Kelly's Derbyshire Directory 1925
Entries for the area of the Ancient Parish of Glossop.

GLOSSOP (or Glossop Dale) is a municipal borough, market and union town, head of a county court district and petty sessional division, township and parish, on the borders of Cheshire, with a station, 192½ miles by rail from London, on the Great Central section of the London and North Eastern railway, 9½ from Ashton, 24½ from Barnsley, 87 from Birmingham, 65 from Burton, 47 from Chesterfield, 55 from Derby, 41 from Doncaster, 87 from Leicester, 34 from Leek, 47 from Liverpool, 73¾ from Lincoln, 13 from Manchester, 20 from Macclesfield, 74 from Nottingham, 30 from Sheffield, 66¼ from Stafford, 10½ from Stalybridge, 11 from Stockport, 53 from Uttoxeter and 72 from Wolverhampton. It is in the High Peak division of the county, hundred of High Peak, rural deanery of Glossop, archdeaconry of Chesterfield and diocese of Southwell. The London and North Eastern railway from Manchester to Sheffield is carried across Dinting Vale on a lofty viaduct of sixteen arches, constructed of stone, about 1 mile west from the Town hall, and there is a branch line from Dinting to Glossop and Hadfield. A service of electric trams runs to Hadfield. The parish of Glossop, before the passing of the Local Government Act, 1894, comprised the hamlets of Glossop, Hadfield, Padfield, Charlesworth, Chunal, Whitfield and Simmondley. By the operation of the above Act, the borough became, by an Order of the County Council, dated Aug. 10, 1894, a civil parish, consisting of the whole of the hamlet of Hadfield, and parts of the previously mentioned hamlets. By the same Act the hamlet of Charlesworth, and the other parts of the hamlets, became the parish of Charlesworth.
The borough is divided into three wards, viz. : All Saints, Hadfield and St. James’. The corporation consists of a mayor, 6 aldermen and 18 councillors. The borough has a commission of the peace and a police force. The water supply, derived from Peaknase moors, is collected in reservoirs at Swineshaw. The town is supplied with gas by a company formed in 1845.
Portions of the old parish of Glossop All Saints have been taken to form the ecclesiastical parishes of Whitfield, St. James’ ; Hadfield, St. Andrew’s ; Dinting, Holy Trinity, and Chinley with Bugsworth. The parish church is a modern edifice of stone in the Early Gothic style, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles, south porch, vestry, organ chamber and a western tower, with spire, containing a clock and 8 bells, rehung and a chiming apparatus attached in 1877, at a cost of £180: the bells were recast in 1923, at a cost of £528 ; the tower was rebuilt in 1856; in 1902 a carved oak porch was added at a cost of £120, in memory of John Wagstaffe : the stained west window is a memorial erected by the congregation to a former Duke and Duchess of Norfolk, Robert Shepley esq. and John Wood esq. benefactors to the church : in 1889 the church was restored and three stained glass windows were placed therein, at a cost of £1,300, defrayed by Miss A. A. Wood and others : there are also memorial windows to the Rev. John Dickinson Knowles M.A. vicar, 1865-89, and Mrs. Mary Rusby : in 1915 the church received important alterations; the nave, a flat Georgian building, erected in 1831, having been pronounced unsafe, was pulled down and the present one of handsome proportions substituted; it is built of local stone and consists of five bays with side aisles, and a canopied southern porch with a Calvary terminal : in 1923 the chancel was rebuilt and a lady chapel added, Mr. and Mrs. I. Jackson, of Glossop, giving £6,000 for this purpose: a rose window, at the east end, and a carved reredos were erected in 1924 by the congregation, the former being in memory of Mr. and Mrs. Jackson : the carved oak pulpit was presented, at a cost of £325, by John Wood esq. of Whitfield House : the altar front, presented to the church in 1895, is of carved oak open-work tracery panels, flanked by figures of SS. Chad and Aidan, with silk frontals to slide in a groove behind the tracery : choir stalls of carved oak were erected in 1896, at a cost of £180, and in 1898, an oak screen bearing the names of the vicars of Glossop from 1321 was provided at a cost of £50 : a font of white marble, presented, at a cost of £200, by C. E. Knowles esq. has been placed in a new baptistery : the old communion plate bears date 1745, but in 1877 a new set was presented by the parishioners : the churchyard was closed against interments, with modifications, in 1857-8. The registers date from the year 1620. The living is a vicarage, net yearly value £300, with residence, in the gift of trustees, and held since 1917 by the Rev. William Dudley Dixon M.A. of Hatfield Hall, Durham, and surrogate.
The Rev. Christopher Howe, vicar 1793 to 1849 and for 40 years also incumbent of Woodhead, Cheshire, established a day school at Glossop, in which he personally taught, and partly rebuilt the parish church ; he died 1st Sept. 1849, in the 85th year of his age and the 57th of his vicariate of Glossop. Mr. Charles Winterbottom, for upwards of 60 years sexton and clerk of the parish of Glossop, died at the age of nearly 88 years.
The Roman Catholic church, dedicated to All Saints, a building in the Classic style, situated near Glossop Hall, was erected by Bernard Edward Duke of Norfolk, in 1837, and consists of chancel, nave and a belfry containing one bell: over the altar is a fine copy of Domenichino’s “Communion of St. Hyronome.” the original of which is in the Vatican ; there are also valuable paintings representing the twelve apostles : there are 250 sittings.
Mount Pleasant Congregational chapel, built in 1858, will seat 600.
There are United Methodist chapels in Hall street and Simmondley lane and a Primitive Methodist chapel in Shrewsbury street.
The Cemetery, of 6 acres, formed in 1859, was enlarged in 1894 and has mortuary chapels ; it is now under the control of the town council and Charlesworth parish council.
The Town Hall, with the Market House, was considerably enlarged in 1854 and again in 1919. In 1913 new municipal buildings were erected at the rear of the town hall.
The Free Library and Public Hall, Fauvel road, erected in 1887 by Herbert Rhodes esq. and Lord Doverdale D.L., J. P. at a cost of about £4,400, on a site given by Lord Howard of Glossop, is a building of stone in the Gothic style, containing a reading room and library of 5,000 volumes, lecture hall and a public hall : over the main entrance a tower with pinnacles rises to a height of 80 feet.
The Public Baths, Howard Park, erected in 1887 by Samuel Wood esq. and Mrs. Wood, of Moorfield House, at a cost of about £15,000, comprise a swimming bath, three private baths for males and a like number for females, and vapour baths : the buildings include a ventilating tower 100 feet high.
There are cotton factories here and, in the neighbourhood, calico printing establishments and paper mills : some of the former, and especially those of Messrs. John Wood and Bros. (1920) Limited, and Messrs. Francis Sumner and Co. Limited, are very extensive, employing in ordinary times about 1,300 workpeople. The first cotton mill was erected about the year 1784, but previously to this a few woollen factories and fulling mills had been in operation; one of these, The Gnathole mill, now covered with ivy, still remains.
At Dinting Vale are the large calico printing works developed by the skill and energy of Mr. E. Potter, and now carried on by Messrs. E. Potter and Co. Limited (a branch of the Calico Printers’ Association Limited).
Hurst brook and Whitfield brook, two feeders of the Etherow, take their rise on the adjacent moors; the water of the latter possesses bleaching properties, which fact was taken advantage of in establishing the works at Charlestown. There are quarries producing building and paving stone. The principal market day is Saturday. Fairs are held on the 6th May, also the first Wednesday on or after the 10th day of October, for the sale of horses and cattle.
There are charities of about £40 yearly value, distributed among the poor on St. Thomas’ day, in money and clothing, by two representatives of the eight original hamlets of Glossop Dale.
The Wood’s Hospital, Howard Park, founded and endowed in 1887 by Daniel Wood esq. at a cost of about £6,000, the endowment fund being £19,000, is a structure of brick, cased externally with stone, and comprises two male and two female wards, holding about 16 patients, with kitchens &c. and an administrative block, containing the offices, store rooms &c. : to the west of the hospital is a detached laundry, with lodge keeper’s residence.
The Convalescent Home, North road, built in 1908 by Sir E. Partington, at a cost of about £30,000, including endowment, is a structure of stone, and consists of two wings and one central block ; one wing is for males and the other for females ; in the central block are the matron’s and nurses’ apartments ; the home provides for ten patients.
Howard Park, North road, formed in 1887, at the joint expense of Lord Howard of Glossop; Samuel Wood esq. and Mrs. Wood, is situated on an eminence, commanding a fine view of the town and neighbourhood; it is about 12 acres in extent.
At Old Cross, Old Glossop, are the remains of an ancient stone cross, about 12 feet in height, which has been restored and is in a fair state of preservation.
Glossop Hall, the seat of Lord Howard of Glossop is a noble building, in the style of a French château of the 18th century, and stands on gently rising ground above Howard Town, surrounded by trees: it was enlarged and improved by Henry Charles, 13th Duke of Norfolk, great grandfather of the present owner.
The town and hamlets now comprising the manor of Glossop appear to have been divided in the time of Edward the Confessor into several parts among different Saxon proprietors, but in the Domesday Survey the whole of Glossop is put down as forfeited to the Crown; and the Conqueror afterwards gave it to his natural son, William Peveril, whose son Richard, however, being disinherited by Henry I. Glossop was again confiscated by the Crown, and in 1157 was granted by Henry II. together with the advowson of the church to the Abbey of Basingwerke, “in free and perpetual alms for ever,” and this abbey had acquired before the 15th century nearly all the hamlets now comprising the Glossop estate; Glossop remained the property of Basingwerke Abbey till the dissolution of the lesser abbeys in 1536, when Henry VIII. seized it with other conventual property and afterwards granted it to the Earl of Shrewsbury, who in turn exchanged it with the Duke of Norfolk for estates in Ireland, and in this noble family it has remained to the present time ; the present proprietor, lord of the manor and principal landowner is Lord Howard of Glossop.
The land is partly moor and pasturage. The area of the civil parish and urban district is 2,998 acres of land and 54 of water ; rateable value. £101,501.
The population of the municipal borough in 1921 was :— All Saints’ ward, 6,184; Hadfield ward, 6,239, and St. James’ ward, 8,108 ; total, 20,531.
The population of the ecclesiastical parish of All Saints in 1911 was 4,605.

HOLLY BANK is a hamlet in the parish.

DINTING, formed into an ecclesiastical parish, 1875, is partly in Glossop borough, and has a station on the Great Central section of the London and North Eastern railway. This place is now amalgamated with Glossop and Charlesworth civil parishes. The church of the Holy Trinity, erected by the Wood family, of Glossop, and opened July, 1875, is a building of stone in the Gothic style of the 13th century, and consists of apsidal chancel, nave, aisles, an organ chamber forming a transept on the south side, vestry and a tower at the west end of the south aisle, with pinnacles and an octagonal spire reaching a height of 137 feet from the ground to the top of the vane, and containing 6 bells: the nave is divided from the aisle by circular stone piers, with moulded caps and bases: the pulpit, of Caen stone and marble, was erected in memory of the patron and founder : the central window of the apse is a memorial to John H. Wood esq. d. 16 Dec. 1869, and was placed by his widow : the font, also presented by Mrs. Wood, consists of a basin of Caen stone on a shaft of red marble : the organ was presented by Mrs. Wood in 1882 : there is also a memorial window inserted by Mr. Edwin Williams, of Melbourne, Australia, in 1906, to his wife : the building has sittings for 630 persons, 90 of which are free. The register dates from the year 1875. The living is a vicarage, net yearly value £330, with residence, in the gift of the Wood family, and held since 1905 by the Rev. Henry Lawrence M.A. of Queen’s College, Oxford. There is a United Methodist chapel, built in 1860, with sittings for 300 persons, 100 of which are free. The population of the ecclesiastical parish in 1911 was 3,293.

BROOKFIELD is a hamlet, 1 mile north of Dinting station. The Congregational chapel, erected in 1867, is a building of stone in the Early English style : all the windows are stained : it has 400 sittings.

GAMESLEY is a hamlet 1 mile west of Dinting station. In the hamlet of Gamesley are the remains of a Roman fort, called by the country people from time immemorial, “Melandra” and “Melandra Castle;” it stands at the confluence of the Course Brook and the Etherow: it is rectangular in form, with rounded angles, and had three double gateways and a single arched entrance on the south: the length is 398 feet, the breadth 368 feet, and the area 3.36 acres approximately, and in the centre is a square building which contained several chambers, and has been by analogy called the “Praetorium:” a good deal of pottery, terra sigillate and Romano-British ware has been found, as well as glass and floor and roof tiles, Roman coins from 68 to 388 A.D. and a quantity of trade and coin-weights, both Roman and Celtic. The miscellaneous objects include bones, flints, dice, iron, lead and bronze finds; tiles marked with the initials V.V. (Valeria Victrix) of the 20th Legion, and a centurial stone, found here in 1771, and inscribed to Valerius Vitalis, centurion of the 1st cohort of the Frisiavones, which was in Britain, A.D. 105 and 124: it has been concluded that Melandra was occupied as early as 80 A.D. and again after an interval in the 3rd and 4 th centuries: the summit of this eminence is still called “The Castle Yard,” and a tradition exists that Melandra was one of the strongholds of the ancient British in the time of the Saxon invasion. On an opposite hill, called “Mousley,” is the site of another traditional castle. Some stones which came from Mousley Castle, inscribed with rude hieroglyphics, are still to be seen walled into the gable end of a house at Hadfield, and are evidently Runic. Both Melandra and Mousley lie on the Roman road from the camp of “Mancunium” (Manchester) to that of “Ad Petuariam” (Brough, near Castleton).

HADFIELD, together with the township of Padfield, was formed in 1876 into an ecclesiastical parish, but was, August 10, 1894, amalgamated with Glossop ; it is on the borders of Cheshire, within the borough of Glossop and county court district of Glossop, with a station on the Great Central section of the London and North Eastern railway. The church of St. Andrew, erected at a cost of about £4,250 and consecrated July 4th, 1874, is a building in the Gothic style, consisting of apsidal chancel, nave, aisles, south porch, south transept, baptistery, organ chamber and a central bell turret containing one bell: the font, worked in native stone, was presented in 1874 by Mr. James Sherriff, of Christ Church, Canterbury, New' Zealand, and formerly of Hadfield, and had previously been exhibited at the Colonial exhibition, Victoria : the richly embroidered communion cloth was presented by the Rev. C. B. Ward M.A. vicar of Whitfield, and the credence table by Mr. Braddock, churchwarden : a new organ was erected in 1879, at a cost of about £650, by James Sidebottom esq. J.P. of Millbrook, Hadfield, as a memorial to his wife : the brass lectern was presented in memory of Beatrice Dawson at a cost of about £100 : there are 538 sittings. The register of baptisms dates from July 5th, 1874, and of marriages from August, 1875. The living is a vicarage, net yearly value £350, in the gift of Col. William Sidebottom V.D., J.P. and four other trustees, and held since 1917 by the Rev. Archibald Campbell Macalister White L.Th. of Durham University. There is a Mission room at Woolley Bridge. The Roman Catholic church, dedicated to St. Charles Borromeo, is an edifice of stone in the Early English style, erected in 1858 by Lord Howard of Glossop, and consisting of nave, aisles, sacristy, baptistery and a western tower containing one bell : there are memorials to Father McDonnell and the Right Rev. Monsignor Canon H. Sabela : the carved high altar of stone was erected in memory of Father Hickey : the Lady altar was presented by the Right Rev. Monsignor Canon H. Sabela : in the church are several figures carved in stone and many valuable oil paintings, one of these, a copy of Raphael’s “Transfiguration,” being placed above the high altar : a new pulpit of Caen stone, marble and alabaster was erected in 1894 as a memorial of the nomination of the Right Rev. Monsignor Canon H. Sabela as domestic prelate to his Holiness Pope Leo XIII.: there are memorial windows to Lord Edward G. Fitzalan Howard, 1st baron Howard of Glossop, d. 1 Dec. 1883, and Augusta (Talbot), his wife, d. 3 July, 1862, and others to Miss Margaret Mary Conlan, Mrs. Dorothea M. Gregory, Miss Sabela and to Mrs. Esther Mary Couban, and an “ Ecce Homo ” presented by Monsignor H. Sabela. Outside the church is a vault belonging to the Howard family. Adjoining is a presbytery. The Convent of Sisters of Charity of St. Paul, a fine building on the south side of the church, was erected in 1887 at the cost of John Dalton esq. The Wesleyan chapel, built in 1878, has 750 sittings; the Primitive Methodist chapel, built in 1876 has 500 sittings; the United Methodist chapel, built in 1876 and enlarged in 1885, seats 280. There are several cotton mills, in which the population are employed, and political clubs with news and amusement rooms. Hadfield Hall, the ancient mansion of the Hadfields of Hadfield, dating from 1646, has been converted into a couple of cottages ; some years ago the handsome black oak carving was taken down and erected in a farm house on the Glossop estate. The population of the ecclesiastical parish in 1911 was 6,511.
Post, M. O., T. & T. E. D. Office, 62 Station road.—Mrs. Mary A. Wright, sub-postmistress. Letters through Manchester

PADFIELD, adjoining Hadfield station, 1½ miles north-west from Glossop and partly within that borough, in the High Peak division of the county, hundred of High Peak, parish, union, petty sessional division and county court district of Glossop, is included in the ecclesiastical parish of St. Andrew’s, Hadfield. The Wesleyan chapel, erected, with Sunday school in 1880 at a cost of £2,000, will seat 400 persons. The population are employed in the cotton mills.
Letters through Manchester, via Hadfield

WHITFIELD was formed into an ecclesiastical parish in 1884. On Aug. 10, 1894, the portion in Glossop borough was added to that parish, and the remainder amalgamated with the civil parish of Charlesworth. The church of St. James is a building of stone in the Early English style, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles and a western tower with spire and pinnacles containing 8 bells, added in 1884, and a clock placed in 1885 by Miss Wood, of Whitfield House: the organ, erected in 1860, was enlarged in 1870, 1880 and 1896, and repaired in 1908 at a cost of £850: the brass eagle lectern was presented by Miss Wood, of Whitfield House, in 1882, and two stained windows have also been inserted to the memory of John, Daniel and Samuel Wood : the church was enlarged in 1895-6 by the erection of a chancel and vestry, and the whole interior reseated at a cost, including special gifts, of over £4,000: there are 1,100 sittings, 550 being free. The register dates from the year 1846. The living is a vicarage, net value £320, with residence, in the gift of Sir John Wood bart. D.L., J.P. and Sir Samuel Hill-Wood bart. M.P., D.L., J.P. and held since 1904 by the Rev. William Martin Martin-Ellis M.A., F.R.G.S. of Hatfield Hall, Durham, rural dean and surrogate. The vicarage house, a stone building near the church, has been considerably enlarged since 1872. The church of St. Luke, also in this parish, was built in 1906 by Mrs. S. Wood, of Moorfield, at a cost of £5,000, and opened by the Bishop of Derby on St. Luke’s Day in that year ; it is served by the clergy of St. James’. There are Mission rooms in Chapel street, Kershaw street and Wood street. The Sumner Memorial Roman Catholic church, Sumner street, dedicated to St. Mary, founded and endowed by Francis James Sumner esq. D.C.L. of Park Hall, Hayfield, and erected in 1887 by his heirs on a site granted by Lord Howard of Glossop at a cost of about £17,000, including £5,000 for endowment, is an edifice of local stone in the Early English style, consisting of apsidal chancel, clerestoried nave of eight bays, aisles, side chapels, baptistery, south porch and ,an eastern turret with spire and ornamental finial, rising to a height of 90 feet and containing one bell : a stone screen separates the chancel from the side chapels : the altar and tabernacle are elaborately carved in alabaster, marble and Caen stone, and the pulpit is also of Caen stone : the organ cost about £500: stations of the cross were added in 1889 at a cost of about £150 : there are sittings for 900 persons : adjoining the church is a presbytery, built in 1889 by the Right Rev. Canon Charles W. Tasker, a former rector, to the memory of John Sumner esq.: and near the Roman Catholic school, in St. Mark’s road, is a convent for the Sisters of Charity of St. Paul. In 1908 a memorial altar and stained window were erected to the Right Rev. Canon Charles W. Tasker. Littlemoor Congregational chapel, founded in 1811, has 800 sittings. Littlemoor Congregational schools, Victoria street, erected in 1881 at a cost, including fittings, of about £3,000, form a building of stone in the Italian style, and will hold 700 scholars; the schools are also used for lectures and concerts, and can be arranged so as to seat 1,000 persons : the front entrance, facing Victoria street, is surmounted by a turret 75 feet high. The Gospel Union Mission hall, in Ellison street, erected in 1888, is of stone in the Gothic style, and will seat 800 persons. The Whitfield Free Library, now (1924) containing 600 volumes, and the adjoining recreation ground were presented to the people of Glossop by George S. Ollerenshaw esq. J.P. in 1902. Whitfield House, the residence of Sir John Wood bart. D.L., J.P. is a large stone building in the Elizabethan style, standing in its own grounds. Lord Howard of Glossop is lord of the manor and principal landowner. The inhabitants are employed in the large cotton and paper mills just outside the township and in the bleach works within its boundaries. The soil is various ; subsoil, clay. The chief crops are oats, hay and pasture. The population of the ecclesiastical parish in 1911 was 9,034.
Charlestown is a place here.

CHUNAL is 2 miles south from Glossop and partly within that borough, in the High Peak division of the county, hundred of High Peak, parish, petty sessional division, union and county court district of Glossop, and in the ecclesiastical parish of Whitfield; part is included in Glossop civil parish, the remainder being in Charlesworth civil parish.

Post, M. O., T. & T. E. D. Office, Norfolk square.—James Cockroft, postmaster. Letters should have Derbyshire added
Town Sub-Post & M. O. Office, Hall street, Old Glossop.— Frederick W. Adshead, sub-postmaster
Town Sub-Post & M. O. Office, 196 & 198 High street west.— Stanley Cooper, sub-postmaster
Town Sub-Post & M. O. Office, 113 Victoria street, Whitfield.—William Carnall, sub-postmaster

Mayor, Alderman William Newton J.P.
Deputy Mayor, Alderman James Malkin J.P.
Retire Nov. 1924: Lord Doverdale D.L., J.P., Levi Lee, George Wharmby
Retire Nov. 1927: Thomas Braddock J.P., James Malkin J.P., William Newton
All Saints’ Ward.
Returning Officer for Ward Elections, Alderman J. Malkin
Retire Nov. 1924: John Hague, Thomas Swire
Retire Nov. 1925: James Martin Jackson, Arthur Mellor
Retire Nov. 1926: Saml. Thomas Ashton, Albert Warrington
St. James’ Ward.
Returning Officer for Ward Elections, Alderman Wm. Newton.
Retire Nov. 1924: Walter Dixon, George Edward Russell
Retire Nov. 1925: Joseph Dempsey Doyle, Richard Sellers
Retire Nov. 1926: Joseph Edwin Buckley, William Newton
Hadfield Ward.
Returning Officer for Ward Elections, Alderman Levi Lee.
Retire Nov. 1924: Tom Aldous, Percy Sargentson
Retire Nov. 1925: Samuel Hinchliffe, Joseph Renshaw
Retire Nov. 1926: William Jackson, John Platt
Elective Auditors, Percy Knott, (one vacancy).

Officers of the Corporation.
Town Clerk, George H. Lea, Municipal buildings
Borough Treasurer & Superintendent Assistant Overseer, Samuel Fletcher, Municipal buildings
Medical Officer of Health to Borough & Rural District Council, Medical Superintendent of Maternity & Child Welfare Centre & to the Isolation Hospital, Ernest Henry Marcus Milligan M.D., D.P.H. Municipal buildings
Public Analyst, J. White, County offices, St. Mary’s Gate, Derby
Borough Auditor, John W. Hirst, Alexandra buildings, 28 Queen street, Manchester Surveyor & Water Works Manager,William Arnold Mitchell A. M.I.M. & Cy. E.
Veterinary Surgeon under the Diseases of Animals Acts, George Ellis M.R.C.V.S. Fauvel road
Water Inspector, James Byron, 17 Thomas street
Chief Constable, Inspector under Diseases of Animals Act, Inspector of Hackney Carriages & Superintendent or Fire Brigade, William R. Wilkie, Ellison street
Sanitary & Meat Inspector & Inspector under the Food & Drugs Acts, Harry Dane, Municipal buildings
Park Superintendent, P. Rowbottom
Collectors, General District Rate, No. 1 district, Frank Furniss, Municipal buildings, Glossop; No. 2 district, James Alston Bridge, Municipal buildings, Glossop; Water, Thomas Rhodes

The Mayor & Ex Mayor
Bowden William H. Fauvel road, Glossop
Braddock Thomas, 25 Lambgates, Hadfield
Dixon Walter, Pike’s lane, Glossop
Doverdale Lord D.L. Easton, Glossop
Doyle Joseph Dempsey, 6 Dinting lane, Dinting
Hankinson William, Lord street, Glossop
Hill-Wood Major Sir Samuel H. bart. M.P., D.L. Moorfield house, Glossop
Hunter Thomas Pearson, jun. Rosebank, Temple street, Hadfield
Hunter Thomas Pearson, The Poplars, Talbot road, Glossop
Jackson William, Post street, Padfield, Manchester
Knowles Charles E. Holmdale, North road, Glossop
Malkin James, Moorside, Glossop
Partington Mrs. O.B.E. Talbot house, Glossop
Partington Hon. Oswald, 10 Ennismore gardens, London SW7
Sidebottom Col. William V.D. Harewood lodge, Broadbottom, Cheshire
Swire Thomas, 8 High street west, Glossop
Clerk, Percy E. Ireland, Market street
The magistrates meet every alternate monday at the Town hall at 2.30 p.m

Doverdale Lord D.L. Easton, Glossop (chairman)
Arnfield Samuel, Rose cottage, Charlesworth
Barr John, Dinting lodge, Manchester
Braddock Thomas, Lambgates, Hadfield, Manchester
Heywood Lt.-Col. George Basil, Caradoc court, Ross, Hereford
Malkin James, Moorside, Glossop
Moss Robert, Hague view, Charlesworth, Manchester
Ollerenshaw George S. Highfield, Talbot road, Glossop
Partington Mrs. O.B.E. Talbot house, Glossop
Partington Hon. Oswald, 10 Ennismore gdns. London S W 7
Rowbottom James Henry, Chisworth, Charlesworth
Sidebottom Major Ralph B., T.D. Redcourt, Glossop
Sidebottom Col. William V.D. Harewood lodge, Broadbottom, Cheshire
Sumner Francis George, Dene house, Kineton, Warwickshire
Wainwright Col. Charles Richard M.B.E., T.D. Brabyns house, Marple
Wood Sir John bart. Whitfield house, Glossop
Woodhouse Sir Percy, Long Mead, Ludworth, Stockport
The mayor of Glossop & the chairman, for the time being of the Glossop Dale Rural District Council are ex-officio magistrates
Clerk to the Magistrates, Percy E. Ireland, 10 Market street, Glossop
Petty Sessions are held at the Town hall at intervals of three or four weeks, at 11 a.m. Thursdays. The following places are included in the division :—Charlesworth, Chisworth, Chunal, Compstall, Ludworth, Marple Bridge & Simmondley

The Committee, consisting of 24 members, was formed in 1908.
Meetings are held at the Municipal buildings, monthly, on notice.
Clerk, Alfred Phillips, 53 Pike’s lane, Glossop
Pension Officer, Albert James Baker, Norfolk street

The parishes in the District are:—Charlesworth, Chisworth & Ludworth. The area is 17,891 acres; the population in 1921 was 3,780.
Council meets at the Board room, Ellison street, on Wednesdays, monthly, at 11 o'clock.
Chairman, Samuel Gregory, Hague street, Glossop
Clerk, Charles Frederick Vinten Fenton, 14 & 16 Ellison st. Glossop
Treasurer, Harold W. Sheldon, District Bank Ltd. Norfolk square, Glossop
Medical Officer of Health, Ernest Henry Marcus Milligan M.D., D.P.H. Municipal buildings, Glossop
Sanitary Inspector & Highway Surveyor, Charles Edwin Storey, 10 Salisbury street, Hadfield

Borough Police Office, Ellison street. William R. Wilkie, chief constable; 1 inspector, 5 sergeants & 26 constables
Borough Police Station, Albert street, Hadfield, Samuel Wedgewood, sergeant, & 4 constables
Cemetery, Cemetery road, Hadfield, George Henry Wilson, clerk ; offices, Norfolk square
Convalescent Home, North road, Miss E. M. Morris, matron
County Court, His Honor Judge William John Lias ; Percy Edward Ireland, registrar & high bailiff ; office, Market street, open from 10 to 4, on Saturday from 9 till 12. The county court is held at the Town hall & comprises the following parishes:—Arnfield & district of Tintwistle, Brownside, Charlesworth, Chisworth, Chunal, Dinting, Gamesley, Glossop, Hadfield, Hollingworth, Padfield, Phoside, Simmondley, Torside, Whitfield, Woodhead & Woolley Bridge
For Bankruptcy purposes this Court is included in that of Ashton-under-Lyne ; John Grant Gibson, official receiver ; Frederick Murgatroyd, assistant official receiver, Byrom street, Manchester
Certified Bailiffs under the Law of Distress Amendment Act, Edwin Collier, Norfolk street & John T. Goddard, 12 Howard street
Derbyshire County Council Tuberculosis Dispensary, Surrey street, Patrick Heffernan M.B., Ch.B. medical officer: Miss H. Millington, matron
Free Library & Public Hall, Fauvel road, Edward Thompson, librarian
Howard Park, North road, Peter Rowbottom, supt
Masonic Hall, Norfolk square, J. E. Buckley, sec
Maternity & Child Welfare Centre, Municipal buildings, Ernest Henry Marcus Milligan M.D., D.P.H. medical supt
Ministry of Labour Employment Exchange, Victoria street, Egerton Doodson, manager
Public Baths, The Park, Silvester Whitehead, manager
Town Hall, High street west, Allen Byrom, caretaker
Whitfield Free Library (branch of Glossop Free Library), Freetown, James Watts, caretaker
Whitfield Parish Hall, Arthur Metcalfe, sec. Kershaw street
Wood’s Hospital, The Park, Stephen Nockolds M.A., M.B., B.Ch. Thomas M. R. Waddell L.R.F.P.S.Glas., L.R.C.P, & L.R.C.S.Edin. Joseph Hadfield M.B., C.M.Aberd. Edward James Allan L.R.C.P. & S.Edin. & Simon Kelly B.Sc., L.R.C.P.Lond., M.R.C.S.Eng. medical officers; George H. Lea (town clerk), sec. ; Miss M. C. Sanders, matron

The union comprises the following parishes :—Charlesworth, Chisworth, Glossop & Ludworth. The area of the union is 20,943 acres ; rateable value, £141,226; the population in 1921 was 24,311.
Board day, every alternate Wednesday, at 2.30 p.m. Chairman of the Board of Guardians, James Malkin J.P., C.C. Moorside, Glossop
Clerk to the Guardians & Assessment Committee, Charles F. V. Fenton, 14 & 16 Ellison street, Glossop
Treasurer, Harold William Sheldon, District Bank Ltd. Norfolk square, Glossop
Relieving Officer, Levi Robinson James,14 & 16 Ellison street, Glossop
Vaccination Officer, Levi Robinson James, 14 & 16 Ellison street, Glossop
Medical Officers, No. 1 district, Joseph Hadfield M.B., C.M.Aberd. Hollincross lane, Glossop; No. 2 district, R. Wilfred Bollans M.B., Ch.B. Station road, Hadfield; No. 3 district, William Cochrane Cairnie Easton M.B., Ch.B., M.R.C.S., L.R.C.P. Marple Bridge
Public Vaccinator for the Union, Henry James Burke M.C., L.R.C.P. & S.Irel. Ivy house. Hadfield road, Hadfield
Poor Law Institution, to hold 144 inmates, William A. Atkinson, master ; Henry James Burke M.C., L.R.C.P. & S.Irel. Ivy house, Hadfield road, Hadfield, medical officer ; Mrs. A. O. Atkinson, matron

Glossop Registration District.
Superintendent Registrar, William B. Hadfield, Market street ; deputy, Arthur France, Market street
Registrar of Births, Deaths & Marriages, Glossop sub-district, Charles F. V, Fenton, 14 & 16 Ellison street, Glossop ; deputy, Levi Robinson James, 14 & 16 Ellison street, Glossop

Assessor & Collector of Taxes, John W. Darlington, 40 Norfolk street
Assistant Overseers, Samuel Fletcher (superintendent & treasurer), David Massey, Frank Furniss & James A. Bridge, Municipal buildings
Clerk to the Burial Board, George Henry Wilson, Norfolk sq
Coroner for the Hundred of High Peak, Sydney Taylor, 7 Hall bank, Buxton ; deputies, Abel John Hy. Oram, Bank chambers, Terrace road & George Henry Wilson, Norfolk square, Glossop
Customs, Excise & Old Age Pension Officer, Albert James Baker, Norfolk street
Market Inspector, Allen Byrom, Town hall
Stamp Distributor, James Cockroft, Post Office, Victoria street
Veterinary Inspector under the Diseases of Animals Acts, George Ellis M.R.C.V.S. Fauvel road

Parish Church, Rev. William Dudley Dixon M.A. vicar, & surrogate ; Rev. William Alfred Loughborough M.A curate
Holy Trinity, Dinting, Rev. Henry Lawrance M.A. vicar
St. Andrew, Hadfield, Rev. Archibald Campbell Macalister White L.Th. vicar ; Rev. William John Jones B.A., curate
St. James', Whitfield, Rev. William Martin Martin-Ellis M.A., F.R.G.S. Vicar, rural dean & surrogate; Rev. Frank Whalley, curate
St. James’ Mission Room, Chapel street
St. Luke’s, Whitfield
Sumner Memorial Roman Catholic Church (St. Mary’s), Sumner street, Rev. William Reginald Winder, parish priest; Rev. Michael Farrell B.A. assistant priest
All Saints Roman Catholic, Rev. Frederick D. H. Brown, priest
St. Charles Borromeo Roman Catholic, Hadfield, Right Rev, Mgr. Canon William Joseph Baigent, priest; Rev. Edward Ellis D.D. curate
Congregational, Littlemoor; Rev. John Henry Robinson
Congregational, St. Mary’s road (Mount Pleasant), Rev. Arthur W. Goodwin Congregational, Brookfield, (vacant)
Primitive Methodist, Shrewsbury street & Mission Chapel, Princess street, Rev. Thomas Banks, supt
United Methodist, Hall street ; Simmondley lane, Dinting ; Station road, Hadfield & Whitfield Cross, Rev. Richard Henry Hamer, supt
Unitarian, Fitzalan street, Rev. Joseph Wilson
Wesleyan Methodist, High street west, Hadfield, Padfield, Wesley street & Whitfield, Rev. Thomas George Squire (supt.); Rev, George Russell James, minister
Wesleyan Reformers, Howard street, Rev. Ernest Bromage
Gospel Union Mission Hall, Whitfield, Rev. Richard Howton
Salvation Army Hall, Edward street

Under the provisions of the Education Act, 1902, an Education Committee has been formed, consisting of 36 members. The Committee meets at the Municipal buildings on the third monday in each month (except August) at 8 p.m. Chairman, Thomas Braddock
Secretary to the Committee, Jsph. Walkden, Municipal bldgs
Chief Clerk, Harold Appleton, Municipal buildings
School Medical Officer, Ernest Henry Marcus Milligan M.D., D.P.H. Norfolk street
Attendance Officer, Joseph Hadfield Sidebottom, Municipal buildings

The Glossop Grammar School, Talbot street, founded in 1900 by Lord Howard of Glossop, comprises physical & chemical laboratories, art rooms, a workshop & a dynamo house. The laboratories are well equipped with modern apparatus & appliances. There are now (1924) 270 students. The school has advanced courses in (1) science & mathematics, (2) modern studies; pupils pass on to Oxford, Cambridge, Manchester &c. Universities. The school is controlled by the Higher Education Committee of the Borough of Glossop; Ralph H. Dickinson Univ. Lond. head master, with 13 assistants & 5 visiting teachers

Hadfield, Council (mixed), erected in 1908, for 300 children ; Benjamin Whiteley, master ; Miss Jessie Hadfield, infants’ mistress
Pike’s Lane, Council (mixed), erected in 1912, for 450 children ; Walter Houseman, master
Dinting, C. E. built in 1875 & enlarged by Mrs Wood in 1887, for 220 children & 60 infants ; Thomas Beardwood, master
Dinting, United Methodist (mixed), erected in 1889, for 268 children ; Ernest M. Penney, master
Duke of Norfolk, C. E. Old Glossop, with master’s residence, built & endowed in 1852 by Henry Charles, 13th Duke of Norfolk, & enlarged in 1887, for 250 boys, 250 girls &100 infants ; Edgar Ollerhead, master
Hadfield, C. E. (mixed & infants), erected in 1855, for 336 children ; Percy John Holloway, master; Miss Sarah Marsden, mistress
Padfield Council (mixed), erected in 1887, for 255 children; William Lees Marshall, master ; Mrs. Hannah Shepherd, mistress
Talbot street, C. E. (girls & infants), built in 1880 & enlarged in 1897, for 320 children; William Hankinson, master; Miss Elsie Wilde, mistress
Waterside, Hadfield, C. E. (infants), built in 1872, for 133 children ; Miss Lillie Wilde, mistress
Whitfield, C. E. (mixed & infants), for 610 children; F. H. Morris, master ; Miss Gertrude Bradwell, infants’ mistress
Roman Catholic, St. Mark’s road, for 302 children ; Sisters of the Order of St. Paul, teachers
Roman Catholic, Old Glossop (mixed), for 120 children ; Presentation Sisters, teachers
Roman Catholic, Hadfield (mixed), built in 1858 & enlarged in 1904, for 252 children ; Sisters of the Order of St. Paul, teachers
Endowed, Whitfield (mixed), with master’s residence, founded in 1779 by Joseph Hague esq. of Park hall, Hayfield, & endowed with £60 yearly, for 70 children ; Walter P. Evason, master

Glossop Advertiser, Glossop Printers Ltd. proprietors & publishers ; published fri. 6 Howard street
Glossop Dale Chronicle, Glossop Printers Ltd. proprietors & publishers ; published fri. 6 Howard street
High Peak Advertiser, Glossop Printers Ltd. proprietors & publishers ; published fri. 6 Howard street
High Peak Chronicle, Glossop Printers Ltd. proprietors & publishers ; published fri. 6 Howard street

Glossop, William Henry Farr, station master
Dinting, Harry G. Stratton, station master
Hadfield, John Bayley, station master

The Urban Electric Supply Co.’s Cars to Hadfield every 15 minutes

Motor Omnibuses to & from Hadfield, Chapel-en-le-Frith, Dove Holes, Peak Forest, Buxton, Dinting, Charlesworth, Chisworth, Compstall & Marple Bridge

Allan Edward Jas. Beech-Lea, North rd
Allen Edwd. Wagstaffe,120 Charlestown rd
Andrew Mrs. Holmleigh, North road
Armitage Mrs. Ivyleigh, Sheffield road
Armitage William, Spire Hollin
Arrowsmith William, 118 Charlestown rd
Bailey Vincent Edgar, Oakleigh, North rd
Banks Rev. Thomas (Primitive Methodist), Temple mount, Shrewsbury st
Bates John H. 44 Sheffield road
Bayley Edwin, Lyndale, Spire Hollin
Beever George, Rydal mnt. Dinting road
Bolton Herbert Spencer, Spire Hollin
Booth John, 28 High street east
Bowden Miss, 3 Wellgate
Bowden Mrs. 47 Norfolk street
Bramall James, Netherdale, Spire Hollin
Bromage Rev. Ernest (Wesleyan Reformers), 7 Sumner street
Brown Rev. Frederick (Roman Catholic), Royle house
Brown George, 11 Norfolk square
Charlesworth Theodore, Arundel villas, North road
Collier Edwin, Hollywood, Sheffield road
Cooper Misses, 43 Primrose lane
Curl Wm. Christopher, 48 Sheffield road
Cuthbert John H. 77 Primrose terrace
Cuthbert Mrs. Spire Hollin
Davis Mrs. Park dene, Dinting road
Dearnaley Joseph, 2 Alexander villas, Talbot road
Dearnaley Mrs. Parkfield house, North rd
Dickinson Ralph Herbert, Ellerslie, Spire Hollin
Dixon Rev. William Dudley M.A. (vicar & surrogate), The Vicarage
Doverdale Lord D.L., J.P. Easton ; & Westwood park, Droitwich; & 10 Ennismore gardens, London SW7
Ellis George, Fauvel road
Fairclough Walter P.,Mus.Bac.,F.R.C.O. 92 St. Mary’s road
Farrell Rev. Michael B.A. (Roman Catholic), Sumner street
Fielding Hy. Brentwood, Spire Hollin
Firth Harold D. 77 Norfolk street
Fletcher Samuel, Chelston, North road
Foote William A. Beechwood, North road
Francis William Roberts, Bank house, Charlestown
Garside John, Castlemere, Spire Hollin
Goodwin Rev. Arthur W. (Congregational), 17 Sumner street
Greaves William, Heathfield, Sheffield rd
Hadfield John, Ashlands, Dinting road
Hadfield John, jun. Spire Hollin
Hadfield Joseph M.B., C.M. Hollincross house, Hollin Cross lane
Hall Fredk. Jas. Sunny bank. North rd
Hamer Rev. Richard Henry (United Methodist), Sheffield road
Harrison Walter, Glenbrook, Dinting rd
Harrison William, Spire Hollin
Haynes Thomas, Lower Blackshaw
Heywood Thomas, The Moorlands, Sheffield road
Hill-Wood Major Sir Samuel bart. M.P. D.L., J.P. Moorfield; & 11 Great Stanhope street W1; Carlton & Bachelors’ clubs, London
Hilton Wilfred, Wren nest, Sunlaws street
Hodgett Hy. Oswald, Redcot, Spire Hollin
Holdgate Hy. M. The Tower, North road
Hopwood Mrs. Essenden, Sheffield road
Houseman Walter, North road
Howard of Glossop Lord M.B.E. Glossop hall
Howard of Glossop Hyacinthe, Lady, Glossop hall
Howton Rev. Richard (Gospel Union), Beth Rapha, Spire Hollin
Hudson Harry Lindsay, Trevethyn, Spire Hollin
Hunter Harold W. Ain Garth, Dinting rd
Hunter Thomas Pearson, The Poplars, Talbot road
Hyde John T. Heatherlea, Dinting road
Ireland Percy E. Slatelands road
Jackson Frank, High lawn, Hobroyd
Jackson Herbert, Cowbrook, Sheffield rd
Jackson James Martin, Holly mount, Ellison street
Jackson Josiah, Primrose house, Primrose lane
Jackson Samuel, 25 Simmondley lane
Kelly Simon B.Sc. Loch Maree, North rd
Knowles Chas. E. Holmdale, North road
Lea George Harry, 74 Sheffield road
Lee Craven, Clifton villas, Fauvel road
Leech Alfred, Cowbrook cot. Sheffield rd
Loughborough Rev. William Alfred M.A. (curate All Saints), The Vicarage
Lowe Mrs. Milford house, North road
Mackenzie Duncan John M.D., C.M. (ret.), Loch Maree, North road
McKinlay Finlay, Weston, Spire Hollin
Malkin James J.P. Moorside
Malloch Peter Edwd. 84 St. Mary’s rd
Martin-Ellis Rev. William Martin M.A., F.R.G.S. (vicar of St. James’, surrogate & rural dean). Vicarage, Whitfield
Maxwell John, 114 Charlestown road
Milligan Ernest Henry Marcus M.D. 27 Norfolk street
Mitchell Julien, 45 Norfolk street
Moran Arthur Edwd. John, Lee mount
Morris Fredk. H. 8 Hague st. Whitfield
Moseley Ben, Wrenfield, Spire Hollin
Nelson Robert M.D. Norfolk street
Newton William, Spire Hollin
Nield Miss, Oakfield, North road
Nockolds Stephen, 93 High street west
Nuttall John, Greystoke, Dinting road
Oliver Leonard, Rose villa, North road
Oliver Walter, Hollybank, Talbot road
Ollerenshaw George S., J.P. Highfield house, Talbot road
Ollerenshaw Misses, Clare ho. Talbot st
Ollerenshaw Robt. Percival, 40 Talbot st
Ollerhead Edgar, 46 Sheffield road
Partington Hon. Oswald J.P. Easton
Partington Mrs. O.B.E., J.P. Talbot house, Talbot road
Robinson Rev. John Henry (Congregational), 2 Gladstone street
Robinson Wm. D. Thorncliffe, Sheffield rd
Rowbottom John, The Hurst
Rowbottom Mrs. Shepley street
Schofield John Henry, Spire Hollin
Scholes John Churn, Spire Hollin
Sharpe Thos. Walt. 2 Turn Lee road
Shaw Edwin, Spire Hollin
Sheldon Harold W. Bank ho. Norfolk sq
Shepley Mrs. Hillside, North road
Sidebottom Major Ralph Bennett T.D., J.P. & Hon. Mrs. Redcourt, Hollin Cross lane Skelton Chas. W. Woodview, Sheffield rd
Smith Charles Crosland, The Coombs, Dinting road
Smith James W. 53 Norfolk street
Smith Mrs. Ryecroft house, Hall street
Smith Tom, Ingle nook, Dinting road
Squire Rev. Thomas George (Wesleyan), 1 Alexander villas, Talbot road
Stapley Henry, Denholm, Sheffield road
Thompson William, North road
Thorp Albert Ernest, The Cedars, Sheffield road
Thorpe Harold, Woodleigh, North road
Waddell Thomas M. R. 25 Victoria street
Walkden Joseph, Clavadel, Spire Hollin
Ward Ernest A. B. The Hurst
Werschy Mrs. Arundel villas, North road
Whalley Rev. Frank (curate St. James, Whitfield), 5 York terrace
Whittingham Thomas Reginald, Riverslea, North road
Wilkie William R. Clifton villas, Fauvel rd
Wilson Rev. Joseph (Unitarian), Park croft, Dinting road
Wilson George Henry, Hurst villa, The Hurst
Wilson Robert, The Firs, Talbot road
Winder Rev, W. R, (Roman Catholic), Sumner street
Wood Sir John bart. D.L., J.P. & Hon. Lady, Whitfield house
Wood Mrs. John, Spire Hollin
Woodward Cecil Rogers, The Cot, Dinting road
Wragg Mrs. Ashfield, Sheffield road

Early closing day, Tuesday.
Adshead Frederick W. stationer & sub-postmaster, Hall st
Ainsworth Fred, boot repairer, Gladstone street
Alexander Richard, beer retailer, 24 Arundel street
Allan Edward James L.R.C.P. & S.Edin., L.R.F.P.S.Glas. physician & surgeon, & medical officer to the Post Office, Beech-Lea, North road & 18 High street east. T N 98
Allott Matthew, farmer, Moorfield
Ancient Order of Foresters (Court Mersey, lodge No. 2493, John Byrom, sec. : Court Pride of the Valley, lodge No. 2403, John Gradwell, sec.), 1 Surrey street
Anglo-American Oil Co. Limited, oil mers. Railway yard
Appleton Harold, chief clerk to the Education Committee, Education offices Municipal buildings
Argenta Meat Co. Limited, butchers, Victoria street
Arnfield Herbert, Manor inn, 77 High street east
Arrowsmith Thomas, clog & patten ma. 132 High st. west
Ashton Fred, boot maker, 44 High street west
Ashton Frederick Danby, chartered accountant (firm, Hollingbery & Ashton), Howard chambers, Howard street
Ashton George William, shopkeeper, 8 Gladstone street
Ayrton Richard, shopkeeper, 14 George street
Bagshaw Arthur, cabinet maker, 26 & 28, High street west
Bailey Edwin, costumier, 51 & 53 High street west
Baker Albert James, customs & excise & old age pension officer, Norfolk street
Ballington Samuel William, butcher, 143 Gladstone street
Barber Francis & Joseph, taxicab proprietors, Turn Lea road. T N 137
Barber Edwin Owen, Crown inn, 142 Victoria street
Barber John, coal dealer, 39 Gladstone street
Barclays Bank Limited (branch) (Cecil Rogers Woodward, manager), 20 High street west (T N 139); draw on head office, 54 Lombard street, London E C 3
Barlow Herbert, tobacconist, 2 Charlestown road
Barrow Paper Mills Limited, paper makers, Turn lea
Bates John H. land steward to Lord Howard of Glossop, Howard estate office, Spire Hollin
Battey Ernest, photographer, 8 Norfolk street
Bebbington William Harry, Hare & Hounds P.H. 27 Hall st
Bennett Fred, farmer, Ashes
Bennett George, news agent, 199 High street east
Bennett James, photographer, 14a, High street east
Bennett Leah (Miss), art needlework repository, 14 High street east
Bennett Martha Ellen (Miss), beer retailer, 96 Victoria street
Bennett Robert, butcher, 84 Victoria street
Benton Sarah (Miss), shopkeeper, 1 Princess street
Berry Mary, Hannah & Bessie (Misses), shopkeepers, 76 High street east
Blakeley Emily (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 57 Whitfield cross
Boardman Harriett (Miss), confectioner, 2 Jordan street
Boardman Herbert William & Co. blacksmiths, Manor street
Booth Ethel (Mrs.), berlin wool repository, 86 High st. west
Boots Cash Chemists (Lancashire) Ltd. 19 High street west
Borough of Glossop Education Office (Joseph Walkden, sec.; H. Appleton, chief clerk), Municipal buildings. T N 18
Bowden John Thomas, baker, 12 Norfolk street
Bowden Samuel, farmer, Heath
Bradbury George & Co. grocers, 385 High street west
Bradbury Albert, farmer, Whitfield green
Bradbury Walter, beer retailer, 3 Norfolk street
Bradbury William, hair dresser, The Arcade
Braddock Eli & Son, shipping agents, 55 High street east
Bradley Arthur, beer retailer, 28 Freetown
Bradley Mary (Mrs.), beer retailer, 1, 3 & 5 Bernard street
Bradley Ralph, beer retailer, 11 Chapel street
Bratby Gertrude (Miss), boot & shoe dlr. 10 Gladstone street
Bratherton Annie Frances (Miss), preparatory school, 40 Victoria street
Bridge Elizabeth (Miss), shopkeeper, see Lamb & Bridge
Bridge James Alston, assistant overseer & collector of general district rate No. 2 district, Municipal buildings
Bridge Matthew, greengrocer, 2 Wesley street
Brightmore Eva (Mrs.) C.M.B. midwife, 151 High st. east
Broadbent Ellis, beer retailer, 277 High street west
Broadbent William, beer retailer, 25 High street east
Brooks Walter, beer retailer, 14 Milltown
Brown George, dentist, 11 Norfolk square
Brown Richard, confectioner, 6Charlestown
Brownson George, tailors, 2 High st. east & Victoria st
Buckley James Henry, pawnbroker, 38 High street east
Buckley Joseph, tailor, 55 Hollin Cross lane
Buckley Ruth (Miss), shopkeeper, 191 High street west
Bullous James & Mary (Mrs.), confectioners, 37 High st. west
Bunting Joseph, hair dresser, 13 Victoria street
Byrom Allen, market inspector, Town hall
Byrom James, water inspector, 17 Thomas street
Byrom John, insurance agent, 50 Princess street
Byron Joseph, confectioner, 53 High street east
Callaghan Charles, fried fish dealer, 36 High street east
Carnall William, stationer & sub-postmaster 113, & provision dealer 118, Victoria street
Cash & Co. boot & shoe makers, 1 Victoria street
Cemetery (Hadfield) (George Henry Wilson, clerk); offices, Norfolk square
Chadwick Herbert, house furnisher, 91 High street west
Chadwick John C. clothier, 41 & 43 High street west
Chadwick Richard, shopkeeper, see Jones & Chadwick
Chapman Brothers, hair dressers, 14 Norfolk street
Charlesworth Frederick, butcher, 244 High street west
Charlesworth Frederick, Junction inn, 379 High street west
Charlesworth George, butcher, 36 High street west
Child Welfare Centre (E. H. Marcus Milligan M.D., D.P.H. medical superintendent), Municipal buildings
Child Thomas (Mrs.), furniture dealer, 100 High street west
Clarkson Henry, farmer, Almonds heath
Clover Charles Edgar, chipped potato dealer, 62 Edward st
Cluskey George, furniture dealer, 61 High street west
Cockroft James, postmaster & stamp distributor, Post office, Norfolk square
Coleman Alfred John, farmer, Gnat hole
Collier Edwin, auctioneer & valuer & certified bailiff under the “Law of Distress Amendment Act,” Norfolk street
Collier Joe Hill, beer retailer, 19 Charlestown road
Conner Victor, shopkeeper, 271 High street west
Conservative & Unionist Association (High Peak division) (Vincent E. Bailey, registration agent), 26 Norfolk street. T N 65
Convalescent Home (Miss E. M. Morris, matron), North road. T N 53
Conway Mary (Miss), news agent, 130 High street west
Cooper John Reginald, butcher, 66 High street west
Cooper Stanley, shopkeeper & sub-postmaster, 196 & 198 High street west
County Court Office (His Honor William John Lias, judge: P. E. Ireland, registrar & high bailiff), Market street
Crabtree Emily (Mrs.), fried fish dealer, 26 Arundel street
Crisp Brothers, cafe, The Arcade
Crompton Joseph, beer retailer, 78 High street west
Crossland Walter W. & Sons, cotton waste dealers, 3 & 3a, Arundel street & 45 Edward street. T N 30
Crowther James, teacher of music, 40 Hollin Cross lane
Cumberland Ernest. Grapes inn. 305 High street west
Cunliffe Alan R. farmer, Lane Side farm
Customs & Excise & Old Age Pensions Office (Albert James Baker, officer), Norfolk street
Cuthbert John H, estate agent, 77 Primrose terrace
Cuthbert Mary E. (Mrs.), tobacconist, 80 High street west
Dakin Lilian (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 6 Hague street
Dale Frederick, farmer, Cowbrook, Sheffield road
Dale George, news agent, 90 Victoria street
Dale Samson, tripe dresser, 166 High street west
Dane Harry, sanitary & meat inspector, & inspector under the Food & Drugs Acts to the corporation, Municipal bldgs
Darlington Jn. W. assessor & collector of taxes, 40 Norfolk st
Davies William, fried fish dealer, 29 Hague street
Davis & Son, solicitors, 10 Ellison street. T N 37
Davis Charles James, solicitor & commissioner for oaths (firm, Davis & Son), 10 Ellison street
Dean Thomas, watch repairer, 37 Whitfield cross
Dearnaley Joseph, grocer, 25 High street west. T N 69
Dearnley Irvin, painter, 49 High street west. T N 124
Dempsey Thomas, hair dresser, 242 High street west
Derbyshire County Council Tuberculosis Dispensary (Patrick Heffernan M.B. Ch.B. medical officer ; Miss H. Millington, matron), Surrey street
Dewsnap Walter, baker, 2 Shepley street
Dewsnap Walter, painter, 90 Edward street
Dickson Fred, grocer, 16 Princess street
Dinting Church Club (Thomas Richardson, sec.), High st. west
District Bank Limited (branch) (Harold W. Sheldon, manager), Norfolk square (T N 131); draw on London office. 75 Cornhill E C 3
Dixon Annie (Miss), confectioner, 110 High street west
Dobson & Robinson, milliners, 69 & 71 High street west
Doyle & Son, boot makers, 121 High street west
Dryland Nellie (Mrs.), fried fish dealer, 9 Princess street
Dutton Jane (Mrs.), hardware dealer, 88 High street west
Dyson Herbert, boot repairer, 110 Victoria street
Dyson Joseph, boot & shoe repairer, 149a, High street west
Eastwood Francis, baker. 8 Hall street
Elliott William Irving, Station hotel, Norfolk street
Ellis George M.R.C.V.S.Edin. veterinary surgeon, & veterinary inspector under the “Diseases of Animals Acts” for the borough & county, Fauvel road
Ellison Theo Walter, solicitor & commissioner for oaths, Norfolk chambers, Henry street. T N 107
Empire (Irvine Dearnaley, manager), 60 High street west
Entwistle Nellie (Mrs.), fancy draper, 18 High street west
Etchells Alice (Mrs.), tobacconist, 20 Norfolk, street
Etchells James Hollowood, shopkeeper, 28a Talbot street
Fairclough Walter Peake Mus.Bac., F.R.C.O. professor of music, 92 St. Mary's road
Farnsworth Thomas, fruiterer, 112 & 114 High street west. T N 42
Fenton Charles Frederick Vinten, clerk to Glossop Dale Rural District Council & clerk to the guardians & assessment committee & registrar of births, deaths & marriages for Glossop sub-district, 14 & 16 Ellison street. T N 74
Fielding Enoch & Son, watch & clock makers, 39 High st. west
Fielding Albert (Mrs.), baker, 40 High street east
Fielding Edith (Mrs.), draper, 116 Victoria street
Fielding George R. Royal Oak P.H. Sheffield road
Fielding Harold, house furnisher, 114 Victoria street
Firth Harold D., L.D.S.Manc. dental surgeon, 77 Norfolk street. T N 89
Fisher Charles E. & Son, joiners, Ellison street
Fleet & Jebb, farmers, Betten hill
Fletcher Alfred, fried fish dealer, see Hall & Fletcher
Fletcher Alma (Mrs.), fried fish dealer, 170 High street west
Fletcher George, shopkeeper, 9 Charlestown
Fletcher Samuel, borough treasurer & supt. assistant overseer, Municipal buildings. T N 150
Fletcher William T. tripe dresser, 4 Charlestown road
Foy Anthony, fried fish dealer, 1 Kershaw street
Foy Thomas, fishmonger, 76 High street west & Derby street
France Arthur, deputy supt. registrar of births, deaths & marriages, Glossop district, Market street
Free Library & Public Hall (Edward Thompson, librarian), Fauvel road
Freeman, Hardy & Willis Ltd. boot makers, 27 High st. west
Fuller Minnie & Nellie (Misses), milliners, 90 High st. west
Fuller Edward, saddler & harness maker, 8 Norfolk square
Furniss Frank, assistant overseer & collector of general district rate No. 1 district, Municipal buildings
Gadd George Frederick, motor car garage, Turn Lea road
Garlick Matthew & Albert, coal merchants, Railway yard
Garside Joseph, farmer, Lees Hall farm
Gas Co. (Benjamin Goddard, manager; Walter Townend, sec.), Arundel street (T N 85); show rooms, 84 High street west
Gibbons Harry, boot maker, 16a High street east
Glossop Advertiser (Glossop Printers Limited, proprietors & publishers; published friday), 6 Howard street.
Glossop Carriage Co. Limited (J. R. Nield, sec.), funeral furnishers, 16 Howard street. T N 59
Glossop Carters’ & Motormen’s Social Club (H. Bridge,sec.), 1 Railway street
Glossop Conservative Club (Timothy F. Savage, sec.), 26 Norfolk street
Glossop Cricket Club (T. Jacobs, sec.), Norfolk street
Glossop Dale Chronicle (Glossop Printers Limited, proprietors & publishers ; published friday), 6 Howard street
Glossop Dale New Industrial Co-operative Society Ltd. (J. T. Hyde, sec.), Norfolk square (T N 15); 14, 46 & 48 & 369 High street west; 20 Charlestown road ; Hall street ; Pike’s lane ; Church street south ; 106 Gladstone street & 47 Surrey street ; registered office, 2 Railway street
Glossop Football Club Co. Limited (Arthur Clarke, sec.), North road
Glossop Glove Co. limited, glove manufacturers, George st
Glossop Grammar School (Ralph H. Dickinson, head master), Talbot street
Glossop, Hadfield & District Allotments Association Limited (John H. Cuthbert, sec.), 77 Primrose terrace
Glossop Ironworks Co. limited, Surrey street. T N 11
Glossop Labour Club (W. T. Harrop, sec.), 7 & 9 Railway st
Glossop Liberal Club (John H. Cuthbert, sec.), Henry street. T N 66
Glossop Modern Dairies (Ernest Wilson, proprietor), Market street. T N 143
Glossop Motor Co. Ltd. motor engineers. Arundel st. T N 48
Glossop Palace (Provincial Cinematograph Theatres Limited, proprietors), George street T N 114
Glossop Perpetual Building Society (The) (A. Goldthorpe, sec.), 12 Ellison street
Glossop Printers Limited (J. W. I. Worthington, sec.), printers, 6 Howard street. T N 67
Glossop Social Club Limited (W. Bramall, sec.), 4& 6 Ellison street
Glossop Women’s Unionist Association (V. E. Bailey, sec.), Norfolk street
Goddard Harry, draper, 42 High street west
Goddard John T. auctioneer & certified bailiff under the “Law of Distress Amendment Act,” 12 Howard street
Goddard Maria Ruth (Mrs.), small ware dlr. Victoria street
Goddard Mary (Miss), earthenware dealer, 240 High St. west
Goddard Samuel, builder, Ashes
Goldstone Hyman, house furnisher, 18 Norfolk street
Goldthorpe Samuel, beer retailer, 33 Charles street
Grant Thomas, chip potato dealer, 137 Gladstone street
Green Frank, confectioner, 36 Hadfield street
Green Gertrude Mary Hammett (Mrs.), Market hotel, 8 Market street
Greenwood John, stone merchant, Howard street & quarry owner, Lees Hall & Mouslow quarries
Gregory Samuel H. farmer, Jumble farm
Grosvenor Nellie (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 8 Collier street
Hadfield Ada & Annie (Misses), shopkeepers, 6 Chapel street
Hadfield J. & Sons, wood bedstead makers, Derby st. T N 86
Hadfield Thomas & Sons, drapers, 15 High street west
Hadfield Cycle Co. cycle makers, 82 High street west
Hadfield Dairy Co. provision dealers, 45 High street west
Hadfield Albert, farmer, Cliffe road
Hadfield Alice (Miss), shopkeeper, 61 Hague street, Whitfield
Hadfield Ethel (Miss), confectioner, see Thorpe & Hadfield
Hadfield James Hyde, Surrey Arms P.H. 133 Victoria street
Hadfield John, beer retailer, 1 Market street & confectioner, 23 High street west
Hadfield John, boot maker, 97 High street east
Hadfield Joseph M.B. & C.M.Aberd. physician & surgeon, & medical officer No. 1 district, Glossop union, Hollincross house, Hollin Cross lane T N 79
Hadfield Joseph, shopkeeper, 60 High street east
Hadfield Mary Ann (Mrs.), herbalist, 14 Charlestown road
Hadfield William Bruce, solicitor &: commissioner for oaths (firm, Ireland & Hadfield), & supt. registrar of births, deaths & marriages for district of Glossop, Market street
Hadwin Harry, bleachers’ engineer, Howard street
Hague Arthur, farmer, Wimberry hill
Hague Sarah (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 20 Derby street
Haigh & Shortland, motor car proprs. Union st. T N 112
Haigh .Alice (Miss), baker, 136 Victoria street
Haigh James William, costumier, 30 High street west
Hall Alice (Miss) & Wharmby Walter, bakers, 28 Gladstone st
Hall & Fletcher, fried fish dealers, 60 Victoria street
Hall & Sons, tailors, 21 High street west
Hall Elizabeth (Miss), boot maker, 210 High street east
Hall Elizabeth (Mrs.), grocer, 146 St. Mary’s road
Hall John, herbalist, 138 Victoria street
Hallam Frank, dairyman, 1 Charlestown road
Hallows Hannah (Miss), shopkeeper, 106 Pike’s lane
Hampson John & Son, furniture removers, Hague street, Whitfield
Hampson Edith (Miss), dress maker, see Kinder, Storey & Hampson Misses
Hampson Tom, farmer, 3 Hague street, Whitfield
Hardcastle Horace & Oswy, coal merchants, Surrey street
Harding Eliza (Mrs.), milliner, 4 Norfolk street
Hardman Gertrude Mary (Miss) & Taylor Edith Alice (Miss), corset agents, 88 St. Mary’s road
Harper Richard, shopkeeper, 88 Kershaw street
Harris Ellen (Miss), chipped potato dlr. 363 High street west
Harris James, tinplate worker, Oldham street
Harrison Abel Limited, coal merchants, Surrey street (T N 47); & at Broad bottom ; Dinting & Hadfield railway stations
Harrison Charles Smith, grocer, 122 High street west
Harrison Thomas, Howard Arms P.H. 17 High street east
Harrop Hugh, tailor, 21 Surrey street
Harrop Joseph, shopkeeper, 26 Gladstone street
Hart George, fried fish dealer, 119 High street west
Hawley Harold, stationer, 1 High street west
Hazlewood Frank, hair dresser, 10 High street west
Heap Mary H. (Mrs.), milliner, 79 High street west
Heap William, stationer, 81 High street west
Hepworth J. & Son Limited, clothiers, 1 High street east
Hesketh Roger, coal dealer, 61 Charlestown road
Hickman T. Stanley, secretary agent for the High Peak Division Liberal Association)., 38 Norfolk street. T N 129
Higginbottom Mary (Mrs.), milliner, 17 High street west
Higginbottom Tom, hair dresser, 85 Victoria street
Higginbottom Tom, laundry, see Waterhouse & Higginbottom
High Peak Advertiser (Glossop Printers Limited, proprietors & publishers ; published friday), 6 Howard street
High Peak Chronicle (Glossop Printers Limited, proprietors & publishers : published friday), 6 Howard street
High Peak Division Liberal Association (T. Stanley Hickman, sec. & agent), 38 Norfolk street. T N 129
High Peak Land & Building Co. Limited (E. Farrington, sec.), 38 Norfolk street
Hill John William, news agent, 24 High street east
Hill Rachel (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 72 High street west
Holdgate H. M. & Co. Limited, iron & steel & yarn merchants
Holdgate James, painter, glazier &c. 149 High street west
Holdgate Robert, grocer, 11 High street east
Hollingbery & Ashton, chartered accountants, Howard chambers, Howard street
Holt W. (Burnley) Ltd. billiard rooms, 119 High street east
Hope Frank, corn chandler, 70 Victoria street
Howard William & Son, builders, contractors & undertakers ; stone, timber & builders’ merchants & joiners’ manufacturers, Surrey Street saw mills
Howarth Edmund, house furnisher, 138 High street west
Hudson Clarence Wesley, stationer, 55 High street west
Hulmes Mary Alice (Mrs.), baker, 1 Charlestown road
Hunters The Teamen Limited, grocers, 4 High street east
Hunter Thomas Pearson, hosier, 9 & 11 High street west
Hurst Walter, tailor, 9 High street east
Hyde Walter, hatter, 32 High street west
Independent Order of Oddfellows (Manchester Unity) (Prince Regent lodge) (J. Taylor, sec.), 27 Hall street
Ingham James W. picture frame maker, 63 High street east
Ireland & Hadfield, solicitors & commissioners to administer oaths, Market street. T N 81
Ireland Percy E. solicitor & commissioner to administer oaths (firm, Ireland & Hadfield), & registrar to Glossop county court, clerk to the county & borough magistrates & registrar & high bailiff, Market street
Jackson Isaac & Sons Limited, belt fastener manufacturers, Hawkshead mills. T A “Fastener, Glossop;” T Nos. 91 & 92
Jackson Levi & Sons, rope & twine mfrs. Hobroyd. T N 68
James Levi Robinson, relieving & vaccination officer, deputy registrar of births, deaths k marriages & collector to guardians, 14 & 16 Ellison street
Jebb Corbet, farmer, see Fleet & Jebb
Jennett Joe, Rose & Crown P.H. 89 High street west
Jennings Thomas Henry, shopkeeper, 9 Victoria street
Johnson Harry, fruiterer, 4 High street west
Jones & Chadwick, shopkeepers, 35 Princess street
Jones Ralph, beer retailer, 38 High street west
Joyce Fred, baker, 112 Victoria street
Keelan Peter, secondhand clothes dealer, 8 Chapel street
Keevney Ellen (Miss), shopkeeper, 20 Church street
Kelly Frank, plumber, 76 Victoria street
Kelly Simon B.Sc., M.R.C.S.Eng., L.R.C.P.Lond., D.P.H. physician & surgeon, Loch Maree, North road. T N 75
Kennedy John Charles, hair dresser, 96 High street west
Kennedy Margaret (Miss), shopkeeper, 225 High street west
Kennerley Jessie (Mrs.), confectioner, 54 High street west
Kennington & Son, tobacconists, Town Hall buildings, High street west
Kershaw James, clogger, 70a, Charlestown road
Kime Walter E. head gardener to Lord Howard of Glossop, The Lodge, Hall street
Kinder, Storey & Hampson (Misses), dressmakers, Ellison st
Kinder Joseph, slater, 28 Mount street
Kirk William, hardware dealer, 165 High street east
Kitchin Cora Elsie (Mrs.), haberdasher, 51a, High st east
Knight Thomas, shopkeeper, 42 Arundel street
Knott John, boot maker, 64 Victoria st. & 33 Princess st
Knott Walter, tinplate worker, 108 Victoria street
Lamb & Bridge, shopkeepers, 2 Whitfield cross
Langford William Henry, baker, 85 High street west (Misprint in original directory, should be High Street East)
Large Samuel J. milliner, 8 High street east
Lea George H. town clerk, Municipal buildings. T N 58
Leach James Arthur, shopkeeper, 21 Freetown
Leatherbarrow James, herbalist, 136 High street west
Lee Hannah (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 1 Edward street
Lees Clarissa (Miss), confectioner, 104 High street west
Lester Edwin, fruiterer, 140 High street west
Lester James, greengrocer, 74 High street west
Littler Evelyn (Mrs.), dairy, 102a, Victoria street
Logan Peter, boot repairer, 12 Wellgate
Lord John, baker, 16 High street west
Lowe William, fried fish dealer, 211 High street east
Lyne James Henry, herbalist, 26 Princess street
McKinlay Finlay, chemist, 7 High street west. T N 44
Malkin J. & E. T. corn millers, Corn street. T N 99
Malloch Peter Edward L.R.C.P. & S.Edin., L.R.F.P.S.Glas. physician & surgeon, 84 St. Mary ’s road & 16 High street west. T N 46
Manchester & County Bank Limited (branch) (W. D. Robinson, manager), Norfolk sq.(T N 135); draw on National Provincial Bank Limited, 2 Princes street, London E C 2
Manns Mary Jane (Mrs.), draper, 104 Pike’s lane
Marriott James, baker, 20 High street east
Marsden Edward, farmer, Pike’s farm
Marsden John Thomas, shopkeeper, 70 Charlestown road
Marsden Joseph, chipped potato dealer, 140 Victoria street
Marsh William Hill, haberdasher, 273 High street west
Marshall Sarah (Mrs.), draper, 94 High street west
Martin John Thomas, optician, 73 High street west
Masonic Lodge (Devonshire lodge, No. 625) (J. E. Buckley, sec.), Norfolk square
Massey Daniel, ironmonger, 22 High street east
Massey David, assistant overseer, 62 High street east
Maternity & Child Welfare Centre (Ernest Henry Marcus Milligan M.D., D.P.H. medical officer), Municipal buildings. T N 118
May Thomas & Sons, basket & skip makers, 53 Victoria street
Maypole Dairy Co. Limited, dairymen, Town Hall buildings, High street west
Melia’s Limited, grocers, 24 High street west
Mellor Charles, beer retailer, 40 Pike’s lane
Mellor James Albert, lodging house, 1 Chapel street
Mellor Samuel, beer retailer, 5 Arundel street
Middleton Brothers, builders, Victoria street. T N 78
Middleton Isaac, chipped potato dealer, 5 Freetown
Middleton Thomas, boot repairer, 244a, High street west
Milligan Ernest Henry Marcus M.D., D.P.H. medical officer of health to Borough & Rural District Council, medical supt. of Maternity & Child Welfare Centre & to the Isolation Hospital, Municipal buildings. T N 118
Ministry of Labour Employment Exchange (Egerton Doodson, manager), Victoria street. T N 83
Mitchell Julian, surgeon-dentist, 45 Norfolk street
Mitchell William Arnold A.M.I.M. & Cy.E. borough surveyor & water works manager, Municipal buildings. T N 49
Monks Sarah Ellen (Mrs.), midwife, 75 High street east
Moore Henry, boot repairer, 11 Victoria street
Moorhouse Percy, farmer, Ashes & Heath farms
Moorhouse Rachel (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 124 St. Mary’s road
Morley Alice (Mrs.), Globe hotel, 144 High street west
Morley Violet Ann (Miss), grocer, 50 Church street
Morton Walter, confectioner, Victoria street
Moscrop Noah, jeweller, The Arcade
Mullin & Smith, grindery dealers, 92 High street west
Neal Thomas, farmer, Turn Lee road
Needham Walter, shopkeeper, 29 Gladstone street
Newton William & Co. corn merchants, Surrey street
Newton John, shopkeeper, 130 Pike’s lane
Nicholls George, Bee Hive inn, 35 Hague street
Nield John Joseph, ironmonger 125, & cycle agent 165, High street west & blacksmith, Brook street
Nield Mary (Mrs.), milliner, see Wrigley & Nield
Nockolds Stephen M.A., M.B., B.Ch. physician & surgeon, 92 High street west. T N 94
Norbury John Harry, Wheat Sheaf inn, 16 Wellgate
Northern (The) Firelighter Co. Limited, “briquette” firelighter manufacturers & merchants, Whitfield cross
Oldfield Harvey, Surrey Arms P.H. 67 High street west
Oldham Street Working Men’s Club (John Hadfield, sec.), Oldham street
Oldham & Swann, house decorators, Brook street.
Oldham Edwin, outfitter, 99 High street west
Olive & Partington Limited, paper makers, Turn Lee & Dover mills. T A’s “Pino, Glossop” & “Chromo, Glossop;” T Nos. 101 & 102
Oliver W. & Sons, ironmongers, 85 & 87 High street west (T N 90) & 34 High street east
O’Neill Thomas, hardware dealer, 62a, Victoria street & saw mills, Derby street
Orme William, plumber, 105 St. Mary’s road
Overand Thomas, confectioner, 56 High street west
Page Solomon, hair dresser, 6 Norfolk street
Parkin Jabez, farmer, Kidd Road farm
Pattison Ann (Mrs), haberdasher, 20 Wellgate
Pearson Albert, Albion hotel, 15 Victoria street
Peck George William, fruiterer, 123 High street west
Peck Percy, fried fish dealer, 106 Victoria street
Pell William, boot maker, 52 High street west
Penny Leonard Percy, shopkeeper, 62 Victoria street
Peplow Elizabeth (Mrs.), haberdasher, 197 High street west
Phillips Alfred, clerk to the Glossop Local Pensions Committee, 53 Pike’s lane
Pickford John J. Norfolk Arms hotel, Norfolk square
Piper’s Penny Bazaar, 34 High street west
Plant John, farmer, Lower Bank
Platt George, Queen’s Arms P.H. 1 Shepley street
Platt James, coal merchant, 11 Railway street. T N 128
Platt Joseph, boarding house, Lees hall
Platt Mary D. (Mrs.), confectioner, 3 High street west
Podmore Elizabeth (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 45 Bernard street
Podmore Thomas Leonard, confectioner, 23 High street east
Porter Alice (Miss), confectioner, 5 George street
Potts Clifford, fruiterer, 377 High street west
Potts Gertrude (Miss), confectioner, 218 High street west
Powell Frederick, tobacconist, 98 High street west
Pownall William, boot repairer, 36 & 38 Victoria street
Pownall William D. fried fish dealer, 63 High street west
Presentation Convent (Sister Angela, superior) Church street
Price James William, shopkeeper, 17 Freetown
Proctor John, shopkeeper, 76 Charlestown road
Public Baths (Silvester Whitehead, manager), Howard park
Public Weighbridge (Thomas Parr, weigher), Railway yard
Ralph Samuel, draper, 16 High street east
Read Jane (Miss), shopkeeper, 31 Chapel street
Redfern Ann (Miss), china dealer, 75 High street west
Refuge Assurance Co. Limited; district office (Charles Astin, superintendent), Norfolk square
Rhodes George, shopkeeper, 44 St. Mary’s road
Rideal Limited, chemists, 102 High street west
Rigg Edward Gray, farmer, Corn farm
Riley Stephen, beer retailer, 90 High street east
Riley William, greengrocer, 70 Freetown
Roberts Reuben, insurance agent, 73 Primrose terrace
Robinson Herbert, house decorator, 112 St. Mary’s road
Robinson Joseph, Bridge inn, 12 Market street
Robinson Joseph Edward, china & glass dlr. 21 High st. east
Robinson Kate (Miss), milliner, see Dobson & Robinson
Robinson William Duty, manager of the Manchester & County Bank Limited, Norfolk square
Roe John Samuel, Bull’s Head P.H. 72 Church street
Roe Thomas, clerk of works to Lord Howard, 14 Wesley st
Rolley Susan (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 81 High street east
Rowbottom James Ltd cotton spinners, Hurst mills. T N 8
Rowbottom S. & Co. Limited cotton spinners, Meadow mills. T N 7
Rowbottom Joseph, greengrocer, 104 Victoria street
Rowbottom Peter, park superintendent, North road
Royal Liver Friendly Society; district office (James W Smith, district manager), 11 Norfolk street
Royal London Mutual Insurance Society; district office (Thomas William Calvert, superintendent), 41 High st. east
Sanderson Agnes (Mrs.), fried fish dealer, 9 Chapel street
Scholes George, butcher, 117 High street west
Scowcroft James, fried fish dealer, 131 High street west
Senior James Henry, hair dresser, 70 High street west
Shaw Ethel (Miss), baker, 127 High street west
Shaw William, farmer, Whitfield barn
Sheldon Harold W. manager of the District Bank Limited & treasurer to the Union & Rural District Council, Norfolk sq
Sheldon Robert, farmer, Brownhill farm
Shepley Mill Cotton Manufacturing Co. Limited, Shepley mill, Chapel street. T N 2
Sheppard Martha (Mrs.) & Son, mineral water manufacturers, Shrewsbury street
Sherry’s Dairy Co. Limited, dairymen, 35 High street west
Shorrock Isaac, confectioner, 142 High street west
Shortland Robert, motor car proprietor, see Haigh & Shortland
Sidebottom Albert, pianoforte warehouse, 22 High street we
Sidebottom Dennis, joiner, Victoria street
Sidebottom Joseph Hadfield, school attendance officer, Education offices, Municipal buildings
Sidebottom Lucy (Mrs.), ladies’ hair dresser, 31 Norfolk st
Sidebottom William Henry, gas company’s collector, 24 Turn Lee road
Singer Sewing Machine Co. Limited, sewing machine dealers, 29 High street west
Sisters of Charity of St. Paul Convent (Mother Cecilia, superior), St. Mary’s road
Skelton James, marine store dealer, 123 Gladstone street
Slater Frederick, Commercial inn, Charlestown
Slattery Esther (Miss), shopkeeper, 82 Gladstone street
Smith J. W. & Co. estate agents, 11 Norfolk street
Smith Mary (Mrs.), grindery dealer, see Mullin & Smith
Sparrow Alice Ann (Mrs.), beer retailer, 17 Gladstone street
Stafford Clara (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 59 Hollin Cross lane
Stagg & Son, wholesale wine & spirit mers. 10 Norfolk square
Stansfield Jessie (Miss), news agent, 123 High street west
Stead Henry, confectioner, 58 High street west
Steels William Ernest, grocer, 5 High street west
Storey Edith (Miss), dress maker, see Kinder, Storey & Hampson (Misses)
Sumner Francis & Co. (1920) Limited, cotton spinners & manufrs. Wren Nest mills. T A “Remus, Glossop;” T N 10
Swann Francis, house decorator, see Oldham & Swann
Swann George, watch & clock maker, 238 High street west
Swire John & Son, boot & shoe makers, 8 High street west
Swire Henry, clog & patten maker, 21 Victoria street
Swire John Oswald, butcher, 83 High street east
Sykes R. W. & Son, auctioneers, 65 High st. west. T N 133
Tanner Rebecca (Miss), milliner, 6 High street east
Tatlow Joseph Tinker, beer retailer, 1 Whitfield cross
Taylor Albert Buckley & Son, haulage contractors, Charlestown. T N 70
Taylor Albert Buckley, beer retailer, Charlestown
Taylor Edith Alice (Miss), corset agent, see Hardman Gertrude Mary (Miss) & Taylor Edith Alice (Miss)
Taylor Robert, insurance agent, 39 Pike’s lane
Taylor Squire, dining rooms, 57 High street west
Taylor William, butcher, 74 Victoria street
Tero George, baker, 57 High street east
Thom James & Sons, coal merchants, 33 Norfolk street & Surrey street. T N 93
Thompson Esther (Mrs), baker, 213 High street west
Thompson William, draper, 3 & 5 High street east
Thornhill Joseph, farmer, Blackshaw
Thornhill Thomas, farmer, Hurst
Thorp Walter & Son, coal merchants, Henry street & Railway yard. T N 52
Thorpe & Hadfield, confectioners, 12 High street east
Tilburn & Son, charabanc proprietors, 11 St, Mary’s road
Timperley Joseph, shopkeeper, 38 Pike’s lane
Torkington William, fishmonger, 68 High street west
Town Hall (Allen Byrom, caretaker), High street west
Townend Albert, grocer, see Waterhouse & Townend
Towsey George, gamekeeper to Lord Howard of Glossop, The Lodge, Sheffield road
Tweedie Jane (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 164 High street west
Turner Manasseh & Sons, fruiterers, 26 High street east
United Irish League (Robert Emmett branch) (Hugh Trayner, sec.), 13 Bernard street
Urban Electric Supply Co. Limited (The), electrical engineers, High street west. T N 34
Vernon John, farmer, Whitfield green
Waddell Thomas M. R., L.R.C.P., L.R.C.S.Edin., L.R.F.P.S.Glas. physician & surgeon, 25 Victoria street. T N 82
Wagstaff Jemima (Mrs.), certified midwife, 156 High st. west
Wain & Son, fancy drapers, 59 High street west
Wain Abel, baker, 27 Sheffield road
Wain Edward Joseph, monumental mason, Simmondley la
Walkden Joseph, sec. to the Education Committee, Education offices, Municipal buildings
Walmsley James, shopkeeper, 52 Hollin Cross lane
Walton John (of Glossop) Limited, bleachers, Charlestown works. T N 116
Warner Leonard, Commercial inn, 137 Hall street
Warren Herbert, farmer, Derbyshire level
Warrington Albert, butcher, 19 High street east
Water Works (William Arnold Mitchell, manager), Municipal buildings
Waterhouse Fred & Co. motor engineers, 100 & 102 High street east. T N 144
Waterhouse & Higginbottom, laundry, Ellison st. T N 17
Waterhouse & Townend, grocers, 25 Norfolk street & 130 High street east
Waterhouse Maurice, fishmonger, 24 Charlestown road
Waters Henry Stephen & Son, sign writers, 76 Freetown
Weaver Alfred, farmer, Hobroyd
Webb Joseph, shopkeeper, 131 Hall street
Wesleyan & General Assurance Society; district office (Thomas H. Blackman, supt.), 1 George street
Wharmby George, oil & lamp dealer, 127 Hall street
Whitehead Leonard, shopkeeper, 19 Gladstone street
Whitehead Reuben, shopkeeper, 41 Duke street
Whiteley Alice (Mrs.), draper, 197 High street east
Whitfield Church Institute (Herbert Minshell, caretaker), 18 Chapel street
Whitfield Church Reading Room (H. Hall, sec.). 18 Charlestown road
Whitfield Free Library (branch library) (James Watts, caretaker), Freetown
Whitfield Parish Hall (Arthur Metcalfe, sec.), Kershaw street
Whitfield Working Men’s Club (J. Berresford, sec.), 86 Wood street
Whittaker William, baker, 142 St. Mary’s road
Whittingham Thomas Reginald, solicitor, Riverslea, North rd
Wild Ralph & Sons, tripe dressers, 1 Collier st. & Victoria st
Wild Isaac, boot repairer, 7 Whitfield cross
Wilkie William R. chief constable of borough police, inspector under Diseases of Animals Act, inspector of hackney carriages & supt. of fire brigade, Ellison street. T N 57
Wilkinson Clara (Mrs.), confectioner, 22 Surrey street
Willey John W. O. & Son, cabinet makers, George street
Wilson & Bates, aerated water mfrs. Howard St. T N 88
Wilson Robert Ltd. bakers, 174 High street. T N 20
Wilson George Henry, solicitor & commissioner for oaths, clerk to Hollingworth Urban District Council, clerk to the Glossop & Charlesworth Joint Burial Board & deputy coroner for the High Peak Hundred division of the county, Norfolk square. T N 43
Winterbottom Alvin, watch repairer, 128 High street east
Winterbottom Annie (Mrs.), chipped potato dealer, 185 High street west
Winterbottom Jessie (Mrs.), confectioner, 267 High st. west
Wood John & Brothers (1920) Limited, cotton spinners & manufacturers, Howard Town mills. T N 22
Wood John, joiner, Railway street
Wood Zaccheus, farmer, 60 Hague street, Whitfield
Wood’s Hospital (George H. Lea (town clerk), sec.; for list of medical staff, see p. 284), Howard park. T N 36
Woodcock Phoebe (Mrs.), fancy draper, 31 & 33 High st. west
Woodhead George, butcher, 141 Victoria street. T N 38
Woodhead James Thomas, shopkeeper, 72 Victoria street
Woodhouse Abishai, butcher, 36 Church street south
Woodward Cecil Rogers, manager Barclays Bank Limited, 20 High street west
Woolley Robert, butcher, 77 High street west
Wrigley & Nield, milliners, 50 High street west
Wrigley Mary H. (Mrs.), confectioner, 210 High street west
Wyman & Sons Limited, news agents, Railway station

Birkenhead Ralph, Royal Oak P.H
Brookfield Working Men’s Club (Samuel Jones, sec)
Darwent Lucy (Mrs.), draper
Hanson John, chipped potato dealer
Moss Arnold, shopkeeper
Robinson Margaret C. (Miss), shopkeeper
Robinson William, farmer
Stockdale Walter, printer. T N Glossop 104

Coleman Alfred John, farmer
Green Thomas, farmer
Pass Albert Edward, Grouse inn
Shepley William, farmer
Stevens Charles, farmer

Birch Arthur Edwin, 101 Shaw lane
Booth Edwin, Augustine house, Shaw lane
Fenton Charles F. V. Viaduct house
Fothergill James, 107 Shaw lane
Lawrance Rev. Henry M.A. (vicar), Vicarage
Rawsthorne Joseph T. 103 Shaw lane
Schofield Ernest, Dinting lodge
Stockdale Walter, 99 Shaw lane
Townsend Alfred A. Dinting lodge
Wild William Ernest, 105 Shaw lane
Atkins William Maundy, shopkeeper
Beard Amy (Miss), shopkeeper
Bennett Alfred, farmer
Bickerdike Richard Henry, shopkeeper
Bradbury Albert Jordan, fent dealer
Harrison Abel Limited, coal merchants
Harrison John, farmer
Harrop James, farmer, Hill top
Hoyle Thomas, farmer, Hill top
Johnson James, Viaduct inn
Knott John, boot maker
Lackey John, shopkeeper
Pooler James, Plough inn
Potter Edmund & Co. Limited, calico printers. T N Glossop 12
Probert Henry Edward, farmer
Sidebottom William, shopkeeper
Skelton Charles (exors. of), carriers
Stratton Harry G. station master

Cuthbert Mrs. Gamesley house
Beaumont Edward, coal merchant
Clayton James R. coal merchant
Crabtree George, shopkeeper
Fox James, hawker
Garlick Albert, Magnet inn
Glossop Dale New Industrial Co-operative Society Limited (The)
Grimshaw John, baker
Harrison Abel Limited, coal merchants, Railway yard
Jackson Thomas, farmer
Marsden Albert, farmer
Simpson Annie (Mrs.), farmer, Gamesley farm
Walton Jacob, farmer
Walton Jacob, jun. farmer
West Annie (Mrs.), shopkpr. Cottage lane

Baigent Right Rev. Monsignor Canon William Joseph (Roman Catholic), St. Charles’s rectory
Bollans R. Wilfred M.B. 89 Station road
Braddock Thomas J.P. Lambgates
Burke Henry James M.C. Ivy house, Hadfield road
Ellis Rev. Edward D.D.(Roman Catholic), St. Charles’s rectory
Hadfield Wm. Bruce, 305 Hadfield road
Hickman T. Stanley, Kent villa, Hadfield road
Jackson Thomas, Chomlea, Hadfield road
James Rev. George Russell (Wesleyan), 46 Bank street
Jones Rev. William John B.A. (curate), 42 Bross croft
Platt John, Queen street
Potts William, Glengariff, Hadfield road
Sargentson Arthur, 120 Hadfield road
Sargentson Percy, 122 Hadfield road
Storrs George Bertram, The Thoms, Park road
Taylor George William, Oaklands
Walker Andrew Paterson, 124 Hadfield rd
White Rev. Archibald Campbell Macalister L.Th. (vicar), Vicarage, Hadfield cross

Early closing day, Tuesday.
Aldous Thomas & Son, joiners, Railway street. T N's Glossop 5 & Mottram 52
Bagshaw Henry, beer retailer, 41 Station road
Bamforth W. & Sons, joiners, 110 Station road
Bayley John, station master
Beard T. & Son, slaters, plasterers & general contractors
Bedford Henry, ironmonger, Bank bottom
Bennett Thos. & Son, general draprs. 98,100 & 102 Station rd
Bennett Benjamin, smith, see Wilde & Bennett
Bentham Emma (Miss), toy dealer, 33 Station road
Bentham Tom, stationer, 47 Station road
Beverley John T. shopkeeper, 31 Church street
Billinge Joseph, saddler, 108 Station road
Bollans Robert Wilfred M.B., Ch.B.Vict. surgeon, & medical officer to No. 2 district, Glossop union, 89 Station road. T N Glossop 28
Booth Henry, pork butcher, 117 Station road
Bowden Albert & Co. drapers, 124 Station road
Bowden Frank, shopkeeper, 36 & 38 Waterside
Braddock John, chemist, 42 & 44 Station road
Bramald Ellis, haberdasher, 390 Hadfield road
Breeze George, boot repairer, 1 Church street
Brookes Frank, hair dresser, Woolley bridge
Buckley James, printer, 4 Hadfield road
Buckley John, shopkeeper, 25 Hadfield road
Burke Henry James M.C., L.M.I., L.R.C.P. & S.Irel. physician & surgeon, & public vaccinator Glossop union & medical officer to Glossop Infirmary, Ivy house, Hadfield road. T N Glossop 95
Bush William, greengrocer, 31 Station road
Butterworth William, news agent, 22 Bank street
Chadwick Harry, confectioner, 238 Woolley Bridge road
Chadwick Samuel Woodhouse, ironmonger, 9 Station road & tinplate worker, Woolley bridge
Challioner Helena (Miss), shopkeeper, see Hurt & Challioner
Chamberlain Ernest, cycle agent, 91 Station road
Charlesworth George, Spread Eagle P.H. Woolley bridge
Convent of Sisters of St. Paul, Woolley Bridge road
Cropper Walter, fried fish dealer, 142 Station road
Cumberland Isaac, beer retailer, 421 Hadfield road
Cuthbert Thomas, Arundel Arms P.H. Cemetery road
Daniel Albert, blacksmith, Albert street
Dawson W. & Co. plumbers & painters, 85 Station road. T N Glossop 13
Dewsnap Elizabeth (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 93 Woolley Bridge rd
Dewsnap William, butcher, 46 Hadfield road
District Bank Limited (sub-branch) (open mon. wed. & fri. 10 a.m. to 12.30 p.m.; sat. 9.30 to 11 a.m.), 97 Station road ; draw on London office, 75 Cornhill E C 3
Dodd Samuel, coal merchant, Railway yard
Edwards Gwendolyn (Mrs.), milliner, 109 Station road
Ellis Elizabeth & Mary (Misses), tripe dealers, 37 Station road
Equitable Co-operative Society Limited (John William Pogson, sec.; Charles Loxley, manager), 54, 56 58 & 60 Station road (T N Glossop 55); Woolley Bridge road & Stanyforth street & Padfield & Tintwistle
Etchells H. grocer, 95 Station road
Fidler William, fancy draper, 128 Station road
Firth Harold D., L.D.S. dentist, 65 Station road
Fish William, chipped potato dealer, 69 Station road
Forster Herbert Walter, haberdasher, Woolley bridge
Fountain Esther A. (Mrs.), baby linen dealer, 68 Station rd
Garlick Ernest, chipped potato dealer, Woolley Bridge road
Gartside & Co. (of Manchester) Limited, cotton spinners & manufacturers, Waterside mills. T N Glossop 115
Gerrard Hannah (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 85 Woolley Bridge road
Glossop Free Library & Public Hall, Station road
Glossop Gas Co. (branch), 55 Station road
Glossop Printers Limited, printers, 114 Station road
Goddard Charley, Victoria hotel, 88 Bross croft
Greaves James, boot repairer, 55 Hadfield road
Greaves William, baker, 103 Station road
Greenwood Cookson, shopkeeper, 52 Bross croft
Greenwood Fred, tripe dresser, Station road
Gregory Charles, farmer, Woolley bridge
Hadfield Bleachers’ Association (William Hartley, sec.), Woolley bridge
Hadfield Bowling Club (John Harrison, sec.), Hadfield road
Hadfield Central Working Men’s Club (George Ross, sec.), Waterside
Hadfield Conservative Bowling Club (Joseph Haigh, sec.), Woolley Bridge road
Hadfield Conservative Club Co. Limited (Levi Lee, sec.), Woolley Bridge road
Hadfield Dairy Co. provision dealers, 112 Station road
Hadfield Football Club (F. Wood, sec.), 2 Osborne place
Hadfield & Hollingworth Coal Association Limited (John A. Cooper, sec.), coal mers. Station yard. T N Mottram 15
Hadfield Liberal Club (John Simms, sec.), Bank street
Hadfield Picturedrome (H. Sergeant, manager), Bank street
Hadfield Public Hall & Free Library (John Battey, caretaker), Station road
Hadfield William Bruce, solicitor, 305 Hadfield road. T N Glossop 73
Haigh Hugh, news agent, 1a, Railway street
Hall Edwin, hair dresser, 84 Station road
Hall Thomas, watch repairer, 5 Station road
Hardman Frank, butcher, 1a, Bank street
Harrison Abel Limited, coal merchants, Station yard
Harrison John James, fried fish dealer, 42 Hadfield road
Hill William, fruiterer, 82 Station road
Hodson Joseph, herbalist, 118 Station road
Holden Walter, watch repairer, 76 Station road
Howard Samuel, Anchor inn, Hadfield road
Hulme Jessie (Miss), milliner, 45 Station road
Hunters The Teamen Limited, grocers, 39 Station road
Hurt & Challioner, shopkeepers, 122 Station road
Hyde Joseph, shopkeeper, 32 Railway street
Jakeman Albert, stationer, 126 Station road
James John Thomas, fried fish dealer, 127 Station road
Kaye Frank, chipped potato dealer, 1 Station road
Kenyon William, butcher, 114 Station road
Kershaw Jonathan, butcher, 3 Station road
Lawson George, confectioner, 52 Station road
Lee Elizh. H. & Martha (Misses), milliners, 91 Hadfield road
Lee Levi & Co. grocers, 89 Hadfield road
Lee Albert, boot repairer, 131 Station road
Littlewood George Law, grocer, 12 Queen street
Livesley James, draper, 72 Station road
Livesley Squire, draper, 101 Station road
McHale James, fruiterer, 123 Station road
Manchester & County Bank Limited (sub-branch) (William Robinson, manager) (mon. wed. k fri. 10 a.m. to 12.30 p.m.; sat. 9.30 to 11 a.m.), 97 Station road ; draw on National Provincial Bank Limited, 2 Princes street, London E C 2
Mansell Lizzie (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 53 Station road
Marsh Frank, grocer, 102 Waterside
Martin William A. draper, 11 & 13 Station road
Maycock James, painter, 29 Station road
Meadow Dairy Co. Limited, dairymen, 130 Station road
Mettrick John Woolley, butcher, 86 Station road
Middleton Rachel (Mrs.), news agent, 134 Woolley Bridge rd
Mitchell Frank, baker, 87 Hadfield road
Mitchell Henry, shopkeeper, Waterside
Moore Sarah (Miss), shopkeeper, 7 Station road
Moscrop Noah, fancy goods dealer, 119 Station road
Moss John Robert, greengrocer, 79 Station road
Nelson Jessie (Miss), baker, 74 Station road
Newton Harriet (Mrs.), toy dealer, 103a, Station road
Nield Allan, baker, 90 Station road
Ninnes Andrew, baker, 116 Station road
North Sarah E. (Mrs.), Spinners’ Arms P.H. Marsden street
Oldham Arthur, confectioner, 35 Station road
Oliver W. & Sons, ironmongers, 51 Station road
Parker Joseph, tobacconist, 115 Station road
Pass Arthur, Pear Tree inn, 431 Hadfield road
Patchett Thomas, butcher, 32 Station road
Platt Edward Firth, shopkeeper, Woolley bridge
Public Weighing Machine, Station yard
Ratcliffe John, draper, 121 Station road
Renshaw Mary & Hannah (Misses), mllnrs. 68 Woolley bridge
Rhodes Thomas Limited, cotton spinners & manufacturers, Mersey mills
Rhodes Matthew, beer retailer, Woolley bridge
Robinson Tom, baker, 27 Station road
Rogers Frank, greengrocer, 15 Station road
Rogers William T. tailor, 77 Station road
Ross George, assistant insurance supt. 1 Bross croft
Rothwell Edwin, grocer, 94 Station road
St. Charles’ Hall (T, Williamson, sec.), Woolley Bridge road
Sanders Clarence, grocer, 111 Station road
Scholes Arthur, chipped potato dealer, Woolley Bridge road
Sherwood Harry, boot repairer, 97 Woolley Bridge road
Sherwood Robert William, manufacturing chemist, see Wyatt. Sherwood & Co
Sidebottom William P. temperance hotel, 152 Station road
Smith Herbert Alfort, dentist, 52 Hadfield road
Smith James, coal merchant, Station yard
Storey Charles Edwin, architect & surveyor, & sanitary inspector & highway surveyor to Glossop Rural District Council & clerk to Glossop reservoir commissioners, 10 Salisbury street
Sutcliffe Emily (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 17 Station road
Swift William, boot maker, Queen street
Swindells Matilda (Miss), draper, 83a, Hadfield road
Swire Harry, boot maker, 125 Station road
Swire John, clogger, Woolley Bridge
Sykes Emma E. (Mrs.), chipped potato dlr. 19 Bross croft
Sykes Horace, hair dresser, 25 Station road
Sykes John, monumental mason, Park road
Sykes William James, Palatine inn, 133 Station road
Torkington Samuel, greengrocer, 113 Station road
Trueman Albert, baker, 129 Station road
Vernon Thomas A. music seller, 91a, Station road
Wadsworth Arthur, confectioner, 2 Bank street
Walker Elliott Morton & Son, drprs. 105 & 107 Station road
Walker Andrew Paterson L.R.C.P. & L.R.C.S.Edin., L.R.F.P.S.Glas. Physician & surgn. 124 Hadfield rd. TN 101
Walsh Henry, grocer, 8 Bank street
Walsh Herbert, beer retailer, 1 Green lane
Walsh Patrick, boot repairer, 6 Green lane
Ward James, Masons’ Arms inn, 78 Station road
Warhurst Hannah (Miss), milliner, 90 Station road
Watts Alice (Mrs.), confectioner, 104 Station road
Webb John W. hair dresser, 134 Station road
Webb Mary (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 5 Green lane
Wilde & Bennett, smiths, 73 & 75 Station rd. TN Glossop 119
Wildgoose James, shopkeeper, 23 Station road
Woodhouse Samuel, confectioner 97, & butcher 99, Station rd
Woodward John C. hair dresser, 106 Station road
Woolley Bridge Palace (Woolley Bridge Palace Co. Limited, lessees), Woolley Bridge
Woolley Bridge Working Men’s Club (W. P. Leach, sec.), 29 Woolley Bridge road
Woolley Tom, grocer, Woolley Bridge
Worsley Arthur, joiner, 40 Bross croft
Wrigglesworth Thomas H. fried fish dealer, 21 Station road
Wright Edwin, Commercial inn, Bank Bottom
Wyatt, Sherwood & Co. manufacturing chemists, 28 Bross croft
Wyatt Annie (Mrs.), baker, 1a, Station road
Youles Ruth (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 114 Woolley bridge

Hunter Thomas P. Rose bank
Ashton George Woodhouse, miscellaneous dealer, 97 Platt street
Biltcliffe Lister, Peel’s Arms P.H
Bradley Hector, grocer, 14 Platt street
Brierley Harry, farmer, Main road
Burdekin Alfred, shopkeeper, Platt street
Cartwright Frank, domestic machinery dealer, Station road
Chevens Brothers, carters
Critchlow Samuel, farmer, Little Padfield
Greenwood Fred, tripe dresser, 3Temple st
Greenwood Joe, farmer
Hadfield Equitable Co-operative Society Limited (John William Pogson, sec. ; Charles Loxley, manager), 99 Platt st
Hardman Frank, butcher, 85 Platt street
Hinchliffe Frederick, shopkeeper, 61 Platt street
Howbrook Brothers, joiners, Platt street. T N Glossop 122
Howbrook Mark, shopkeeper, 1 Post st
Joyce Ernest Albert, baker, 36 Post st
Padfield Liberal Club (Saml. Sharp, sec.), Main road
Padfield Working Men’s Club (Frank Macdonald, sec.), 26 Platt street
Palmer Violet (Miss), shpkpr.15 Post st
Pickford Fanny (Miss), haberdasher, 31 Post street
Rhodes Thomas & Son (Hadfield) Ltd. cotton spinners & manufacturers, Hadfield mills. T N Glossop 32
Robinson Caroline (Miss), confectioner, 111 Main road
Rye Mills Tannery Limited (The), leather dressers. T N Glossop 126
Sargentson James, cotton waste mer
Sargentson Walter F. cotton waste dealer, Padfield brook
Shaw Joseph, Prince of Wales hotel, 119 & 121 Main road
Shepherd Fred, farmer, Lower Deep clough
Swift Joseph, boot repairer, 4 Post street
Wood Henry & Doris (Mrs.), confectioners, 95 Platt street

CHARLESWORTH, on the borders of Cheshire, is a township and parish, formed as an ecclesiastical parish in 1849 from that of Glossop, including Chisworth and Simmondley, in the High Peak division of the county, hundred of High Peak, petty sessional division, union, county court district and rural deanery of Glossop, archdeaconry of Chesterfield and diocese of Southwell. By an Order of the County Council, under the provisions of the Local Government Act, 1894, Charlesworth was formed into a civil parish from the rural part of Glossop parish. Charlesworth is 1½ miles west from Dinting station on the Great Central section of the London and North Eastern railway, 2½ south-west from Glossop, 13 from Manchester and 200½ from London. The church of St. John, erected in 1849 at a cost of £2,700, is a cruciform building of stone in the Early English style, consisting of chancel, nave, north porch and a tower on the north side forming a north transept and containing one bell, dated 1849 : there is a memorial window to the Rev. Goodwin Purcell M.A. the first vicar of Charlesworth : there are 480 sittings. The register dates from the year 1849. The living is a vicarage, net yearly value £300, with 3 acres of glebe and residence, in the gift of the Crown and Bishop of Southwell alternately, and held since 1900 by the Rev. Joseph Ames Martin, of St. Aidan's. There is a Congregational chapel, founded in 1662, and rebuilt in 1796, with 700 sittings, and a Particular Baptist chapel, built in 1835. Gamesley Hospital for Infectious Diseases (Glossop Municipal Borough and Glossop Dale Rural District) was built in 1888-9 at a cost of £371, and has since been enlarged. Cotton spinning and rope and cotton band making are carried on here. Lord Howard of Glossop is lord of the manor and the principal landowner. The soil is clay ; subsoil, sandstone. The land is principally in pasture. The area is 15,111 acres of land and 269 of water; rateable value, £29,458; population of the township in 1921, 1,772, and of the ecclesiastical parish in 1911, 2,327.
Post & M. O., Telephone Call & Telegraph Office, at which telegrams are dispatched but not delivered.—Frederick Monks, sub-postmaster. Letters through Manchester Broadbottom is the nearest telegraph office for delivery

Public Elementary (mixed), for 262 children ; Mrs. Caroline Wood, mistress
Public Elementary, Charlesworth, erected in 1823, enlarged in 1894, for 330 children ; Clement Read A.C.P. Master

CHISWORTH is a civil parish formed from Chisworth and Ludworth by Local Government Board Order No. 34,064, dated April 1st, 1896 ; it is 4 miles south-west from Glossop and about 1½ miles by field paths from Mottram station. There is a Wesleyan Methodist chapel, built in 1834, with a small burial ground attached. There are also cotton mills. The area is 862 acres of land and 2 of water; rateable value, £1,752 ; population in 1921, 324.
Public Elementary School (mixed), erected in 1871, for 136 children ; William Robinson, master

SIMMONDLEY is partly within the borough of Glossop, from which it is 1 mile south-west, and near the London and North Eastern railway. There is a Congregational chapel, erected in 1844, with 150 sittings.
Letters through Glossop, which is the nearest post, money order & telegraph office The children of this place attend the day schools at Charlesworth, Dinting & Whitfield

Arnfield Samuel J.P. Rose cottage
Booth James Melville, Rossall
Cooper Mrs. Moses, Calrows
Martin Rev. Joseph Ames (vicar), Vicarage
Moss Mrs. Fern bank
Mounsey Arthur, Brae garth
Ogden Edwin, Wellgate cottage
Robinson Joseph, North lea
Rowbottom Benjamin H. Beech house
Rowbottom Cecil, Woodlands, Lee Head
Rowbottom Mrs. Lee Mount
Smith John Booth, Marlingford
Teague Robert H. Annandale
Upton Rev. Albert D. (Cong.), The Manse
Wormald Mrs. Rose Lea
Acock Philip (Mrs.), farmr. Coombs farm
Booth John & Son (Charlesworth) Ltd. cotton band manufacturers, Lee Vale rope works. T N Glossop 136
Booth Ernest, farmer, Springfield house
Booth John Wm. farmer, Wellhead farm
Booth William, grocer, Lee Head
Bowers Edmund, slater
Brown James of Chisworth Limited, bleachers. Coombs bleach works. T N Glossop 80
Burdekin John, farmer, Woodseats
Charlesworth & Chisworth Conservative Club Co. Ltd. (John E. Booth, sec)
Charlesworth & Chisworth Liberal Club Ltd. (John Edward Walker, sec)
Chisworth Industrial Co-operative Society Ltd. (Arthur L. Hallas, sec)
Clayton James R. coal merchant & assistant overseer, Lee Vale
Clegg John Ernest, shopkeeper
Cooper Ralph B. farmer, Woodseats
Cottrell John H. (exors. of), farmers, Lower Blackshaw
Dale William, farmer
Fielding Sarah (Mrs.), grocer
Foster Reginald, dairyman, Town lane
Frankland Fred, baker
Gamesley Hospital for Infectious Diseases (Glossop Municipal Borough & Glossop Dale Rural District) (Ernest Henry Marcus Milligan M.D., D.P.H. medical officer; H. Dane, inspector ; Mrs. M. E. Hornby, matron) T N Glossop 35
Garside Jessie (Mrs.), George & Dragon P.H
Hammersley John Dawson, joiner
Hardman Peter, Bull’s Head hotel
Higginbottom Harry, shopkeeper
Higginbottom Joseph, coal dealer
Hill Alice (Mrs.), shopkeeper, Town lane
Hodgson E. S. Ltd. quarry owners, Hargate hill. T N Glossop 141
Jackson Levi & Sons, rope & twine mfrs
Kennedy Nancy (Mrs.), shopkeeper
Lowes John Henry, printer
Naden Samuel, farmer, Homestead
Neal Elizabeth (Mrs.). greengrocer
Neal Sarah (Mrs.), greengrocer
Patchett Abram, butcher
Rowbottom James Limited, cotton spinners, Holehouse mills. T N Glossop 9
Rowbottom James, farmer
Shaw Charles W. farmer
Stafford Arthur, fried fish dealer
Swift Walter, Horse Shoe inn
Thornhill Jsph. Wm. farmer, Blackshaw
Timmis James, farmer, Town Lane farm
Turner Walter, Waggon & Horses inn
Williams Herbert, farmer, Hargate hill
Willis Ernest, boot maker, Marple road
Wood Ralph & Samuel, wheelwrights
Wood John Saville, farmer. T N Glossop 148
Yates Arthur, Grey Mare inn

Rowbottom Geo. Edmnd. Chisworth ho
Rowbottom James Henry J.P. Chewwood
Bell Robert Stanley, farmer, Sandy lane
Bramhall Matilda (Mrs.), shopkeeper
Bullimer John, farmer, Boarfold farm
Chisworth Industrial Co-operative Society Ltd. (Arthur L. Hallas, sec)
Gould George, farmer
Green Fanny (Mrs.), haberdasher
Johnson Frank, shopkeeper
Ratcliffe J. H. & Co. (Kinderlee) Ltd. cotton band manfrs. Kinderlee mills. TA “Kinder, Broadbottom;” T N Mottram 38
Rowbottom James Ltd. cotton doublers, Chewwood
Shaw Joseph, farmer, Sandy lane
Smith Thomas, farmer, Moorside farm
Storer John, farmer
Warren Arthur G. farmer, Sandy lane
Wild James, Commercial inn

(Letters through Glossop.)
Band Henry R. Coombes house
Bowie Mrs
Allsopp Frank, farmer, Plainstead
Barker Joseph, farmer, Hall farm
Cranmer Thos. frmr. Storthbrook farm
Glassford Alexander, farmer
Hurst William, smallholder
Robinson Samuel, smallholder
Robinson Wilfred, carrier
Smith Samuel (Mrs.), farmer, Cownedge
Storer George, farmer
Tinker John James, beer retailer
Wager Jasper, farmer
Weaver William, farmer


Button image Home Page. Button image History Resources Page.

Last updated: 13 August 2020