn dealer, 11 High street east
Bowden Jas. Fishmonger. 70 Charlestown rd
Bowden Jn. beer retailer, 11 Chapel st
Bowden John, hardware dealer & tripe dresser, 1 Collier street
Bowden John Wood, relieving & vaccination officer, 1 Fitzalan street
Bowden Joseph, grocer, 36 Church st
Bowden Sl. confectioner, 109 High St. ea
Bowden Samuel, farmer, Heath
Bowden S1. shopkpr. 199 High st. east
Bowden Thomas Swindells, registrar of births, deaths & marriages, & clerk to the guardians, school attendance & assessment committees, & rural sanitary authority, 3 Well gate
Bowden Wm. Joiner & builder Bernard st
Bowden William Henry, builder & timber merchant, Howard street
Bowker Wm. dry soap manfr. The Bank
Bradbury —, shopkpr. 10 Gladstone st
Bradbury Chas. butcher, 141 Victoria st
Bradbury Eliza (Mrs.), grocer, 16 Princess street
Bradbury Jn. Commercial inn, 137 Hall st
Bradbury Joseph, farmer, Whitfield grn
Bradbury Martha (Mrs.), grocer, 1 Charlestown road
Bradbury Robt. hair dresser, 6 Victoria st
Bradbury Thomas, chemist & dentist, 1 High street west
Bradbury Wm. gamekeeper Sheffield rd
Bradbury William George, painter, 133 High street east
Braddock Eli, comsn. agt. 73 High st. ea
Bradley Geo. beer retailer, 5 Bernard st
Bradley Ralph, beer retlr. 99 High st. ea
Bradwell Louisa (Mrs.), dress maker, 204 High street west
Bramhall Jabez, confetnr. 131 High st. we
Bramhall Thomas, confectioner, High street & beer retailer, Market street
Bramwell Luke, confctnr. 98 High st. we
Bramwell Thos. shopkpr. 36 Norfolk st
Bramwell Walter, tripe dresser, 88 Victoria street
Bridge James, borough & watch rate collector & collector to the union, 11 Hadfield place
Bridge Thos. Globe inn, 144 High St. we
Briggs & Jowett (Misses), confectioners, 46 High street west
Broadhurst Elizabeth Ann (Miss), dress maker, 10 John street
Brooks & Co. boot & shoe makers, 112 High street west
Brooks Geo. greengrocer, 96 High st. we
Brooks Wm. shopkeeper, 3 Railway st
Buckley Jsph. pawnbrkr. 13 High st. we
Buckley Jsph. Edwn. grcr. 267 High st. we
Buckley Noah, farmer, Bridgefield
Buckley Wm. sltr. &plasterer, 23Mount st
Bunting Jsph. hair dressr. 13 Victoria st
Bunting Joseph Hague, photographer, 103 Victoria street
Burkhard Chas. pork btchr. 87High st. we
Burns Edward, shopkpr. 23 High St. ea
Burns Mary(Mrs.), shopkpr. 29 Hague st
Buxton Bennett, farmer, Jumble
Buxton Bennett,farmer, Whitfield Barn
Buxton James, farmer, Cross Cliffe
Campbell David. butter mer. 72 High st. ea
Campbell David, jun. commercial traveller, 72 High street east
Carrington Wm. shopkpr. 64 Victoria st
Cemetery (Hadfield) (Thomas Michael Ellison, clerk to the burial board); offices, Ellison street
Chadwick John, outfitter 41, grocer & draper 363, High street west; & pawnbroker, 2 Cross street
Charlesworth Jn. Builder, Shrewsbury st
Charlesworth Wm. btchr. 244 High st. we
Cheshire Regiment 4th Volunteer Battalion (L, M & N Companies), Glossop Detachment (John Wood, capt. commandant; Lieut. Arthur Sidebottom, commanding M Co. ; Lieut. Samuel Hill Wood, commanding N Co. ; Dr. Burnett, surgeon; Sergt.-Instructor, Edward Sampson); head quarters, Drill hall
Clegg Lewis, com. trav. 14 Hollin Cross la
Cluskey Elizabeth (Mrs.), furniture dealer, 102 High street west
Cockayne Geo. wheelwright. Primrose la
Cockayne Saml, wheelwright, Surrey st
Cohen Simeon, jeweller, 88 High St. we
Collier Joseph, Norfolk Arms hotel & posting house, Norfolk square
Collier Maria (Mrs.), Rose & Crown P.H, 89 High street west
Collier Wm. Albion inn, 15 Victoria st
Conner John, shopkpr. 271 High st. we
Connor Patrick, beer ret. 24 Arundel st
Consumers’ Tea Co. (Ollerenshaw & Co. proprietors), Town Hall buildings
Cook Martha & Eliza (Misses), farmers, Heath
Cooke John, hatter, 59 High street west
Cooper Moses & Sons, tailors & drapers, 22 High street east
Cooper Cephas, shoe ma. 61 High st. ea
Cooper Jane (Mrs.), drpr. 185High st. we
Cooper Thomas, farmer, Cars
Cooper Wm. Commercial inn, Charlestwn
County Court Office (His Honor Thos. Ellison, judge; John Hibbert, registrar & high bailiff; Arthur Moore, assistant registrar & deputy high bailiff), Norfolk square
Craigh Elizh. (Miss), 21 Norfolk st
Crannage Alfred, watch & clock maker, 6a, High street west
Crompton Elliott & Co. coach proprietors, 26 High street west
Crompton Charles, cabinet maker & undertaker, 26 High street west
Crossley Benjamin, farmer, Hurst Nook
Cuthbert David, beer ret. 277 High st. we
Cuthbert John, tobacconist, 80 High st. we
Dacre Ann (Mrs.), shpkpr. 88 Kershaw st
Dane Samuel, sanitary & lighting inspctr. to the corporation, 21 High st. ea
Darwent John, ironmonger & gas & water fitter. 7 Victoria street
Darwent Luke, farmer, Bitten hill
Davis Charles, solicitor & coroner for the Peak hundreds, 6 Market St
Dearnaley Thomas, ironmonger & blacksmith, 125 High street west
Denham Daniel, stone mer. 11 Hope st
Depledge Joseph, shopkeeper, 43 King st
Devlin Francis, shopkpr. 56 Arundel st
Dewsnap Geo. confctur. 142 High st. we
Dixon John, coal dealer, 183 High st. east & Railway yard
Dixon John, farmer, Pikes farm
Doodson Geo. draper, 76 High St. west
Downing Wm. tea dealer, 8 Norfolk st
Drinkwater James, farmer, Hague st
Drinkwater John, reed hook manufacturer, 191 High street west
Dunkerley Frdk. hairdrssr. 70 High st. we
Dutton Jas. shopkeeper, 25 Norfolk, st
Dutton Mary Ann (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 81 High street east
Dutton Tom, plumber, 119 High st. we
Dyson John, bill poster & town crier, 213A, High street west
Dyson Robt. coal dealer, 126 Victoria st
Earnshaw Jonn. beer ret. Whitfield cross
Ellison Thos. Michael, solicitor & clerk to county & borough magistrates & town clerk & clerk to the burial board & school attendance committee, Ellison street
Evason Henry Edward, cashier at Lord Howard’s estate office, 53 Norfolk st
Eversden Geo. hatter, Town Hall bldgs
Eversden Jn. Wm. corn mer. 16 High st. ea
Eversden Wm. greengro. 2 Railway st
Fairclough Walter Peake MUS.BAC.,F.C.O, professor of music. Bank street
Field Henry, watch & clock maker, 14 Charlestown road
Fielding Enoch & Son, watch & clock makers, 24 High street west
Fielding Charles, excursion agent, 65 St. Mary's road
Fielding Charles, builder & stone dealer, 21 Whitfield cross
Fielding Edward, shopkpr. 2 Wesley st
Fielding Jas. grocr. & drpr. 132 Pike’s la
Fielding Jas. shopkeeper, 20 Norfolk st
Fielding Samuel, coal merchant, 9 Gladstone street & Railway yard
Fisher George William, beer retailer, 38 High street west
Fletcher Robt. beer ret.21 Charlestwn. Rd
Fletcher Sally (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 63 Victoria street
Fletcher Sarah Ann (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 63 Victoria street
Ford Eliza (Mrs.), Surrey Arms P.H. 133 Victoria street
Ford John, auctioneer, High street
Foster Thos. beer retailer, 25 High st. ea
Foy Anthony, fishmonger, Victoria st
France George, grocer, 62 Victoria st
France Jas. butcher, 130 High st. west
France Joe, grocer, 123 High street we
Free Library & Public Hall, Fauvel road
Freemasons’ Lodge (Devonshire) (Geo. Brown, tyler), Henry street
Freetown Working Men’s Institute (Thomas Prince, sec,), Kershaw st
Frost Thomas Benjamin, Crown inn, 142 Victoria street
Garlick Joseph, grocer & corn dealer, 7 Norfolk square
Garlick Wm. coal mer. Railway wharf
Garner John, manager to Water works, 46 Church street
Garside Cyrus & Sons Limited, timber, slate, tile & cement merchants, Glossop saw mills, Surrey street
Garside John & Co. sauce manufacturers, High street east
Garside Chas. herbalist, 26 Princes st
Garside Elizabeth (Miss), dress maker, 26 Princess street
Garside Joseph, farmer, Lees Hall farm, Turn Lee
Gas Co. (Joshua Sidebottom, cashier), Arundel street
Gaskell Peter, joiner, 7 George street
Glossop Advertiser Printing & Publishing Co. Limited (John Kidd Hollingbery,sec), Howard chmbrs. Howard st
Glossop Agricultural Society (John Kidd Hollingbery, sec.), Howard chambers
Glossop Carriage Co. Limited, undertakers & coach proprietors, Howard st
Glossop Conservative Club (Wm. Henry Darwent, sec.), 26 Norfolk street
Glossop Cricket Club (John Thorpe, sec.), 157 High street west
Glossop Dale Chronicle & North Derbyshire Reporter (William Sheppard, proprietor; published sat.), Norfolk st
Glossop Dale New Industrial Co-operative Society (Wm. Walton, sec.), Norfolk square ; 369 High street west; 20 Charlestown rd. & 8 Hall st
Glossop Dale Photographic Society (John Kidd Hollingbery, sec.), Howard chambers, Howard street
Glossop Dale Savings Bank (Francis Charles John Hadfield, actuary),open on Saturdays, 12 a.m. till 1 p.m. & 6 to 7 p.m. Howard chambers
Glossop Horticultural Society (William Henry Darwent, see.), 21 Ford street
Glossop Ironworks Co. Lim. (Sam Bamforth, manager), Surrey street
Glossop Liberal Club (Joe France,sec.), Henry street
Glossop Richmond Building Society (John Kidd Hollingbery, sec.),Howard chambers
Glossop Working Men’s Club (Wm. Henry Booth, sec.), St. Mary’s road
Goddard Hesketh, drapr. 51 High st. we
Goddard James & William, stone masons, Hague street
Goddard Jas. beer retailer, 2 Arundel st
Goddard Joseph, farmer, Gnathole
Goddard Joseph, fruit, fish & game dealer, 114 High street west
Goddard Wm. stone mason, Hague st
Golden Alfred Percival, chemist, 48 High street west
Goldstraw Jsph. shopkpr. 61 Sheffield rd
Goldthorpe Jonas, beer ret. 33 Charles st
Green & Thompson (The Misses), confectioners, 60 Victoria street
Green Jn. Thos. beer retlr. 40 Pike’s la
Greensmith Jn, engravr. 132 Victoria st
Greensmith Mary (Mrs.), dress maker, 132 Victoria street
Greenwood Edwin, stationer & bookseller, 57 High street east
Greenwood John, farmer & stone merchant, Tan Yard farm
Griffin John, tailor, 11 George street
Gubbin Ernest Sargent M.R.C.V.S.Lond. veterinary surgeon, Fauvel road
Hadfield —, wire mattress ma. Hadfld. St
Hadfield Chas. farmer, Bank bottom
Hadfield Eli, grocer, 105 High St. east
Hadfield Francis Chas. Jn. architect & surveyor, Howard chmbrs. Howard st
Hadfield James, farmer, Church street
Hadfield James Johnson, news agent, 128 High street east
Hadfield Jn. cotton spinner, Cowbrook ml
Hadfield Jsph. greengrcr. 16 Norfolk st
Hadfield Jsph. shoe ms. 97 High st. east
Hadfield Sml. mill manager, Sumner st
Hadfield Thomas, draper & outfitter, 29 & 32 High street west
Hadfield Walt. Boot & shoema. Shepley st
Hague Jsph. mill mangr. 28 High st. ea
Hall Charles, tailor & draper, Leeds house, High street west
Hall & Sons, tailors & drapers,Town Hall buildings, High street west
Hal1 Isaac, boot maker, Freetown
Hall John, blacksmith, Howard street
Hall John, grocer, 146 St. Mary’s road
Hall Josph. shoe maker, 201 High st. ea
Hall Robt. cabinet ma. 1A, Gladstone st
Hall William, sec. to John Wood & Bros. Limited, Park view, North rd
Hambleton Joshua, gamekpr. Sheffld. Rd
Hamnett James & Son, watch & clock makers, 14A, High street east
Hampshire James, shopkeeper, 89 Gladstone street
Hampshire Jn. stone mason, Gladstone st
Handforth Mary (Miss), dress maker, 31 Princess street
Hardman John, dentist, 11 Norfolk square & 47 Norfolk street
Harrison Robert & Son, slaters & plasterers, 161 & 163 High street east
Harrison Abel, coal & cannel factor, Railway street ; & at Broadbottom ; Dinting & Hadfield railway stations ; & mineral water manufacturer at Simmondley Springs
Harrison Charles Smith, grocer & corn dealer, 122 High street west
Harrop Alice Mrs., farmer, Hill top
Harrop Edward, shopkpr. 2 Wesley st
Harrop James, shopkeeper, 9 Freetown
Harrop Jn. draper, 22 High street west
Harrop John, patent medicine vendor, 71 High street east
Harrop Matthew, farmer, Hill top
Harrop William, farmer, Lane side
Hawke, Hadfield & Gee, auctioneers, Howard chambers, Howard street
Hawke Francis, steward to Lord Howard of Glossop, Estate offices, Spire Hollin
Hawke Robt. Geo. architect, Norfolk sq
Haynes Thomas, surveyor to corporation, Town hall, High street west
Heap Rushforth, sewing machine agent, 20 Sheffield road
Helm Brian, grocer & tobacconist, 36 High street east
Hewett William, shoemaker, 8 Collier st
Hibbert Jn. & Jsph. solicitors, Norfolk sq
Hibbert John (firm, Hibbert John & Joseph), solicitor, registrar & high bailiff of county court, Norfolk square
Hibbs Hannah (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 213 High street west
Higginbottom Jas. gen. dlr. 43 High st. we
Higginbottom Jn. shopkpr. Dinting vale
Higginbottom John Samuel, draper & milliner, 17 High street west
Higginbottom Wm. draper, 2 Victoria st
Hill Frances (Mrs ), restaurnt. 5 High st. ea
Hill Hugh, farmer, Bridgefield
Hill Mabel (Miss), 5 Charlstwn. Rd
Hill Mary (Mrs.), farmer, Cliffe road
Hill Wm. baby linen dlr. 94 High st. we
Hinchcliffe John & Co. coal merchants, Railway yard
Hinchcliffe Hy. stone dealer, 5 Lord st & Blake quarry, Blackshaw Clough
Hinchcliffe Smith, news agent, 11 Edward street
Hodgson Wm. Hy. head constable of borough police, & inspector of weights & measures, Police office, Ellison st
Holdgate James, painter, glazier &c. 149 High street west
Holdgate Thomas, shopkeeper, 5 Mill town & 3 Victoria street
Holdgate William & Brothers, florists & seedsmen, 23 Fitzalan street
Holdgate William, iron broker, 33 St. Mary’s road
Holdsworth George, photographer, Shrewsbury street
HOLLINGBERY JOHN KIDD, auditor & chartered accountant, agent to the Royal Exchange Assurance Corporation & Royal Fire & Life Assurance Co. Howard chambers, Howard st.; & 4 Chapel walk, Manchester
Hollingbery Wm. Hy. manager of the Manchester & Liverpool District Bank, & borough treasurer & treasurer to the union & rural sanitary authority, Norfolk square
Hollingworth Ervine, news agent, 90 Victoria street
Hollingworth Hannah (Miss), shopkeeper, 21 Derby street
Hollinworth Samuel, stationer, news agent & agent to the Allan & Dominion line of steamships, 1A, Victoria street
Hollins William, spring mattress maker, 6 Charles street
Housley Thomas, engineer & machinist, Surrey street
Howard Fred, hair dresser, Market st
Howard George Frost, beer retailer, 13 Bernard street
Howard Jn. Grapes inn, 305 High st. we
Howard Park, North road
Howard Sarah (Mrs.), farmer, Ashes
Howard William, joiner & builder, 27 Hadfield street
Howarth John, news agt. 128 High st. ea
Hudson Ralph, stone dealer, Turn Lee rd
Hunt William Henry, surgeon & medical officer & public vaccinator, Glossop district & medical officer to workhouse, Norfolk street
Hunter Thos. Pearson, drapr. 9 High st. we
Hurst Aaron, grocer, Charlestown
Hyde George, miller & fancy draper, 7 High street east
Independent Order of Good Templars (meet every week at Good Templars’ room, Edward street, Tuesdays 8 p.m.) (Samuel Wood L.D.), 15 Charles st
Ingerson Ann (Mrs.), drss. ma. 6 Cross st
Ingerson John, tailor, 6 Cross street
Ingham Hannah (Mrs.), dress maker, 73 High street west
Ingham John, builder & contractor, Shrewsbury street
Inland Revenue Office (Thomas Kamester, officer), Slatelands road
Irish National League Club (John Costello, sec.), 31 Chapel street
Irlam William Henry, stationer, printer & bookbinder, 55 High street west
Irvine William, nurseryman, Hawkshead Nursery gardens, Old Glossop
Jackson Maria (Mrs.), drapr. 106 Pike’s la
Jackson Isaac, saddler & harness maker & dealer in india rubber & waterproof goods, 2 High st. & Victoria st
Jackson Levi (exors. of), rope, twine & cotton band manfrs. & frmrs. Hobroyd
Jackson Rowland tobaccnst. 4 High st. ea
Jefferson Henry, spring mattress maker, Howard street
Jowett Harriet Ann (Miss),confectioner, see Briggs & Jowett
Kamester Thomas, inland revenue officer, 16 Slatelands road
Kay Samuel James, boot & shoe maker, ladies’ & gentlemen’s boots (hand sewn) of all kinds, made to order & repaired, 91 High street west
Kenny Margaret (Mrs.), confectioner & dress maker, 6 High street east
Kent Herbert, boot maker, 5 Victoria st
Kershaw John, clogger, 138 Victoria st
Kershaw Jonn. greengro. 377 High st. we
Kinder George, grocer, 198 High street
Kinder Henry, chemist & dentist, 85 High street west
Kinder Walt. slater & plastr. 35 Sumner st
Kirk Ralph, Talbot inn, 25 Hall street
Knight George, shopkeeper, 12 Milltown
Knott Samuel, farmer, Hurst
Lamb Edmund, goods inspector, 31 Norfolk street
Lancaster Elizabeth (Mrs.),Wheat Sheaf P.H. 16 Wellgate
Lawton & Co. drapers, 27 High st. west
Lawton John, tinplate worker, Wellgate
Lee Hannah & Clarice (Misses) & Craven, confectioners, 104 High street west
Lee Ellen (Miss), confctnr. 240 High st. we
Lee Geo. fried fish dealer, 129 High st. east
Lee John, shopkeeper, 40 Hope street
Leech John Thomas, cabinet maker & upholsterer, 57 High street west
Lester James, fruiterer, 63 High st. east
Lewis Esther (Miss), baby linen dealer, 24 High street east
Livesley Walter, wire mattress manufacturer, 49 Edward street
Littlewood Dick, yeast dealer, Surrey st
Lockwood Elliot, refreshment rooms, 45 High street west
Lockwood Thos. coal mer. Railway yard
Lomas Amy (Miss), milnr. 75 High st. we
Longden Alfred, farmer & stone engraver, Cemetery road
Longstone Wm. shopkpr. 106 Charlestwn
Lowe William, tailor, 117 Gladstone st
Lund Sarah Jane (Miss), dress maker, 106 St. Mary’s road
Mackenzie Duncan John M.D., C.M. surgeon, 64 & 66 High street west
McKnight Thomas, leather dealer & ironmonger, 1 High street east
McMellon William, tailor & draper, 18 High street west
McMillan Ruth (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 9 Victoria street
Makin Martha (Miss), dress maker, 21 Princess street
Malkin Samuel (exors. of), corn millers, High street east
Manchester & County Bank Limited (branch) (James Percival Boote, manager), High street west; draw on Union Bank of London Limited, London E C
Manchester & Liverpool District Banking Co. Limited (branch) (W. H. Hollingbery, manager), Norfolk sq. ; draw on London office, 75 Cornhill, E C
Marsden Elijah, shopkeeper, 73 Hall st
Marsden Joel, farmer, Lane Head, Station road
Marsden Thos. shopkpr. 40 Church gt
Massey David, butcher & assistant overseer, 62 High street east
Mawson Thomas, saddler & harness maker, 8 Norfolk square
May Amos, skip maker, 59 High st. east
May Thomas & Sons, basket & skip makers, 53 Victoria street
Melia Daniel & Co. tea merchants, 11 High street west
Mellor William George, confectioner, 289 High street west
Mellor Josiah, auctioneer, valuer, emigration, general commission & estate agent, 42 High street west
Merry James, ironmonger, plumber & gasfitter, 34 High street east
Metcalfe Sarah (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 218 High street west
Middleton Thos. boot ma. 114 Victoria st
Miller Thos. & Co. grocrs. 50 High st. west
Millin Henry, shopkeeper, 48 Edward st
Mills Henry, beer retailer, Arundel st
Minting Thos. shopkeeper, 9 Chapel st
Mitchell Julian, surgn.-dent. 35 Norfolk st
Morley Joseph, grocer, 50 Church st
Needham Walter, farmer, Hurst
Nelson Joseph, shoe ma. 105 Gladstone st
Newton Ann (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 72 Gladstone street
Newton Chas. beer retlr. 17 Gladstone st
Newton William, grocer, 45 Bernard st
Nield Jas. boot & shoe ma. 20 High st. west
Nield Thomas, tea dealer & water rate collector, 11 Norfolk street
North Derbyshire & North Cheshire Advertiser (Advertiser Printing & Publishing Co. Limited, publishers & proprietors ; pub. sat.), Howard st
Nuttall Geo. Manor inn, 77 High st. east
Ogden Kay, insurance agent, 25 Lord st
Oldham Abner, shopkeeper, 6 Chapel st
Oldham Hannah (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 197 High street east
Oldham Joseph Edward, professor of music, 3 Turn Lee road
OLIVE & PARTINGTON, paper makers, paper stainers & tin foil manufacturers, Turn Lee & Dover mills ; & 11 Newmarket la. Manchester
Oliver Alfred, grocer, 30 Queen street
Oliver Elizh.(Mrs.), grocer, 30 Queen st
Oliver Walter, ironmngr. 39 High st. west
Ollerenshaw Abel, herbalist, 136 High street west
Ollerenshaw John, slater & plasterer, 30 Talbot street
Orme Joe, beer retailer & straw dealer, 3 Norfolk street
Orme Joseph, draper, 197 High st. west
Orme Thomas, joiner, High street west
Orme William, shopkpr. 64 Edward st
Owen Hugh, boot & shoe ma. 8 John st
Partington Edward, paper manufacturer, sec Olive b Partington
Patchett Arth. butcher, 6 High st. west
Patchett Mgt. (Mrs. ), btchr. 36High st. we
Paulden Jn. shoemaker, 151 High st. we
Pearson Hugh, shopkeeper, 5 Freetown
Pedley William Higginbottom, tea dealer, 78 Princess street
Pemberton John,beer rtlr. 78 High st. ea
Philharmonic Society (W. P. Fairclough, MUS. BAC., F.C.O. sec. & conductor), 4 Bank street
Pickford Alfred, baker, 106 Gladstone st
Pickford Frederick & Son, greengrocers, 56 High street west
Pickford Job, confectionr. 28 High st. we
Pickford John, grocer, 84 Victoria st
Plant Wm. ironmonger, 118 Victoria st
Platt Benjamin, grocer & draper, 119, 121 & 123 High street east
Platt Fred, draper, 86 High st. west
Platt George, butcher, 49 High st. west
Platt James, coal merchant, Railway yd
Platt John, grocer, 12 Wellgate
Platt Thomas, farmer, Hill top
Poole Jn. Henry, tailor, 85 High st. east
Potts Henry, joiner, St. Mary's road
Potts Joseph, joiner, 45 Sheffield road
Proctor Robert, chemist & drysalter, 7 High street west
Public Baths (William Heginbotham, manager), Howard park
Public Weighbridge (Thomas Parr, weigher), Railway yard
Pye John, farmer, Heath
Pye Richard, shopkeeper, 3 Duke st
Rathbone Jn. boot ma. 140 High st. we
Rawstorne Thomas, mill manager, 28 High street east
Redfern Isaac, school attendance officer, to rural sanitary authority & shopkeeper, 35 Gladstone street
Redford Joseph, grocer, 70 Victoria st
Rhodes James,surgeon & medical officer of health to urban & rural sanitary authorities, & medical officer & public vaccinator, Whitfield district, 25 Victoria street
Rhodes John, surgeon, 25 Victoria St
Rhodes Thomas school attendance officer to corporation, 22 Pike's lane
Roberts George, sec. to Shepley Mills Spinning Co. 16 Hollin Cross lane
Roberts James, farmer, Herod farm
Roberts William Henry, calico printers’ designer, 23 Lord street
Robertson Thomas, furniture broker, 21 Bernard street
Robinson George & Sons, painters & glaziers, 62 High street west
Robinson James, painter, Norfolk st
Robinson Joe, contractor, 31 Freetown
Robinson Robert, farmer, Brown hill
Robinson Walter, draper, 12 Norfolk st
Rolly Alice (Miss),milliner, 8 High st. ea
Rossendale Belting Co. (Isaac Jackson, agent), patentees & sole makers of the anti-friction hair belting, which resists the action of the strap fork, Victoria street
Rowbottom James, cotton spinner, Hurst mills
Rowbottom Maria (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 259 High street west
Rowbottom Samuel, cotton spinner & band manufacturer, Meadow mills
Russell Jane (Mrs.), ham & beef dealer, 103 High street east
Sampson Edwd. drill instrctr. Hadfield st
Schofield Mary Ellen & Annie (Misses), stationers, 6 Norfolk square
Schofield Alfd. Ernest, printr. Railway st
Schofield James, butcher, 83 High street
Schofield Saml, bootmaker, 78 Pike’s la
Scholes Albert, butcher, 127 High st. we
Sellars Jas. Bull’s Head P.H.72 Church st
Shaw Edwin, piano & music seller, 9 High street east
Shaw Selina (Mrs.), drapr. 33 Princess st
Shaw Thomas Samuel, photographer, 12 High street west
Shelton Summers, ladies’ school, see Amps & Shelton
Shephard John, grocer, 130 High st. east
Shepherd John, farmer, Mossy Lee
Shepherd Wm. shpkpr. 50 Charleston rd
Shepley Aaron, clogger, 2 Mill town
Shepley Mill Cotton Manufng. Co. Lim. (George Roberts, sec.), Shepley mill
Sheppard James, farmer & furniture remover, Ashes
Sheppard Martha (Mrs.) & Son, mineral water manufacturers, Shrewsbury st
Siddall Mary (Miss), shopkeeper, see Barber & Siddall
Siddons Joseph, farm bailiff to Lord Howard of Glossop, Blackshaw farm
Sidebottom Joseph, quarry master & dealer in paving setts, hewing stones &c. Lees Hall quarry, Turn Lee
Sidebottom Peter, gas company’s collector, 65 Norfolk street
Sidebottom Ralph Bennett L.R.C.P.Edin. surgeon, 20 Hollin Cross lane
Sidebottom Saml, farmr. Hollin Cross la
Slater Chas. hair dresser, 138 High st. we
Smith Charles Lewis, cabinet maker, 55 High street east
Smith Edward, boot & shoe maker, 47 High street west
Smith Ellen (Miss), milliner & dress maker, 69 High street east
Smith Emma (Mrs.), ladies’ seminary, 55 High street east
Smith James, draper, 38 High st. east
Smith Thomas, boot & shoe maker, 35 & 37 High street west
Smith Thomas, commercial traveller, Turnlee house, Turnlee road
Stagg & Son, wholesale wine & spirit merchants, 8 Norfolk square
STAR CLOTHING STORES (William Thomas Hourst, sub-proprietor), 3a High street west
Statham Mary (Mrs.), dress maker, 11 Pike’s lane
Stead Mary (Mrs.), milliner & dress maker, 14 Norfolk street
Steel Elijah, greengrcr. 76 Victoria st
Stubbs William, Queen’s Arms P.H, 1 Shepley street
Sturgeon Thos. Station inn, Norfolk st
Sumner Francis & Co. Lim. cotton spinners & manufacturers (William Thorpe, manager), Wren Nest mills
Swann George, watch & clock maker, 238 High street west
Swire John & Son, boot & shoe makers, 8 High street west & 21 Victoria st
Swire William, fancy draper, & agent for W. & A. Gilbey, wine & spirit merchants, 5 High street west
Sykes Robert Woolley, auctioneer, 9 Norfolk square
Sykes Sarah (Mrs.), Royal Oak P.H. Sheffield road
Tarbatt Henry, butcher, 216 High st. we
Tattersall Wm. butcher, 12 High st. east
Taylor Albert Berkley, beer retailer, 120 Charlestown road
Taylor Charles, draper, 131 Hall street
Taylor John, farmer, Ashes
Thom James, coal agent, 33 Norfolk st
Thornhill Wm. farmer, Woodcock road
Thornley Betty (Miss), grocer, 4 Charlestown road
Thornley Jas. frmr. & carrier, Hague st
Thornley Noah, butcher, 74 Victoria st
Thorp Walter, coal merchant, Henry street & Railway yard
Thorpe Wm. mill mgr. 96 St. Mary’s rd
Tomlinson May (Miss), frmr. Turn Lee
Torkington William, corn & flour dealer & family grocer, 12 High street west, & 31 Station road, Hadfield
Town Hall, High street west
Townend George, mineral water manufacturer, King street
Trayner John, hairdrssr. 15 Railway st
Traynor John, beer retailer, 1 Surrey st
Traynor Thos. hairdrssr. 75 High st. we
Trueman Jn. Bee Hive inn, 35 Hague st
Turner Isaiah, greengrcr. 35 High St. ea
Turner John Henry, butcher, 142 St. Mary’s road
Turner Manasseh, fruiterer, 26 High st. ea
Tweedale Jn. Wm. solicitor, Norfolk sq
Vickers Mary (Miss), house furnisher, 58 & 60 High street west
Wagstaffe John, butcher, 19 High st. ea
Wain Jsph. smallware dlr. 14 High st. ea
Walker Crowther Campbell, confectioner, 10 High street west
Wall Alfred, joiner, Bernard street
Walton Eliza (Mrs.), drpr. 52 High st. we
Walton Fred, butcher, 121 Gladstone st
Walton Jn. Bleacher, Charlestown works
Walton Joseph, draper, 52 High St. we
Walton Lydia (Mrs.), Bridge inn, Market street
Walton Richard Frederick, drysalter, 12 Charlestown road
Walton William, chip potato dealer, 140 Victoria street
Ward Annie Eliza (Miss), dress maker, 29 Pike’s lane
Warhurst Alice (Mrs.), dress maker, 24 Howard street
Warhurst Emily (Mrs.), confectioner, 20 High street east
Warhurst Samuel Emanuel, grocer & tea dealer, 38 Princess street
Water Works (John Gardner, superintendent ; Thomas Neild, collector)
Waterhouse Albert, stone mason, 3 Back Victoria street
Waterhouse Hannah (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 19 Victoria street
Waterhouse Jonathan, stationer, 130 High street west
Watkinson Samuel, confectioner, 54 High street west
Watkinson Thos. drpr. 90 High st. west
Watts George, shoemaker, Freetown
Watts Mary (Mrs.), shopkpr. 43 Hope st
Weight Fredk. shopkpr. 90 High st. ea
Wharmby Geo. oil & lamp dlr. 27 Hall st
Wheeler Francenia (Mrs.), gro. 9 Hope st
Wheeler Wm. Thos. Greyhnd. Inn, Hope st
Whitehead Jn. pork butchr. 121 High st. we
Whitehead Michael, shopkeeper, 42 Arundel street
Whitfield Brewery Co. (Charles Albert Stead, proprietor), brewers of mild & bitter ales, porter & stout, Whitfield ; & 71 Market street, Manchester
Whitham John Thomas, reporter, 5 Simmondley lane
Whittaker Thos. beer ret. 16 Chapel st
Whittingham Francis & Son, brush makers, 10 High street east
Wildgoose John Lawrence, Surrey Arms hotel, 67 High street west
Wilkerson William Nichols, Market hotel, Market street
Willey John William Crane, cabinet maker, 17 Norfolk street
Williamson William, earthenware dealer, 100 High street west
Willis Harriet (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 9 Charlestown
Wilson Robert, baker, 152 High st. we
Wimpenny Arthur, stone dlr. 10 Silk st
Wood John & Brothers Limited, cotton spinners & manufacturers (William Hall, sec.), Howard Town mills
Wood & Co. paper & twine merchants, 11 Victoria street
Wood’s Hospital (T. S. Bowden esq. hon. sec.), Howard park
Wood's Lending Library, 94 Victoria st
Wood Charlotte (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 87 High street east
Wood John, farmer, Derbyshire level
Wood John, grocer & com dealer, 25 High street west
Wood Joseph, butcher, 29 Gladstone st
Wood Martha (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 38 Kershaw street
Wood Peter, milliner, 110 High st. we
Wood Samuel, shopkeeper & wheelwright, 13 Charles street
Wood Sarah Ann (Miss), shopkeeper, 61 Hague street
Wood Thomas, farmer, Hobroyd
Wood Thomas, joiner & builder, 66 Victoria street
Wood Thomas, rag merchant, 6 Derby st
Woodcock Ann (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 65 High street east
Woodcock Charles, undertakers’ agent, 65 High street east
Woodcock Ebenezer, shopkeeper, 164 High street west
Woodcock Elizabeth (Mrs.), grocer, 51 Victoria street
Woodcock Matthew, boot maker, 34 High street west ; & at Hadfield
Woodhead John, Hare & Hounds P.H. 36 Hall street
Woodhead Matthew, stone merchant, 26 Hall street & Law quarries
Woodhead Sarah Elizabeth (Miss), stamp distributor, & registry office, Post office, Norfolk square
Woodhead Thomas, grocer, 1 Edward st
Woodhouse Joseph, butcher, 36 Church st
Woolley Edwd. butchr.77 &79 High st. we
Woolley Thomas, grocer, 61 High st. we
Wright Geo. umbrella repairer, 63 Hall st
Wright Mary Ann (Mrs). chipped potato dealer, 63 High street west
Wright Thomas Jas. grocer & tobacconist, 72 High street west
Wyatt Cephas, farmer, Blackshaw
Wylde James, farmer, Hawkshead

Stapley Charles Woffenden
Aldous Henry, shopkeeper
Lyne George, shopkeeper
McMath John, grocer
Moss Joseph, news agent
Robinson William, farmer
Rowbottom Alfred, Royal Oak P.H. & monumental mason
Shephard Charles, shopkeeper
Shephard George, draper
Shepley John & William Lim. cotton spinners & manufrs. Brookfield mills
Wilson Sarah (Mrs.), milliner

Bann George, farmer, Monks' road
Bann Jsph. farmer, Hollingworth head
Goddard Wm. Grouse inn, & farmer
Hadfield John, farmer
Nield Edwin, farmer
Robinson Sarah Ann (Miss), farmer
Shepley William, farmer
Shotwell James, farmer
Wood John, farmer

Barr John, Dinting lodge
Canton Rev. William John, Vicarage
Hollingworth Samuel, Simmondley lane
Lawton Mrs. Simmondley lane
Pilkington William
Sheppard William, Simmondley lane
Sykes William, Simmondley lane
Bradbury George, grocer
Charlesworth Frederick, Junction inn
Fielding George Raffald, butcher
Ford Samuel, farmer
Hadfield Charles, cashier at Messrs. E. Potter & Co.’s print works
Harrison Abel, coal & cannel factor, Railway station ; & at Glossop
Nield Betty (Mrs.), Plough inn
Platt George, farmer
Platt Thomas, farmer
Potter Edmund & Co. calico printers ; warehouse, 10 Charlotte st. Manchester
Potter Edmund & Co. soap manufctrs.; warehouse,10 Charlotte st. Manchester
Roberts Hannah (Mrs.), shopkeeper
Smith Samuel, Viaduct inn
Waterhouse Sarah (Mrs.), farmer & lime dealer
Wild John, farmer
Wood James, clogger

Blackburn Isaac, shopkeeper
Booth Samuel, farmer
Clayton Samson, farmer
Garlic John, shopkeeper
Harrison James, farmer
Hinchliffe James,Magnet inn, & farmer
Marsden Moses, farmer
Middleton William, grocer
Oldroyd Timothy, farmer & contractor
Thornley Andrew, farmer
Thornley Jas. (representatives of), farmrs
Sykes John & Thomas Beard, slaters & plasterers
Turner James, farmer & greengrocer

Buckley Henry, Bross croft
Butterworth Henshaw, Kent villa
Dawson William, Tnowl house
Eastham James Cook, The Thorns
Hadfield Rev. Joseph [vicar]
Luke Usher
Martin Rev. Joseph Amor [curate]
Platt Edward
Platt Mrs. Greenfield cottage
Rhodes Wm. Shepley J.P. Mersey bank
Ridgway James, Green lane
Rigge Fletcher, Lockley house
Sabela Very Rev. Canon Hermann Jos. [Catholic]
Sargentson William, Bross croft
Shaw John, Kent villa
Somers Noble
Walsh Benjamin, Hadfield road
Whelan John Joseph, Hadfield road
White William M.D. Hadfield road
Abram Jas. fancy goods dlr.127 Statn. Rd
Aldous Jane (Miss), shopkeeper, 170 Hadfield road
Aldous Thomas, window blind manufacturer, Hadfield road
Aldous Wm. farmr. & shopkpr. Main rd
Ashton William, grocer, 58 Main road
Atkinson William, grocer, Church st
Bailey Mary (Mrs.), shopkeeper, Platt st
Barker William, grocer & farmer, Hadfield road
Barlow William, beer retailer, 343 Hadfield road
Battey Daniel, draper, 90 Station road
Battey John, draper, 96 Station road
Belfield Edwd. Anchor inn, Hadfield rd
Bell James, clogger, 31 Station road
Bennett Mark, grocer, 117 Station road
Bennett Thomas, draper & furniture dealer, Station road
Bennett Wm. shopkeeper, 49 Waterside
Bentham Jane (Mrs.), stationer, 47 Station road
Bintcliffe Jn. fishmonger, 17 Station rd
Booth Henry, butcher, 119 Station road
Booth Hinchcliffe, stationer & news agent, 83 Station road
Booth Joe, beer retailer, Waterside
Booth Mary (Miss), shopkpr. Waterside
Braddock Thos. & Co. gros. 111 Station rd
Bradshaw James, grocer, 42 Hadfield rd
Bramhall Jn. coal merchant, Station yard
Bratherton Richard, station master
Briggs Susan (Mrs.), confctr.7 Station rd
Britland John Thomas, confectioner, 94 Station road
Broadbent Elizabeth Ann (Miss), confectioner, 97 Station road
Broadbent Ellen (Mrs.), shopkeeper & farmer, 53 Bross croft
Broadbent Saml. confectioner,14 Platt st
Broadbent Zilpha (Miss), shopkeeper, 71 Bross croft
Brook Edwin, hair dresser, Bankbottom
Brook Furness, draper, 13 Station road
Brown Mary Jane (Mrs.), fishmonger, 133 Station road
Butterworth Henshaw, grocr. Waterside
Chadwick Wm. Thos. Pawnbro. Station rd
Challoner Hannah (Mrs.), grocer, 21 Station road
Challoner John, shopkpr. 31 Padfield la
Challoner Saml, coal mer. 21 Station rd
Challoner Samuel, grocer
Charlton Ernest, inspector of police, Albert street
Consumers’ Tea Co. (Ollerenshaw & Co. proprietors), 39 Station road
Corker Wm. Commercial inn, Bankbtm
Cox John, draper & photographer, 109 Station road
Crannage Fredk. watch ma. 5 Station rd
Crawford David, Palatine & Railway hotel, Station road
Crossland John, shopkpr. 8a Bross croft
Dane Laura(Miss), dress ma. Hadfield rd
Darwent Luke, farmer, Bettin hill
Dawson Wm. plmbr. & paintr. Station rd
Dearnley David, beer ret. Woolley bridge
Dewsnap John, farmer, Hadfield cross
Dewsnap Wm. butcher, 1A, Station rd
Dickinson Jas. hair dresser, 33 Station rd
Downing William, tea dealer, Station rd
Duckworth Samuel, blacksmith, 36 Station road
Duckworth Tom, auctionr. 36 Bank st
Earnshaw Abrhm. butchr.43 Station rd
Earnshaw Sarah Jane (Mrs.), fried fish shop, Woolley Bridge road
Elliott Morton Walker, draper & outfitter, Station road
Equitable Co-operative Society Lim. (James Harwood, sec. ; Chas. Loxley, treasurer), Station rd. & Woolley bridge
Eversden George, draper, 72 Station Rd
Eversden George Cooper, greengrocer, 87 Station road
Eversden William, grocer, Bank street
Eversden William,grocer, 102 Waterside
Farnsworth Ann (Miss), greengrocer, 42 Station road
Fielding Ann (Miss),confctr. 7 Bankbtm
Fielding Harold, farmer, Mouseley farm
Fielding Saml, provsn. dlr. 1 Station rd
Firth Edward, shopkpr. Woolley bridge
Fowden Thomas, shopkeeper, 335 & 337 Hadfield road
Furniss Brook, draper, 13 Station road
Furniss Brook, fried fish dlr. Station rd
Garlick Hugh, shopkeeper, 20 Station rd
Garlick Squire, postmaster
Gill Wright, grocer & quarry owner, 49 Station road
Goddard Abel, confctnr. 76 Station rd
Goddard Elizabeth (Mrs.),milliner,103 Station road
Greaves William, baker, Station road
Greenwood Lewis, shpkpr. 48 Station rd
Hadfield & Hollingworth Coal Co. (George Hutchinson, sec)
Hadfield Conservative Club Co. Limited (James Chair, sec)
Hadfield Elizabeth (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 83 Station road
Hadfield Equitable Co-operative Society (Chas. Loxley, mangr.), 60 Station rd
Hadfield Liberal Club (Frederick Broadbent, sec)
Haigh Wm. boot & shoe ma. 9 Station rd
Hampshire William, ironmonger, plumber & tinman, 51 Station road
Hampson Sarah (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 118 Station road
Harding George, shoemaker, 238 Woolley Bridge road
Hardy Wm. greengrocer, 12 Bank st
Harrison Abel, coal & cannel factor, Station yard
Harrop Hugh, tailor, 40 Station road
Hill Harriet (Mrs.), shopkr. 135 Statn. Rd
Hinchcliffe Thomas John, stationer & news agent, 1A, Railway street
Holbrook Jn. fried fish dlr. Station rd
Holland Isaac, shopkeeper,13 Bross croft
Holland Isaiah, greengrcr. 73 Bross croft
Holland Joseph, tailor, clothier & outfitter, “The Exchange,” 123 Station rd
Howarth Geo. Frdk. drapr. 62 Station rd
Howarth Moses, confectnr. 89 Station rd
Hoyland Miriam (Mrs.), ironmonger, Station road
Hudson Jn. Green, saddler 45 Station rd
Ingle Brothers, iron & tinplate workers, 154 Station road
Irish National League Club (Patrick Welch, sec.), 32 Bankbottom
Jakeman Albt. news agent, 150 Station rd
Japson Mary (Mrs.), shpkpr. 80 Bross croft
Johnson Thos. coal merchant, Station
Jolley Kezia (Mrs.), Spinners’ Arms P.H. Marsden street
Kenyon Nancy (Mrs.), drpr. 37 Station rd
Kirk Thomas, farmer, Park road
Lee Amanda (Miss), grocer, Woolley Bridge road
Livesley Squire, draper, 101 Station rd
Loxley John, farmer, Hadfield cross
Luke Usher, surgeon
McDermott Hugh, shopkpr. 32 Bankbtm
McDermott Patrick, drapr. 33 Bankbtm
McGarratty Wm. Jn. shopkpr. Waterside
McMath Henry, shopkpr. 35B Bankbtm
McMath William, furniture dealer, & highway rate collector & inspector of nuisances to the rural sanitary authority, 30 Bank street
Manchester & Liverpool District Banking Co. Limited, bankers, Station rd
Marsden Alfd. shpkpr. Woolley Bridge rd
Martin Wm. Alf. draper, 108 Station rd
Mason William James, boot & shoe maker, Station road
Mattrick Mary (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 110 Station road
Miller Thos. & Co. grocrs. Woolley brdg
Miller Thomas, grocer, Woolley bridge
Mitchell Julian, surg.-dent. 83 Station rd
Morrison Hannah (Mrs.), dress maker, Osborne street
Nelson Samuel, tailor, 74 Station road
Newton Amos, butcher, 3 Station road
Newton Samuel, watch & clock maker & general dealer, 103 Station road
Oldfield Elizabeth (Mrs), Spread Eagle P.H. Woolley bridge
Patchett Henry, brick maker & butcher, 31 Station road
Pickford Lot, greengrocer, 113 Station rd
Platt Edward & Son, cotton manufactrs
Platt Joe, butcher, 19 Bross croft
Pratt James, Victoria P.H. Bross croft
Proctor Robert, chemist, 15 Station rd
Public Weighing Machine (Edwin Rothwell, weigher), Station yard
Rayner Herbert, butcher, 69 Station rd
Rhodes Thomas Limited, cotton spinners & manufacturers, Mersey mills ; & 42 George street, Manchester
Rhodes James, surgeon, Railway street
Rigge Fletcher, cashier at T. & W. Sidebottom’s, Waterside mills
Roberts George William, cabinet maker, 54 Bank street
Robinson Alonzo, beer ret. 41 Station rd
Rockwood Thomas, coal mer. Station yd
Rogers Saml, shopkpr. Woolley bridge
Rogers Wm. Thos. tailor, 35 Station rd
Roworth Henry, hay & straw mer, Cross
Scales & Sons, boot mas. 125 Station rd
Scholes James, butcher, 39 Railway st
Sheppard Robert, draper, 29 Station rd
Shortland Jn. Thos. Baker, 148 Station rd
Shufflebotham Joseph, clogger, 1A, Station road
Sidebottom T. & W. cotton spinners & manufrs. Waterside mills & Bridge mills ; & 20 Pall mall, Manchester
Sidebottom Henry, builder, Railway st
Sidebottom John, cattle dlr. Hadfield rd
Stearne Peter, hardware dlr. 65 Station rd
Sutton Thomas, stone mason, 168 Station road
Swire John, clogger, Woolley bridge
Tatlow Hy. watch maker, 27 Station rd
Taylor Abel, hair dresser & shopkeeper, 29 Station road
Thornley Deborah (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 79 Station road
Thorniley Jas. chemist, 315 Hadfield rd
Thornley Taylor, coal merchant, 95 Station road
Thorpe Walter, coal merchant, Station yd
Torkington Charles Henry, tripe dresser, 53 Station road
Torkington William, corn & flour dealer & family grocer, 19 Station road
Toulson William, draper & outfitter, 77 Station road
Turner Wm. wheelwright, Station road
Wadsworth Len, farmer & beer retailer, 78 Station road
Wadsworth Tim, hay & straw dealer, Railway street
Wain John, shopkeeper, Hadfield road
Walker Elliott Morton, draper, 105 & 106 Station road
Warhurst Martha, Harriet & Ellen (Misses),confectioners, 126 Station rd
Warhurst Caleb, joiner & builder, 146 Station road
Warhurst Enoch, joiner, Station road
Warrington Israel, grocer, Green lane
Whelan John Joseph, surgeon
White William M.D., C.M. physician, Hadfield road
Wilde Jn. blacksmith,73 & 75 Station rd
Wildgoose William, grocer, Waterside
Willis Charles, boot & shoe maker, 131 Station road
Winterbottom Robert, registrar to burial board, Cemetery lodge
Wood Samuel, grocer, 23 Station road
Wood Thos. refrsht. Rooms, 152 Station rd
Woodcock Matthew, boot & shoe maker, 44 Station road
Woodhead Mary (Mrs.), news agent, 22 Bank street
Woods Jas. Joseph, shopkpr. 14 Albert st
Woolley Edward, butcher, Woolley bdg
Woolley Geo. butcher, 104 Station road
Worsley Arthur, joiner, 42 Bross Croft
Worsley Henry, shopkeeper & commission agent, 41 Bross croft
Worth Henry, draper, 121 Station road
Wynn Patrick, tripe sellr. 34 Station rd
Youles Robert, shopkeeper,Woolley bdg

Handforth James
Platt Edward
Platt William, Padfield brook
Sargentson James, Padfield house
Sargentson James, Rosey Bank house
Sargentson James, jun
Bennett Joseph, farmer, Brook farm
Bland Robert, farmer, Deep Clough
Booth Elizabeth (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 56 Platt street
Booth Hannah (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 113 Main road
Broadbent Samuel, farmer & shopkeeper
Crossland John, farmer, Deep Clough
Cundy William, shopkeeper
Dearnley Eli, shopkeeper
Equitable Co-operative Society Limited James Harwood, secretary; Charles Loxley, treasurer)
Fielding Mary & Ellen (Misses), drapers & confectioners
Fielding William, grocer
Gee James Albert, farmer, Torside
Goddard Jabez Solomon, farmer, Little Padfield
Greaves William, baker
Greenwood Henry, farmer & tripe dresser
Hall Sarah (Miss), farmer
Handforth James, cashier at Messrs. Thomas Rhodes & Son, Hadfield mills
Holland Jane (Mrs.), laundress, Post st
Hoyle Joseph, farmer
Jackson John, farmer
Jackson Thomas, farmer, Old House
Jacobs Charles, beer retailer
Littlewood Samuel, drysaltr. 27 Post st
Mapp Charles, carrier
Maulkinson H. G. collector of general & dist. rates to the corporation, Post st
Mayhew John, draper, Post street
Oldfield Mark, farmer, Deep Clough
Padfield Liberal Club (Richard Clayton, sec.), 109 Hadfield road
Phair Betty (Mrs.), Peel’s Arms P.H.
Platt Edward & Son, cotton manufctrs
Platt Joe, butcher
Pogson Samuel, clogger
Pratt James, beer retailer
Rhodes Thomas & Son, cotton spinners & manufacturers, Hadfield mills; & 42 George street, Manchester
Riley Ellen (Miss), shopkeeper
Roberts William Robinson, farmer, Windy arbor
Robinson Ellen (Mrs.), farmer
Sargentson James, cotton waste dealer & blowing manufacturer
Scholes James, quarry owner
Sidebottom James, shopkeeper
Smith Walter, news agent, 16 Platt st
Wild Walter, grocer
Woods Joseph, draper, 49 Platt street
Worth Henry, draper & tailor

CHARLESWORTH, on the borders of Cheshire, is a township and parish, formed in 1849 from that of Glossop, including Chisworth and Simmondley, in the High Peak division of the county, hundred of High Peak civil parish, petty sessional division, union and county court district of Glossop, rural deanery of Glossop, archdeaconry of Derby and diocese of Southwell. Charlesworth township is 1½ miles west from Dinting station on the Manchester, Sheffield and Lincolnshire railway, 2½ miles south-west from Glossop, 13 from Manchester and 200½ from London. The church of St. John, erected in 1849 at a cost of £2,700, is a cruciform building of stone in the Early English style, consisting of chancel, nave, north porch and a tower on the north side forming a north transept, and containing one bell, dated 1849: there are 480 sittings, 100 being free. The register dates from the year 1849. The living is a vicarage, tithe rent-charge £3, gross yearly value £200, with 3 acres of glebe and residence, in the gift of the Crown and Bishop of Southwell alternately, and held since 1878 by the Rev Geo. Collins M.A. of St. Catharine’s College, Cambridge, and M.A. ad eundem Oxon. There is a Congregational chapel (formerly a Catholic chapel), and a Particular Baptist chapel, built in 1835. Cotton spinning and rope and cotton band making are carried on here. Lord Howard of Glossop is lord of the manor and the principal landowner. The soil is clay; subsoil, sandstone. The chief crops are hay. The area is 1,463 acres ; rateable value, £4,768 ; the population of the township in 1881 was 1,399, and of the ecclesiastical district 2,315; acreage, 3,322 ; rateable value, £4,768.
Post Office, - Miss Ellen Hague, receiver. Letters through Manchester via Broad bottom, which is the nearest money order & telegraph office, arrive at 8.10 a.m. & 6.15 p.m. & are dispatched at same times; postal orders are issued, but not paid
Wall Letter Box, cleared at 8 a.m. & 6.30 p.m.; Sundays, 10 a.m.
Schools :-
Congregational, Charlesworth, erected in 1823, for 256 children; average attendance, 98 ; Thomas Ramsden Shaw, master
Wesleyan, Chisworth (mixed), erected in 1871, for 130 children ; average attendance, 72 ; Mrs. Phoebe Bagshaw, mistress
Chisworth, is a township, 4 miles south-west from Glossop and about 1 mile, by field paths, from Mottram Station. Here are cotton mills and collieries. The acreage is 794 ; rateable value, £1,782 ; the population in 1881 was 422
Wall Letter Box cleared at 8.30 a.m. & 5.45 p.m.
Wesleyan Methodist chapel, built in 1834, with a small burial ground attached.
Simmondley is a township, partly within Glossop borough, near the Manchester and Sheffield railway, 1 mile south-west from Glossop. The acreage is 989, rateable value, £2,14,1 ; the population in 1881 was 506.
Letters through Glossop, which is the nearest post, money order & telegraph office, arrive at 9 a.m. The nearest Letter Box is at Dinting
The children of this place attend the day schools at Charlesworth, Dinting & Whitfield Congregational (branch) Sunday School, erected in 1884

Booth George, sen. Littlefield house
Booth Joseph, Spring cottage
Collins Rev. George M.A. Vicarage
Ratcliffe John Harrison, Woodseats
Rowbottom Joseph, Lee Vale house
Rowbottom James, Beech house
Rowbottom Miss
Smith Crosland, Lee Vale cottage
Beaumont William, shopkeeper
Booth George & Sons,cotton band manufacturers, Lee Vale mill
Booth John & Son,cotton band manufacturers, Lee Vale rope works
Booth Charles, butcher
Booth Elizabeth (Mrs.), farmer, Lee brow
Booth John, butcher
Booth John, cotton band manufacturer, see George Booth & Sons
Booth Joseph, farmer
Booth Samuel, farmer
Bowers Samuel, slater & plasterer
Burdekin George, farmer, Woodseats
Charlesworth & Chisworth Conservative Club (John Thomas Wooliscroft, sec)
Charlesworth & Chisworth Liberal Club (Benjamin Harrison Rowbottom,sec)
Co-operative Stores (Thos. Hallas, sec)
Cooper Edwin, com. traveller, Mayhouse
Cooper George, shoe maker & farmer
Cooper Moses, tailor, grocer & farmer
Cooper Rhoda (Mrs.), draper
Cooper Sarah (Mrs.), Horse Shoe inn
Dakin Reuben, grocer & corn dealer
Davenport Thomas, Gray Mare inn
Drinkwater William, farmer
Garlick Edward, beer retailer & farmer
Garside William, shoe maker
Goddard James, farmer
Hague Charles, grocer, Post office
Hallas James, George & Dragon P.H.
Handforth Mary (Mrs.), farmer
Harrison John, farmer, Coombs farm
Harrison William, farmer, Hargate hill
Higton Thomas, farmer
Higginbottom Joseph, farmer
Higginbottom Samuel, besom maker
Higginbottom Wright, farmer
Hunt William Henry, surgeon
Jackson John, joiner
Jackson Joseph, farmer
Jackson William, farmer
Lowndes John, farmer, Warehouse fold
Moss Robert, grocer & corn dealer
Neal Edward, greengrocer
Ratcliffe John Harrison, cotton spinner & cotton band manfr. Kinderlee mills
Ratcliffe Jn. Harrison, farmr. Woodseats
Redford Samuel, farmer, Hargate hill
Rowbottom James, cotton spinner & doubler & cotton band manufacturer, Holehouse mills Rowbottom James, farmer
Rowbottom Peter, grocer & draper
Rowbottom Thomas, farmer
Shaw John, tailor
Shepley David, shoe maker
Shepley Thos. hide & skin dlr. & farmer
Sidebottom Andrew (Mrs.), farmer
Sidebottom William, farmer
Smith Crosland, cotton band manufactr
Smith John, farmer, Woodseats
Sykes Jonathan & Thomas Beard, slaters & plasterers
Swallow James, quarry owner
Taylor William, joiner
Thornley Alice (Mrs.), grocer
Thornley James, wheelwright
Wainwright John, farmer, Stockwell farm
Walker Thomas, farmer
Wharam Walter, Bull’s Head P.H.
Wild John, farmer
Wild William, farmer
Wood John, wheelwright & smith

Brown James, Chisworth house
Clayton Abel
Hett George, Fair view
Ratcliffe Mrs. Rarewood house
Rowbottom George, Chewwood
Ashton Hannah (Mrs.), farmr. Sandy la
Bedford Alice (Mrs.), shopkeeper
Booth Elizabeth (Mrs.), farmr. Holehouse
Booth Fredk. farm bailiff to Mrs. Ratcliffe
Bradbury Robert, farmer
Bradley Henry, shopkeeper
Brown James, bleacher
Clayton Abel, colliery owner & min.enginr
Clayton James, farmer
Cooper Caleb, farmer, Hill Top farm
Cooper Mary Ann (Mrs.), farmer, Hill top
Co-operative Stores (George Hallas,sec)
Crowshaw John, shopkeeper
Hallas George, Commercial inn
Hallas Jonathan, farmer
Hett Elizabeth (Mrs.), dress maker
Higginbottom Joseph, quarry owner
Ratcliffe Jas. Thos. farmer, Sandy lane
Reece James, farmer
Rowbottom James, cotton doubler, Chew wood
Rowbottom Jesse, farmer, Moorside
Salt Alfred (Mrs.), farmer, Boarfold
Salt Charles, farmer, Sandy lane
Salt James, farmer, Boarfold
Sidebottom Ann (Mrs.), farmer, Sandy la
Thornley Eli, grocer & corn dealer
Thornley James farmer
Thornley Jas. jun. farmer, Intakes frm
Varley Selina (Mrs.), shopkeeper
Wild Joseph, farmer

Smith Alfred
Bennett James, farmer
Bennett John, farmer, Plainstead
Bennett Randle, farmer, Cownedge
Buckley George, farmer
Charlesworth William, farmer
Dewsnap Samuel, farmer & beer retailr
Dixon Peter, farmer
Hadfield Charles, farmer, Cownedge
Harrison Abel, mineral water manufacturer, Simmondley springs
Higginbottom Hugh, farmer, Rose farm
Hill Jane (Miss), farmer
Hurst Chas. farmr. Simmondley Hall fm
Hurst William, farmer
Jackson Albert, farmer
Lyne William Sons, picker maker & cotton band manufacturer
Lyne George, picker maker& cotton band manufr. see William Lyne & Sons
Lyne George, farmer
Lyne Thomas, picker makers & cotton band manufrs. see Wm. Lyne & Sons
Lyne Thomas, farmer
Marshall Thomas, farmer
Newton Robert, slater & plasterer
Redford Sarah (Mrs.), farmer
Robinson Samuel, farmer
Shaw John James, cattle dealer
Smith Alfred, farmer
Thorne Mary Ann (Mrs.), shopkeeper
Wardle Aaron, farmer, Sitch farm
White Thomas, shopkeeper

HAYFIELD is a township and parish, formed in 1837 from that of Glossop and consisting of the hamlets of Great Hamlet, Phoside and Kinder, in the High Peak division of the county, Glossop county court district, hundred of High Peak, petty sessional division of Chapel-en-le-Frith, Hayfield union, rural deanery of Glossop, archdeaconry of Derby and diocese of Southwell: Hayfield is 5 miles south from Glossop station, 4 north from Chapel-en-le-Frith, 18 from Manchester, 10 from Buxton, 3 from New Mills and 11 south-east from Stockport, and is the terminus of a branch line from New Mills on the Sheffield and Midland railway : the village, built of stone, has a scattered and bleak appearance, and is about 622 feet above the sea-level, standing on the banks of the Sett, a rapid mountain stream which rises on the western slopes of the Peak. The church of St. Matthew, situated between the Kinder stream and Phoside valley, was originally erected in 1386, and rebuilt in 1818 at a cost of £2,000, and is an edifice of stone in the Early English style, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles, south porch and an embattled western tower with pinnacles, containing a clock and 6 bells: there is a monument with bust, by Bacon, to the late Joseph Hague esq. of Park Hall, d. 1786, and others to the Rev. John Badley, curate of Hayfield (1764), and to the Rev. George Buckley Bower B.D. rector of Great Billing, Northants, and archdeacon of Richmond, Yorks (1800) : the stained east window was erected in December, 1879, by Mrs. Bennett, of Birch House, in memory of her husband ; and there are others to the late Levi and Elijah Hall, Mrs. Hall, of Moorlands, and the late Wright Turner esq. (1881) : the church affords 850 sittings, 50 being free: an additional burying ground of 1 acre was bought by a rate and consecrated in 1862 : the Rev. John Wesley visited Hayfield and preached in the church in 1733, during the incumbency of Mr. Badley. The register dates from the year 1622. The living is a perpetual curacy, gross yearly value £180, in the gift of the resident freeholders, and held since 1877 by the Rev. Ricketts Raymond Ricketts, of St. Bees : a parsonage house was erected in 1869, at a cost of £1,200, raised by subscription. There are Wesleyan, Primitive Methodist and United Methodist chapels, and Liberal and Conservative clubs. The facilities for manufacture, owing to the abundance of water, are very considerable, and two extensive calico-printing works are carried on, besides the print works at Birch Vale, a mile south : there are also two paper mills at Bank Vale, and cotton mill at Little Hayfield : formerly a good deal of twine, locally known as “bant,” was made here: twice a year a shepherds’ meeting is held, when the various sheep marks are agreed upon and strayed sheep exchanged: fairs for cattle are held here May 12th and October 10th. The charities amount to £23 yearly for clothing, chiefly by the gift of the late Joseph Hague esq. of Park Hall (1778): prior to 1820 the poor had a right of turfery on “Old Pits,” a plot of 40 acres on Leygate Moor. Due south of Hayfield lies Chinley Tor, a steep and rugged mountain, 1,493 feet high, commanding fine views over the valley of the Goyt and the adjacent summit of Eccles Pike (1,225 feet) southwards ; to the west lie Whaley Moor (1,347 feet) and Sponds Hill (1,357 feet); northwards there is an extensive prospect over Disley, Poynton Park and the plains of Cheshire: this district is believed to have been at one time in Roman occupation, and some coins of the 8th century have been found on the Doctors’ road, near Bowden Bridge, one part of which road was paved : previously to 1830, the flat piece of ground near the Kinder Print Works was common land, and known as “ Cutlers’ Green,” cutlery having, it is said, been made here before its manufacture was known in Sheffield : halfway between this spot and Hayfield is the Whitworth well, famous for its curative properties. The village, from its peculiar situation, has always been liable to floods, one of which, in 1748, destroyed some lives, several water mills and part of the churchyard; in August, 1799, the bridge was washed away, and in 1809 a number of buildings ; again, on the 16th June, 1858, the torrent tore up the mill weir and carried away the backs of four houses abutting on the stream. By an ancient custom Hayfield had the privilege of electing a mayor, an office which the late John Hobson esq. filled for thirty years: Joseph Bowden esq. was elected mayor of Hayfield in 1844. Park Hall, 1 mile north of Hayfield, was formerly the abode of the late Joseph Hague, a generous benefactor to this neighbourhood: he began life by selling small articles from a basket, and subsequently went to London, where in course of time he became an opulent merchant; he died at Park Hall on the 12th March, 1786, and was buried at Glossop. The Duke of Devonshire K.G. is lord of the manor ; F. J. Sumner esq. is the principal landowner. The area of the township is 7,920 acres, and of the parish 11,309 acres; rateable value, £13,438 ; the population of the township of Hayfield in 1881 was 2,801, including 82 officers and inmates in the workhouse; and of the parish 4,034.
Parish Clerk, William S. Llewellynn.
Post, M. O. & T. O., S. B. & Insurance & Annuity Office. - John Pursglove, postmaster. Letters are received through Stockport at 6.25 a.m. & 3.30 p.m.; dispatched at 8.15 a.m. & 7.30 p.m.; on sundays arrive at 6.2; a.m. ; dispatched at 7.20 p.m.
Surveyors of Highways for Hayfield. - Great Hamlet, Joel Goddard & Israel Smith Etchells; Phoside Hamlet, John Barber & Squire Hall; Kinder, John Greenwood
Hayfield Union.
Board day, monday, fortnightly.
Hayfield Union comprises the following places :- Beard, Thornset, Whitle & Ollerset, Disley or Disley Stanley (Chester), Hayfield & Mellor; the population of the union in 1881 was 13,734; rateable value in 1890, £56,588
Clerk to the Guardians & Committee, Henry Barber, Spring bank, New Mills
Treasurer, Joseph Nixon Potts, Manchester & County Bank, Stockport
Relieving & Vaccination Officer, Thomas Mower, Newtown, Cheshire
Medical Officer & Public Vaccinator, James Edwin Anderton L.R.C.P.Edin. Spring bank, New Mills Superintendent Registrar, Henry Barber, Spring bank, New Mills; deputy, A. Barber, New Mills Registrar of Births, Deaths & Marriages, George Walker, New Mills ; deputy, A. Grundey, New Mills Workhouse, Low Leighton, a building of stone, built in 1840, to hold 96 inmates; John Livesley, master; medical officer, J. E. Anderton L.R.C.P.Edin. New Mills; Miss Martha Ann Livesley, matron
Rural Sanitary Authority.
Meets at Workhouse, monthly, on Mondays, at 1 p.m.
Clerk, Henry Barber, Spring bank, New Mills
Treasurer, Joseph Nixon Potts, Manchester & County Bank, Stockport
Medical Officer of Health, Charles John Bennett, Buxton
Inspectors of Nuisances, John Fox Gee, Hayfield; Joseph Marsland, Mellor; Henry Curtis, Disley
School Attendance Committee.
Clerk, Henry Barber, Spring bank, New Mills
Attendance Officer, Joseph Marsland, Mellor
Schools :-
A School Board of 5 members was formed in 1881 ; John Fox Gee, clerk to the board Board (mixed & infants), built in 1888, for 183 children; average attendance, 182 ; Robert Henry Fletcher, master ; Miss Eleanor Gregory, infants’ mistress National (mixed & infants), erected in 1830 & enlarged in 1879, for 290 children ; average attendance, 90 ; Thomas Beardwood, master ; Miss Clara Bentley, infants’ mistress Wesleyan, erected in 1874, for 281 children ; average attendance, 174 ; William Jackson, master
Railway Station, William Procter, station master
Birch Vale is a village, 2 miles east from New Mills, 1 mile west from Hayfield, with a station on the Sheffield and Midland railway: calico printing is carried on here very extensively, and there are also quarries producing paving sets and wall stones, besides coal pits. Here is a Free Methodist chapel.
Post, M. O. & T. O., S. B. & Insurance & Annuity Office. - Arthur Hirst, postmaster. Letters arrive at 6.10 a.m. & 3.20 p.m. & are dispatched thereto at 8.15 a.m. & 3.45 & 7.40 p.m.
Railway Station, James Ryley, station master
Little Hayfield is a hamlet three-quarters of a mile north of Hayfield, with a cotton mill, colour and pigment works, and a Primitive Methodist chapel, built in 1851 ; there are sittings for 200 persons, 70 being free.

Bennett John, Highgate lane
Branthwaite Robert Edward
Davidson George Scott
Gibb Mrs
Hadfield James, Swallow house
Hall Joe, South view
Leech Robert Marshall Mrs
Ricketts Rev. Ricketts Raymond, Parsonage
Slack Albert, Oaklands
Slack Christopher, Bank vale
Wimpenny Abel Buckley, Oak villa
Anderson Wm. Stirling M.D., C.M. Surgn
Bennett Thomas, blacksmith
Booth Joseph, clogger
Bowmer Joseph, hair dresser
Boyle Walter, builder
Bradbury Joseph, butcher
Bradbury Mary (Mrs.), greengrocer, Church street
Bradbury Thomas, general dealer
Braddock Joseph, beer retailer
Branthwaite Robert Edward, solicitor
Brocklehurst John, farmer, Shude hill
Brocklehurst Thomas, blacksmith
Brocklehurst Wright, grocer & druggist
Brown William, Bull’s Head P.H.
Chatterton John Thomas, draper
Conservative Club (Fdk. Woolley, sec)
Cooper John, farmer, Highgate lane
Co-operative Stores (Rt. Barber, manger)
Davidson Geo. Scott M.A., M.B., C.M. Surg
Digby Joseph, beer retailer
Downs Joseph Bennett, grocer
Eversden John William, corn merchant
Garside Luke, stationer & tobacconist
Gee John Fox, assistant overseer, tax collector & inspector of nuisances to rural sanitary authority & clerk to school board
Gee Joseph, joiner & confectioner
Goddard Hannah (Mrs.), shopkeeper, Church street
Goodwin Thomas, beer retailer
Greenwood Thomas, butcher
Hadfield Benjamin, slater & plasterer
Hadfield George, shoe maker
Hadfield James, shoe maker
Hadfield Mary Jane (Miss), dress maker
Hampson John & Samuel, wheelwrights
Handford Jane (Mrs.), grocer & draper
Harrison Frederick, beer retailer
Hayfield Coal Co.(Jn. Brocklehurst,sec)
Hayfield Gas Works (John Brocklehurst, sec)
Hayfield Printing Co. (Abel Buckley Wimpenny, manager)
Hill Ann (Mrs.), shopkeeper
Holt Thomas, tailor & grocer
Howard Samuel, coal mer. Station yard
Hudson Ann(Mrs.), stationr. Bridge end
Hudson John, confectioner
Hurst Thomas William, grocer
Johnson Sarah (Mrs.), farmer, Cote lane
Liberal Club (Samuel Barber, sec)
Lithgow John, confectnr. & tobacconist
Livesley Alfred, chemist
Lowe Hannah (Mrs.), grocer & corn dlr
Manchester & County Bank Limited (sub-branch) (Hy. Barber, manager). Church street; open Wednesday & Friday from 10 a.m. till 2 p.m.; draw on Union Bank of London Limited, London E C
Marshall Hannah & Martha Ann (Misses), dress makers
Mason Edwin, builder & ironmonger
Mason Thos. stone dealer, Church street
Moseley John Edward, boot maker
Mosscrop, Salathiel & Alvah, drapers
Ollerenshaw Joseph, wheelwright, joiner, builder, grocer &c
Porritt Ralph, blacksmith
Porritt Wm. draper, joiner & wheelwright
Procter William, station master
Pursglove Benjamin, greengrocer
Pursglove John, grocer & postmaster
Rangeley Ernest, boot maker
Schofield Bold,tinplate worker & draper
Shepley James, joiner & painter
Slack Jn. paper manfr. Bank Vale mills
Swindells Henry, boot maker
Taylor Ann (Mrs.), tinman & brazier
Torkington Jn, farmer & pork butcher
Trevitt Thomas, beer retailer
Turner Ann (Mrs.), shopkeeper
Turner George, cooper
Turner Elizh.(Mrs.), fruitr. & fishmongr
Turner Robert, shopkeeper & band ma
Walker John, boot & shoe maker
Walton Joseph, Royal hotel, & coal mer
Walton Josiah, grocer
Waterhouse John, jun. butcher & farmr
Waterhouse Rebecca (Mrs.), apartments
Waterhouse William, tailor
Watts James Thomas, Pack Horse inn
Webster James, George hotel
Wimpenny Abel Buckley, manager of the Hayfield Printing Co. Oak villa
Woolley Fredk. Tinker, beer retailer
Woolrich James, farmer

Little Hayfield.
Gillaird James, Marl house
Rice Joseph J.P. Park hall
Ashton Bros. & Co. Lim. cotton manufacturers (Joseph Turner, manager)
Bennett John & Co. pigment & color manufacturers, Primrose vale
Bowden Tom, farmer & steward to F. J. Sumner esq. Little Hayfield house
Bradbury Samuel, farmer, Hallett
Burbidge Hy. farmer, Tom Hayes farm
Charlesworth George, grocer
Elliott Elias, farmer, Knars
Etchells Israel Smith, farmer, & surveyor of highways for Hayfield, Spray house
Garrett James, farmer, Blackshaw
Goddard Joel, surveyor of highways for Hayfield
Hadfield Randal, farmr. Brown Hill frm
Hearsaum David, farmer, Bull Shaw
Higginbottom Rowland, farmer, Barns Fold
Hill William, farmer, Brookhouse
Hudson Isaac, New inn, & joiner
Hurst James, beer retailer
Hurst James, farmer, Blackshaw
Jackson William, farmer, Soapy barn
Marriott Francis, farmer
Marriott Thomas, farmer, Brook houses
Rose Jonathan, farmer, High barn
Sandiford William, farmer
Turner Joseph, manager to Ashton Brothers & Co. West view
Waterhouse Isaac, farmer, Lane head
Wild James, grocer

Gold William Thomas, Stone’s house
Watts James, Farlands
Welsh James, Bowden bridge
Wilson William Henry, Kinder bank
Barnes Mrs. George, frmr. Kinder head
Barnes Joseph, farmer, Lower house
Bennett Thomas (Mrs.), farmer, Tunsted clough
Bradbury Edmd. farmr. Coldwell clough
Downs James, stone dealer, Rock hall
Gee John Thomas, farmer & auctioneer, Ashes
Greenwood John, farmer, & surveyor of highways for Kinder, Bank end
Hall Joseph & Son, stone dealers
Hall Squire, stone dealer, & surveyor of highways for Hayfield, see Hall Joseph & Son
Kinder Fire Brigade (Thomas Hodgson, superintendent)
Kinder Printing Co. calico printers, Kinder works
Marriott George, cashier at Kinder Printing Co. Kinder bank
Marriott Samuel, farmer, Bowden bridge & Hill house
Marriott Samuel, farmer, Upper house
Needham John William, farmer, Booth
Pollitt Robert, farmer, South head
Robinson Henry, shopkeeper
Rowbottom Jn. Chas. Sportsman’s inn
Rowbottom John Charles, stone mason
Wardle Brothers, stone dlrs. Ellerbank
Warrington Levi, stone mason, Rock hall
Whiteley George Frederick, chimney sweeper, Cuckoo nest
Wilcockson Sarah (Mrs.), farmer, Kinder head

Barber John, farmer, & surveyor of highways for Hayfield, New house
Bradbury Thomas, farmr. Chinley moor
Braddock Joseph, beer retailer
Brocklehurst Eli Adam, frmr. Ridge top
Brocklehurst Squire, farmer
Cooper John, farmer, Highgate head
Ford Elijah, farmer, Hill house
Ford James, farmer
Green James, farmer, Stubbs
Hadfield Benjamin, farmer & plasterer
Hadfield Eli, farmer
Hadfield Thomas, farmer, Highgate
Higginbottom Rowland, frmr. Barnesfold
Hudson James, cattle dealer & shopkpr
Hudson Joseph, farmer, Clough head
Johnson Sarah (Mrs.), farmer, Hazelhrst
Morton John, farmer, Heys
Porritt John, farmer, Ridge Top lane
Turner John Wm. farmer, Ridge top

Birch Vale.
Bennett John, Birch Vale house
Bennett Joseph, Westwood
Bennett Mrs. Birch Vale house
Bennett Thomas J.P. Heathfield
Brainthwaite Robert, Netherhey
Hall Misses, Moorland house
Pearson Mrs. Hall bank
Rogers Miss, Birch hall
Turner Mrs. Spring villas
Turner Mrs. John, Spring villas
Wyatt Walter, Batley villas
Ashton Isaac, farmer, Coldharbour
Ashton James, farmer, Ravensleach
Barlow Ralph, shopkeeper
Baxter James, block cutter
Beard Richard, butcher
Bennett John & Sons, calico printers
Bennett Charles & Co. yarn bleachers & sizers
Bennett James, stone dealer
Bennett Thomas, calico printer, see John Bennett & Sons
Clayton James, Grouse inn
Froggatt James, farmer, Highwalls
Hibbert George Hy. farmer, Lower cliffe
Hobson Ellen (Mrs.), shopkeeper
Hudson Jsph. builder & insurance agent
Hirst Arthur, grocer, Post office
Lawton Joseph, beer retailer
Livesley Samuel, farmer, Weathercotes
Marshall Jacob, farmer, Bankhead
Mellor John, joiner
Randles William Bate, shopkeeper
Robinson Hugh, Sycamore inn
Ryley James, station master
Taylor Benjamin, farmer, Higginbottm
Twemlow Charles, farmer, Higher cliffe
Wardle James, farmer, Birch hall
Williamson Joseph, stone dealer
Wyatt Dennis, draper & grocer, & cashier at Bennett John & Sons’ print works

CHINLEY, BUGSWORTH and BROWNSIDE form a township in the ancient parish of Glossop (the three places being united for poor rates, but separate for the repair of highways), in the High Peak division of the county, High Peak hundred and Chapel-en-le-Frith petty sessional division, union and county court district.
Chinley is 2 miles north from Chapel-en-le-Frith, with station for passenger and goods traffic on the Midland railway, 172 miles from London. The Dore and Chinley branch of the Midland railway, now in course of construction and including a fine viaduct, will join the Ambergate and Manchester branch here. Here is a Congregational chapel with an endowed Sunday school, receiving about £20 yearly from rent-charges on the Town hall at Chapel-en-le-Frith, left by the late Thomas Slack esq. M.D. Here are also paper, sheet wadding and cotton wool mills.
Bugsworth is 9 miles south from Glossop, 3 west-north-west from Chapel-en-le-Frith, 9 north-north-west from Buxton and 168 by road from London and 173 by rail, on the borders of Cheshire and divided from that county by the river Goyt, which is here crossed by a stone bridge. The Midland railway has a station here, and parcels by passenger trains addressed to residents in this township should be forwarded by that line and not via Whaley Bridge. Here is the terminus of the Peak Forest canal, running to Manchester, Macclesfield, Staffordshire, Huddersfield and Wakefield. The Peak Forest Tramway also commences here, terminating at Dove Holes, and is used for carrying mineral produce and goods in conjunction with the canal. St. James’ church, built in 1874 at a cost of about £1,400, is a building in a modern Romanesque style, and consisting of apsidal chancel, nave of three bays and a bell-cot containing one bell: the church will seat about 200 people, and is under the control of the Rev. Adam Pyle Hamilton-Wilson, vicar of Glossop ; the Rev. James Bower, of St. Aidan’s, has been curate-in-charge since 1885. A burial ground was consecrated here in 1879, the land being conveyed to special diocesan trustees for interments according to the rites of the Church of England only. There is a Primitive Methodist chapel here, built in 1876, and seating 200; the Congregationalists hold services in a public schoolroom. Large quantities of lime and grit stone are obtained from the local quarries, which are extensively worked : there is also a colliery and a lime kiln. Lord Howard of Glossop is lord of the manor of Bugsworth.
Brownside is 2 miles east from Chinley and 1½ north from Chapel-en-le-Frith. The land is held by numerous small owners. The soil is a dark loam ; subsoil, grit stone. The land is chiefly used for grazing purposes. The area is 3,831 acres ; rateable value, £9,998 ; the population in 1881 was 1,233.
Post Office, Chinley. - Henry Gregory, receiver. Letters arrive from Stockport at 7.45 a.m. ; dispatched at 6 p.m. week days only. Chapel-en-le-Frith is the nearest money order & telegraph office. Postal orders are issued here, but not paid
Post Office, Bugsworth. - Miss Mary Thompson, receiver. Letters arrive from Stockport, via Whaley Bridge (which is the nearest money order & telegraph office), at about 8 a.m. ; dispatched at 6 p.m. on week days only
Brownside letters arrive from Stockport, via Chapel-en-le- Frith
Wall Box, Chapel Milton, cleared at 6.30 p.m.
Schools :-
A School Board for the districts of Chinley, Bugsworth & Brownside was formed in 1883, consisting of 5 members ; J. B. Boycott, clerk, Chapel-en-le-Frith; J. G. Bramwell, attendance officer
Board (mixed), Chinley, erected in 1886, at a cost of £850, for 150 children ; average attendance, 120 ; Edward Herbert Crick, master
School (St. James’), erected 1878, for 200 children; average attendance, 90; Henry Moore, master Railway Stations:-
Bugsworth, Ephraim Poultney, station master
Chinley, Charles Leeson, station master

Brailsford Joseph, Chinley head
Lingard Joseph, Chapel Milton
Barnes James, farmer, Dry clough
Bennett John, Lamb inn
Brocklehurst Joseph, farmer
Brown William, Cross Keys P.H. Chapel Milton
Cooper Charles, farmer, Higher Ashen clough
Cooper George, farmer, Andrew’s farm
Cresswell Wm. farmer, Leaden knowl
Edwards J. P. contractor
Fidler Ann (Mrs.), shopkeeper
Goddard George, mason, Forelands ends
Green John, farmer
Gregory Mary(Mrs.),farmer, Naze farm
Gregory Hy. coal mer. shopkpr. & post off
Hadfield George & Sons, grocers & general provision dealers, corn, flour & seed merchants, farmers & butchers
Hadfield Joseph, farmer, Hull end
Hamer James, farmer
Handforth Thomas, farmer, Hallgate
Handforth Thomas, joiner & farmer, Platts farm
Hartley Mary(Mrs.),farmer, Wicken fm
Hudson Hannah (Mrs.), farmer, Moseley house
Hudson Chares Wyatt, carpenter
Kirk Peter, shopkpr. & farmr. Stubbins
Lingard Joseph, patent sheet wadding & cotton wool manufacturer, Milton mill
Lomas Ralph, farmer, White knowl
Long John, farmer, Hall farm
Longden John & George (Brothers), farmers, Slack’s farm
Marriott Esther (Mrs.), farmr. Red mires
Middleton Richard, plumber & glazier
Porritt James, farmer, Cole hill
Simpson John, shopkeeper & mason
Simpson William, mason
Simpson Zachariah, farmer, Squirrel farm
Slack John & Co. paper manufacturers, Whitehall mills
Taylor Eliza (Mrs.), farmer, Black Lane head
Taylor Tom, Squirrel inn
Waterhouse Samuel, farmer, Stubbins

Bower Rev. James [curate in charge], Parsonage
Horsfield Thomas, Carrington house
Barnes Joseph, farmer, Daisy bank
Braddock Joseph Carrington, farmer, Hough farm
Broadhurst Joseph, farmer, Cote bank
Bugsworth Colliery (John Drinkwater, proprietor)
Carrington Anthony, Bull’s Head P.H
Carrington James, farmer, Knowl top
Dale James, farmer, Brierley grove
Dixon William Pitt, lime burner
Drinkwater Elizabeth (Mrs.), farmer, Clifton house
Drinkwater John, farmer, Meadows
Drinkwater John, farmer, Green bottom
Drinkwater Joseph, farmer, Clough head
Hayes Thomas, Navigation inn
Manchester, Sheffield & Lincolnshire Railway Co. proprietors of the Ashton, Peak Forest & Macclesfield canals (John Worth, agent), Canal office
Pearson George, grocer
Proctor Francis, farmer
Proctor Joseph, farmer, Green head
Shirt William, shopkeeper
Sidebotham David, shoe maker
Simpson John, farmer
Thompson Mary (Miss),shpkpr. Post off
Yates John, farmer, Lane side
Yates William, farmer, Hill

Barnes Robert, farmer, Upper fold
Barnes Thomas, farmer, The Beet
Cooper Isaac, farmer, Shire oakes
Goddard Eliza (Mrs.), farmer, New ho
Hadfield John, farmer, Breck head
Simpson Joseph, farmer, Upper fold
Yates Robert, farmer, Gosty lowe

MELLOR is a township, chapelry and parish formed out of Glossop in 1838, 2 miles east from Marple station on the Ambergate and Manchester section of the Midland Railway, 8 miles south-south-west from Glossop, 7 north-east from Stockport, 9 west from Chapel-en-le-Frith and 173 from London by road and 177 by Midland railway, in the High Peak division of the county and hundred, Glossop petty sessional division, Hayfield union, rural deanery of Glossop, archdeaconry of Derby and diocese of Southwell, divided from Cheshire by the rivers Goyt and Etherow. The church of St. Thomas is a building of stone in the Perpendicular style, consisting of chancel, nave, south porch and a western embattled tower with pinnacles containing 3 bells and a clock, the first and third of which are dated respectively 1639 and 1615: there is a stone font of very early date and an oak pulpit, both curiously carved: a stained window was presented by Mr. Cooper, of Marple, in 1874, and another was given in 1879 by Mrs. Pearson of Stockport, in memory of her husband : there are 600 sittings : in the churchyard is a gravestone recording the deaths of a man and his five wives. The register of baptisms dates from the year 1629, of marriages from 1678 and of burials from 1624. The living is a vicarage, net yearly value £140, including 41 acres of glebe, in the gift of and held since 1859 by the Rev. Thomas Matthew Freeman, Lic. Theol. of Durham University, and surrogate. A charity of £7 5s. yearly, left in 1818 by the Rev. Francis Gisborne, formerly rector of Stavely, and Stafford’s charity of 303. yearly, are for clothing. There is a Primitive Methodist chapel built in 1827, and a Free Methodist chapel built in 1850. Cotton spinning and bleaching are carried on in the neighbourhood, but the collieries are not now worked. The principal landowners are Frederic Charles Arkwright esq. of Willersley Castle, Matlock, and Jonas Craven esq. of Mellor Hall, who is lord of the manor, Jonathan Jowett esq. and Ralph Wood esq. The soil is various ; subsoil, gritstone. The chief crops are hay and the land is in pasture. The township contains 8,331 acres ; rateable value, £6,366 ; the population in 1881 was 1,242 in the township and 2,977 in the ecclesiastical district.
Post Office. -James Marsland receiver. Letters arrive at 7.30 a.m. from Stockport; dispatched at 6.25 p.m. The nearest money order office is at Marple Bridge & telegraph office at Marple. Postal orders are issued here, but not paid
Endowed School (mixed), founded in 1639, by Thomas Walklate & others, with an endowment of £20 yearly, paid to the School fund & rebuilt 1881, for 200 children ; average attendance, 150 ; William Henry Smith, master
Carrier. - John Seville, to Stockport, tues. & fri
Ludworth is a township in Mellor parish,Glossop union, 6 miles south-west from Glossop, adjoining the Marple junction on the Sheffield and Midland railway. Here is a Primitive Methodist chapel built in 1875. There are quarries producing wall stones and paving setts. The area is 1,390 acres ; rateable value, £4,456; the population in 1881 was 1,735.
Wall Letter Box, Mill Brow, cleared at 645 p.m.
Compstall Road is a place in this township, consisting of one long street, on rising ground, 1 mile east from Marple station. Here is a Primitive Methodist chapel built 1867. Names of residents at Compstall Bridge are given in the Cheshire Directory.
Marple Bridge is a place in this township, built on the east bank of the river Goyt, and has a junction station on the Sheffield and Midland railway. The surrounding scenery is very picturesque, and many villa residences, chiefly of merchants and manufacturers from the neighbouring towns, have been built on the adjacent hill sides. The Catholic church of St. Mary was erected in 1859 at the expense of the late Lord Howard of Glossop : there is also a Congregational chapel.
Post & M. O. O., S. B. & Insurance & Annuity Office. - Robert Wheeldon, receiver. Letters arrive via. Stockport at 5.30 a.m. ; dispatched at 8 p.m. The nearest telegraph office is at Marple
Catholic School (mixed), for 100 children ; average attendance, 60; Miss Mary Cossum, mistress
Names of residents at Marple & Lower Marple are given in the Cheshire Directory

[Names marked thus * receive their letters through New Mills.]
Allen Miss, Mellor lodge
Ashworth H. M
Cowen James, Torr top
Craven Jonas, Mellor hall
Duckworth Cephas, Church villa
Evans Richard, Mellor cottage
Freeman Rev. Thomas Matthew L.Th. Vicarage
Jowett Jonathan, Lower hall
McKellen -, Brook Lea
Mainprice Charles Edward, Knowl villa
Popplewall -, Capstones
Pridham Mrs
Ratcliffe John G. Holly vale
Singleton William, Ivy cottage
*Tucker Rev. William Henry Browse M.A. [curate of Strines], Higher cliffe
Talbot -, Capstones
Walkden James, Brook house
Wild John, Lark bill
Wild Miss
Allen Louisa (Miss), ladies’ school, Mellor lodge
Ashworth Thomas, farmer
Barnes Robt. Arnfield, farmr. Pistol frm
Beard Geo. (Mrs.), farmer, Chatterton la
Beard Samuel, farmer, Hill top
Booth Alfred, farmer, Gun farm
Booth Isaac, farmer, Sharpfields
Bowden Benjamin, farmer, Drakecarr
Bradbury James (Mrs.), butcher & furniture dealer
Bradbury Samuel, farmr. Linnett clough
Bradbury William, farmer, Birchenough
Bradley John, farmer, Linnett clough
Brown Martin (Mrs.), farmr. Capstones
Bullock Samuel, farmer, Heathy bank
Chadwick Matthew, farmr. Spring bank
Chorlton John Wm. farmer, Snapehey
Clayton John & Co. Limited, cotton spinners, Mellor cotton mills
Collier Charles, farmer, Crossgates
Collier Elizh.(Mrs.), farmr. Windy bottm
Cook Ambrose, farmer, Knowl
Cooper George, farmer, Shiloh
Critchlow George, farmer, Nortonslee
Downs Robert, shopkeeper
*Earlam Isaac, farmer, Higher cliffe
Furniss Edwin, manager to John Clayton & Co. Mellor cotton mill
Hadfield John, farmer, Cobden edge
Hadfield Thomas, farmer, Cobden edge
Hambleton Charlotte (Mrs.), farmer
Harrop John, farmer, Cannon hill
Harrop Wm. band ma. shopkpr. & farmer
Hartle Wm. & Arthur, farmers, Bradshaw
Hibbert John, Sportsman’s Arms P.H. & farmer
Hinchliffe Benj. farmer, Bradshaw trees
Howard Benj. farmer, Cheetham hill
Hudson Ralph, farmer, Chatterton lane
Johnson James, shopkeeper, Holly vale
Jowett William, wadding manufacturer, Dove Bank mills
Lindley William, farmer, Cheetham hl
Marshington Philip, farmer, Bradshaw
Marsland Jsph. farmer, Longshaw clough
Marsland Joseph, assistant overseer & inspector of nuisances to Hayfield rural sanitary authority
*Moult John, surveyor & estate agent, Lower cliffe
Nadin Aaron, farmer, Birchenough
Nadin John, farmer, Higher bangs
Neild John, farmer, Holly end
Nield Robert, shopkeeper
Oldfield Joseph, farmer, Worthington
Oldfield William, farmer, Townscliffe
Pike William, shopkeeper
Potts Alfred, grocer
Ratcliffe John G. cotton spinner & bleacher, Hollyvale mills
Redford James, farmer, Cheetham hill
Richardson John, farmer, Greenclough
Richardson John, farmer, Holly vale
Rowbotham John, blacksmith
Saint -, farmer, Tarden
Seville John, farmer & carrier
Sigley Sam, Royal Oak P.H. & farmer
Sigley Thomas, farmer, Whitehouse
Southern Samuel, farmer, Meadows
Stafford Charles, farmer, Capstones
Stafford James, shopkeeper
Stafford Lettice (Mrs.), farmer & Apple Tree P.H.
Stafford William, Devonshire Arms P.H
Taylor John, farmer, Higher banks
Tether John, farmer, Horsepool
Thomas Ernill, farmer, Brookbottom
Turner William Thomas, butcher
Tymm Joseph, farmer
Walkden James, Oddfellows’ Arms P.H.
Wardle John, farmer, Strawberry hill
Wild Peter, farmer, Podnor
Wild Samuel, farmer, Lane head
Wood Hannah (Mrs.),farmer, Holly wood
Wood Josiah, shopkeeper
Wood Ralph, cotton bleacher, Holly head works
Wood Reginald, reporter, Lower hall

Ardern James
Brown George William, Bleak house
MacMillan Jas. Hemsfield cot. Millbrow
Thompson John Cheeseborough, Newport villas
Waechter Charles
Wainwright Joel, Finchwood
Allsop William, farmer, Cowhey
Beard Saml. Hare & Hounds P.H. Millbrow
Bennett James, beer retailer, Millbrow
Bennett John, quarry owner, Millbrow
Bowden Samuel, farmer, Heys
Fearnaley George, farmer, Lane ends
Fearnaley Thomas, farmer, Greengate
Green James, farmer, Millbrow
Hague Thomas, beer retailer, Lane ends
Hall John, farmer, Woodheys
Hambleton William, farmer, Hollins
Hammersley Mary (Miss), farmer, The Benches
Harrison Benjamin, farmer, Earnicroft
Harrison John, farmer, Sun hill
Hartle William, farmer, Smithey lane
Hepworth James, boot & shoe maker, Lane ends
Higginbottom Jesse, frmr. & assist. oversr
Higginbottom Wright, farmer, Loads
Hinchcliffe Chas. frmr. Ludworth houses
Howell Lawrence, beer retailer & shopkeeper, Lane ends
Hudson George, farmer & quarry owner, Clough end
Hudson John, farmer
Hyde & Harrop, bleachers & wadding manufacturers, Clough mill
Jackson Joseph, farmer, Stirrup
Lingard Wright, farmer, Lane ends
Longson Robert, farmer, Stirrup
Potts Harriett (Mrs.), farmer, Cote green
Ratcliffe John, candlewick manufacturer ; warehouse, Millbrow
Rowbottam Joe, farmer, Smithy lane
Salt John, farmer, Stirrup
Wild John (Mrs.), farmer, Sun hill
Wood Wm. & John, farmers, Broadstone
Wood James (Mrs.), farmer, Millbrow
Wood Joseph, farmer, Earnicroft
Wood Ralph, farmer, & Rock tavern, Brookbottom
Wood Samuel, farmer, Broadstone
Wormold John, farmer, Twitches

Marple Bridge.
Adams Samuel
Burbage Miss, Woodbarn cottage
Burton Harry
Giles John Owen, The Oaks
Holmes James Colley, Ludworth house
Humphreys James Maxwell
McSweeney Rev. Cornelius [Catholic], St. Mary’s
Toothill Rev. Alfred [Congregational]
Wood Ralph, The Poplars
Ardern. Jas. Samuel, farmer, Pear Tree P.H
Buck William, iron & tinplate worker
Bullock Jn. Norfolk Arms hotl. & pstng. Ho
Burton Harry L.K.Q.C.P.Irel. Physician
Hibbert Mary Ann (Mrs.), shopkeeper
Hibbert Thomas, builder
Hyde Frederick, shopkeeper
Ingham Charles, blacksmith
Lydiate George, clogger & confectioner
Mallalieu Mary (Mrs.), Horse Shoe P.H
Marple Bridge Loan Discount Co. Limited (George Fernley, sec)
Marple Gas Co. Lim. (Wm. Johnson,sec)
Mayall Robert, Railway inn
Platt James, shopkeeper
Webb Mary (Mrs.), shopkeeper
Wheeldon Rt. grocer, builder & post office
Yarwood John, spade & shovel maker

Compstall Road.
Hill George Henry C.E. Ernocroft
Shaw John, Poplar grove
Sherwin Thomas
Artingstall John, Compstall Gardens P.H
Bann Samuel, shopkeeper
Boote Charles, beer retailer
Booth James, house decorator
Compstall Co-operative & Industrial Society Lim. (James Ardern, mangr)
Compstall & Ludworth Liberal Club (Joseph Sidebottom, sec)
Hadfield James, shopkeeper
Haywood Henry, beer retailer
Hinchcliffe Francis, farmer
Hinchcliffe Wm. shopkeeper & tailor
Lee Robert, tinplate worker
Lomas Joe, butcher
Lupton Septimus, Windsor Castle P.H
Mycock William, George hotel
Ratcliffe William, shopkeeper
Shaw William, shoe maker
Smith Thomas, shopkeeper
Swan James, shopkeeper
Wild John, shopkeeper
Woolley Mary Alice (Miss), shopkeeper

NEW MILLS, originally called “Bowden Middle Cale,” derives its present name from a com mill built upon the Kinder, in the hamlet of Ollerset; it is a township and parish, formed in 1884 from Glossop parish, and comprising the hamlets of Beard, Ollerset, Thornset and Whitle, in the High Peak division of the county, hundred of High Peak, Hayfield union, Chapel-en-le-Frith petty sessional division and county court district, rural deanery of Glossop, archdeaconry of Derby and diocese of Southwell. It formerly comprised seven hamlets, but has been divided, three of the hamlets being attached to Hayfield, and the remaining four now forming the township and parish. New Mills is a large village, situated on the river Goyt, 7½ miles south-west from Glossop, 8 south-east from Stockport, 170 from London by road, and by railway, St. Pancras 173, Euston 192 miles. The London and North Western and Midland railways have stations here, and there is a branch line from the latter to Hayfield. It is governed by a Local Board of eleven members, the district comprising the village of Newtown, in Disley parish, in Cheshire. The church of St. George, at Beard, erected in 1831, is a building of stone, in the Pointed style, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles, south and west porches, and an embattled western tower, with pinnacles and spire, containing one bell, dated 1831: the stained east window was presented by Miss Ingham, now Mrs. John Mackie; and there is a memorial window to Mr. Titterton, presented by his widow, and two others, both in memory of the Rev. John Rigg, a former vicar, presented by the parishioners ; also a monument to James Ingham esq. J.P. (1868), and a brass to his widow (Sept. 1875): the font is a memorial to John Taylor esq. J.P. : there are 850 sittings, 350 being free. The register dates from the year 1831 and is in good condition. The living is a vicarage, gross yearly value £300, with residence, in the gift of the vicar of Glossop, and held since 1869 by the Rev. Frederick William Newman M.A. of St. Peter’s College, Cambridge. The church of St. James the Less a building in the Lancet style of the 13th century, was erected in 1880 by John Mackie esq. J.P. of Crigglestone, Yorks, and New Mills, and Mary, his wife, together with the almshouses adjoining, as a memorial to James Ingham esq. J.P. and Martha, his wife, the parents of Mrs. Mackie, formerly resident at New Mills, and consists of apsidal chancel and nave, north porch, organ chamber and vestry, and a western turret containing one bell: in the apse are three stained windows and at the west end is a stained window presented by Mr. and Mrs. Mackie : the pulpit and font are of carved stone: the communion plate and linen were given by the parishioners and the brass lectern by the late R. B. Mackie esq. M.P. and his daughter Edith: there are 150 sittings, all free. The living is incorporated with that of St. George’s parish. The almshouses, six in number, erected from the designs of Mr. W. Swinden Barber F.R.I.B.A are built on three sides of a quadrangular plot of land near Sprink bank, in New Mills ; the dwellings occupying the north and a portion of the east side of a quadrangle, the west and south sides of which are appropriated to the church; they are occupied by 11 poor and aged persons, who receive a weekly allowance from Mr. and Mrs. Mackie. The Catholic church dedicated to St. Mary, erected in 1838, is a building of stone, in the Early English style, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles, and a western tower with spire, containing one bell: a new altar has been erected by Dennis Lane esq. of London: the Rev. Charles Joseph Craigy, priest, High Lee. The Wesleyan chapel, St. George’s road, was erected about 1810, and has an attached cemetery; the Primitive Methodist chapel, Spring Bank, was built in 1876 ; and the Free Methodist chapel, Spring Bank, in 1838. Cattle fairs are held on May 11th and October 7th. Here are iron and brass foundries, calico printing and bleach works, cotton spinning and cotton band manufactories. The Public Hall, erected in 1871, at a cost of £2,500, was opened in the Same year by the Duke of Devonshire K.G. : a tower was added in 1875, and a clock with chimes presented by the late Mrs. Ingham, of Watford Villa: the lower rooms are divided into class rooms, news and reading rooms, and are used by the Mechanics’ Institute, of which John Mackie esq. J.P. is president: the Savings Bank occupies a room here, which is open on Saturdays from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m.: the general management of the building is vested in trustees, of whom James Hibbert esq. J.P. of Fern Bank, is chairman. A county court is held here alternately with Buxton and Chapel-en-le-Frith, on Fridays. The late James Ingham esq. of Watford Villa, left £500 in 1868, the interest of which is applied to the education and clothing of poor children in the township : Bowden’s charity of 30s. yearly is for bread. The principal landowners are Lord Egerton, of Tatton and F. J. Sumner esq. The soil is clay : subsoil, clay. The area is 5,042 acres of land and 36 of water ; rateable value, £21,250 ; the population in 1881 was 5,379.
High Lee, Lady Shaw Bottom and Watford are places in the village.
Parish Clerk, Joseph Waterhouse.
Post, M. O. & T. O., S. B. & Annuity & Insurance Office. - George Walker, postmaster. Letters are received via Stockport, delivered at 7 a.m. & 3.30 p.m. ; dispatched at 10.45 a.m. & 8-.20 p.m.; on sundays at 7.30 p.m. Money orders are granted & paid from 9 a.m. till 6 p.m. ; on Saturday till 8 p.m.
Wall Letter Box, Bridge st. cleared at 10.15 a.m. & 8 p.m.
Wall Letter Box, High st. cleared at 10.20 a.m. & 8 p.m.
County Magistrates for New Mills sub-division of Chapel-en-le-Frith petty sessional division :-
Mackie John esq. Watford villa, Whitle, Stockport, chairman
Bennett Thos. esq. Heathfield, Birch Vale, near Stockport
Carver Thomas esq. The Hollins, Marple, Stockport
Hibbert James esq. Fern Bank, New Mills, Stockport
Hodgkinson Samuel esq. Woodville, Marple, Stockport
Turner Lieut.-Col. Henry, Woodlands, Offerton
Clerk to the Magistrates, John Burton Boycott, Chapel-en-le-Frith
Petty sessions are held in the Public Hall monthly, on Wednesdays at 10.30 a.m. with an occasional court when required
Local Board.
Offices, Public Hall.
Board meetings every fourth monday at 5.30 p.m.
George Higginbottom, chairman
Edwin Arnfield, Walter Campbell, Joseph Hyde, Timothy Livesley, John Hibbert, John Cochrane, J. T. Higginbottom, Samuel Lowe, Francis Rowbottom, William Sidebottom, Daniel Stafford
Clerk, John Pollitt, Public hall
Treasurer, Henry Barber, Spring bank
Medical Officer of Health, James Edwin Anderton L.R.C.P.Edin. Thornfield
Surveyor, John Pollitt, Public hall
Inspector of Nuisances & of Canal Boats, Joseph Lomas
Collector, William Lowe
County Court, Public hall, held alternately with Buxton & Chapel-en-le-Frith ; for places in the district, see Chapel-en-le-Frith
Public Officers:-
Inspector of County Police, Thomas Spencer
Medical Officer & Public Vaccinator, Hayfield Union, James Edwin Anderton L.R.C.P.Edin. Spring bank
Superintendent Registrar, Henry Barber; deputy, Arthur Barber
Registrar of Births, Deaths & Marriages, George Walker; deputy, Abel Grundy
Schools :-
A School Board of 7 members was formed in October, 1875; Edward Godward, clerk to the board & attendance officer, Spring bank
Board, Spring bank (mixed), erected in 1878, at a cost, inclusive of site, of £2,620, for 370 scholars; average attendance, 240; John A. Nichols, master; Miss L. E. Peck, mistress
Catholic, erected in 1860, for 35 boys, 35 girls & 10 infants ; average attendance, 20 boys, 18 girls & 7 infants; Miss Elizabeth Guilfoyle, mistress
Railway Station, John Pratt, station master
Carrier to Stockport, James Beard, Torr top, wed. & fri
Beard is a hamlet half a mile south of New Mills, and 3 miles west of Hayfield. Here are candlewick mills, chemical works, an iron and brass foundry and quarries producing paving setts; the Midland Railway Company has also a goods yard. F. J. Sumner esq. is the principal landowner. National School (mixed), built in 1863, for 300 children ; average attendance, 260; Samuel Whitehead, master
Hague Bar is a hamlet 1 mile west from New Mills, 1 east from Strines station and 3 east from Marple. Brookbottom is a place half a mile north-east from Hague Bar. The Primitive Methodist chapel, built in 1874, will seat 200 persons. Lower Cliffe is a place 1 mile north-west from Hague Bar.
Board School, erected in 1878, for 130 scholars; average attendance, 79 ; Joseph Lee, master
Low Leighton is a hamlet 1 mile south from New Mills and 3 west from Hayfield. Here is the workhouse of the Hayfield union. There is also a meeting house for the Society of Friends, built in 1717, with a small cemetery attached.
Letters through Newtown (Cheshire), arrive at 9 a.m.
Wall Letter Box cleared at 6.30 p.m. week days only
Ollerset is a hamlet 1 mile south-west from New Mills and 2 west from Hayfield, consisting principally of scattered farms and some villa residences. Birch Vale station adjoins this hamlet. F. J. Sumner esq. is the principal landowner.
Roworth is a hamlet 2 miles east from Mellor and 3 north-east from New Mills, consisting principally of scattered farms. The United Methodist Free church have a chapel here.
Letters are received via. Stockport & delivered by toot messenger from Marple bridge.
Wall Letter Box cleared at 7.45 a.m.
Strines is a hamlet 1 mile by rail and 2 by road westward from New Mills, and 2 east from Marple, with a station on the Sheffield and Midland railway. Calico printing is carried on here very extensively, and the place is much frequented by picnic and pleasure parties from the adjacent large towns.
Post Office. - James Stafford, receiver. Letters are received via Stockport & delivered by foot messenger from Marple about 7 a.m. & 4.40 p.m. & dispatched from Strines Road (Cheshire) at 8.15 p.m. Disley is the nearest money order & telegraph office
Railway Station, John Goodwin Loft, station master
Thornset is a hamlet 1½ miles north-east from New Mills and half a mile west from Birch Vale station. Letters through Birch Vale. Here are Primitive Methodist & Independent chapels ; the former was built in 1869.
Board School (mixed), erected in 1878, for 300 children ; average attendance, 220; Thomas Frith, master; Miss Martha Emily Barber, infants’ mistress
Whitle is a hamlet 1 mile north-east from New Mills, consisting of scattered farms and villa residences, and commands a fine view of the adjacent scenery. In the valley are bleach works. Letters through New Mills arrive at 9.30 a.m. Here is a Congregational chapel, built in 1786

New Mills.
Anderton James Edwin, Thornfield
Arnfield Edwin, Springfield villa
Arnfield Joseph, High Lee hall
Arnfield Thos. Owen, Rock cot. High Lee
Barber Henry, Spring bank
Brayne John William, Rock villa
Carrigy Rev. Charles Joseph [Catholic], High Lee
Cochrane John, Springfield
Edman Rev. Aaron [Wesleyan], Spring mount
Evans Alfred William, Hillside
Fielding John, Westfield house
Frost Edward, The Rocks
Grindrod Charles, Spring bank
Hancock Rev. John [Primitive Methodist], Spring bank
Heggie Andrew, Bankfield terrace
Hibbert John James, Bankfield terrace
Higginbottom George, Spring villa
Hill James, Lily bank
Hill William Francis, Peak house
Hughes Samuel, Chapel street
Ingham Mrs. High street
Lees Mrs. Holly bank
Livesley Alfd. Chapel ho. St. George’s rd
Purssglove John, High street
Purssglove Mrs. Ivy cot. Market street
Rendell Rev. James Sibley [United Methodist Free Church], Spring bank
Rigg Mrs. Stanley mount
Rumney William, Spring bank
Salisbury Henry, Rock villa
Sidebottom Miss, High street
Stamper Rev. William Parker [curate of St. George’s], Rose villa, Hall street
Thornley Mrs. Stanley mount
Wharmby John Thomas, High Lee
Wild William, Springfield house
Wyatt Mrs. Lee house
Alexander Jas. Bull’s Head P.H. High st
Allen Geo. Fruiterer & fishmonger, High st
Alsop & Clayton, painters, Market st
Alsop George, painter & plumber, High street & Meal street
Alsop George, jun. hatter, High street
Anderton James Edwin L.R.C.P.Edin. surgeon & medical officer of health to New Mills urban sanitary authority & medical officer & public vaccinator for Hayfield union, Thornfield
Antrobus Edwd. insur. agt. Market st
Armstrong Elizabeth (Miss), ladies’ school, High street
Arnfield Joseph & Edwin, millwrights & engineers, Globe iron works
Arnfield Edwin, engineer, see Arnfield Joseph & Edwin
Arnfield Isaac, grocer, Bridge street
Arnfield Jonn. yeast dealer, Spring bank
Arnfield Jsph. enginr. see Arnfield J.& E
Ashworth Abraham, draper, High st
Ashworth Alice (Miss), milliner & dress maker, Market place
Bagshaw Joseph, manufacturing ironmonger, Market street
Barber Henry, manager of the Manchester & County Branch Bank, actuary to the Savings Bank, clerk to the guardians, assessment & school attendance committees & rural sanitary authority & superintendent registrar of Hayfield union, & agent to the Royal Fire Insurance Co. Spring bank
Bardsley Evan, Dog & Partridge P.H. High street
Bardsley Margt. (Mrs.), draper, Market st
Barker Charles, joiner, Union road
Beard James, George hotel, High street
Beardwood Israel, confectnr. Bridge st
Bennett, Boycott & Orme, solicitors, Public hall
Berry John, painter. Spring bank
Berry Matilda (Miss), dress ma. Spring bk
Berry Sarah Ann (Mrs.), grocer & corn dealer, High street
Boothman Jas. beer retlr. Dyehouse lane
Boycott John Burton (firm, Bennett, Boycott & Orme), solicitor, clerk to the magistrates, commissioner for oaths & solicitor to the New Mills Economical Building Soc. Public hall
Bradbury John, shopkeeper, Bridge st
Braddock Joseph Kirby, draper, Market st
Brayne John William Ward, chemist & druggist, Market street
Broom Richd. boot & shoe ma. Market st
Broome Abraham, butcher, Meal street
Brownhill George Henry, White Hart inn, Dyehouse lane
Brunt Geo. Pack Horse inn, Bower lane
Bunting George, hair dresser, High st
Chadwick Geo. tripe dresser, Market st
Chadwick William, cotton band manufacturer & farmer, High Lee
Chatterton Thomas, slater & plasterer, Torr Top street
Clayton Jane (Mrs.), grocer, Torr Top st
Clayton Ralph, painter, see Alsop & Clayton
Conservative Club (J. P. Liddell, sec.), Union road
Co-operative Society (Henry Turner, manager), Spring bank
Cooper Benj. pork butcher, Union road
Cooper Margaret Ann (Mrs.). pork butcher, Market place
Croxall Saml, umbrella repairer, High st
Culvert Mary (Miss), fancy repository, Market street
Dyer William, hair dresser, High street
Ellison Thos. grocer, tailr. & drpr. High st
Evans Seth, reporter to “Glossop Advertiser,” Market street
Freemason Lodge (Peveril of the Peak) (Thomas Hibbert, tyler), Crown hotel
Frost Edward, dentist, The Rocks
Gardener Jessie (Miss), ladies’ school, Ladyshaw house
George William, baker, Market street
Godward Edward, school board clerk & attendance officer & secretary to the New Mills Economical Permanent Building Society, Spring bank
Goodwin John, farmer, Lark’s hill
Gould Matilda (Miss), dress maker, Spring bank
Graham George, tailor, Spring bank
Green James, greengrocer & agent for loans for the Manchester Advance & Discount Bank Limited, High street
Grindrod Charles, surgeon, Spring bank
Grundey Abel, draper & outfitter & deputy registrar of births, deaths & marriages, Market street
Hall Saml, tinplate worker, Market st
Hampson Hannah (Miss), ladies’ outfitter, High street
Harrison William, draper, High street
Harrop John, dining rooms, Market st
Harrop Robert, butcher, Market street
Hewitt John, fried fish dlr. Market st
Hewitt Samuel, stationer, emigration & insurance agent & assistant overseer ; & correspondent to the “Ashton Reporter,” Market street
Hibbert Thomas, joiner, Rock street
Higginbotham David, grocer, High st
Higginbotham John, ironmonger, Market place
Higginbottom Geo. & Edwin, manufacturing chemists, Salem chemical wks
Higginbottom Eliza Ann (Mrs.), draper, High street
Higginbottom George, coal merchant, Torr Top street
Howard Geo. & James, painters, Rock st
Howes Esther (Mrs.), confectioner, Bridge street
Hulton Ellen (Mrs.), confectnr. High st
Ingham Mark, draper & tailor, High st
Jackson Isaac, watch & clock maker, Market street
Johnson & Johnsons, solicitors, High st
Johnson Charles Frederick, solicitor, see Johnson & Johnsons
Johnson Francis Williams, solicitor, see Johnson & Johnsons
Johnson Joseph, pawnbroker, High st
Johnson Thomas Ward, solicitor, see Johnson & Johnsons
King Frederick, fishmonger, High st
Kirkham James, shoe maker, High st
Leach James, grocer, Market street
Lee James, coppersmith, Meal street
Lee Robert, estate agent, Market street
Leigh William Andrew, stationer, printer & bookseller, Market street
Livesley Alfred, chemist, High street
Livesley Mary Jane (Mrs.), milliner, High street
Livesley Timothy, butcher, High street
Lockwood James, saddler, Market st
Lomas Alice (Mrs.), Grapes P.H. High st
Lomas Jn. boot ma. 5 High Lee terrace
Lomas Joel, watch & clock ma. Market pl
Lomas Joseph, inspector of nuisances & canal boats to the local board, Public hall
Lomax Joseph Dale, grocer, Market st
Lomax Mary Ann (Mrs.), confectioner, High street
Longson James & Son, brass & iron founders, Midland iron works
Lowe Elizabeth (Mrs.),draper, Union rd
Lowe William, collector to the local board, Public hall
Lowery Wm. hair dresser, Torr Top st
Manchester & County Bank Limited (branch) (Henry Barber, manager), High street; draw on Union Bank of London Limited, London E C
Marsh Louisa (Mrs.), grocr. Torr Top st
Maughan Jn. Railway hotel, Market st
Mechanics’ Institute (James Anthony Ingram, sec.), Public hall
Moore William, Cock inn, High street
Morten Margt.(Mrs.),hosier, Market pl
Morton James, furniture dealer, High st
Mottershead John Hy. butcher, High st
Naven James, baker, Torr Top street
New Mills Conservative Club (John Pemberton Liddle, sec.), Union road
New Mills & District Liberal Association (Richard Thornley, sec.),High st
New Mills Economical Permanent Building Society (Edward Godward, sec.), Public hall
New Mills Gas Co.(Jsph. Arnfield, mgr)
New Mills Water Works (Tom Bowden, manager)
Ogden Thos. small ware dlr. Union road
Orme John Henry (firm, Bennett, Boycott & Orme), solicitor ; & at Buxton & Chapel-en-le-Frith
Palmer Henry, watch & clock maker, Torr Top street
Parsons Wm. boot & shoe ma. Market st
Pearce George, sewing machine agent, High Lee terrace
Pearson John, beer retailer, Rock st
Pearson Sl. blacksmith, Hyde Bank rd
Pennington Jas. shopkeeper, Spring bnk
Platt Thos. small wares dealer, High st
Pollitt John, accountant, surveyor & clerk, & surveyor to the local board, Public hall
Pott William, grocer, Market street
Potts Wm. shopkeeper, Eaves Knoll rd
Preston Thomas, clogger, High street
Pursglove John Thomas, brewers’ agent, Market street
Redfern Alfred Isaac, joiner & shopkeeper, Spring bank & High street
Richardson Elizabeth (Miss), shopkeeper, Chapel street
Richardson Henry, cotton band manufacturer, Salem mills
Richardson James, top dealer, High st
Roberts Leah (Mrs.), shopkeepr. High st
Royle Joseph, beer retailer, Market st
Rumney Edward Bryan, calico printer, Watford bridge
Savings Bank, open on Saturday from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. (Henry Barber, actuary), Public hall
Sayer John, furniture dealer, Market st
Schofield Fredk. Jn. tailor, Chapel st
Schofield Joseph, butcher, High street
Sellars Joseph, tailor, Market street
Sharples Mary (Mrs.), dress maker, High street
Shepley Eli, hatter & draper, Union rd
Sidebottom Elizabeth (Mrs.), confectioner, Market street
Sidebottom George, St. Alban’s P.H. Torr Top street
Sidebottom Jane (Miss), ladies’ school, High street
Simister Emma (Miss),draper, High st
Slack Ralph, boot & shoe ma. Market st
Smith Margaret (Mrs.), & Albert, furniture dealers, Union road
Smith Joseph, agent to Midland Railway Co. Union road
Spencer Thomas, inspector of police, Police station
Stafford Charles, butcher, High street
Stafford Thomas, farmer, Knightwake farm
Stockwell Henry, tailor & outfitter, Union road
Swann Samuel, farmer, Mouseley bttm
Swindells Henry, farmer,Mouseley btm
Swindells Robt. beer retailer, Market st
Thornley Fredk. printer, Market street
Taylor Louisa (Miss), confectnr. High st
Torr Mills Cotton Spinning Co. Limited (Robert Shackleton, sec)
Toovey Clement, confectioner, Market st
Turner Hy. mangr. to Co-operative stores
Turner James, tobacconist, High street
Turner Ralph, draper, High street
Turner Thos. wardrobe dlr. Torr Top st
Wagstaff Samuel, farmer Walker Arthur, solicitor, Spring bank
Walker George, stationer & printer, & registrar of births, deaths & marriages, Hayfield sub-district, Post office, Market street
Wallace William, tailor, High street
Walton Geo. clock repairer, Torr Top st
Warrington Elijah, joiner & shopkeeper, Union road
Waterhouse Joseph, grocer & corn dealer, High street
Watson Henry, Crown hotel, Market st
Wharmby James, grocer & china & glass dealer, Market street
Wharmby John Thomas, confectioner, Market street & Union road
Whitehead William Thomas, professor of music, Spring bank
Wild Abel, beer retailer, Bridge street
Wild Jesse, plumber, Torr Top street
Wild Wm. comm. agt. Springfield ho
Williamson Jas. beer retailer, High st
Williamson Mathias, grocer, High st
Williamson Peter, tripe dresser, High st
Wills Wm. watch & clock ma. Market st
Wilson Robert, confectioner, High st
Wood George, shopkeeper, Station rd
Wood James, picture frame ma. High st
Wood Joseph, shoe maker, High street
Wyatt Edwin Henry, smallware dealer, High street
Wyatt John William, Mason’s Arms P.H. High street
Wyatt John Wm. milliner, Market pl
Wyatt Sarah (Mrs.), draper, Market st
Yates Edwd. brass founder, Torr Top st

Chadwick John, Daisy bank
De Boinville Alexander Chas. Beech ho
Higginbottom Edwin, Quarry bank
Longson James, Hurst Field villa
Lowe Joseph William, Hurst field
Newman Rev. Frederick William M.A. New Mills vicarage
Nichols John, Hurst field
Shawcross Thomas Henry
Campbell Walter, engraver to calico printers, see Salisbury & Campbell
Cochrane John, brick maker
Fielding John & Co. chemical manufctrs
Handford Joseph, farmer, Bold beard
Higginbottom James, palisade & ornamental iron gate maker, dealer in all kinds of bolts, nuts & washers & general machine smith ; all orders by post promptly attended to
Hill Jas. candle wick manfr. Beard mill
Hill William Francis, candle wick manufacturer, Beard mill
Hodgson William, grocer, Church lane
Hyde John, coal merchant
Lockwood Thomas, coal merchant
Longson James & Son, iron founders, Midland iron works
Longson John, iron founder, see James Longson & Son
Lowe John, coal merchant
Marshall Thomas, farmer, Stonepits
Morten John, farmer, Lane side
New Mills Coal Co. (Jsph. Hyde, mngr)
Pearson Samuel, blacksmith
Redfern James, joiner
Salisbury & Campbell, engravers to calico printers
Scattergood & Warrington, joiners & builders
Stafford Daniel, farmer, Beard hall
Thornley Mariana (Mrs.), candle wick manufacturer, Beard mill
Titterton Geo. farmr. Marsh Lane head
Warrington Elijah, joiner & builder, see Scattergood & Warrington
Warrington Harriet(Mrs.), confectioner, Church lane
Woolley John, farmer, Howcroft

Hague Bar.
Moulten William
Beard Edward, shopkpr. Brookbottom
Bramhall James, farmer, Brookbottom
Broadhurst Sophia (Mrs.), wheelwright
Grindrod Edwin, Commercial inn
Higginbottom John Thomas, farmer, Lower Hague
Jepson Charles, farmer, Brookbottom
Joule Jn. Martin, farmer, Shaw farm
Kenyon William, Fox inn, Brookbottom
Scott George Harry & Go. drysalters
Storer Samuel, farmer
Thorpe James, farmer, Hague Fold
Thorpe Joseph, farmer, Hague Fold
Wood John, shopkeeper

Low Leighton.
Dale John
Jackson Mrs. Highfield
Broadhurst John, wheelwright
Goble Richard, Hare & Hounds inn
Hudson John, joiner
Oldham Robert, shopkeeper
Simms Edward, farmer

[Names marked thus * receive their letters through Newtown; thus † through Furness Vale & thus ‡ through Birch Vale.]
*Bridge Miss, Ollerset cottage
Campbell Walter, Diglands
*Frith Thomas
*Hadfield James John, Bowden villas
*Wild Mrs. Pleasant view
‡Ashton James, farmer, Ravensleach
‡Ash ton John Wm. farmr. Coldharbour
Beverley John, farmer, Diglands
*Bowden Eli, contractor
‡Hall James, farmer, Ovenhill
*Hall John, farmer, Moor lodge
‡Hall Levi & Elijah (exors. of),coal mers
*Hall William, farmer, High hill
Hofland James, beer retailer
*Hudson Charles, farmer, Gib hey
*Hudson David, farmer, Ollerset farm
*Hudson John, farmer, Piece farm
*Marsh Emma (Miss), shopkeeper
*Mellor John, farmer, Ellerscroft
*Mortin Robert, farmer
*Needham James, farmer, Gibbey
†Reece James, farmer, Shedyard
*Swindells Wm. frmr. Hollinghurst head
†Torkington John, farmer, Brown hill
*Waterhouse Albert, mason
*Woolley Jonathan, farmer
*Wyatt John Henry, shopkeeper

Turner Mrs
Ashton John, farmer, Long Lee
Bennett John, farmer, Slack farm
Booth Francis, farmer, Back Roworth
Bowden Joseph, farmer
Bradbury Robt. Little Mill inn, & frmr
Chadwick Samuel, farmer, Lane side
Chadwick Sl. jun. farmer, Matley moor
Cooper Alfred, farmer
Gaskenn Joseph, farmer, Golden spring
Gregory Samuel, farmer
Hadfield Charles, farmer, Cone edge
Hallam Joseph, farmer, Further slack
Handford John, farmer, Matley moor
Hibbert Thomas, farmer, Hart hill
Higginbottom Robert, Hare & Hounds P.H. & farmer, Hollins moor
Hinchcliffe Jonathan, farmr. Ringstones
Marsland William, farmer, Matley moor
Pickford Joseph, farmer
Rowbottom Jsph. frmr. Briar Grove slack
Rowbottom Joseph, farmer, Ringstone
Sandham Richard, farmer, Blake hall
Waterhouse Thomas, shopkeeper
Whitlock James, farmer, High Roworth

Nevill Thomas Henry, The Cottage
Roper George Freeth, Spring mount
Swindells Peter
Strines Printing Co. calico printers (Peter Campbell, manager)

Bennett Thos. farmer, Thornset fields
Bullock William, grocer
Butler Wm. farmer & Jordan Arms P.H.
Evitts Henry, beer retailer
Goddard Joel, farmer, Aspenshaw
Hadfield James John, yam bleacher & sizer, Garrison bleach works
Hill Isaac, shopkeeper & butcher
Hudson Jn. Printers’ Arms P.H. & frmr
Littleford Samuel, shopkeeper
Marshall Jacob, farmer
New Mills Co-operative Society Limited (No. 1 branch)
Phethean John, bleacher, see Thomas Bradbury Turner
Rowcroft George, farmer, Feading hey
Rowcroft Joseph, farmer
Turner Thos. Bradbury, yarn bleacher, Bate mill
Wyatt Mary (Mrs.), beer retailer

Hibbert James J.P. Fern bank
Mackie John J.P. Watford villa
Rumney Mrs. Fern bank
Stroyan Rev. Abraham [Congregational], The Manse
Bennett William, farmer, Abbytree
Billinge Charles Brough, farmer, Broadhurst edge
Billinge Thos. farmer, Broadhurst edge
Brunt George, Pack Horse P.H. Boar la
Fernaley John, farmer, Beardhough
Keeling James, farmer, Beardhough
Mannifold William, shopkeeper
Marshall Thomas, farmer
Marsland Eli, farmer, Hodghey
Rowcroft James, farmer
Stafford Elizh. (Miss), farmer, Tanpits
Stafford Jas. (representatives of), frmrs
Stafford Thos. Wm. builder, Whitle bk
Tomlinson William, farmer
Townley Thomas, farmer, Willhey


Button image Home Page. Button image Glossop History Resources Page.

Last updated: 13 August 2020