Kelly's Derbyshire Directory 1899
Entries for the area of the Ancient Parish of Glossop.


GLOSSOP

GLOSSOP (or Glossop Dale) is a municipal borough, market and union town, head of a county court district and petty sessional division, township and parish, on the borders of Cheshire, with a station, 192½ miles by rail from London by Great Central railway, 9½ from Ashton, 24½ from Barnsley, 87 from Birmingham, 65 from Burton, 47 from Chesterfield, 58 from Derby, 41 from Doncaster, 87 from Leicester, 34 from Leek, 47 from Liverpool, 73¾ from Lincoln, 13 from Manchester, 20 from Macclesfield, 74 from Nottingham, 30 from Sheffield, 66¼ from Stafford, 10½ from Staleybridge, 11 from Stockport, 53 from Uttoxeter and 72 from Wolverhampton. It is in High Peak hundred and High Peak division of the county, rural deanery of Glossop, archdeaconry of Derby and diocese of Southwell. The Great Central (late M. S. & L.) Railway Company’s line from Manchester to Sheffield is carried across Dinting Vale on a lofty viaduct of sixteen arches, constructed of stone, about a mile west from the Town hall, and there is a branch line from Dinting to Glossop and Hadfield. The parish of Glossop, before the passing of the “Local Government Act, 1894,” comprised the hamlets of GIossop, Hadfield, Padfield, Charlesworth, Chunal, Whitfield and Simmondley. By the operation of the above Act, the borough became, by an Order of the County Council, dated Aug. 10, 1894, a civil parish, consisting of the whole of the hamlet of Hadfield, and parts of the previously mentioned hamlets. By the same Act the hamlet of Charlesworth, and the other parts of the hamlets, became the parish of Charlesworth.
The borough is divided into three wards, viz.; All Saints, Hadfield and St. James'. The corporation consists of a mayor, 6 aldermen and 18 councillors. The borough has a commission of the peace and a police force. The water supply, derived from Peaknase moors, is collected in reservoirs at Swineshaw. The town is supplied with gas by a company formed in 1845.
Portions of the old parish of Glossop All Saints have been taken to form the ecclesiastical parishes of Whitfield, St. James’; Hadfield, St. Andrew’s, and Dinting, Holy Trinity. The ancient parish church of All Saints was pulled down in 1830. The present church is a modem edifice of stone, in the Early Gothic style, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles, south porch, vestry, organ chamber, erected in 1877, and a western tower, with spire, containing a clock and 8 bells, re-hung and a chiming apparatus attached in 1877, at a cost of £180; the spire was rebuilt in 1856: the stained east window is a memorial to a late Duke and Duchess of Norfolk, Robert Shepley esq. and John Wood esq. former benefactors: the old church plate bears date 1745, but in 1877 a new set of plate was contributed by the parishioners: in 1886 the nave was reseated with open benches by Daniel Wood esq. of Moorfield, and in 1889 the church was restored and three stained glass windows were placed therein, at a cost of £1,300, defrayed by Miss A. A. Wood and others: there are also memorial windows to the Her. John Dickinson Knowles M.A. vicar, 1865-89, and Mrs. Mary Busby: the carved oak pulpit was presented, at a cost of £325, by John Wood esq. of Whitfield house: the alter front, presented to the church in 189s, is of carved oak open work tracery panels, flanked by figures of S3. Chad and Aidan, with silk frontals to slide in a groove behind the tracery: choir stalls of carved oak were erected in 1896, at a cost of £180, and in 1898, an oak screen bearing the names of the vicars of Glossop from 1321, was provided at a cost of £50: a new baptistery was erected in the same year and furnished with a font of white marble, presented, at a cost of £200, by C. E. Knowles esq. and other gifts have been made to the church by Miss Orange: the churchyard was closed against interments, with modifications, in 1857-8. The register dates from the year 1620. The living is a vicarage, tithe rent-charge £356, average £266, net yearly value £231, with residence, in the gift of trustees, and held since 1889 by the Rev. Adam Pyle Hamilton-Wilson.
The Rev. Christopher Howe, vicar 1793 to 1849 and for 40 years also incumbent of Woodhead, Cheshire, established a day school at Glossop, in which he personally taught, and partly rebuilt the parish church ; he died 1st Sept. 1849, in the 85th year of his age and the 57th of his vicariate of Glossop. Mr. Charles Winterbottom, for upwards of 60 years sexton and clerk of the parish of Glossop, died at the age of nearly 88 years,
The Catholic church, dedicated to All Saints, a building in the Classic style, situated near Glossop Hall, was erected by Bernard Edward Duke of Norfolk, in 1837, and consists of chancel, nave and a belfry, containing one bell: over the altar is a fine copy of Domenichino’s “Communion of St. Hyronome,” the original of which is in the Vatican; there are also valuable paintings representing the twelve apostles: there are 120 sittings.
The cemetery of 6 acres, formed in 1859, was enlarged in 1894 and has mortuary chapels, it is now under the control of the town council and Charlesworth parish council.
The Town Hall, with the Market House, was considerably enlarged in 1854.
The Free Library and Public Hall, Fauvel road, erected in 1887 by Herbert Rhodes esq. and Captain Edward Partington, at a cost of about £4,400, on a site given by Lord Howard of Glossop, is a building of stone in the Gothic style, containing a reading room and library of 530 volumes, lecture hall and a public hall: over the main entrance a tower with pinnacles rises to a height of 80 ft.
There are Conservative and Liberal clubs, each having news and recreation rooms.
The Public Baths, Howard Park, erected in 1887, by Samuel Wood esq. and Mrs. Wood, of Moorfield House, at a cost of about £15,000, comprise a swimming bath, six private baths for males and a like number for females, and vapour and Turkish baths: the buildings include a ventilating tower 100 feet high.
Here are cotton factories, and in the neighbourhood, calico printing establishments and paper mills: some of the former, and especially those of Messrs. John Wood and Bros. Limited, and Messrs. Francis Sumner and Co. Limited, are very extensive, employing in ordinary times from 5,000 to 6,000 workpeople. The first cotton mill was erected about the year 1784, but previously to this a few woollen factories and fulling mills had been in operation; one of these, The Gnathole mill, now covered with ivy, still remains.
At Dinting Vale are the large calico printing works developed by the skill and energy of the late Mr. E. Potter, and now carried on. by Messrs. E. Potter and Co.
Hurst brook and Whitfield brook, two feeders of the Etherow, take their rise on the adjacent moors; the water of the latter possesses bleaching properties, which was taken advantage of in establishing the works at Charlestown. There are quarries producing building and paving stone. The principal market day is Saturday. Fairs are held on the 6th May, also the first Wednesday on or after the 10th day of October, for the sale of horse and cattle.
There are charities of £40 yearly value, distributed among the poor on St. Thomas’ day, in money and clothing, by two representatives of the eight original hamlets of Glossop Dale.
The Wood’s Hospital, Howard Park, founded and endowed in 1887, by Daniel Wood esq. of Moorfield, at a cost of about £6,000, the endowment fund being £19,000, is a structure of brick, cased externally with stone, and comprises two male and two female wards, holding about 16 patients, with kitchens &c. and an administrative block, containing the offices, store rooms &c.: to the west of the hospital is a detached laundry, with lodge keeper’s residence.
Howard Park, North road, formed in 1887, at the joint expense of Lord Howard of Glossop, Samuel Wood esq. and Mrs. Wood, of Moorfield, is situated on an eminence, commanding a fine view of the town and neighbourhood; it is about 12 acres in extent.
At Old Cross, Old Glossop, are the remains of an ancient stone cross, about 12 feet in height and still in a fair state of preservation.
Glossop Hall, the seat of the Right Hon. Lord Howard of Glossop J.P. is a noble building,in the style of a French château of the 18th century, and stands on gently rising ground above Howard Town, surrounded by trees : it was much enlarged and improved by Henry Charles, 13th Duke of Norfolk, grandfather of the present owner.
The town and hamlets now comprising the manor of Glossop appears to have been divided in the time of Edward the Confessor into several parts among different Saxon proprietors, but in the Domesday Survey the whole of Glossop is put down as forfeited to the Crown; and the Conqueror afterwards gave it to his natural son, William Peveril, whose son Richard, however, being disinherited by Henry I. Glossop was again confiscated to the Crown, and in 1157 was granted by Henry II. together with the advowson of the church to the Abbey of Basingwerke, “in free and perpetual alms for ever,” and this abbey had acquired before the 15th century nearly all the hamlets now comprising the Glossop estate; Glossop remained the property of Basingwerke Abbey till the dissolution of the lesser abbeys in 1536, when Henry VIII. seized it with other, conventual property and afterwards granted it to the Earl of Shrewsbury, who in turn exchanged it with the Duke of Norfolk for estates in Ireland, and in this noble family it has remained to the present time; the present proprietor, lord of the manor and principal landowner, is the Right Hon. Lord Howard of Glossop J.P. cousin to the present Duke of Norfolk.
The land is partly moor and pasturage. The area is 20,781 acres; rateable value, £58,941; the population of the ecclesiastical parish of All Saints in 1891 was 2,865; Glossop Dale population in 1891 was 26,797, including 6 officers and 98 inmates of the workhouse.
Parish Clerk, Robert Hurst.
The area of the municipal borough is 3,033 acres; the population in 1891 was:- All Saints’ ward, 6,440; Hadfield ward, 7,658, and St. James’ ward, 8,318; total, 22,416.
WHITFIELD, in 1844, was formed into an ecclesiastical parish. On Aug. 10, 1894, the portion in Glossop borough was added to that parish, and the remainder amalgamated with the new civil parish of Charlesworth. The church of St. James is a building of stone, in the Early English style, consisting of chancel,nave, aisles and a western tower with spire and pinnacles containing 8 bells, added in 1884, and a clock placed in 1885 by Miss Wood, of Whitfield House: the organ, erected in 1860, was enlarged in 1870, 1880 and 1896: the brass eagle lectern was presented by Miss Wood, of Whitfield House, in 1882; and two stained windows have also been inserted to the memory of John, Daniel and Samuel Wood: the church was enlarged in 1895-6 by the erection of a chancel and vestry and the whole interior reseated at a cost, including special gifts, of over £4,000: there are 1,100 sittings, 550 being free. The register dates from the year 1846. The living is a vicarage,net value £300,with residence, in the gift of John and S. H. Wood esqrs. and Mrs. S. Wood, and held since 1892 by the Rev. Henry Thornton Dudley M.A. of Queen’s College, Oxford, and surrogate. The vicarage house, a stone building near the church, has been considerably enlarged since 1872. St. Luke’s Mission church is an iron structure in Talbot street, erected in 1895 by Mrs. S. Wood, and there are Mission rooms in George street and Wood street. The Sumner Memorial Catholic church, Sumner street, dedicated to St. Mary, founded and endowed by the late Francis James Sumner esq.
D.C.L. of Park Hall, Hayfield, and erected in 1887 by his heirs on a site granted by the late Lord Howard of Glossop, at a cost of about £17,000, including £5,000 for endowment, is an edifice of local stone in the Early English style, consisting of apsidal chancel, clerestoried nave of eight bays, aisles, side chapels, baptistery, south porch, and an eastern turret with spire and ornamental finial, rising to a height of 90 feet and containing one bell: a very handsome stone screen separates the chancel from, the side chapels: the altar and tabernacle are elaborately carved in alabaster, marble and Caen stone: the pulpit is entirely of Caen stone: the organ cost about £500: stations of the cross were added in 1889 at a cost of about £150: there are sittings for 900 persons: adjoining the church is a presbytery, built in 1889, by the Eight Rev. Canon Charles W. Tasker, rector, to the memory of John Sumner esq.: adjoining the Catholic school in St. Mary’s road, is a convent for the sisters of charity of St. Paul. The church has since been decorated by Mr. Norman, from Hardman & Co. Birmingham, in the style of the 14th and 15th centuries. Littlemoor Congregational schools, Victoria street, erected in 1881 at a cost, including fittings, of about £3,000, form a building of stone in the Italian style, and will hold 700 scholars; the schools are also used for lectures and concerts, and can be arranged so as to seat 1,000 persons: the front entrance, facing Victoria street, is surmounted by a turret 75 feet high. The Gospel Union Mission hall, in Ellison street, erected in 1888, is of stone in the Gothic style, and will seat 800 persons. Whitfield House, the residence of John Wood esq. M.A., J.P. is a large stone building in the Elizabethan style, standing in its own grounds. Lord Howard of Glossop is lord of the manor and principal landowner. A new Technical school is in course of erection, the gift of Lord Howard of Glossop. The inhabitants are employed in the large cotton and paper mills just outside the township and in the bleach works within its boundaries. The soil is various; subsoil, clay. The chief crops are oats, hay and pasture.
Charlestown is a place here.
Sexton, Robert Hurst, Hall street.
Town Sub-Post & M. O. O., S. B. & Annuity & Insurance Office. - Miss Mary J. Russell, sub-postmistress. Letters through Manchester arrive 6.30 a.m. & 12, 2 & 4.30. p.m.; dispatched 8.40 & 10.20 a.m. & 1.20, 5, 7.20 & 9 p.m.
Wall Letter Box, cleared at 10 a.m. 1, 3 & 7 p.m.
Chunal is 2 miles south from Glossop and partly within that borough, in the High Peak division of the county, hundred of High Peak, parish, petty sessional division, union and county court district of Glossop, and in the ecclesiastical parish of Whitfield; part is included in Glossop civil parish, the remainder being in Charlesworth civil parish.
DINTING, formed into an ecclesiastical parish, 1875, is partly in Glossop borough, and has a station on the Great Central railway. This place is now amalgamated with Glossop and Charlesworth civil parishes. The church of the Holy Trinity, erected by the Wood family, of Glossop, and opened July, 1875, is a building of stone in the Gothic style of the 13th century, and consists of apsidal chancel, nave, aisles, an organ chamber forming a transept on the south side, vestry and a tower at the west end of the south aisle, with pinnacles and an octagonal spire, reaching a height of 137 feet from the ground to the top of the vane, and containing 6 bells: the nave is divided from the aisles by circular stone piers, with moulded caps and bases: the pulpit, of Caen stone and marble, was erected in memory of the patron and founder: the central window of the apse is a memorial to John H. Wood esq. d. 16 Dec. 1869, and was placed by his widow: the font, also presented by Mrs. Wood, consists of a basin of Caen stone on a shaft of red marble: the organ was presented by Mrs. Wood in 1882: the building has sittings for 630 persons, 90 of which are free. The register dates from the year 1875. The living is a vicarage, net yearly value £288, with residence, in the gift of the Wood family, and held since 1895 by the Rev. Edwin Charles Collier M.A. of St. John’s College, Cambridge. There is a Methodist New Connexion chapel, built in 1860, with sittings for 300 persons, 100 of which-are free.
Post, M. O. O., S. B., Annuity & Insurance Office. - Joseph Moss, sub-postmaster. Letters arrive through Manchester at 6.23 a.m. 2.2 p.m. & 4.22 p.m. & from Glossop at 2.2 p.m.; dispatched at 10.20 a.m. & 7.15 p.m.; sundays, arrive at 7.40 a.m.; dispatched at 7.15 p.m. The nearest telegraph office is at Glossop, 2 miles distant
Wall Letter Box cleared at 8 a.m. & 6 p.m. & on Sundays at 8.30 a.m.
Brookfield is a hamlet 1 mile north, of Dinting station. Here is a cotton mill. The Congregational chapel, erected in 1883, is a building of stone in the Early English style: all the windows are stained.
Gamesley is a hamlet 1 mile west of Dinting station.
In the hamlet of Gamesley are the remains of a Roman camp, called by the country people from time immemorial “Melandra” and “Melandra Castle;” it stands on a bold eminence at the confluence of the Course Brook and the Etherow, and traces of walls and gates may be plainly discerned: tablets inscribed to Roman emperors, coins of the Emperor Domitian, a large sword and other objects of archaeological interest have been found here : the summit is still called “The Castle Yard,” and a tradition exists that Melandra was one of the strongholds of the ancient British in the time of the Saxon invasion.
On an opposite hill, called “Mousley,” is the site of another traditional castle. Some stones which came from Mousley Castle, inscribed with rude hieroglyphics, are still to be seen walled into the gable end of a house at Hadfield, and are evidently Runic. Both Melandra and Mousley lie on the Roman road from the camp of “Mancunian ” (Manchester) to that of “Ad Petuariam” (Brough, near Castleton).
HADFIELD, together with the chapelry of Padfield, was formed in 1875 into a parish, but was Aug. 10, 1894, amalgamated with Glossop; it is on the borders of Cheshire, within the borough of Glossop and county court district of Glossop, with a station on the Great Central railway. The church of St. Andrew, erected at a cost of about £4,250 and consecrated July 4th, 1874, is a building in the Gothic style, consisting of apsidal chancel, nave, aisles, south porch, south transept, baptistery, organ chamber and a central bell turret containing one bell: the font, worked in native stone, was presented in 1874 by Mr. James Sheriff, of Christ Church, Canterbury, New Zealand, and formerly of Hadfield, and had previously been exhibited at the Colonial exhibition, Victoria: the richly-embroidered communion cloth was presented by the Rev. C. B. Ward M.A. vicar of Whitfield, and the credence table by Mr. Braddock, churchwarden: a new organ was erected in 1879, at a cost of about £650, by James Sidebottom esq. J.P. of Millbrook, Hadfield, as a memorial to his wife: the brass lectern was presented in memory of Beatrice Dawson, at a cost, including the reader’s stool, of about £1,000: there are 538 sittings. The register of baptisms dates from July 5th, 1874, and of marriages from August, 1875. The living is a vicarage, net yearly value £273, in the gift of five trustees, and held since 1875 by the Rev. Joseph Hadfield, of St. Bees, rural dean of Glossop, and surrogate. There is a Mission church at Woolley Bridge. The Catholic church, dedicated to St. Charles Borromeo, is an edifice of stone, in the Early English style, erected in 1858 by the late Lord Howard of Glossop, and consisting of nave, aisles, sacristy, baptistery and a western tower containing one bell, a memorial to the late Father McDonnell: the beautifully carved high altar of stone was erected in memory of the late Father Hickey: the Lady altar was presented by the Right Rev. Monsignor Canon H. Sabela: in the church are several figures carved in stone and many valuable oil paintings, one of these, a copy of Raphael’s “Transfiguration,” being placed above the high altar. A new pulpit of Caen stone, marble and alabaster, was erected in 1894 as a memorial of the nomination of the Rt. Rev. Monsignor Canon H. Sabela as domestic prelate to his Holiness Pope Leo XIII. There are memorial windows to Lord Edward G. Fitzalan Howard, 1st baron. Howard of Glossop, d. 1 Dec. 1883, & Augusta (Talbot) his wife, d. 3 July, 1862: outside the church is a vault belonging to the Howard family. Adjoining is a presbytery. The convent of Sisters of Charity of St. Paul, a fine building on the south side of the church, was erected in 1887, at the cost of John Dalton esq. of Rose Bank, Hollingworth. The Wesleyan chapel, built in 1878, has 713 sittings; the Primitive Methodist chapel, built in 1876, has 500 sittings; the Free Methodist chapel, built in 1876 and enlarged in 1885, seats 280. There are several cotton mills, in which the population are employed, and political clubs with news and amusement rooms. Hadfield Hall, the ancient mansion of the Hadfields of Hadfield, dating from 1646, has been converted into a couple of cottages; some years ago the handsome black oak carving was taken down and erected in a farm house on the Glossop estate.
Post, M. & T. O., T. M. O., Express Delivery, Parcel Post, S. B. & Annuity Office. - James Wright, sub-postmaster. Letters received through Manchester. Delivery, 7.15 a.m. 2.30 & 5 p.m.; dispatch, 10.15 a.m., 1 & 7 & 9 p.m.; Sunday, dispatched 7.15 p.m. Money orders granted & paid & savings bank business transacted from 8 a.m. till 8 p.m.; on Saturdays till 8 p.m.
Wall Letter Boxes:- Hadfield cross, cleared 7.50 a.m. & 5.40 p.m.; Station road, cleared 7.40 a.m. & 5.30 p.m.; Padfield, at 8 a.m. & 6 p.m.; Crowden, at 10 a.m.
Letter Bag dispatched to Glossop at 1 p.m. & arrives from Glossop at 2.30 p.m.
PADFIELD, adjoining Hadfield station, 1½ miles north west from Glossop and partly within that borough, in the High Peak division of the county, hundred of High Peak, parish, union, petty sessional division and county court district of Glossop, is included in the ecclesiastical parish of St. Andrew’s, Hadfield. The Wesleyan chapel, erected with Sunday school in 1880 at a cost of £2,000, will seat 400 persons. The population are employed in the cotton mills.
Letters through Manchester via Hadfield arrive at 6.4s a.m. 3 & 5 p.m. Wall Letter Box cleared at 8 a.m. & 6 p.m.
OFFICIAL ESTABLISHMENTS, LOCAL INSTITUTIONS &c.
Post, M. & T. O., T. M. O., Express Delivery, Parcel Post, S. B. & Insurance & Annuity Office, Norfolk square. - Mrs. Sarah Elizabeth Rodley, sub-postmistress. Letters arrive via Manchester at 6.30 a.m. & 2-55 & 5 p.m.; dispatched to Manchester & all parts at 8.45 & 10.20 a.m. & 11.30 a.m. to Sheffield, & 12, 1.20, 5, 7.25 & 9.30 p.m. Money order office & post office savings bank open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Postal orders & stamps, to 8.30 p.m.; on Saturdays from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Telegraph office open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.
COUNTY MAGISTRATES.
Howard of Glossop Lord, Glossop hall, Glossop
Barr John esq. Dinting, Manchester
Brown James esq. Chisworth house, Chisworth
Carver Thomas esq. The Hollins, Marple, Stockport
Partington Capt. Edward, Easton, High st. east, Glossop
Rowbottom Jas. esq. Chisworth, Broadbottom, Manchester
Sidebottom Col. William M.P., V.D. Harewood lodge, Broadbottom, Cheshire
Sidebottom Tom Harrop esq. M.P., D.L. Etherow house, Hollingworth, Manchester
Sumner Francis John esq. Eathorpe park, Leamington
Wainwright Joel esq. Finchwood, Marple Bridge,Stockport
Wood John esq. M.A., D.L. Whitfield house, Glossop
The mayor of Glossop and the chairman, for the time being, of the Glossop Dale Rural District Council, are ex-officio magistrates
Clerk to the Magistrates, Theo. Walt. Ellison, Norfolk chambers
Petty Sessions are held at the Town hall at intervals of two or three weeks, at 10.30 a.m. Thursdays. The following places are included in the division:- Charlesworth, Chisworth, Chunal, Compstall, Ludworth, Marple Bridge & Simmondley
BOROUGH MAGISTRATES.
The Mayor
Barlow Thomas, The Avenue, Hadfield
Barnes John, 31 & 33 High street west, Glossop
Dawson William, Knowl house, Station Road, Hadfield
Hunter Thomas Pearson, Talbot road, Glossop
Knowles Charles E. Holmdale, North road, Glossop
Partington Capt. Edward, Easton, High street east
Rowbottom Samuel, Shepley street
Shepley Charles, Wolfenden, Brookfield, Dinting
Sidebottom Col. William M.P., V.D. Harewood lodge, Broadbottom, Cheshire
Thorp W. The Firs, Glossop
White William M.D. Hadfield road, Hadfield
Clerk, Theo. Walter Ellison, Norfolk square The magistrates meet on Monday at the Town hall every fortnight at 2.30 p.m.
CORPORATION.
1898-9.
Mayor - Councillor S. H. Wood.
Deputy Mayor - Alderman John Barnes.
Aldermen.
‖ William Dawson, ‖ Samuel Rowbottom, ‖ Ed ward Woolley, * Fletcher Rigge, * John Barnes, * Benjamin Platt
Councillors.
All Saints’ Ward.
Returning Officer for Ward Elections, Alderman S. Rowbottom.
‖ Henry Hadfield, ‖ Brook Furniss, †Arthur Sidebottom, † James Malkin, ‡ James Beeley, ‡ Robert Bennett
St. James’ Ward.
Returning Officer for Ward Elections,Alderman E. Woolley
‖ William Holdgate, ‖ Herbert Partington, † Samuel H Wood, † Alfred Garside, ‡ William McMellon, ‡ Capt. Edward Partington
Hadfield Ward.
Returning Officer for Ward Elections, Alderman William Dawson.
‖ Joseph Bennett, ‖John Joseph Whelan, †Thomas Braddock, † Israel Warrington, ‡ William Sargentson, ‡ George Thornley
Marked thus ‖ retire in 1899. Marked thus † retire in 1900. Marked thus ‡ retire in 1901. Marked thus * retire in 1902.
Elective Auditors, James Edwin Platt & David Massey
OFFICERS OF THE CORPORATION & URBAN DISTRICT COUNCIL.
Town Clerk, Clerk to the Urban District Council & School Attendance Committee, Charles Davis, Ellison street
Borough Treasurer, T. K. Kenyon, Norfolk square
Assistant Treasurer, T. S. Bowden, Town hall
Medical Officer of Health, Duncan John Mackenzie M.D., C.M. Loch Maree, North road
Veterinary Surgeon (Infectious Diseases), E. S. Gubbin F.R.C.V.S. Fauvel road
Public Analyst, J. Carter Bell, Manchester
Borough Auditor, H. Broadhurst, Pikes lane
Surveyor, Thomas Haynes, Town hall
School Attendance Officer, Thos. Rhodes, 67 High st. east
Water Inspector, John Garner, 46 Church street
Head Constable & Inspector of Hackney Carriages & Captain of Fire Brigade, John G. Hodgson, Ellison street
Inspector of Police, John Cooper, Bankbottom, Hadfield
Sanitary & Lighting Inspector, Samuel Dane, Primrose la
Baths Superintendent, A. Sandiford
Park Superintendent, D. Downs
Collectors, General District Rate, S. Fletcher, St. Mary’s road, Glossop; Borough & Watch, James Bridge, 11 Hadfield place; Water, Thomas Nield, North road, Glossop
PUBLIC ESTABLISHMENTS.
Borough Police Office, Ellison street, John G. Hodgson, head constable ; 1 inspector, 4 sergeants & 20 constables
Borough Police Station, Albert street, Hadfield, John Cooper, inspector, & 5 constables
Cemetery, Cemetery road, Hadfield, F. W. G. Moran, clerk; offices, Norfolk street
County Court, His Honor S. D. Waddy Q.C. judge; Charles Davis, registrar & high bailiff; office, Ellison street, open from 10 to 4, on Saturdays from 10 till 1. The county court is held at the Town hall & comprises the following parishes:- Arnfield & district of Tintwistle, Brownside, Charlesworth, Chisworth, Chunal, Dinting, Gamesley, Glossop, Hadfield, Hollingworth, Padfield, Phoside, Rowarth, Saltersbrook, Simmondley, Torside, Waterside, Whitfield,Woodhead & Woolley Bridge
For Bankruptcy purposes this Court is included in that of Ashton-under-Lyne, Christopher Jenkins Dibb, official receiver; Arthur Bayley Potter, assistant official receiver, Ogden chambers, Bridge street, Manchester
Certified Bailiffs under the “Law of Distress Amendment Act,” Josiah Mellor, High street west & Edwin Collier, Sheffield road
Free Library & Public Hall, Fauvel road, Miss P. Warhurst, librarian
Howard Park, North road
Public Baths, The Park
Town Hall, High street west
Wood’s Hospital, The Park, Arthur Walker M.D. Robert Nelson M.D. Duncan John Mackenzie M.D., C.M. William White M.D., C.M. James Harold Wylde L.R.C.P.Irel., W. E. S. Burnett L.R.C.P.Edin. Bennett Ralph Sidebottom L.R.C.P.Edin. medical officers; T. S. Bowden esq. hon. sec.; Miss Clarke, matron
VOLUNTEEES.
4th Volunteer Battalion Cheshire Regiment (L, M & N Companies), Glossop detachment, Drill hall; Hon. Col. John Wood V.D. commanding detachment; Capt. F. G. Knowles, commanding L Co.; Capt. Arthur Side, bottom, commanding M Co.; Capt. S. H. Wood, commanding N Co.; Oswald Partington, Ernest Sumner & Cyril Ellison, lieutenants; Surg.-Lieut. R. B. Sidebottom, medical officer; Rev. W. J. Canton, chaplain; James Clancy, sergeant instructor
GLOSSOP UNION.
Board day every alternate Wednesday, at 3 p.m.
Glossop union comprises the following parishes:- Charlesworth, Chisworth, Glossop & Ludworth. The population of the union in 1891 was 26,797; area, 20,943 acres; rateable value in 1899, £87,154.
Clerk to the Guardians & Assessment Committee, Thos. Swindells Bowden, 3 Wellgate, Glossop
Treasurer, Thomas T. Kenyon, NorfolYutburyk sq. Glossop
Collector, James Bridge, 11 Hadfield place, Hadfield
Relieving & Vaccination Officer, John Wood Bowden, Fern house, Howard street, Glossop
Medical Officers, Glossop district, William James Bowden M.B., Ch.B. Norfolk street, Glossop; Whitfield district, Ralph Bennett Sidebottom. L.R.C.P. & S.Edin. 20 Hollincross lane, Glossop; Hadfield district, E. Wilfred Bollans M.B., Ch.B. Railway street, Hadfield
Public Vaccinator for the Union, Ralph Bennett Sidebottom L.R.C.P. & S.Edin. 20 Hollincross lane, Glossop
Superintendent Registrar, John William Tweedale, Norfolk square, Glossop; deputy, Joseph Mason, Norfolk square, Glossop
Registrar of Births, Deaths & Marriages, Glossop sub-district, Thos. Swindells Bowden, 3 Wellgate, Glossop
Workhouse, to hold 144 inmates, John Warrington, master; William James Bowden, medical officer; Mrs. Hannah Warrington, matron
School Attendance Committee.
Meets at the Wesleyan schools, Chisworth, on mon. in each month, at 6 p.m.
Clerk, Thomas Swindells Bowden, 3 Wellgate, GIossop
PUBLIC OFFICERS.
Assistant Overseer, David Massey, 62 High street east
Coroner for the Honor of Tutbury, Chas. Davis, Ellison st
Stamp Distributor, Mrs. S. E. Rodley, Post off. Norfolk sq
PLACES OF WOESHIP, with times of services.
Parish Church, Rev. Adam Pyle Hamilton-Wilson, vicar; 8 & 10.30 a.m.; 2.30 & 6.30 p.m. & holy days, 11 a.m.; wed. & fri. 11 a.m. & 7.30 p.m.
Holy Trinity, Dinting, Rev. Edwin Charles Collier M.A. vicar; 10.30 a.m. & 6.30 p.m.; wed. 7.30 p.m.
St. James’, Whitfield, Rev. Henry Thornton Dudley M.A. vicar; Rev. Evelyn F. C. Eardley B.A. Curate; 8 & 10.30 a.m. & 6.30 p.m.; daily, 9.30 a.m.; wed. & fri. 7.30 p.m.; Leonard Foster Ward B.A. curate at St. Luke’s mission
St. Andrew, Hadfield, Rev. Joseph Hadfield, vicar; Rev. Joseph Ames Martin, curate ; 10.30 a.m. & 6.30 p.m.; wed. 7.30 p.m.
All Saints’ Catholic, Rev. Francis S. Ffrench, priest; 9.30 & 11 a.m. & 6.30 p.m.
Reformers, Howard street, a.m. & 6 p.m. ; wed. 7.30 p.m.
St. James’ Mission Room, George street; 3.15 p.m.
St. Paul’s Mission Room, High street west; 3 p.m.
Talbot Street Mission Room; 10.30 a.m. & 6.30 p.m.
Sumner Memorial Church, Catholic (St. Mary’s), Sumner street, Rt. Rev. Monsignor Charles W. (Canon) Tasker, priest; 8.30, 9.30 & 11 a.m. & 6.30 p.m.; daily at 8 a.m.; thurs. 7.30 p.m.
Congregational, Littlemoor, Rev. William Latham Parker; 10.30 a.m. & 6.30 p.m.; wed. 7.30 p.m.; seat 800
Congregational, St. Mary’s road, Rev. Granvill Sharp M.A.; 10.30 a.m. & 6 p.m.; wed. 7.30 p.m.; seat 600
Free Methodist Church, Hall street, Rev. John Collinge, 10.30 a.m. & 6 p.m.; alternate wed.7.30 p.m.; seat 450
Primitive Methodist, Shrewsbury street, Rev. Jas. Barnes; 10.30 a.m. & 6 p.m.; wed. 7.30 p.m.; seat 730
Primitive Methodist Mission Room, Princess street
United Methodist Free Church, Whitfield, 2.30 & 6 p.m.; thurs. 7.30 p.m.; seat 400
Unitarian, Fitzalan street, Bev. A. Cunliffe Fox; 10.45 a.m. & 6.30 p.m.; seat 300
Wesleyan, High street west, Rev. Robt. Passmore & Rev. Campbell Jeffries; 10.30 a.m. & 6 p.m.; thurs. 7.30 p.m.; seat 1,500. Wesley street, 10.30 a.m. & 6 p.m. ; thurs. 7.30 p.m.; seat 400. Whitfield, 2.30 & 6 p.m. ; wed. 7.30 p.m.; seat 400
SCHOOLS.
Endowed, Old Glossop, with master’s residence, built & endowed in 1852 by Henry Charles, 13th Duke of Norfolk, & enlarged in 1887, for 250 boys, 250 girls & 100 infants; average attendance, 100 boys, 70 girls & 65 infants; George A. Howgate, master; Miss Stables, mistress; Miss Arnold, infants’ mistress
Endowed, Whitfield (mixed), with master’s residence, founded in 1779 by Joseph Hague esq. of Park hall, Hayfield, & endowed with £39 yearly, for 144 children; average attendance, 135; Walter P. Evason, master; Mrs. Elizabeth Ann Evason, mistress
Infants’, Waterside, Hadfield, built in 1872, for 170 children; average attendance, 136; Miss A. E. Hall, mist
National (mixed), Dinting, built in 1875 & enlarged by Mrs, Wood in 1887, for 320 children & 80 infants; average attendance, 130 children & 52 infants; Miss Clara Riley, mistress; Miss Ada B. Consterdine, infants’ mistress
National, Hadfield (mixed), erected 1853,for 550 children; average attendance, 386; Alfred Walker, master
National, Talbot street (girls & infants), built in 1880 & enlarged in 1897, for 350 children; average attendance, 200; William Henkinson, master
National, Whitfield (mixed & infants), for 560 children; average attendance, 340 ; George Edward Cox, master; F. H. Morris, assistant master; Misses S. A. Morriss, Janet Cox, Gertrude Cox & E. Sutcliffe, mistresses
Day School, Padfield (mixed), erected 1887, for 250 children ; average attendance, 200; William Lees Marshall, master
Congregational, Victoria street (mixed), built in 1881, for 700 children; average attendance, 340; Joseph Walkden, master; Miss M. Jones, infants’ mistress
Catholic, St. Mary’s road, for 400 children; average attendance, 223 ; Sisters of the Order of St. Paul, teachers
Catholic, Old Glossop (mixed), for 120 children; average attendance, 70; Sisters of the Order of St. Paul, tchrs
Catholic, Hadfield (mixed), for 200 children; average attendance,165 ; Sisters of the Order of St. Paul, teachers
Wesleyan, High street (mixed & infants), erected 1851,for 400 children; average attendance, 264; R. H. Dickenson, master
Wesleyan, Old Glossop (mixed), erected 1824, rebuilt 1876, for 223 children; average attendance, 140; Walter Houseman, master; Miss Hannah Thornhill, mistress
Wesleyan, Hadfield (mixed), erected 1808, enlarged 1822 & rebuilt 1854, for 300 children; average attendance, 200; Jas. Nelson, master; Miss Maria Nelson, mistress
RAILWAY STATIONS.
Glossop, John H. Schofield, station master
Dinting, William Vernon, station master
Hadfield, Richard Bratherton, station master
An omnibus runs from Glossop Town hall to Hollingworth & Hadfield about three times daily

GLOSSOP.
PRIVATE RESIDENTS.
Abraham Chas. Arthur, Spire Hollin
Allen Edward, Lea Mount
Allen Edward Wagstaffe, Lea Mount
Andrew Mrs. Holmleigh, North road
Appleyard James, 45 Sheffield road
Armitage Mrs. 77 Norfolk street
Armitage Thomas, Hurst villa
Atkin Wm. Edward, 36 St. Mary’s Rd
Barlow John, 39 Charlestown
Barnes Rev. James (Primitive Meth.), 1 Shrewsbury street
Beaver George, Fern lee, Spire Hollin
Beeley Mrs. 13 Lord street
Beeley Mrs. Alice, Moorfield
Benton Mrs. 4 Mount street
Berry Joshua, 45 Norfolk street
Bethell Mrs. 77 Charlestown road
Booth Wm. Alfred, Slatelands road
Booth Wright, Rose cottage, North rd
Bowden John, 59 Norfolk street
Bowden Thomas Swindells, 3Wellgate
Bowden William, 102 St. Mary’s road
Bowden William James M.B., Ch.B. (Vict.), 47 Norfolk street
Bradbury Mrs. 22 Slatelands road
Bramhall Thomas, 88 St. Mary’s road
Broadhurst Charles, 10 John street
Broadhurst Harry, 51 Pike’s lane
Brock Frederick H. 77 Primrose lane
Clayton Miss, 10 Primrose lane
Collier Edwin, Sheffield road
Collier Frank, Hillside, North road
Collinge Rev. John (United Methodist), 13 York street
Cooper Abel, 42 Primrose lane
Cox George Edward, Rose cottage, Hollin Cross lane
Crannage Alfred, 53 Hollin Cross lane
Crossland Mrs. 10 North road
Cuthbert John, Spire Hollin
Dakins Thomas, 127 Victoria street
Darwent Wm. Henry, 21 Lord street
Davis Charles, Dinting road
Dearnaley Joseph, Parkfld ho. Nrth. Rd
Dearnally Abel, 17 Lord street
Dickenson Mrs. 1 North road
Dickenson-Knowles Mrs. Holly bank, Talbot road
Dudley Rev. Henry Thornton M.A. Vicarage, Whitfield
Eardley Rev. Evelyn F. C., B.A. (curate St. James’, Whitfield), 28 Slatelands road
Ellison Theo. Holly bank, Spire Hollin
Evason Walter P. 14 Hague street
Eversden William, 2 Railway street
Fairclough Walt. P. Mus.Bac.F.R.C.O. Shaw street
Ffrench Rev. Francis S. (Catholic), Royle house. Old Glossop
Fielding Mrs. Christopher, 69 Norfolk st
Fielding Samuel, 9 Gladstone street
Foley Mrs. 85 Surrey street
Fox Rev. A. Cunliffe (Unitarian), Sheffield Road
Garside Alfred, Surrey street
Garside Ben, Bedford ho. Surrey
Garside Miss, 1 North road
Garside Mrs. 39 Norfolk street
Garside Mrs. 56 Surrey street
Goldsmith Mrs. 8 Union street
Greaves William, Sheffield road
Hadfield Henry, Cowbrook
Hadfield John, Ashlands, Dinting road
Hadfield John, 8 Slatelands road
Hadfield Joseph, 73 Norfolk street
Hadfield Joshua H. Cowbrook house
Hadfield Misses, Lees hall, Turn Lee
Hadfield Mrs. 67 Norfolk street
Hadfield Mrs. Mary, 23 Ashton street
Hadfield Samuel, Fern bank
Hadfield Thomas, 75 Norfolk street
Haigh Mrs. 13 Norfolk street
Hall William, Sunny bank, North rd
Hambleton John, 91 Primrose lane
Hamilton-Wilson Rev. Adam Pyle (vicar of Glossop), The Vicarage
Hampson Joseph, 5 Bank terrace
Hardman Charles, 11 Lord street
Hardman John, Ingle Nook
Harrison Walter, 37 Norfolk street
Hawke Robt. G. Ryecroft house, Hall st
Henning Robert E. 6 Fauvel road
Holdgate Wm. The Tower, North road
Hollingbery William. Hy. Hurst Lee
Hollingworth Samuel, Simmondley la
Home Mrs. 19 Fauvel road
Houseman Walter, 47 Sheffield road
Howard of Glossop Lord J.P. Glossop hall; & Dorlin house, near Loch Sheil, Scotland; & 19 Rutland gate, London SW
Howard William, Primrose lane
Howton Rev. Richard (Gospel Union Mission), Furness buildings
Hudson Mrs. Sunnyside ho. Turnlee Rd
Hunter Thomas Pearson, Talbot road
Hurst John, 43 Sheffield road
Hyde George, Sumner street
Jackson James C. Sheffield road
Jeffries Rev. Campbell (Wesleyan), Talbot road
Kenyon Thos. T. The Bank, Norfolk sq
Knowles Chas. E. HolmDale, North rd
Knowles Francis Gordon, Beechwood, North road
Lawton Mrs. Simmondley lane
Leech Alfred, Cowbrook cottage, Sheffield road
Littlewood Richard, Devonshire house, Surrey street
Lomas Miss Grace, 20 Howard street
Mackenzie Duncan John M.D., C.M Loch Maree, North road
McKnight Mrs. 61 Norfolk street
Malkin James, Sheffield road
Maxwell John, Lee Mount
Merry James, 86 St. Mary’s road
Mitchell Julian, 35 Norfolk street
Moran Frederick W. G. Oakleigh, North road
Moran Mrs. 15 Norfolk street
Morris Fredk. 8 Hague st. Whitfield
Nelson Jas. Milford ho. North road
Nelson Robert M.D. Norfolk street
Newton Mrs. Arundel villas, North rd
Nicol A. Campbell, 93 High street we
Oliver Walter, Woodleigh, North road
Ollerenshaw George, Highfield house, Talbot road
Ollerenshaw Robert, 87 Primrose lane
Orme William, 3 Corn street
Parker Rev. William Latham (Congregational), Littlemoor manse
Parrott John, 87 Primrose lane
Partington Captain Edward J.P. Easton, High street east
Partington Herbert, Talbot house
Passmore Rev. Robert (Wesleyan), Talbot road
Pennington Miss, 57 Norfolk street
Potts Joseph, 42 Sheffield road
Pratt James Edwin, 1 Bank terrace
Proctor Miss, 57 Norfolk street
Roberts Geo. 16 Hollin Cross lane
Robinson Miss, Cowbrook
Robinson Ralph Bernard, 17Arundel st
Rowbottom Herbert, 70 Church street
Rowbottom John, 31 Hall street
Rowbottom Oswald, Shepley street
Rowbottom Samuel, Shepley street
Schofield Alfred Ernest, Norfolk st
Scholes John C. 49 Sheffield road
Sellers Squire, 15 Lord street
Shaw Charles, 24 Slatelands road
Shaw Edwin, 85 Primrose lane
Shepley Mrs. 65 Norfolk street
Sheppard Mrs. Simmondley lane
Sidebottom Arthur, 28 High street east
Sidebottom Joshua, 31 Norfolk street
Sidebottom Ralph Bennett, 20 Hollin Cross lane
Slack Mrs. Ryecroft cottage, Hall st
Slack Samuel, Corn street
Stead Mrs Surrey villa
Swire Hezekiah, 71 Norfolk street
Sykes Samuel William Bennett, 84 St. Mary’s road
Sykes William, Simmondley lane
Tasker Rt. Rev. Monsignor Canon Charles W. (Catholic), Sumner st
Tatham Mrs. Fern bank
Taylor David, 55 Norfolk street
Taylor George W. North road
Thorp Walter, Talbot road
Tweedale John, Park croft
Tweedale John William, Talbot road
Tweedale Mrs. 45 Norfolk street
Walker Arthur, 16 High street west
Walton Mrs. Lord street
Ward Mrs. Moorside
Ward Rev. Leonard F., B.A. (curate St. Luke’s Mission), 8 Spire Hollin
Warhurst Mrs. 24 Howard street
Waterhouse Thomas, 23 Norfolk street
Weetman Henry, Wren Nest house
Weetman Jn. Aloysius, Wren Nest ho
Widdup William, 29 Norfolk street
Wilkinson Thomas, 2 Sheffield road
Wilson Mrs. Ann, 134 Victoria street
Wood John M.A., D.L., J.P, Whitfield house
Wood Mrs. 100 St. Mary’s road
Wood Mrs. Samuel, Moorfield house
Wragg Mrs. 63 Norfolk street
Wragg Samuel, Sheffield road
Wright Thomas J. 20 Fitzalan street
Wyatt Joseph, Turn Lees road
COMMERCIAL.
Abraham Charles Arthur, steward to Lord Howard of Glossop, Estate offices, Spire Hollin
Adshead Frederick, Crown inn, 142 Victoria street
Allen Edward, mill manager, The Beeches, Charlestown rd
Allen Edwin, mill manager, Lee mount
Allen Eliza (Mrs.), beer retailer, 64 Chapel street
Allen William, Ring o’ Bells P.H. Old Cross
Allsopp David, woodman to Lord Howard, Ashton street
Amps & Shelton (Misses), ladies’ school, Primrose house
Anderson Alfred, tobacconist, 72 High street west
Armitage John, wholesale fruiterer, Victoria street
Arnold George, tailor, 10 Wood street
Arrowsmith James, clog & patten maker, 132 High st. wst
Arrundale Samuel, baker, 117 Victoria street
Ash Israel, apartments, 9 George street
Ashcroft Jane (Miss), dress maker, 98 Victoria street
Ashton & Golightly, provision dealers, 81 High st. west
Ashton George, draper & grocer, 8 Gladstone street
Ashton Matthew, umbrella maker, 44 High street west
Atkinson Annie (Miss), dress maker, 16 Wesley street
Atkinson William, grocer, 117 High street west
Bagshaw & Fielding, coach proprs. Surrey st.& Norfolk mws
Bagshaw Arthur, cabinet maker, 26 High street west
Bagshaw Henry, Station inn, Norfolk street
Bamford Clarie & Alice (Misses), confectioners, 62 & 64 High street west
Bamforth & Barber (Misses), shopkprs. 2 Whitfield cross
Bamforth Sam, ironworks manager, Cambridge house, Surrey street
Bamforth William, confectioner, 136 Victoria street
Band Sarah (Mrs.), grocer, 27 Sheffield road
Barber Alice (Miss), confectioner, 92 High street west
Barber Joseph, Bridge inn P.H. Market street
Barber Thomas, shopkeeper, 96 High street east
Barker Ruth (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 43 King street
Barlow Betty (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 106 Victoria street
Barlow John, mill manager, 39 Charlestown
Barnes Jas. & Son,drapers & milliners, 31 & 33 High st. wst
Barton Robert, tailor, 76 Edward street
Bates Herbert, tripe dealer, 13 Hadfield place
Batty George, joiner, 45 Chapel street
Beard Elizabeth Ann (Mrs.), fancy drpr. 44 St. Mary’s rd
Beard Job, farmer, Kiddroyd farm
Beard John, draper & milliner, 3 High street west
Beard John, tripe dealer, 134 High street west
Beard Joseph, farmer, Whitfield moor
Beeley James, ironmonger, Gladstone street
Bennett George, news agent, 128 High street east
Bennett Richard, woollen draper, 70 Charlestown road
Bennett Robert, pork butcher & beer retailer, 96 Victoria st
Bennett Samuel, stone mason, 22 Mount street
Bennett Thomas W. bookkeeper, 124 Victoria street
Bentley Edwin J. pork butcher, 2 St. Mary’s road
Benton Sarah (Miss), shopkeeper, 2 Mount street
Berry Mary (Mrs.), sewing machine agent, 83 Hall street
Berry William, insurance agent, 9 Whitfield cross
Beswick Edmund, hair dresser, 220 High street west
Bickerdyke William, tailor, 1 Bank terrace
Bill Posting & Advertising Co. Lim. (John Kidd Hollingbery, sec.), Howard chambers, Howard street
Bingham Reuben, farmer, Brownhill farm
Boardman & Sons, wheelwrights & smiths, High st. east
Boardman Wm. H. confectioner, 65 High street east
Boon Thomas, shopkeeper, 70 Freetown
Booth & Simpson, grocers, 59 Charlestown road
Booth Alice (Mrs.), confectioner, 76 High street east
Booth Frank, compositor, 128 Victoria street
Booth John, tobacconist, 81 High street east
Booth Nancy (Mrs.), farmer, Hobroyd
Booth Wright, brewery traveller, Rose cottage, North rd
Boots Lim. chemists (Thos. Brown, mgr.), High st. west
Bordan James W. watch maker, 23 High street east
Bowden Alice (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 16 King street
Bowden John, hardware dealer, oil merchant & tripe dresser, 1 Collier street
Bowden John Wood, relieving & vaccination officer, Fern house, Howard street
Bowden Joseph, grocer, 36 Church street
Bowden Joseph, shopkeeper, 128 St. Mary’s road
Bowden Lemuel, joiner, Bernard street
Bowden Mary (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 199 High street east
Bowden Samuel, farmer, Heath
Bowden Thomas Swindells, registrar of births, deaths & marriages, & clerk to the guardians,& school attendance & assessment committees of Glossop union, & clerk to Glossop Dale rural district council, 3 Well gate
Bowden William James M.B., Ch.B.Vict. surgeon & medical officer for the union, Glossop district, The Poplars, & Norfolk street
Bowden William, ironmonger, 1 High street east
Bowden Wm. Hy. builder & timber merchant, Howard st
Boyde Elizabeth (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 88 Victoria street
Boyer Alice (Mrs.), dress maker, 45 Charlestown road
Bradbury Albert, farmer, Whitfield green
Bradbury Charles, butcher, 141 Victoria street
Bradbury Edwin, shopkeeper, 10 Gladstone street
Bradbury John, butcher, 28 Princess street
Bradbury Martha (Mrs.), grocer, 1 Charlestown road
Bradbury Robert, hair dresser, 6 Victoria street
Bradbury Robert, painter, 133 High street east
Bradbury Thomas, chemist, 1 High street west
Bradbury Thomas E. grocer, 16 Princess street
Bradbury William,gamekeeper to Lord Howard of Glossop, Sheffield road
Braddock Eli & Son, estate agents, 73 High street east
Braddock George, insurance agent, 70 Simmondley lane
Braddock Walter, cycle maker, 74 High street east
Bradley George, beer retailer, 5 Bernard street
Bradley George, Prudential Insurance agent, 131 Hall st
Bradley John, shopkeeper, 56 Arundel street
Bradley John R. beer retailer, 38 High street west
Bradley Ralph, beer retailer, 99 High street east
Bramall James, salesman, Spire Hollin
Bramhall John, saddler, 75 High street west
Bramwell Luke, confectioner, 98 High street west
Bramwell Ruth (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 11 Shrewsbury street
Bridge James, borough & watch rate collector & collector to the union, 11 Hadfield place
Briggs & Jowett (Misses), confectioners, 46 High st. west
British & Colonial Meat Co. butchers, 71 High st. west
Broadhurst Elizabeth Ann (Miss), dress maker, 10 John st
Brooks George, greengrocer, 96 High street west
Brown & Co. woollen drapers, 30 High street west
Brown George, caretaker of Masonic lodge, 12 Norfolk sq
Brown John, boot maker & repairer, 121 High street west & 34 Victoria street
Brown Louise (Miss), dress maker, 12 Norfolk square
Brownson George Limited, tailors, 2 High street east
Buckley James & Co. pawnbrokers, 13 High street west
Buckley James, shopkeeper, 42 Arundel street
Buckley James, beer retailer, 1 Surrey street
Buckley Joseph Edwin, grocer, 123 High street west & 52 Hollin Cross lane
Bunn Herbert, confectioner, 84 High street west
Bunting Joseph, hair dresser, 13 Victoria street
Bunting Joseph Hague, photographer, 103 Victoria street
Burkhard Charles, pork butcher, 65 High street west
Buxton Bennett, farmer, Whitfield Barn
Buxton William, farmer, Hurst farm
Carnall Robert, farmer, Hobroyd
Carrington Joseph, confectioner, 62 Victoria street
Carrington William, shopkeeper, 64 Victoria street
Cemetery (Hadfield) (F. W. Gr. Moran, clerk); offices, Norfolk street
Chadwick John C. pawnbroker & boot & shoe dealer, 45 High street west
Chapman Henry, police sergeant, 49 Norfolk street
Charlesworth Alfred, Norfolk Arms hotel, Norfolk square
Charlesworth Frederick, Junction inn, 379 High st. west
Charlesworth George, butcher, 36 High street west
Charlesworth Joseph, builder, 19 Shrewsbury street
Charlesworth William, butcher & contractor, 244 High st. ws
Clarke James, pork butcher, 9 High street east
Clowes Mary (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 237 High street west
Cluskey Elizabeth (Mrs.), house furnisher, 21 High st. east
Collier Edwin, certified bailiff under the “Law of Distress Amendment Act,” Sheffield road
Collier John, greengrocer, 40 Kershaw street
Compton James, tailor, 48 Pike’s lane
Conner Helen (Miss), milliner, 110 High street west
Conner Henry, drysalter, 32 St. Mary’s road
Conner John, shopkeeper, 271 High street west
Connor Alfred, shopkeeper, 12 Milltown
Connor Patrick, beer retailer, 25 Arundel street
Cooper Moses & Sons, tailors & drapers, 28 High st. west
Cooper Cephas, shoe maker, 11 Victoria street
Cooper Mark, insurance agent, Simmondley lane
Cooper William, Commercial inn, Charlestown
County Court Office (His Honor S. D. Waddy Q.C. Judge; Charles Davis, registrar & high bailiff), Ellison street
Craigh Elizabeth (Miss), dress maker, 21 Norfolk street
Crannage Annie (Miss), dress maker, 4 Railway street
Crannage Mary (Mrs.), watch & clock ma. 6 High st. west
Crossland Wm. W. cotton waste dlr. Arundel Street mill
Crossley Humphrey, draper, 52 High street west
Cuthbert John, tobacconist, 80 High street west
Dacre Ann (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 88 Kershaw street
Dale George, news agent, 90 Victoria street
Dane Samuel, sanitary & lighting inspector to the corporation, Primrose lane
Darlington Edward, income tax collector, 9 Lord street
Darwent William Henry, ironmonger & gas & water fitter, & sec. to Conservative Club, 7 Victoria street
Darwent Frank, insurance agent, 19 Lord street
Darwent Jane (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 76 Freetown street
Darwent Joseph, stone mason, 100 Victoria street
Darwent Nathaniel, farmer, Bitten hill
Davis Charles, solicitor & coroner for the Honor of Tutbury & clerk to the urban sanitary authority & school attendance committee & registrar of county court, Ellison street
Dearnaley Thos. ironmngr. & blacksmth. 125 High st. west
Dewsnap Joseph, shopkeeper, 35 Princess street
Dinting Church Club (Albert Bradbury, sec.), 33 Primrose lane
Dixon John & Son, coal merchants, Railway yard & Sheffield road
Dixon George Henry, coal dealer, 183 High street east & Railway yard
Dixon John, farmer, Pikes farm
Dixon William, coal merchant, Railway yard
Doodson Sarah & Harriet (Misses), drapers, 76 High st. we
Downing William, tea dealer, 8 Norfolk street
Downs David, park superintendent, Park lodge
Drake Aborgill (Miss), shopkeeper, 17 Victoria street
Dunkerley Frederick, hair dresser, 70 High street west
Dutton & Sons, decorators, 4 Shrewsbury street
Dutton Thomas, painter, 88 High street west
Dyson John, chapel kpr. (P. M.), 3 Shrewsbury street
Dyson Joseph, boot & shoe repairer, 269 High street west
Elliott Henry, farmer, Heath
Elliott Joseph, insurance agent, 42 Whitfield cross
Ellison Theo Walter, solicitor & clerk to county & borough magistrates & Glossop reservoir committee, Norfolk chambers, Norfolk street
Eversden & Co. tobacconists, High street west
Eversden George, hatter, Town Hall buildings
Eversden John W. farmer, Lane head
Eversden John William, corn merchant, 16 High st. east
Eyre Abraham, farmer, Carr farm
Eyre Mary E. (Miss), draper, 74 High street west
Fairclough Walter Peake Mus.Bac., F.B.C.O. professor of music, Shaw street
Farnsworth Thomas & Annie (Miss), fruiterers, 114 High street west
Fearnaly James W. insurance agent, Collier street
Fielding Enoch & Son,watch & clock makers,24 High st. we
Fielding Charles, builder & stone dealer, 37 Whitfield cross
Fielding Edward, shopkeeper, Shepley street
Fielding Edward, shopkeeper, 2 Wesley street
Fielding James, insurance agent, Kershaw street
Fielding John W. grocer & draper, 126 & 130 Pike’s lane
Fielding William Walton, shopkeeper, 20 Norfolk street
Fletcher Samuel, rate collector, 98 St. Mary’s road
Fletcher Sarah Ann (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 63 Victoria street
Ford Eliza (Mrs.), Surrey Arms P.H. 133 Victoria street
France James, butcher, 139 High street west
Free Library & Public Hall (Miss P. Warhurst, librarian), Fauvel road
Freetown Working Men’s Institute (George Woodcock. sec.), Kershaw street
Frith Ann (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 165 High street west
Furniss Brook, Albion inn, 15 Victoria street
Garlick Edward, shopkeeper, 37 King street
Garlick James, beer retailer, Whitfield cross
Garlick Matthew & Albert, coal merchants, Railway yard & 52 High street east
Garner John, manager to Water works, 46 Church street
Garside Cyrus & Sons Limited, timber, slate, tile & cement merchants, Glossop saw mills, Surrey street
Garside John, mineral water manufr. Fern ho. Howard st
Garside Joseph (Mrs.), farmer, Lees Hall farm, Turn Lee
Gas Co. (Joshua Sidebottom, cashier), Arundel street
Gill Elizabeth (Mrs.), insurance agent, 54 Whitfield cross
Glossop Carriage Co. Limited, undertakers & coach proprietors, Howard street Glossop Conservative Club (William Henry Darwent, sec.), 26 Norfolk street
Glossop Cricket Club (E. Collier, Hollinwood (auctioneer), sec.), North road
Glossop Dale Chronicle & North Derbyshire Reporter (Glossop Dale Chronicle Printing & Publishing Co. Lim. proprietors; published Friday), 18 Norfolk street
Glossop Dale Chronicle Printing & Publishing Co. Lim. (Frederick H. Brock, manager), 18 Norfolk street
Glossop Dale New Industrial Co-operative Society (John Hyde, sec.), Norfolk square; 369 High street west; 20 Charlestown road; 8 Hall st.; reg. offi. 2 Railway st
Glossop Dale Savings Bank (W. P. Evason, actuary); open on Fridays, 8 to 9 p.m. & Saturdays, 6 to 7 p.m. Howard chambers
Glossop Football Club (Mark Elliott & George H. Dale, secs.), North road
Glossop Ironworks Co. Lim. (Sam Bamforth, manager), Surrey street. TA “Iron, Glossop ”; T N 11
Glossop Liberal Club (Charles Beard, sec.), Henry street
Glossop Richmond Building Society (John Kidd Hollingbery, sec.), Howard chambers
Glossop Working Men’s Club (Henry Boyd, sec.), St. Mary’s road
Goddard Ann (Mrs.), grocer, Charlestown
Goddard James, farmer, Hurst nook
Goddard John, auctioneer & valuer, 14 Hollincross lane
Goddard John, chip potato dealer, 9 Princess street
Goddard Joseph, broker & machine dealer, Edward street
Goddard Mary (Miss), news agent & tobacconist, 242 High street west
Goddard Stephen, builder, The Ashes
Goddard William, earthenware dealer, 240 High st. west
Goggins James, shopkeeper, 59 Bernard street
Golden Alfred Percival, chemist, 48 High street west
Goldthorpe Ben, Talbot inn, 25 Hall street
Goldthorpe Elizabeth (Mrs.), beer retailer, 33 Charles st
Gray Thomas, grocer, 38 Pike’s lane
Gregory Samuel, farmer, Moorfield
Greenwood Edwin, stationer & bookseller, 57 High st. east
Greenwood John, farmer & stone merchant, Tan Yard frm
Griffiths Wm. G. boot & shoe maker, 14 High street west
Groves William, commercial traveller, Turn Lee road
Gubbin Ernest Sargent F.R.C.V.S.Lond. veterinary surgeon, Fauvel road
Hadfield Thomas & Son,drapers & outfitters,15 High st. we
Hadfield Amelia (Miss), confectioner, 20 High st. east
Hadfield Charles, farmer, Bank bottom
Hadfield Edna (Miss), dress maker, 81 Charlestown road
Hadfield Eli, grocer, 105 High street east
Hadfield Henry, farmer, Cliffs road
Hadfield James, Arundel Arms P.H. Cemetery Road
Hadfield John, wire mattress maker, Hadfield street
Hadfield Joseph, carrier, 53 Norfolk street
Hadfield Joseph, coal merchant, Railway yard
Hadfield Joseph, greengrocer, 16 Norfolk street
Hadfield Joseph, shoe maker, 97 High street east
Hadfield Joseph, tobacconist, 63 High street east
Hadfield Samuel, mill manager, Fern bank
Hadfield Walter, boot & shoe maker, Whitfield cross
Hadfield William H. bookkeeper, 19 Fauvel road
Haigh Matthew, shopkeeper, 11 Arundel street
Haigh William, shopkeeper, Hague street
Hall John & Son, drapers, High street west
Hall Charles, tailor & draper, Leeds ho. High street west
Hall Hugh, boot maker, 8 Chapel street
Hall James, grocer, 146 St. Mary’s road
Hall John, blacksmith, 14 Howard street
Hall Joseph, hair dresser, 140 St. Mary’s road
Hall Joseph, shoe maker, 201 High street east
Hall Robert, cabinet maker, 1a, Gladstone street
Hall Thomas, chip potato dealer, 142 St. Mary’s road
Hallman Elizabeth (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 27 Bernard street
Hambleton John, mill manager, 91 Primrose lane
Hamnett Jas. & Son, watch & clock makers, 14a High st. ea
Hampshire Harriet (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 9 Gladstone st
Hampshire Joseph, shopkeeper, 89 Gladstone street
Hampson John, farmer, 2 Hague street, Whitfield
Handford William, Hare & Hounds P.H. 27 Hall street
Hardman John, dentist, 11 Norfolk square
Hare James, fancy draper, 51 High street west
Harris William, chip potato dealer, Hall street
Harrison Abel, coal merchant, Railway street; & at Broadbottom; Dinting & Hadfield railway stations
Harrison Charles Smith, grocer & com dlr. 122 High st. wst
Harrison Thomas, beer retailer, 78 High street west
Harrison Walter, farmer, Jumble farm
Harrop John, patent medicine vendor, 71 High street east
Hawke Robert George, architect, Norfolk square
Hayes Thomas, insurance agent, 96 St. Mary’s road
Haynes Thomas, surveyor to corporation, Town hall, High street west & Fauvel road
Haywood Elizabeth (Miss), shopkeeper, 34 Princess street
Heap Joseph, grocer, 51 Victoria street
Heckingbottom Emma (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 4 Primrose la
Helm Fred, grocer & tobacconist, 36 High street east
Henkinson William, schoolmaster, 27 Norfolk street
Hersum David, shopkeeper, 17 Hope street
Hesketh Richard, Surrey Arms hotel, 67 High street west
Hewett William, shoe maker, 8 Collier street
Hibbs Hannah (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 213 High street west
Higginbottom John Sml. draper & milliner, 17 High st. we
Higginbottom William, draper, 2 Victoria street
Higton Frank, insurance agent, 69 St. Mary’s road
Hill David, insurance agent, Hadfield place
Hill Hugh, farmer, The Hurst, Bridgefield
Hill Samuel, painter, 46 Howard street
Hill William, baby linen dealer, 94 High street west
Hinchcliffe John & Co. coal merchants, Railway yard
Hinchcliffe Henry, stone dealer, 5 Lord street & Blake quarry, Blackshaw Clough
Hinchliffe Smith, news agent, 131 High street west
Hodgson John Gregory, head constable of borough police, inspector of hackney carriages & captain of fire brigade, Police office, Ellison street
Holdgate Wm. & Bros, florists & seedsmen, 23 Fitzalan st
Holdgate James & Sons, painters, glaziers &c. 149 High street west
Holdgate Thomas, shopkeeper, 5 Milltown
Holgate James, farmer, Bridgefield
Hollingbery John Kidd, chartered accountant, Howard chambers, Howard street
Hollins William, spring mattress maker, 6 Charles street
Holmes Frank, quarry master & dealer in paving setts, hewing stones &c. Lees Hall quarry, Turn Lee; res. Turn Lee
Howard' Frederick, hair dresser, Market street
Howard George Frost, beer retailer, 13 Bernard street
Howard Sarah (Mrs.), farmer, Ashes
Howard William, joiner & builder, 27 Hadfield street
Hudson John G. confectioner, High street west & beer retailer, Market street
Hunter Thomas Pearson, draper, 9 High street west
Hunters The Teamen Limited, grocers, Town Hall bldgs. High street west
Hurst & Co. tailors, 18 High street east
Hurst T. W. & Co. corn merchants, Bernard street & 32 High street west
Hurst Sarah A. (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 16 George street
Hutts Limited, clothiers, 79 High street west
Hyde Geo. milliner & fancy draper, 12 High street west
Hyde Walter, hatter & tobacconist, 34 High street west
Independent Order of Good Templars (meet every week at Good Templars’ room, Talbot street, Tuesdays 8 p.m.) (Samuel Wood L.D.), 15 Charles street
Ingerson Ann (Mrs.), dress maker, 6 Cross street
Ingerson John, tailor, 6 Cross street
Ingham Hannah (Mrs.), dress maker, 73 High street west
Ingham John, builder & contractor, Shrewsbury street
Irlam Wm. Hy. Stationer, printr. & bookbndr. 55 High st. we
Irvine Wm. nurseryman, Hawkshead Nursery gardens, Old Glossop
Jackson Charles, draper, 106 Pike’s lane
Jackson Fredk. boot & shoe repairer, 45a, Edward street
Jackson Isaac, belt fastener manufacturer, Norfolk Street
Jackson James C. manager of Manchester & County Bank, Norfolk square
Jackson James, tobacconist, 112 Victoria street
Jackson Levi & Son, rope, twine & cotton band manufacturers & farmers, Hobroyd & Bridgefield
Jackson Sarah A. (Miss), shopkeeper, 22 Primrose lane
Jackson Thomas, shopkeeper, 6 Chapel street
Jacobs Charles, shopkeeper, 5 Freetown
James Francis, joiner, Ash grove, Sheffield road
James Thomas, plumber & glazier, 10 Silk street
James William H. Manor inn, 77 High street east
Jepson John, agent for Bradbury’s sewing machines, 54 Pike’s lane & 33 Princess street
Joule James, beer retailer, 178 High street east
Jowett Harriet Ann (Miss), confectnr. see Briggs & Jowett
Keate Alex, pianoforte warehouse, 102 High street west
Keightley John Charles, draper, 118 Victoria street
Kenny Margt. (Mrs.), confctnr. & dress ma.6 High st. east
Kenworthy Albert E. chip potato dealer, 112 High street ea
Kenworthy Elizabeth (Miss), draper, 14 High street east
Kenyon Thomas T. manager of the Manchester & Liverpool District Bank & borough treasurer & treasurer to the union & rural district council, Norfolk square
Kenyon Walter, clogger, 68 High street west
Kershaw John, clogger, 138 Victoria street
Kinder Walter & Sons, slaters & plasterers, 35 Sumner st
Kinder George, grocer, 198 High street west
Kinder Henry, chemist & dentist, 85 High street west
Knott Samuel, farmer, Hurst
Knott Walter, shopkeeper, 108 Victoria street
Knowles Francis Gordon, solicitor, Howard street
Lamb Joseph, fishmonger, 84 Victoria street
Lancashire Cash Bakery Limited, bakers, 15 Shrewsbury st
Lancaster Elizh. (Mrs.), Wheat Sheaf P.H. 16 Wellgate
Large Samuel, milliner, 8 High street east
Latham & Co. grocers, 120 Victoria street
Lawton John, tinplate worker, 17 & 19 Wellgate
Leach Frederick, pie maker, 10 High street west
Ledwick John, boot & shoe repairer, 1 Cemetery lane
Lee Hannah & Clarice (Misses), confectioners, 104 High street west
Lee George, fried fish dealer, 129 High street east
Leighton Randle, umbrella repairer, 102a, Victoria street
Lester James, fruiterer, 142 High street west
Lewis Esther (Miss), baby linen dealer, 24 High street ea
Little Robert C. farmer, Dinting Vale farm
Little Robert, insurance agent, 68 Simmondley lane
Littlewood Dick, yeast dealer, Surrey street
Lockwood Thomas, coal merchant, Railway yard
Longden Alfred, farmer & stone engraver, Cemetery road
Longstone William, shopkeeper, 106 Charlestown
Lowe Moses, Grapes inn, 305 High street west
Lyne Hannah (Mrs.), beer retailer, 21 Charlestown road
Mackenzie Duncan John M.D., C.M. surgeon & medical officer of health to Glossop urban sanitary authority & Glossop Dale rural district council, Loch Maree, North Rd
McMellon Lydia (Mrs.), dress maker, 6 Wood street
McMellon William, tailor & draper, 18 High street west
Mahew Thomas, Rose & Crown P.H. 89 High street west
McMillan Ruth (Mrs.), tripe dealer, 61 High street east
Malkin J. & E. T. corn millers, High street east
Manchester & County Bank Lim. (branch) (James C. Jackson, manager), Norfolk square; draw on Union Bank of London Limited, London E C
Manchester & Liverpool District Banking Co. Limited (branch) (Thomas T. Kenyon, manager), Norfolk sq.; draw on London office, 75 Cornhill E C
Marsden Herbert, farmer, Lane side
Marsden Joseph, chip potato dealer, 140 Victoria street
Marsden Thomas, shopkeeper, 40 Church street
Marsden William, shopkeeper, 29 Hollin Cross lane
Marshall Thomas, hosier, 86 High street west
Mason Joseph, deputy supt. registrar, Norfolk square
Massey David, assistant overseer, 62 High street east
Mawson Thomas, saddler & harness maker, 8 Norfolk sq
Mawson Thomas, shopkeeper & beer retailer, 28 Freetown
May Thos. & Sons, basket & skip makers, 53 Victoria st
May Amos, skip maker, 59 High street east
May John, skip maker, Shrewsbury street
Maxwell John, mill manager, Lee mount
Melia Daniel & Co. Lim. tea merchants, 11 High st. west
Mellor Clara (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 9 Chapel street
Mellor Josiah, auctioneer, 42 High street west
Mellor Tom, brass & iron founder, George street
Merry Jas. ironmongr. plumbr. & gasfitter, 34 High st. east
Metcalfe Sarah (Mrs.), confectioner, 112 High st. west
Middleton Henry, joiner, builder & undertaker, John st
Middleton Thomas, boot maker, 114 Victoria street
Miller Thomas & Co. grocers, 50 High street west
Milner & Robinson, grocers, 38 Queen street
Mitchell Julian, surgeon-dentist, 35 Norfolk street
Moore Martha (Mrs.), beer retailer, 25 High street east
Monks James, farmer, Whitfield cross
Moran Frederick W. G. solicitor & commissioner for oaths, Norfolk street
Moran Wm. J. G. chemist & drysalter, 7 High st. west
Morley John, Globe inn, 144 High street west
Morley Joseph, grocer, 50 Church street
Narny Michael, shopkeeper, 273 High street west
Needham Joseph, shopkpr. & postmaster, 20 Wellgate
Needham Joseph, saddler, 56 Church street
Nelson John, tailor, 22 High street east
Nelson Robert M.D., M.Ch. surgeon, Norfolk street
Newton Charles, beer retailer, 17 Gladstone street
Newton David, shopkeeper, 219 High street west
Newton Thomas, herbalist, 26 Princess street
Newton William, grocer, 45 Bernard street
Nicholls George, beer retailer, 277 High street west
Nicol Alex. Campbell L.R.C.P.Lond., M.R.C.S.Eng. surgeon, 93 High street west
Nield James, boot & shoe maker, 20 High street west
Nield Thomas, market inspr. & water rate collctr. North rd
North Derbyshire & North Cheshire Advertiser (Advertiser Printing & Publishing Co. Lim. publishers & proprietors ; pub. Friday), Howard street
Nuttall George, Howard Arms, 17 High street east
Ogden Kay, insurance agent, 25 Lord street
Oldham Hannah (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 163 High street east
Oldham Jsph. Edwd. professor of music, 2 Turn Lee road
Olive & Partington, paper makers, paper stainers & tin foil manufacturers, Turn Lee & Dover mills; & 11 Newmarket lane. Manchester
Oliver Ruth (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 103 High street east
Oliver Walter, ironmonger, 39 High street west
Ollerenshaw Abel, herbalist, 136 High street west
Ollerenshaw George, plasterer, 83 Primrose lane
Ollerenshaw John, slater & plasterer, 30 Talbot street
Ollerenshaw John, farmer, Cross Cliffe
Ollerenshaw John, farmer, 60 Hague street, Whitfield
Orme Joseph, draper, 197 High street west
Osborne George, butcher, 143 Gladstone street
Page Solomon, hair dresser & tobacconist, 6 Norfolk street
Partington Edward, paper manufr. see Olive & Partington
Phillips A. & J. carriers, 4 Fauvel rd. & 39 Surrey street
Phillips John, shopkeeper, 17 Freetown
Pickford Alfred, baker, 106 Gladstone street
Pickford Job, chipped potato dealer, 82 High street west
Pickford Lot, greengrocer, 56 High street west
Pilkinton Peter, Bee Hive inn, 35 Hague street
Platt Benjamin & Son, grocers & drapers, 119, 121 & 123 High street east
Platt George, butcher, 49 High street west
Platt Fred, chip potato dealer, 363 High street west
Platt James, coal merchant, 11 Railway street
Platt, John, grocer, 12 Wellgate
Poole John Henry, tailor, 85 High street east
Porter Mira (Miss), shopkeeper, 147 Gladstone street
Pownall Martha (Miss), milliner, 9 Duke street
Public Baths (Anthony Dandyford, mgr.), Howard park
Public Weighbridge (Thos. Parr, weigher), Railway yard
Pye Julia (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 3 Duke street
Redfern Ann (Miss), glass & china dealer, 50 High st. west
Redfern Isaac, shopkeeper, 35 Gladstone street
Redford Frederick, butcher, Turn Lees road
Redford Joseph, grocer, 70 Victoria street
Rhodes John H. insurance agent, 14 Derby street
Rhodes Thomas, school attendance officer to corporation, 67 High street east
Rider William, bookkeeper, 5 Charlestown road
Riley Sarah A. (Miss), dress maker, Simmondley lane
Riley Thomas, Bull’s Head P.H. 73 Church street
Riley William, shopkeeper, 92 Kershaw street
Roberts Charlotte (Mrs), draper, 90 High street west
Roberts George, sec. to Shepley Mills Spinning Co. 16 Hollin Cross lane
Roberts Wm. Hy. calico printers’ designer, 23 Lord st
Robinson & Co. painters & glaziers, 62 High street west
Robinson James, painter, 2 & 4 Norfolk street
Robinson Mary (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 29 Hague st. Whitfld
Robinson Walter, draper, 12 & 14 Norfolk street
Robinson William, coal merchant, 12 Freetown
Rodley Sarah Elizabeth (Mrs.), stamp distributor, Post office, Norfolk square
Roe Jn. clerk of works to Lord Howard, 14 Wesley st
Rolan John, baker, 40 High street east
Ross Donald, foreman joiner, Surrey street
Rowbottom Herbert, mill manager, 70 Church street
Rowbottom James, cotton spinner, Hurst mills
Rowbottom Maria (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 259 High st. west
Rowbottom Samuel, cotton spinner & band manufacturer, Meadow mills
Ruck William, shopkeeper, 191 High street west
Russell Mary J. (Miss), stationer, Whitfield post office, 113 Victoria street
Sale Harriet (Mrs.), beer retailer, 11 Chapel street
Salt Charles, greengrocer, 377 High street west
Schofield Alfred E. printer & stationer, Norfolk street
Schofield James, butcher, 83 High street east
Schofield John H. station master, 26 Howard street
Schofield Samuel, boot maker, 62 Pike’s lane
Scholes Albert, butcher, 119 High street west
Scholes John C. cashier at Lord Howard’s estate offices, 49 Sheffield road
Sellers Squire, draper, 3, 5 & 7 High street east
Shaw Tom, umbrella repairer, 287 High street west
Shawcross Joseph, shopkeeper, 137 Gladstone street
Shelton Summers, ladies’ school, see Amps & Shelton
Shephard Charles, provision dealer, 130 High st. east
Shepherd John, farmer, Mossy Lee
Shepherd William, shopkeeper, 59 Charlestown road
Shepley Mill Cotton Manufacturing Co. limited (George Roberts, sec.), Shepley mill
Sheppard Martha (Mrs.) & Son, mineral water manufacturers, Shrewsbury street
Sheppard William H. farmer & furniture remover, Ashes & Howard street
Sherlock John W. yarn tester, Tum lee road
Shreeve Walt, butcher, 29 High st. west & 110 Victoria st
Siddons Joseph, farm bailiff to Lord Howard of Glossop, Blackshaw farm
Sidebottom Albert, pianoforte warehouse, 22 High st. west
Sidebottom Arthur, mill manager, 28 High street east
Sidebottom Joshua, sec. to Gas Co. 31 Norfolk street
Sidebottom Peter, gas company’s collector, 15 Princess st
Sidebottom Ralph Bennett L.R.C.P., L.R.C.S. & L.M. Edin., M.R.C.S.Eng. surgeon, & medical officer for Whitfield district, & public vaccinator for the union, 20 Hollin Cross lane
Sidebottom Samuel, Greyhound inn, Hope street
Sims Henry, salesman, York terrace
Skelton Cooper, beer retailer, 16 Chapel street
Skelton John, sand merchant, Whitfield cross
Slater Charles, hair dresser, 138 High street west
Smallpage James E. shopkeeper, 164 High street west
Smith Charles Lewis, cabinet maker, 55 High street east
Smith Edward, boot & shoe maker, 47 High street west
Smith Emma (Mrs.), ladies’ seminary, 55 High st. east
Smith James, draper, 38 High street east
Smith John, shopkeeper, 49 Hollin Cross lane
Smith Thos. commercial traveller, Tum lee ho. Turnlee rd
Smith William, boot & shoe maker, 35 & 37 High st. west
Stafford Samuel, beer retailer, 14 Milltown
Stagg & Son, wholesale wine & spirit mers. 8 Norfolk sq
Steel Elijah, greengrocer, 76 Victoria street
Still John, Commercial inn, 137 Hall street
Sumner Francis & Co. Lim. cotton spinners & manufacturers (William Thorpe, manager), Wren Nest mills
Swan Joseph, farmer, 16 Hague street, Whitfield
Swann George, watch & clock maker, 238 High st. west
Swinborn Thomas, grocer, 1 Edward street
Swire John & Son, boot & shoe makers, 8 High st. west
Swire Henry, boot & clog maker, 21 Victoria street
Swire William, fancy draper, & agent for W. & A Gilbey Lim. wine & spirit merchants, 5 High street west
Sykes Robert Woolley & Son, auctioneers, 100 High st. we
Sykes Sarah (Mrs.), Royal Oak P.H. Sheffield road
Sykes William, shopkeeper, 218 High street west
Taylor Charles, Queen’s Arms P.H. 1 Shepley street
Taylor James E. house decorator, Hadfield street
Taylor John, farmer, Ashes
Taylor Robert, shopkeeper, 2 James street
Teasdale Albert, grocer, 45 High street west
Thom James, coal agent, 33 Norfolk street
Thompson Isaac, insurance agent, 117 Gladstone street
Thornhill William, general carrier, Silk street
Thornley Betty (Miss), grocer, 4 Charlestown road
Thornley Noah, butcher, 74 Victoria street
Thorp Walt, coal merchant, Norfolk square & Railway yrd
Thorp William, farmer, Hawkshead
Tinker Henry, beer retailer, 120 Charlestown road
Tollerton John H. chip potato dealer, 11 Norfolk street
Tomlinson May (Miss), farmer, Turn Lee
Torkington’s Household Stores, grocers & tea dealers 11 High street east
Town Hall, High street west
Traynor John, hair dresser, 19 Hadfield street
Trueman John, beer retailer, 40 Pikes lane
Turner Ephraim, fruiterer, 12a, High street east
Turner George, compositor, 130 Victoria street
Turner Isaiah, greengrocer, 53 High street east
Turner Manasseh, fruiterer, 26 High street east
Tweedale John William, solicitor & superintendent registrar, Norfolk square
Vernon Joseph, farmer, Whitfield green
Volunteer Battalion (4th), Cheshire Regiment (L, M & N Companies), Glossop Detachment (John Wood V.D. hon. colonel commandant; Capt. G. Knowles,commanding L Co.; Capt. Arthur Sidebottom, commanding M Co.; Capt. Samuel Hill Wood, commanding N Co.; Surgn.-Lieut. R. B. Sidebottom, medical officer; Oswald Partington, Ernest Sumner & Cyril Ellison,, lieutenants; Rev. W. J. Canton, chaplain; Sergt.-Instructor, James Clancy); head quarters, Drill hall
Wain & Son, fancy drapers, 59 High street west
Walker Arthur, surgeon, 16 High street west
Walker Jacob, shopkeeper, 38 Kershaw street
Walmsley Thomas, shopkeeper, 12 Hague street, Whitfield
Walton John, bleacher, Charlestown works
Walton Richard F. drysalter, 14 Charlestown road
Walton William, bookkeeper, 26 Slatelands road
Ward Annie Eliza (Miss), dress maker, 29 Pike’s lane
Warhurst Alice (Mrs.), dress maker, 24 Howard street
Warrington Albert, butcher, T9 High street east
Warrington Jacob, beer retailer, Arundel street
Water Works (Jn. Garner, supt.; Thomas Neild, collectr)
Waterhouse Albert & Sons,pianoforte wareho. 6o Victoria st
Waterhouse James, decorator, 20 Wesley street
Waterhouse Jonathan, stationer, 130 High street west
Waterhouse Thomas, grocer, 25 Norfolk street
Watkins Thomas, shopkeeper, 140 High street west
Watkinson Mary Ellen (Miss), confectioner,54 High st. we
Weavers’ Association, Haigh terrace, Surrey street
Weetman Henry, mill manager, Wren Nest house
West End Working Men’s Club (Robert Tickle, president), 3 Arundel street
Wharmby George, oil & lamp dealer, 27 Hall street
Whiteley James William, draper, 197 High street east
Whitfield Church Reading Room (H.A. Broadhurst,sec.), 12 Charlestown road
Whitham John Thomas, photographer & news agent, 12 & 60 High street west
Whittingham Francis & Son, brush mas. 10 High st. ea
Wild Rachael (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 82 Gladstone street
Wild Samuel, shopkeeper, 9 Victoria street
Wilkin Joshua Thomas, plumber, 81 Norfolk street
Willey John William Crane, cabinet maker, 17 Norfolk st
Williamson James, shopkeeper, 4 James street
Willis Harriet (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 9 Charlestown
Wilson & Bates, aerated water manufactrs. King street
Wilson Richard, boot & shoe maker, 39 Sheffield road
Wood John & Brothers Limited, cotton spinners & manufacturers (David Taylor, sec.), Howard Town mills
Wood (Emma), parochial nurse; Mrs. Cross,nurse, Hague street, Whitfield
Wood's Hospital (T. S. Bowden esq. hon. Sec.), Howard park
Wood Charles, beer retailer, 3 Norfolk street
Wood Charlotte (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 87 High street east
Wood Hinchliffe, joiner & builder, Hadfield place
Wood Joel C. cashier, 30 Turn-lees road
Wood John, farmer, Derbyshire level
Wood John, farmer, Gnathole
Wood John, grocer & com dealer, 25 High street west
Wood Joseph, butcher, 29 Gladstone street
Wood Peter, milliner, 53 High street west
Wood Samuel, shopkeeper & wheelwright, 13 Charles st
Wood Sarah (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 61 Hague st. Whitfield
Wood Thomas, carpenter & joiner. Spring pl. Turnlee rd
Wood Thomas, rag merchant, 6 Derby street
Woodcock George, fancy draper, 27 High street west
Woodcock Matthew, boot maker, 57 High street west
Woodhead John, stone mer. 27 Hall st. & Law quarries
Woodhead William, chipped potato dealer, 183 High st. ws
Woodhouse Ellen (Mrs.), butcher, 36 Church street
Woolley Edward, butcher, 77 High street west
Woolley Thomas, grocer, 61 High street west
Wright Henry, draper, 79 High street west
Wright Mary Ann (Mrs.), chipped potato dealer, 63 High street west
Wyatt Cephas, farmer, Blackshaw
Wylde Samuel, Market hotel, Market street

BROOKFIELD.
Shepley Charles, Woffenden
COMMERCIAL
Aldous Joshua, shopkeeper
Beaumont Joseph, grocer
Hawse Robert, chip potato dealer
McMath John, grocer
Moss Joseph, news agent
Robinson William, farmer
Rowbottom Alfred, monumental mason
Shephard Mary Ann (Mrs.), draper
Shepley John & William Lim. cotton spinners & manufrs. Brookfield mills
Walker William, Royal Oak P.H
Williams Thomas, milliner

CHUNAL.
Bann George, farmer. Monks’ road
Bann Jsph. frmr. Hollingworth head
Fielding Thos. farmer, Horse Shoe fm
Goddard Wm. Grouse inn, & farmer
Hadfield John, farmer
Neild Edwin, farmer
Shepley William, farmer
Shotwell James, farmer
Wood John, farmer, Gnat Hole farm

DINTING.
Bardsley Luke, Dinting lane
Barr John, Dinting lodge
Collier Rev. Edwin Chas. M.A. Vicarage
Hadfield Charles, Viaduct house
Huntzinger Alfred
Bradbury George & Co. grocers, 4 Dinting vale
Fielding Harold, farmer
Ford Samuel, farmer
Hadfield Charles, Cashier at Messrs. E. Potter & Co.’s print works
Harrison Abel, coal & cannel factor, Railway station; & at Glossop
Harrison John, farmer
Jackson Geo. Insur. agt. 7 Dinting vale
Moss Joseph, sub-postmaster
Pickford John Joseph, Plough inn
Platt Thomas, farmer, Hill top
Potter Edmund & Co. calico printers
Roberts Hannah (Mrs.), shopkeeper
Smith Irvine, Viaduct inn
West Elizabeth (Mrs.), shopkeeper
Wild John (Mrs.), farmer & carrier
Wood James, clogger

GAMESLEY.
Shepley Charles
COMMERCIAL.
Clayton Ben (Mrs.), farmer
Cooper George, butcher
Findlay Agnes (Miss), dress maker, Charlesworth road
Garlick Albert, Magnet inn
Garlick John, shopkpr. Cottage lane
Harrison Abel, coal mer. Railway yard
Johnson Sarah Ann (Mrs.), grocer
Marsden Moses, farmer
Needham Walter, farmer
Simpson John, farmer, Gamesley farm
Sykes Thomas Beard, slater & plastr
Thornley Andrew, farmer
Thornley John, farmer
Thorp Walter, coal mer. Railway yard
Turner James, farmer & greengrocer
Walker Jas. shopkpr. Cottage lane
Walton Jacob, farmer

HADFIELD.
PRIVATE RESIDENTS.
Bollans R. Wilfred M.B. Railway st
Booth Joseph, Hadfield road
Booth Thomas, Kent villa
Bramhall William, 56 Bank street
Buckley Henry, 2 Bross croft
Dawson William, Knowl house
Eastham James Cook, The Thorns
Garlick Robert, Holm Lea
Hadfield Rev. Joseph (vicar)
Kay Thomas, Green lane
Martin Rev. Joseph Ames (curate), Croft house
Platt Edward, Mersey bank
Rigge Fletcher, Rockley house
Sabela Right Rev. Monsignor Canon Hermann Jos. (Catholic)
Shaw John, Kent villa
Walsh Benjamin, Hadfield road
Whelan John Joseph, Hadfield road
White Wm. M.D., C.M. Hadfield road
COMMERCIAL.
Aldous Thomas, window blind manufactr. Hadfield road
Aldous William, farmer & shopkeeper, Main road
Atkinson Margaret (Miss), grocer, Church street
Bailey Mary (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 85 Platt street
Bamford James, tripe dresser, 53 Station road
Band James, insurance agent, Woolley bridge
Barker William, grocer, Hadfield road
Barlow William, Pear Tree hotel, Hadfield road
Battye J. W. & Sons, woollen drapers, 109 Station road
Belfield Alice (Miss), Anchor inn, Hadfield road
Bennett Thos. & Son, drapers & furn. dealrs. Station rd
Bennett Betsy (Mrs.), shopkeeper, Woolley bridge
Bennett Richard, boot maker, 20 Bank street
Bentham Jane (Mrs.), stationer. 47 Station road
Billinge Joseph, saddler, 108 Station road
Bollans R. Wilfred M.B., Ch.B. surgeon, & medical officer to Hadfield district, Glossop union, Railway street
Booth Henry, butcher, & grocer, 117 Station road
Bowden Annie (Mrs.), draper, 118 Station road
Braddock Thomas & Co. grocers, 111 Station road
Bramald Ellis, draper, 396 Hadfield road
Bramhall John, coal merchant, Station yard
Bratherton Richard, station master
Broadbent Elizabeth Ann (Miss), confctnr. 97 Station rd
Broadbent Ellen (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 52 Bross croft
Broadbent Peter, confectioner, 106 Waterside
Broadbent Zilpha (Miss), shopkeeper, 72 Bross croft
Brookes William, hair dresser, 33 Station road
Brooks Albert, greengrocer, 113 Station road
Butterfield Edwin, dentist, 65 Station road
Butterworth William, news agent, 22 Bank street
Buxton Thomas H. insurance agent, 31 Hadfield road
Chadwick William Thomas, pawnbroker, Station road
Challoner Samuel, grocer, 122 Station road
Charlton Ernest, draper, 72 Station road
Chevens John, farmer, Park road
Child Thomas, shopkeeper, Woolley bridge
Cooper John, inspector of police, Bankbottom
Corker Annie (Mrs.), Commercial inn, Bankbottom
Crawford David, Palatine & Railway hotel, Station road
Cuthbert William, beer retailer, 78 Station road
Dane Charles, outfitter, 121 Station road
Dawson William, plumber & painter, 85 Station road
Dearnaley James A. clog maker, 116 Station road
Dearnley David (Mrs.), beer retailer, Woolley bridge
Derbyshire Alfred Edward, decorator, Salisbury street & 150 Station road
Dewsnap John, farmer, Hadfield cross
Dickenson Albert, hair dresser, 150 Station road
Diggin Robert, chip potato dealer, Woolley bridge
Dixon Richard, tobacconist, 131 Station road
Downing William & Co. tea dealers, Station road
Duckworth Samuel, blacksmith, 36 Station road
Dunphey George, shopkeeper, 50 Bankbottom
Dutton James, beer retailer, 421 Hadfield road
Earnshaw Abraham, butcher, 43 Station road
Equitable Co-operative Society Limited (Jas. Harwood, sec.; Charles Loxley, treasurer), Station road & Woolley bridge; & Padfield & Tintwistle
Etchells H. & Co. grocers, 91 Station road
Eversden George Cooper, grocer, 102 Waterside
Fielding Ann (Miss), confectioner, 52 Station road
Fielding Herbert, grocer, 68 Station road
Firth Edward, shopkeeper, Woolley bridge
Firth Thomas, insurance agent, 58 Bank street
Garlick Esther A. (Mrs.), shopkeeper, Woolley Bridge rd
Gill Elizabeth (Mrs.), grocer, 49 Station road
Glossop & Hadfield Household Stores, grocers, 27 Statn. Rd
Goddard Elizabeth (Mrs.), milliner, 89 Station road
Gorst John, painters to decorators, Church street
Greaves James, boot maker, 24 Hadfield road
Greaves William, baker, 103 Station road
Hadfield & Hollingworth Coal Association Lim. (Thomas Sharpe, sec)
Hadfield Conservative Club Co. Limited (Levi Lee, sec)
Hadfield Liberal Club (William Hodkinson, sec)
Hadfield Thomas, draper, 84 Station road
Haigh William, boot & shoe maker, 9 Station road
Hall Thomas, watch maker, 31 Station road
Hammond William, shopkeeper, 1 Station road
Hampshire William, ironmonger, 51 Station road
Harrison Abel, coal & cannel factor, Station yard
Harrop Hugh, tailor, 25 Station road
Herbert Richard, furniture broker, 45 Station road
Hill Harriet (Mrs.), shopkeeper, Station road
Hill Mary (Mrs.), grocer, Woolley Bridge road
Hinchcliffe Benjamin, insurance agent, 10 Bross croft
Hinchcliffe Thomas John, stationer & news agent, la, Railway street
Hirst Mary Ann (Mrs.), draper, 96 Station road
Hodges Isaac, shopkeeper, 21 Hadfield street
Howarth George Frederick, draper, 62 Station road
Howarth Moses, confectioner, 27 Station road
Howbrook John, beer retailer, Waterside
Hoyland Miriam (Mrs.), ironmonger, Station road
Hunters (The Teamen) Limited, grocers, 39 Station road
Jagger & Fernaly, printers, 112 Station road
Jakeman Albert stationer & news agent, 126 Station rd
Johnson Peter, herbalist, 84 Station road
Johnson Thomas, coal merchant, Station
Johnson Thomas, shopkeeper, 30 Bank street
Knowles Francis Gordon, solicitor. Station road
Jolly Kezia (Mrs.), Spinners’ Arms P.H. Marsden street
Lee L. & Go. grocers, 89 Hadfield road
Littlewood Fred, tripe dresser; 142 Station road
Livesley Squire, draper, 101 Station road
Lockwood Thomas, coal merchant, Station yard
Loxley John, farmer, Railway street
Manchester & Liverpool District Banking Co. Limited (branch), Station road; draw on London office, 75 Cornhill E C
Manchester & County Bank Limited (branch), Station road; draw on Union Bank of London Lim. London E C
Martin William A. draper, 11, 13 & 55 Station road
Mason Thomas, clog maker, 35 Station road
Mason William James, boot & shoe ms. 115 Station road
Monk Evan, shopkeeper, 7 Station road
Moran William John, chemist, 15 Station road
Nadin William, confectioner, 152 Station road
Nelson Samuel, tailor, 74 Station road
Newton Samuel, general dealer, 103 Station road
Nuttall Joshua, shopkeeper, Railway street
Patchett Henry, butcher, 32 Station road
Potts James, builder & grocer, 2 & 12 Queen street
Powers Michael, provision dealer, 76 Station road
Poyner John, boot maker, 92 Station road
Public Weighing Machine (Charles Collier, weigher). Station yard
Redfern Job, hair dresser, Woolley bridge
Refuge Assurance Co. Limited, 127 Station road
Rhodes Thomas Limited, cotton spinners & manufacturers, Mersey mills
Richardson John M.P.S. chemist & drug stores, 9 Bank bottom
Rigge Fletcher, sec. at T. H. Sidebottom & Co.’s, Waterside mills
Robinson Alonzo, beer retailer, 41 Station road
Robinson Robert, shopkeeper, 93 Woolley Bridge road
Rothwell Rachel (Mrs.), dress maker, 34 Bank street
Rowbottom George, oil merchant, 38 Kiln lane
Sanderson Sarah (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 59 Hadfield road
Scholes James, butcher, 39 Railway st. & 97 Woolley Bridge road
Senior James H. tobacconist, 87 Station road
Shaw Annie (Mrs.), shopkeeper, Woolley bridge
Shaw Mary (Miss), shopkeeper, 80 Hadfield road
Shipman Lewis, shopkeeper, 37 Station road
Shufflebotham Joseph, clogger, 1a, Station road
Siddall Mary J. (Miss), dress maker, 1 Church street
Sidebottom T. H. & Co. Lim. cotton spinners & manfrs. Waterside mills & Bridge mills
Skelton John, shopkeeper, 5 Bross croft
Smallpage & Co. grocers & beer retailers, Waterside
Spencer Elijah, apartments, Woolley bridge
Stewart Robert, Spread Eagle P.H. Woolley bridge
Storey John Woodcock, builder, Station road
Sutton Thomas, stone mason, Railway street
Swire John, clogger, Woolley bridge
Swire William, draper, & agent for W. & A. Gilbey Lim. wine & spirit merchants, 119 Station road
Taylor Abel, confectioner, 129 Station road
Taylor John, Woolley Bridge inn, Woolley bridge
Taylor Robert, fruiterer, 21 Station road
Thompson James, shopkeeper, 128 Station road
Thompson James, stationer & news agent, 82 Station rd
Thornley Arthur, taxidermist, 49 Bankbottom
Thornley Emily (Miss), milliner, 307 Hadfield road
Thorpe John, Victoria hotel, Bross croft
Thorney Deborah (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 79 Station road
Thorpe Walter, coal merchant, Station yard
Torkington Charles Henry, tripe dresser, 19 Station road
Torkington Samuel, fried fish dealer & fishmonger, 17 & 69 Station road
Toulson William, draper & outfitter, 77 Station road
Wain Eliza (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 103 Hadfield road
Walker Elliott Morton, draper, 105 & 107 Station road
Walmsley Thomas, machine repairer, Woolley bridge
Walsh William, grocer, 134 Station road & 8 Bank street
Wardle Albert, butcher, 94 Station road
Warrington Israel & Son, grocers, Green lane
Webb John W. hair dresser & shopkeeper, 1 Salisbury street & 106 Station road
Whelan John Joseph L.S.A. surgeon, Hadfield road
White William M.D., C.M. physician, Hadfield road
Wibberley Denman, butcher, 3 Station road
Wild Thomas, farmer, Thyerbarn, Woolley bridge
Wilde John, blacksmith, 73 & 73 Station road
Willerton Emma (Mrs.), draper, Woolley bridge
Willis Charles, boot & shoe maker, 125 Station road
Wishart Jessie (Miss), draper, 148 Station road
Woodcock Matthew, boot & shoe maker, 44 Station road
Woodhouse Samuel, butcher, 112 Station road
Woolley Bridge Working Men’s Club (Walter Dearnaley, sec.), Woolley bridge
Woolley Edward, butcher, Woolley bridge
Woolley George, butcher, Station road
Woolley Thomas, shopkeeper, Woolley bridge
Worsley Arthur, joiner, 42 Bross croft
Worsley Henry, shopkeeper & commission agent, 40 Bross croft
Worth Henry, draper, 124 Station road
Wright Ellis & Son, hearth rug makers, Salisbury street
Wright James, postmaster, 72 Station road
Wyatt Mary A. (Mrs.), chemical manufacturer, Bross croft
Youles Robert, shopkeeper, Woolley bridge

PADFIELD.
Handforth James
Mapp Charles
Platt William, Padfield brook
Sargentson Mrs. Rosey Bank house
Sargentson William, Glenthorne
COMMERCIAL.
Ashton Ann (Mrs.), shpkpr. 77 Platt st
Bamford Samuel, Prince of Wales hotel
Bennett John Thomas, shopkeeper
Bennett Joseph, farmer, Brook farm
Bennett Joseph, farmer, Old House
Booth Albert, farmer, Windy Arbor
Booth William, Peel’s Arms Hotel
Bowden Edward, farmer, Torside
Bowden Hy. chip potato dlr. Temple st
Brierley Harry, farmer
Broadbent Samuel, farmer & shopkpr
Brookes Willis, shopkeeper
Brown Elizabeth (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 12 Lees row
Carver Joe, farmer
Darley John W. shopkpr. 15 Post st
Equitable Co-operative Society Lim. (James Harwood, sec.; Charles Loxley, treasurer)
Goddard Jabez Solomon, farmer, Little Padfield
Greenwood Edwd. Higher Deepclough
Greenwood Hy. farmer & tripe dresser
Hewitt George, shopkeepr. 12 Platt st
Handforth James, cashier at Messrs. Thomas Rhodes & Son, Hadfld. Mills
Howker Harriet (Mrs.) shpkpr. Platt st
Lyne Robert, confectioner
Oldfield Mark, farmer, Deep Clough
Padfield Liberal Club (Frank Sargentson, sec)
Platt E. & Co. grocers & tea dealers, 61 Platt street
Platt Edwd. Lim. cotton manufactrs
Platt Edward, butcher
Rhodes Thomas & Son, cotton spinners & manufctrs. Hadfield mills
Sargentson Jas. cotton waste dealer & blowing manufacturer
Turner Wm. wheelwright, 141 Platt st
Waterhouse Jsph. fruiterer, 24 Platt st
Whitehead Matthew, fancy draper & news vendor, 16 Platt street
Wild Charles, shopkeeper, 1 Post street

CHARLESWORTH, on the borders of Cheshire, is a township and parish, formed in 1849 from that of Glossop, including Chisworth and Simmondley, in the High Peak division of the county, hundred of High Peak, and in the petty sessional division, union and county court district of Glossop, rural deanery of Glossop, archdeaconry of Derby and diocese of Southwell. Charlesworth township is 1½ miles west from Dinting station on the Great Central railway, 2½ miles south-west from Glossop, 13 from Manchester and 200½ from London. The church of St. John the Baptist, erected in 1849, at a cost of £2,700, is a cruciform building of stone in the Early English style, consisting of chancel, nave, north porch and a tower on the north side forming a north transept, and containing one bell, dated 1849: there are 480 sittings, all being tree. The register dates from the year 1849. The living is a vicarage, net yearly value £165, with 3 acres of glebe and residence, in the gift of the Crown and Bishop of Southwell alternately, and held since 1878 by the Rev. George Collins M.A. of St. Catharine’s College, Cambridge, and ad eundem M.A. Oxon. There is a Congregational chapel (formerly a Catholic chapel) and a Particular Baptist chapel, built in 1835. Cotton spinning and rope and cotton hand making are carried on here. Lord Howard of Glossop is lord of the manor and the principal landowner. The soil is clay; subsoil, sandstone. The land is principally in pasture. The area is 3,322 acres; rateable value, £22,159; the population of the township in 1891 was 1,519, and of the ecclesiastical district 2,477.
Post, M. & T. O., T. M. O., Express Delivery, Parcel Post, S. B. & Annuity & Insurance Office. - Miss J. G. Scaife, sub-postmistress. Letters through Manchester via Broadbottom arrive at 8.10 a.m. & 6.15 p.m. & are dispatched at same times
Wall Letter Box, cleared at 8 a.m. & 6.30 p.m.; sundays, 10 a.m.
Schools.
National (mixed), for 360 children; average attendance, 250 ; William S. Llewellyn, master
Congregational, Charlesworth, erected in 1823, for 350 children; average attendance, 106; Mrs. Harrison, mist
Wesleyan, Chisworth (mixed), erected in 1871, for 130 children; average attendance, 72; Mrs. Phoebe Bagshaw, mistress
CHISWORTH is a township, 4 miles south-west from Glossop and about 1 mile, by field paths, from Mottram Station. Here are cotton mills and collieries. Chisworth House is the residence of James Brown esq. J.P. The acreage is 794; rateable value, £1,401; the population in 1891 was 436.
Wall Letter Box cleared at 8.30 a.m. & 5.45 p.m.
Wesleyan Methodist chapel, built in 1834, with a small burial ground attached.
GLOSSOP DALE RURAL DISTRICT COUNCIL. Meets at the Wesleyan school, Chisworth, on Mondays, monthly, at 6 p.m.
Clerk, Thomas Swindells Bowden, 3 Wellgate, Glossop
Treasurer, Thomas T. Kenyon, Manchester & Liverpool District Bank, Glossop
Medical Officer of Health, Duncan J. Mackenzie M.D., C.M. Loch Maree, North road
Sanitary Inspector, George Cooper, Lee Vale, Charlesworth
SIMMONDLEY is partly within Glossop borough, near the Great Central railway,1 mile south-west from Glossop.
Letters through Glossop, which is the nearest post, money order & telegraph office, arrive at 9 a.m. The nearest Letter Box is at Dinting
The children of this place attend the day schools at Charlesworth, Dinting & Whitfield
Congregational (branch) Sunday School, erected in 1884

CHARLESWORTH
George M.A. Vicarage
Moss Robert
Partridge Rev. Joseph Herbert (Indep)
Rowbottom James, Beech house
Rowbottom Joseph, Lee Vale house
Smith Crosland, Lee Vale cottage
Thornley James, Spring cottage
COMMERCIAL.
Ashton James (Mrs.), farmer, Warehouse fold
Ball William, farmer, Hargate hill
Heard Robert, farmer
Beaumont William (Mrs.) shopkeepr
Beswick Thomas, Bull’s Head P.H
Booth John & Son, cotton band manufacturers, Lee Vale rope works
Booth John, butcher
Booth John, farmer
Booth John, cotton band manufacturer, see George Booth & Sons
Booth Samuel, farmer, Springfield ho
Booth William, grocer, Lee Head
Boothby William, ironmonger, Lee vale
Bowden Levi, farmer
Bowers Edmund, slater & plasterer
Brown James & Co. bleachers, Chisworth Bleach works
Burdekin George, farmer, Woodseats
Charlesworth & Chisworth Conservative Club (Thomas Robinson, sec)
Charlesworth & Chisworth Liberal Club (Ben. Harrison Rowbottom. Sec)
Cooper Caleb, farmer
Cooper Edwin, insurance agent, May ho
Cooper George, farmer, Holehouse
Cooper Moses, tailor & grocer
Co-operative Stores (Geo. Hallas, sec)
Dakin Reuben, grocer & corn dealer
Davenport Thomas, Gray Mare inn
Drinkwater William, farmer
Fielding Sarah (Mrs.), draper
Garlick Ann (Mrs.), beer ret.& farmer
Garnett Richard, Horse Shoe inn
Goodwin Samuel, farmer
Hall Ben, shopkeeper
Hallas Ann (Mrs.), George & Dragon P.H
Harrison John, farmer, Coombs farm
Harrison William, farmer, Hargate Hill
Higgingbottom Joseph (Mrs.), farmr
Jackson Ralph, farmer
Longton Robert, farmer
McDougall Samuel, shopkeeper
McMinn John, insurance agent
Neal Edward, greengrocer
Patchett George, butcher
Preston & Mason, cotton waste manufacturers, Lee Valley mills
Ratcliffe John Harrison, cotton spinner & cotton band manfr. Kinderlee mills
Rowbottom Elizabeth (Mrs.), farmer, Moorside farm
Rowbottom James, cotton spinner & doubler & cotton band manufacturer, Holehouse mills & Hurst mills, Glossop
Rowbottom James, farmer
Rowbottom Joseph, shopkeeper
Scaife J. G. (Miss), sub-postmistress
Shaw Charles W. farmer
Shaw John, tailor
Smith Crosland, cotton band manufr
Smith John, farmer, Woodseats
Sykes Jonathan, slater & plasterer
Swallow John, quarry owner
Taylor William, joiner
Thornley Alice (Mrs.), grocer
Thornley James, wheelwright
Walker Abraham, farmer
West Joseph, farmer
Weston Joseph, farmer
Wild William, farmer, Wellhead farm
Wilde William, farmer
Willis Charles, boot ma. Lee vale
Wood Ralph & Samuel, wheelwrights & smiths

CHISWORTH.
Brown James J.P. Chisworth house
Clayton Mrs
Harrison Joseph, Fair view
Ratcliffe Mrs. Rarewood house
Rowbottom George, Chewwood
COMMERCIAL.
Ashton Hannah (Mrs.), farmr. Sandy la
Ashworth Wright, quarry owner
Beard Joel, farmer, Sandy lane
Cooper Caleb, farmer, Hill Top farm
Co-operative Stores (Geo. Hallas, sec)
Crowshaw John, shopkeeper
Goodman Samuel, farmer, Coombs frm
Hallas Esther (Mrs.), Commercial inn
Harrison G. Crowshaw, shopkeeper
Hyde Joseph, farmer, Highgate farm
Mycock William, farmer
Rowbottom James, cotton doubler, Chewwood
Rowbottom Jesse (Mrs.), frmr. Moorside
Salt Avis (Mrs.), farmer, Boarfold
Salt Charles, farmer, Sandy lane
Salt Charles, farmer, Sandy lane
Salt Eli, farmer, Boarfold
Sidebottom Ann (Mrs.), farmr. Sandy la
Thornley James, farmer
Thornley James, farmer, Tintacks frm
Thornley John, farmer
Varley Selina (Mrs.), shopkeeper
Wild Joseph, shopkeeper, Hole house

SIMMONDLEY.
Booth Mrs
Smith Alfred
COMMERCIAL
Bennett John, farmer, Plainstead
Bennett John, farmer, Cownedge
Brindley Thomas, farmer, Simmondley Hall farm
Bennett James, farmer
Charlesworth William, farmer
Dewsnap Samuel, farmer & beer ret
Dixon Peter, farmer
Higginbottom Hugh (Mrs.), farmer, Rose farm
Hill Jane (Miss), farmer
Hurst William (Mrs.), farmer
Jackson Albert, farmer
Kershaw John, farmer
Lyne George, cotton band manufr
Marshall Thomas, farmer
Newton Robert, slater & plasterer
Pickford A. & J. mineral water mnfrs
Bedford Joseph, farmer
Robinson Samuel, farmer
Shaw John James, cattle dealer
White Thomas, shopkeeper

HAYFIELD is a township and parish, formed in 1837 from that of Glossop and consisting of the hamlets of Great Hamlet, Phoside and Kinder, in the High Peak division of the county, Buxton and New Mills county court district, hundred of High Peak, petty sessional division of Chapel-en-le-Frith, Hayfield union, rural deanery of Glossop, archdeaconry of Derby and diocese of Southwell. Hayfield is the terminus of a branch line from New Mills on the Great Central railway, 5 miles south from Glossop station, 4 north from Chapel-en-le-Frith, 18 from Manchester, 10 from Buxton, 3 from New Mills and 11 south east from Stockport: the village, built of stone, has a scattered and bleak appearance, and is about 622 feet above the sea-level, standing on the banks of the Sett, a rapid mountain stream which rises on the western slopes of the Peak. The church of St. Matthew, situated between the Kinder stream and Phoside valley, was originally erected in 1400, and rebuilt in 1818 at a cost of £2,000, and is an edifice of stone in the Early English style, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles, south porch and an embattled western tower with pinnacles, containing a clock and 6 bells: the tower was rebuilt in 1894, and in 1898 the chancel was enlarged and decorated at a cost of £80: there is a monument with bust, by Bacon, to the late Joseph Hague esq. of Park Hall, d. 1786, and others to the Rev. John Badley, curate of Hayfield (1764), and to the Rev. George Buckley Bower B.D. rector of Great Billing, Northants, and archdeacon of Richmond, Yorks (1800: the stained east window was erected in Dec. 1879, by Mrs. Bennett, of Birch house, in memory of her husband; and there are others to the late Levi and Elijah Hall, Mrs. Hall, of Moorlands, and the late Wright Turner esq. (1881): the brass Eagle lectern was presented in 1891 by the present incumbent, at a cost of £100, as a memorial to his late wife, who died in 1890: the font, of Caen stone, is a memorial to Henry Clement Bain Walker, d. 1893, and was presented in March, 1899, by his father, Thomas Bain Walker esq. H.M. consul at Honolulu, Sandwich Islands: a brass ewer has been given by Miss B. E. E. Walker, and a new pulpit by C. Bennett esq. at a cost of £100: the church .affords 850 sittings, 50 being free: an additional burying ground of 1 acre was bought by a rate and consecrated in 1862: the Rev. John Wesley visited Hayfield and preached in the church in 1755, during the incumbency of Mr. Badley. The register dates from the year 1622. The living is a perpetual curacy, net yearly value £180, in the gift of the resident freeholders, and held since 1877 by the Rev. Ricketts Raymond Ricketts, of St. Bees: a parsonage house was erected in 1864, at a cost of £1,200. There are Wesleyan, Primitive Methodist and United Methodist chapels, and Liberal and Conservative clubs. The facilities for manufacture, owing, to the abundance of water, are very considerable, and two extensive calico-printing works are carried on, besides the print-works at Birch Vale, a mile south: there are also two paper mills at Bank Vale, and cotton mill at Little Hayfield: formerly a good deal of twine, locally known as “bant,” was made here: twice a year a shepherds’ meeting is held, when the various sheep marks are agreed upon and strayed sheep exchanged: fairs for cattle are held here May 12th and October 10th. The charities amount to £23 yearly for clothing, chiefly by the gift of the late Joseph. Hague esq. of Park Hall (1778): prior to 1820 the poor had a right of turfery on “ Old Pits,” a plot of 40 acres on Leygate Moor. Due south of Hayfield lies Chinley Tor, a steep and rugged mountain, 1,493 feet high, commanding fine views over the valley of the Goyt and the adjacent summit of Eccles Pike (1,225 feet) southwards ; to the west lie Whaley Moor (1,347 feet) and Sponds Hill (1,357 feet); northwards there is an extensive prospect over Disley, Poynton Park and the plains of Cheshire: this district is believed to have been at one time in Roman occupation, and some coins of the 8th century have been found on the Doctor’s road, near Bowden Bridge, one part of which road was paved: previously to 1830, the flat piece of ground near the Kinder Print Works was common land, and known as “ Cutlers’ Green,” cutlery having, it is said, been made here before its manufacture was known in Sheffield; halfway between this spot and Hayfield is the Whitworth well, famous for its curative properties. The village, from its peculiar situation, has always been liable to floods, one of which, in 1748, destroyed some lives, several water mills and part of the churchyard; in August, 1799, the bridge was washed away, and in 1809 a number of buildings; again, on the 16th June, 1858, the torrent tore up the mill weir and carried away the backs of four houses abutting on the stream. By an ancient custom Hayfield had the privilege of electing a mayor, an office which the late John Hobson esq. filled for thirty years : Joseph. Bowden esq. was elected mayor of Hayfield in 1844. Park Hall, now (1899) unoccupied, 1 mile north from Hayfield, was formerly the abode of the late Joseph Hague, a generous benefactor to this neighbourhood: he began life by selling small articles from a basket, and subsequently went to London, where in course of time he became an opulent merchant; he died at Park Hall on the 12th March, 1786, and was buried at Glossop. The Duke of Devonshire E.G., P.C. is lord of the manor; Francis J. Sumner esq. of Eathorpe Park, Leamington, Warwick, and James Watts are the principal landowners. The area of the township is 7,892 acres of land and 28 of water; rateable value, £13,886; the population of the township of Hayfield in 1891 was 2,856.
Parish Clerk, Alfred Shaw.
Post, M. O. & T. O., T. M. O., Express Delivery, Parcel Post, S. B. & Insurance & Annuity Office.- Mrs. J. S. Pursglove, sub-postmistress. Letters are received through Stockport at 6.25 a.m. & 3.30 p.m.; dispatched at 8.15 a.m. & 3 & 8 p.m.; on sundays arrive at 6.25 a.m.; dispatched at 7.20 p.m.
HAYFIELD RURAL DISTRICT COUNCIL.
Meets at Hayfield & Marple Bridge, fortnightly.
Clerk, Joseph Rose Bowden, High street, New Mills
Treasurer, Alfd. Smith, Manchester & County Bk. Stockport
Medical Officer of Health, Charles John Bennet M.R.C.S.Eng. 10 Hardwick street, Buxton
Sanitary Inspectors, John Fox Gee, Hayfield; Joseph Marsland, Mellor
HAYFIELD UNION.
Board day, monday, fortnightly.
Hayfield Union comprises the following places :- Disley Stanley (Cheshire), Hayfield, Mellor, New Mills & Newtown. The population of the union in 1891 was 12,873 ; area, 17,951 acres; rateable value in 1899, 61,441.
Clerk to the Guardians & Assessment Committee, Arthur Walker, Spring bank, New Mills Treasurer, Alfred Smith, Manchester & County Bank, Stockport
Relieving & Vaccination Officer, Thomas Mower, New Mills
Medical Officer & Public Vaccinator, James Edwin Anderton L.R.C.P.Edin. Spring bank, New Mills
Superintendent Registrar, Arthur Walker, Spring bank, New Mills; deputy, George H. Bailey, New Mills
Registrar of Births, Deaths & Marriages, George Walker, New Mills; deputy, A. Grundey, New Mills
Workhouse, Low Leighton, a building of stone, built in 1840, to hold 96 inmates; Henry Savage, master; medical officer, J. E. Anderton L.R.C.P.Edin. New Mills; Mrs. E. Savage, matron
Schools.
A School Board of 5 members was formed 9 April, 1881; John Fox Gee, clerk to the board
Board (mixed & infants), built in 1888, for 183 children.; average attendance, 175; Alfred Lowe, master; Miss Hayes, infants’ mistress
National (mixed & infants), erected in 1830 & enlarged in 1879, for 290 children; average attendance, 180; Thos. Beardwood, master; Miss Isabella Balford, infants’ mist
Railway Station, William Procter, station master
BIRCH VALE is a village, 2 miles east from New Mills, 1 mile west from Hayfield, with a station on the Great Central and Midland railways: calico printing is carried on here very extensively, and there are also quarries producing paving sets and wall stones, besides coal pits. Here is a Free Methodist chapel.
Post, M. O. & T. O., T. M. O., Express Delivery, Parcel Post, S. B. & Insurance & Annuity Office.- Arthur Hirst, sub-postmaster. Letters through Stockport arrive at 6.10 a.m. & 3.20 p.m. & are dispatched thereto at 8.15 a.m. & 3.45 & 8 p.m.
Railway Station, James Ryley, station master
LITTLE HAYFIELD is a hamlet three-quarters of a mile north of Hayfield, works, with a cotton mill, color and pigment works, and a Primitive Methodist chapel, built in 1851; there are sittings for 200 persons, 70 being free.

HAYFIELD.
PRIVATE RESIDENTS.
Ashurst Frederick M.B., C.M
Beardwood Thomas, Springwood villas
Bennett John, Holly house
Bennett Robert, Highgate house
Giveen Geo. Martin L.R.C.P. & S.Edin
Hadfield James, Swallow house
Hall Joe, South view
Leech Robert Marshall Mrs
Parry Robert G. Netherend villas
Ricketts Bev. Ricketts Raymond, Parsonage
Slack Albert, Oaklands
Slack Christopher J.P. Bank Vale ho
Walton Joseph, The Mount
Waterhouse Mrs. Fishers lodge
Waterhouse Mrs. Netherend villas
Waterhouse Mrs. Sude house
Wimpenny Abel Buckley, Oak villa
COMMERCIAL.
Ashby Thomas, shopkeeper
Ashton John F. blacksmith
Ashurst Fredk. M.B., O.M. Surgeon
Askham Walter, farmer, Shudehill
Barnes John, shopkeeper
Bennett Frank, butcher
Bennett James, butcher, Church st
Bennett James E. ironmonger
Bennett James T. stone merchant, Birdes quarry
Bennett Robert, blacksmith
Booth Joseph, clogger, Market street
Bradbury Joseph, butcher
Bradbury Mary (Mrs.), greengrocer. Church street
Bradbury Thomas, general dealer
Bramwell John, saddler
Brennand Herbert, confectioner
Brocklehurst Wright, grcr. & druggist
Brown Wm. Brittain, Bull’s Head P.H
Chatterton John Thos. drpr. High st
Conservative Club (Geo. Hare, sec)
Cooper Isabella (Miss), draper
Co-operative Stores (Robert Barber, manager)
Digby Joseph, beer retailer
Fielden John Bevan, Pack Horse inn
Garside Luke, stationer & tobacconist
Gee John Fox, assistant overseer, tax collector & sanitary inspector to rural district council, clerk to school board & clerk to parish cncl
Gee Joseph, joiner & confectioner
Giveen George Martin L.R.C.P. & L.R.C.S.Edin. Surgeon
Goodwin Thomas, beer retailer
Green Thomas, confectioner
Greenwood Thomas, butcher
Hadfield Benj. slater & plasterer
Hadfield James, shoe maker
Hallam Edward Montague, farmer
Hampson John, wheelwright
Handford Jane (Mrs.), grcr. & draper
Hayfield Coal Co. (Geo. Marriott, sec)
Hayfield Gas Works (John Brocklehurst, sec)
Hayfield Printing Co. Limited (Abel Buckley Wimpenny, manager)
Hill Walter, apartments
Hudson John, confectioner
Large William H. refreshment rooms
Lathams Limited, grocers, Church st
Liberal Club (Isaac Bowden, sec)
Lithgow John, cashier at Printworks, Sycamore house
Livesley Alfred & Son, chemists
Lomas John, Railway inn
Lowe Hannah (Mrs.), grocer & corn dealer, High street
Lowe Richard, stationer, Bridge end
Manchester & County Bank Limited (sub-branch), Church street; open Wednesday & Friday from 10 a.m. till 2 p.m.; draw on Union Bank of London Limited, London E C
Marshall Hannah & Martha Ann (Misses), dress makers
Marsland John, farmer, Shudehill
Mason Edwin, builder & ironmonger
Mason Thomas, stone dealer
Moseley John Edward, boot maker
Ollerenshaw Edwd. aparts. Grotto ho
Ollerenshaw Joseph, grocer
Ollerenshaw Joseph, wheelwright
Porritt Albert, farmer
Porritt Charles, butcher
Porritt James C. butcher
Porritt William, draper, joiner & wheelwright
Procter William, station master
Pursglove Benjamin, greengrocer
Pursglove Jn. (Mrs.), grcr. & postmist
Rangeley Ernest, boot maker
Renshaw John, beer retailer
Rose John, farmer, Cote lane
Rowbottom Jn. Charles, monumental mason, Park view & Bridge inn
Schofield Bold, tinplate worker
Shaw Alfred, refreshment rooms
Shephard John, mason
Shepherd Alfred J. Royal hotel
Shepley James, coal & coke merchant, Station yard
Shepley Jas. painter & apartments
Slack John, paper manufacturer, Bank Vale mills
Smith Thomas, grocer & draper
Swann Joseph, ironmonger
Swindells Henry, boot maker
Torkington John, farmer
Torkington John, pork butcher
Turner Elizabeth (Miss), fruiterer & fishmonger
Turner George, cooper
Walton Jsph. coal merchnt. The Mount
Walton Josiah, grocer
Warburton Bertram, hair dresser
Waterhouse Rebecca (Mrs.) aprtmnts
Waterhouse William, tailor
Wimpenny Abel Buckley, manager of the Hayfield Printing Co. Limited, Oak villa
Yates John, George hotel

LITTLE HAYFIELD.
COMMERCIAL.
Askham Jn. stone merchant & quarry owner, Hotel Bank quarries
Bradbury Saml, farmer, Hallett Hey
Bennett John & Co. pigment & color manufacturers, Primrose vale
Bowden Tom, farmer & steward to F. J. Sumner esq. Little Hayfield ho
Etchells Israel Smith, farmer, Spray ho
Garrett James, farmer, Blackshaw
Goddard Esther (Mrs.), farmer
Hadfield B. & Co. grocers
Hadfield Randal, frmr. Brown Hill frm
Hearsaum David, farmr. Soapy barn
Hearsum John, farmer, Brookhouses
Hibbert Thomas, farmer, Brookhouse
Hobson James, farmer, Ivy farm
Hudson Isaac, New inn, & joiner
Joyce Edward, beer retailer
Marriott Francis, farmer
Marsland Ben, farmer, High barn
Flatt Edward Limited, cotton manufacturers (E. Osbaldeston, manager)
Rose Isaac, farmer, Knars
Stafford Wm. farmer, Tom Hayes frm
Waterhouse Chas. farmer, Matley moor
Waterhouse Isaac, farmer, Lane head
Wild James, grocer

KINDER.
Downs John, Rock hall
Spencer Thomas, Stones house
Watts James, Farlands
Wilson William Henry, Kinder bank
COMMERCIAL.
Barnes Joseph, farmer, Lower house
Barnes Samuel, gamekeeper to James Watts esq
Bennett Thomas (Mrs.), farmer, Tunsted clough
Bradbury Edmd. frmr. Coldwll. Clough
Bradbury Thomas E. frmr. South head
Downs John, stone dealer, Rock hall
Gee John Thomas, farmer & auctioneer, Ashes
Hall Squire, stone dealer
Hall Thomas H. Sportsman inn
Kinder Fire Brigade (Thomas Hodgson, superintendent)
Kinder Printing Co. Limited, calico printers, Kinder works
Marriott George, cashier at Bander Printing Co. Limited, Spring bank
Marriott Samuel, farmer, Hill house
Marriott Saml, farmer, Upper house
Needham John Wm. farmer, Booth
Ripley Jas. farmer, Hill House farm
Vernon John, farmer, Kinder head
Wardle Bros, stone dlrs. Ellerbank

PHOSIDE.
Balsford Joseph, farmer, Chinley head
Barber John, farmer, New house
Bennett John P. farmer, Hills farm
Brocklehurst Eli Adam. frmr. Ridge top
Brocklehurst Squire, frmr. Lit. Ridge
Cooper James, farmer, Chinley head
Cooper John, farmer, Highgate head
Ford James, farmer
Green James, farmer, Stubbs
Hadfield Eli, farmer
Hadfield Thomas, farmer, Highgate
Higginbottom Rowland, farmer, Barnesfold
Hudson James, farmer, Ridge Top la
Hudson Joseph, frmr. Clough head
Jepson Charles, farmer, Ridge top
Mason Edwin, joiner, Phoside view
Mason Thomas, quarry owner, Chinley Moor house
Moorcroft John, farmer, Chinley moor
Morton John, farmer, Heys
Porritt Albert, plasterer
Porritt John, farmer, Ridge Top lane
Porritt Ralph, farmer, Hazelhurst

BIRCH VALE.
Beck Frederick, Fair view
Bennett Joseph, Westwood
Bennett Miss, Meadow nook
Bennett Thomas J.P. Birch Yale ho
Chambers John, Higher cliffe
Hall Misses, Moorland house
Holland Alexander, Netherhey
Pearson Mrs. Hall bank
Shaw Henry P., J.P. Heatfield
Turner Mrs. John, Spring villas
Wilks Captain James, Higher cliffe
Williams Hubert, Sunnyside
Wyatt Walter, Birch Vale crescent
COMMERCIAL.
Ashton Isaac, farmer, Bank head
Ashton Isaac, farmer, Coldharbour
Ashton James, farmer, Ravensleach
Askham John, quarry owner
Barker Thomas B. Birch Hall inn
Barker William, farmer, Higginbottom
Baiter James, black cutter
Beard Richard, butcher
Bennett Charles E. & Co. Limited, yarn bleachers & sizers
Bennett John & Sons, calico printers
Bennett James, stone dealer
Bennett Thomas, calico printer, see John Bennett & Sons
Burgess George,farmer, Weathercoates
Chambers John, farmer, Higher cliffe
Chapman William, surgeon
Clayton James, Grouse inn
Hall Charles, greengrocer
Hampson Jn. M. coal mer. Railway yd
Hibbert Geo. Hy. frmr. Lower cliffe
Hudson Joseph, builders’ merchant
Hirst Arthur, grocer, Post office
Johnson Levi, farmer, Highwalls
Lowe John & Son, coal merchants, Railway yard
Mellor Thomas, joiner
New Mills Coal Co. (Norman Hyde, manager), Railway yard
Ramwell Samuel, shoe maker
Randles William Bate, shopkeeper
Robinson Hugh, Sycamore inn
Ryley James, station master
Wardle James, farmer, Birch hall
Wild John, farmer, Thackstop farm
Williams Hubert, private tutor, Sunnyside
Williamson Joseph, stone dealer
Wyatt Dennis & Sons, draprs. & grcrs

CHINLEY, BUGSWORTH and BROWNSIDE form a township in the ancient parish of Glossop (the three places being united for poor rates), in the High Peak division of the county, High Peak hundred and Chapel-en-le-Frith petty sessional division, union and county court district.
CHINLEY is 2 miles north from Chapel-en-le-Frith, with station for passenger and goods traffic on the Midland railway, 172 miles from London. The Dore and Chinley branch of the Midland railway, constructed in 1894, and including a fine viaduct, joins the Ambergate and Manchester branch here. Here is an endowed Congregational chapel and Sunday school, the school receiving one half of the rents and profits arising from the Town Hall of Chapel-en-le-Frith, through the will of the late Thomas Slack esq. M.D. Here are also bleaching, sheet wadding and cotton wool mills.
BUGSWORTH is 9 miles south from Glossop, 3 west- north-west from Chapel-en-le-Frith, 9 north-north-west from Buxton and 168 by road from London and 173 by rail, on the borders of Cheshire and divided from that county by the river Goyt, which is here crossed by a stone bridge. The Midland railway has a station here, and parcels by passenger trains addressed to residents in this township should be forwarded by that line and not via Whaley Bridge. Here also is the terminus of the Peak Forest canal, running to Manchester, Macclesfield, Staffordshire, Huddersfield and Wakefield. The Peak Forest Tramway also commences here, terminating at Dove Holes, and is used for carrying mineral produce and goods in conjunction with the canal. St. James’ church, built in 1874 at a cost of £1,500, is a building in a modern Romanesque style, and consisting of apsidal chancel, nave of three bays and a bell-cot containing one bell: the church will seat about 200 people, and is under the control of the Rev. Adam Pyle Hamilton-Wilson. vicar of Glossop; the Rev. James Bower, of St. Aidan’s. has been curate-in-charge since 1885. A burial ground was consecrated here in 1879, the land being conveyed to special diocesan trustees for interments according to the rites of the Church of England only. There is » Primitive Methodist chapel here, built in 1876, and seating 200; the Congregationalists hold services in a public schoolroom. Large quantities of lime and grit stone are obtained from the local quarries, which are extensively worked: there is also a colliery and a lime kiln. Lord Howard of Glossop is lord of the manor of Bugsworth.
BROWNSIDE is 2 miles east from Chinley and 1½ north from Chapel-en-le-Frith. The land is held by numerous small owners. The soil is a dark loam; subsoil, grit stone. The land is chiefly used for grazing purposes. The area is 3,817 acres of land and 14 of water; rateable value, £12,500; the population in 1891 was 1,542.
Post & M. O. O., S. B. & Annuity & Insurance Office, Chinley.- Henry Gregory, sub-postmaster. Letters arrive from Stockport at 7.45 a.m.; dispatched at 7 p.m. week days only. The telegraph office is at the railway station, which is open from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Post & M. O. O., S. B. & Annuity & Insurance Office, Bugsworth. - Henry Pearson, sub-postmaster. Letters arrive from Stockport, via Whaley Bridge, at about 7 a.m. & 5.30 p.m.; dispatched at 10 a.m. & 6.30 p.m. on week days only. Whaley Bridge is the nearest telegraph office, 2 miles distant
Post Office, Chapel Milton. - Mrs. Sarah Bramwell, sub- postmistress. Letters arrive from Chapel-en-le-Frith at about 7.30 a.m.; dispatched at 9.30 a.m. & 7.30 p.m. on week days only. P. O. O. issued, but not paid. Chapel-en-le-Frith is the nearest money order & telegraph office, 2 miles distant
Brownside letters arrive from Stockport, via Chapel-en-le- Frith.
Wall Letter Box, New Smithy, cleared at 7.15 p.m.
Schools.
A School Board for the districts of Chinley, Bugsworth & Brownside was formed 29 Sept. 1883, consisting of 5 members; J. B. Boycott, clerk, Chapel-en-le-Frith; George W. Hobson, attendance officer
Board (mixed), Chinley, erected in 1886, at a cost of £850, for 150 children; average attendance, 100; Henry Mellor, master
Board (mixed, Bugsworth, erected 1878, & enlarged in 1894, for 200 children; average attendance, 100; Saml. Schofield, master
Railway Stations.
Bugsworth, Thomas Cooper, station master
Chinley, Henry Ianson, station master

CHINLEY.
Brelsford Joseph, Chinley head
Moore Rev. James Edwin, Congregational manse, Chapel Milton
Thorp John, White hall
COMMERCIAL.
Barnes Joseph, coal mer. Midland yd
Braddock John, farmer, Dry clough
Bramwell Sarah (Mrs.), shopkeeper & post office, Chapel Milton
Bridgeholme Wadding Manufacturing Co. Lim. wadding manufacturers
Brocklehurst Joseph, farmer
Cooper Charles, farmer, Higher Ashen clough
Cooper George, farmer, Andrew’s frm
Cresswell John Thomas, farmer & coal merchant, Leaden knowl
Dunn George B. mill manager, Bridgeholme house
Edwards Jsph. shopkpr. Chapel Milton
Fletcher Thomas, joiner & farmer, Green Hunters
Goddard Albt. butcher, Leaden knowl
Goddard George, farmer, Springfield
Goddard James, farmer, Platts farm
Green John, farmer
Gregory Henry, coal merchant & shopkeeper, Post office
Gregory Mary (Mrs.), farmer, Lower Ashton clough
Hadfield George & Sons, grocers & general provision dealers, corn, flour & seed mers. farmers & butchers
Hadfield J. J. towel bleacher, Forge Bleach works
Hadfield James, farmer, East view
Hamer Maria (Mrs.), farmer, Bradshaw barn
Handforth Thomas, farmer, Hallgate
Hudson Charles Wyatt, carpenter
Hudson Hannah (Mrs.), farmer, Moseley house
Joule Eliza. (Miss), farmer, Wicken
Kirk Thomas, Lamb inn
Kirk William, baker, Stubbins
Longden John, farmer, Slack’s farm
Longden William, farmer, White know & Hall farm
Marriott Esther (Mrs.), frmr. Red mires
Middleton Richard, plumber & glazier
Porritt James, farmer, Bole hill
Simpson Eliza (Mrs.), shopkeeper, New Smithy
Simpson Moses, mason & farmer, New Smithy
Simpson Walt, butcher, Chapel Milton
Simpson Zachariah, frmr. Squirrel frm
Taylor Eliza (Mrs.), farmer, Black Lane head
Taylor Tom, Squirrel inn
Waterhouse Thomas, insurance agent, Four Lane ends
Wilks George, Cross Keys P.H. Chapel Milton

BUGSWORTH.
Anderson Mrs. Carrington house
Bower Rev. James (curate in charge), Parsonage
Pass Edwin, Daisy bank
COMMERCIAL.
Ashton, Peak Forest & Macclesfield Canals (John Worth, agent), Canal office (Gt. Central Rlwy. Co. proprs)
Broadhurst Jas. Wm. farmr. Haugh
Broadhurst Joseph, farmr. Cote bank
Buxton Lime Firms Co. Lim. (The) (Henry Alfred Hubbersty, general manager), lime burners
Bugsworth Colliery (exors. of) (John Drinkwater, proprietor)
Carrington Edward, frmr. Clough head
Carrington James,farmer, Knowl top
Carrington Nancy (Mrs.), Bull’s Head P.H
Drinkwater Elizabeth (Mrs.), farmer, Clifton house
Drinkwater John (exors. of), farmer, Green bottom
Drinkwater John, farmer, Meadows
Goddard John T. grocer & draper, Gnat hole
Hall George, draper, Brierly green
Hall Matthew, Navigation inn
Linnell & Pass, wire-spring makers, Britannia works
Lupton Robert, farmer, Brierley green
Pearson Henry, grocer & post office
Proctor Francis, farmer
Proctor Joseph, farmer, Green head
Ratcliff Ann (Mrs.), shopkeeper
Shirt Hannah (Mrs.), shopkeeper
Sidebotham David, shoe maker
Simpson John, farmer
Wetters Adolphus C. vaccination officer for Chapel-en-le-Frith district & assistant overseer, Bugsworth hall
Whitehough Co-operative Society Lim. (Joseph Ford, sec)
Yates John, farmer, Lane side
Yates William, farmer, Hill

BROWNSIDE.
Barnes Robert, farmer, Upper fold
Cooper Peter, farmer, The Beet
Goddard Eliza (Mrs.), farmer, New ho
Hadfield John, farmer, Breck head
Hadfield Wm. farmer, Shire oakes
Simpson Samuel, farmer, Upper fold
Yates William, farmer, Gosty lowe

MELLOR, is a township, chapelry and parish, 2 miles east from Marple station on the Ambergate and Manchester section of the Midland railway, 8 miles south-south-west from Glossop, 7 north-east from Stockport, 9 west from Chapel-en-le-Frith and 173 from London by road and 177 by Midland railway, in the High Peak division of the county and hundred, Glossop petty sessional division, Hayfield union, rural deanery of Glossop, archdeaconry of Derby and diocese of Southwell, divided from Cheshire by the rivers Goyt and Etherow. The church of St. Thomas is a building of stone in the Perpendicular style, consisting of chancel, nave, south porch and a western embattled tower with pinnacles containing 3 bells and a clock, the first and third of which are dated respectively 1639 and 1615: there is a stone font of very early date and an oak pulpit, both curiously carved: there are several stained windows, including memorials to Mr. Pearson, of Stockport, Edith Jane Bagnall and Jonas Craven esq, J.P.: the church was restored during the period 1873-91, at a cost of about £800, and affords 600 sittings: in the churchyard is a gravestone recording the deaths of a man and his five wives. The register of baptisms dates from the year 1629. The living is a vicarage, net yearly value £150, including 41 acres of glebe, in the gift of and held since 1859 by the Rev. Thomas Matthew Freeman, Lic. Theol of Durham University and surrogate. A charity of £7 5 s. yearly, left in 1818 by the Rev. Francis Gisborne, formerly rector of Staveley, and Stafford’s charity of 29s. yearly, are for clothing. There is a Primitive Methodist chapel, built in 1827, and a Free Methodist chapel, built in 1850. Cotton spinning and bleaching are carried on in the neighbourhood, but the collieries are not now worked. The principal landowners are Frederic Chariest Arkwright esq. of Willersley, Matlock, the trustees of the late John Craven esq. of Mellor Hall, who are lords of the manor, Jonathan Jowett esq. of Lower Hall and Ralph Wood esq. The soil is various; subsoil, gritstone. The chief crops are hay and the land is in pasture. The township contains 2,343 acres of land and 19 of water; rateable value, £6,332; the population in 1891 was 1,096 in the township and 2,900 in the ecclesiastical district.
Post Office. - Stephen Marshall, sub-postmaster. Letters arrive at 7.30 a.m. from Stockport; dispatched at 6.25 p.m. Postal orders are issued here, but not paid. The nearest money order & telegraph office is at Marple Bridge, 2 miles distant
A School Board of five members was formed 9 June, 1894, J. Marsland, clerk to the board Endowed Board School (mixed), founded in 1639, by Thomas Walklate & others, with an endowment of £20 yearly paid to the School fund, & rebuilt 1881, for 200 children ; average attendance, 80; William Henry Smith, master
LUDWORTH is a township in Mellor parish, Glossop union, 6 miles south-west from Glossop, adjoining the Marple junction on the Sheffield and Midland railway. Here is a Primitive Methodist chapel built in 1875. There are quarries producing wall stones and paving setts. The area is 1,545 acres; rateable value, £4,753; the population in 1891 was 1,804.
Wall Letter Boxes, Mill Brow, cleared at 6.45 p.m. & Lane Ends 7 p.m.
COMPSTALL EOAD is a place in this township, consisting of one long street, on rising ground, 1 mile east from Marple station. Here is a Primitive Methodist chapel built 1867, also a mission room and library. Ernocroft is the residence of George Henry Hill esq. C.E. Names of residents at Compstall Bridge are given in the Cheshire Directory.
MARPLE BRIDGE is a place in this township, built on the east bank of the river Goyt, and has a junction station on the Sheffield and Midland railway. The surrounding scenery is very picturesque, and many villa residences, chiefly of merchants- and manufacturers from the neighbouring towns, have been built on the adjacent hill sides. The Catholic church of St. Mary was erected in 1859 at the expense of the late Lord Howard of Glossop : there is also a Congregational chapel.
Post, M. O. & T. O., T. M. O., Express Delivery, Parcel Post, S. B. & Annuity & Insurance Office.- Mrs. Margaret Staveley Smith, sub-postmistress. Letters, arrive via Stockport at 5.30 & 10 a.m.; dispatched at 9.45 a.m. & 3.45 & 8.20 p.m.
Catholic School (mixed), for 100 children; average attendance, 75; Miss Mary Flynn, mistress
Names of residents at Marple & Lower Marple are given in the Cheshire Directory

MELLOR.
(Marked thus * receive their letters through New Mills.)
PRIVATE RESIDENTS.
Burrows Charles, Mellor hall
Chell George, Woodbine cottage
Clark Alex
Cowen James, Florence villa
Fortune Robert, Brook house
Freeman Rev. Thomas Matthew L.Th. Vicarage
Furniss Edwin, Strawberry hill
Hurst Thomas, Cheetham
Jowett Jonathan, Lower hall
Jowett William, Mansion house
Kershaw Binns, Lower cliffe
Pollard James, Lily bank
Pridham Miss
Smith, Blake, Brook Lea
Spencer J. Frederick, Higher cliffe
Stock William, Salisbury house
*Wild John, Lark hill
Wilson Thomas B. Hollyvale
Winstanley Rev. Canon James Andrew M.A. Tardin
Wood Guy, Torr Top
Wood Ralph, Church villa
COMMERCIAL.
Appleton Squire, farmer, White house
Ashworth Thomas, farmer
Barber John, farmer, Brookbottom
Beard James, farmer, Smooth lea
Beard Samuel, farmer, Hill top
Bennett James, farmer, Cannon hill
Bowden Benjamin, farmer, Drakecarr
Bradbury Jsph. shopkpr. Lower hall
Bradbury Saml, farmer, Linnett clough
Bradbury Wm. farmer, Tarden farm
Bradley John, farmer, Lane head
Bullock Samuel, farmer, Heathy bank
Burgess John, beer retailer
Charlesworth Jn. frmr. Bradshaw trees
Clayton Francis, farmer, Snapehey
Collier Charles, farmer, Crossgates
Collier Elizabeth (Mrs.) (exors. of), farmer, Windy bottom
Critchlow George, farmer, Nortonslee
Downs Joseph, farmer, Shirdfields
Hurness Edwin, frmr. Strawberry hill
Gee John, farmer, Horsepool
Girls’ Home (Mrs. Mary Ann Petts, matron), Ivy cottage
Goddard John T. farmer,Higher cliffe
Goddard John William, Sportsman’s Arms P.H. & farmer
Goodwin Joseph, farmer, Springbank
Griffiths John, shopkeeper
Hadfield John, frmr. Mellor Hall farm
Hadfield Thomas, farmer, Cobden edge
Hambleton Peter, farmer
Harrop John, farmer, Oak farm
Harrop Wm. Royal Oak P.H. & farmer
Heckingbottom John, farmer
Hinchcliffe James, farmer, Longshaw clough
Hinchliffe Frederick B. confectioner
Hinchliffe Jsph. farmer. Low Bradshaw
Hudson Jas. farmer, Chatterton lane
Hudson Ralph, farmer & stone merchant, Chatterton lane
Jowett Jonathan, quarry owner
Jowett William, wadding manufacturer, Cataract mills
Leech Annie (Miss), dress maker
Lindley Ellen (Mrs.), farmer, Cheetham hill
Lomas John, farmer, Shiloh
Longson Robt. frmr. Bradshaw farm
Marsden Midgley, farmer, Horsepool
Marshington Sarah (Mrs.), farmer, Bradshaw
Marsland Joseph, assistant overseer & sanitary inspector to Hayfield Rura1 District Council; assistant overseer & clerk to the school board
Mellor Cricket Club (George Chell, hon. sec)
Mellor Lawn Tennis Club (Frank Parkinson hon. sec)
*Moult John, surveyor & estate agent, Lower cliffe
Nadin Aaron, farmer, Birchenough
Nadin John, farmer, Higher bangs
Needham Isaac, frmr. Cobden Edge frm
Neild John, farmer, Hollywood end
Nield Robert, shopkeeper
Oldfield Joseph, farmer, Worthington
Pickford Chas. farmer, Townscliffe
Pickford Joseph, farmer, Meadows
Pike William, shopkeeper
Potts Alfred, grocer
Potts Lewis, butcher
Pownall Ann Jane (Mrs.), farmer
Ramie Manufacturing Co. Lim. cotton manufacturers, Primrose mill
Ratcliffe John G. cotton spinner & bleacher, Hollyvale mills
Redford Mary Ellen (Miss), farmer, Cheetham hill
Richardson Chas. farmer, Greenclough
Richardson John, farmer, Holly vale
Rowbotham Jn. blacksmith & carrier
Schofield John, shoe ma. Sun Dials
Sigley Thomas, Devonshire Arms P.H
Simpson Joseph, farmer, Smooth lea
Stafford Edwin, farmer, Paradise farm
Stafford Lettice (Mrs.), farmer
Taylor John, farmer, Bangs farm
Taylor John, farmer, Higher banks
Taylor Wm. farmer, Clough farm
Taylor Wm. farmer, Linnett clough
Turner William Thomas, butcher
Tymm Joseph, farmer, Old hall
Walkden Jas. Oddfellows’ Arms P.H
Walker Phineas, farmer, Cheetham hill
Wild John, farmer, Hollywoods farm
Wild Peter, farmer, Higher Tarden
Wood Ralph, cotton bleacher, Hollyhead works

LUDWORTH.
Ardern James
Brown George Walter, Bleak house
Hilton Samuel, Heath bank
Penny James Arthur, Hempfield cot
Rowbottom Mrs. Newport villas
Wainwright Joel J.P., F.C.A.Finchwd
Woodhouse Percy, Longwood
COMMERCIAL.
Beard Sml. Hare & Hounds P.H. Millbrow & farmer, Smithy lane
Bowden Samuel, farmer, Heys
Dawson Peter B. farmer, Millbrow
Fearnaley Thomas, farmer, Greengate
Hague Thos. beer retailer, Lane ends
Hambleton Nathan, farmer, Hollins
Harrison Benjamin (exors. of), farmer, Earnicroft
Harrison John, farmer, Sun hill
Hartle William, farmer, Smithey lane
Hayward Thomas, beer retailer
Higginbottom Jesse, farmer & assistant overseer, Lane ends
Higginbottom Squire, farmer, Cowhey
Higginbottom Wright, farmer, Loads
Howell Lawrence, beer retailer & shopkeeper, Lane ends
Hudson Geo. farmer & quarry owner, Clough end
Hudson John, farmer
Jackson Joseph, farmer, Stirrup
Pott William, farmer, Woodheys
Ratcliffe John G. candlewick manufacturer, Hollybank
Rowarth Joel, farmer, Cote green
Salt John, farmer, Stirrup
Shirt Robt. stone mer. Loads quarry
Thorpe John, farmer, Ludworth houses
Wild George, beer retlr. Millbrow
Wood George, farmer, Earnicroft
Wood Robert, farmer, Broadstone
Wood Saml. (Mrs.), farmer, Broadstne
Wood Sarah (Mrs.), farmer, Millbrow
Wormald John, farmer, Cowhey

MARPLE BRIDGE
PRIVATE RESIDENTS.
Adams Alfred Seddon, Lower fold
Flowerdew Charles, Ashdene
Glossop Joseph, Wood eaves
Holmes Daniel G. Ludworth house
Humphreys James Maxwell
Hyde Samuel B. Ashdene
Ingleby George, Ingleside
Jenkinson Joseph Arthur
Marsland George, South lea
McSweeney Rev. Cornelius (Catholic), St. Mary’s
Peate Robert T. Lee cottage
Platt James, Lower fold
Ratcliffe John G. The Oaks
Thornton John A. Mayfield
Toothill Rev. Alfred (Congregational)
Wood Ralph, The Poplars
COMMERCIAL.
Andrews Ann (Mrs.) shopkeeper
Ardern Jas. Saml. frmr. & confectnr
Ardern Samuel, Pear Tree P.H
Bradbury Joseph, butcher
Buck William, iron & tinplate worker
Chadwick James, Horse Shoe P.H
Compstall Co-operative & Industrial Society Limited
Eaves Beatrice (Mrs.), milliner
Fernley Emily (Mrs.), dress maker
Gee John Thomas, auctioneer
Heginbotham Ann (Miss), hair dresser
Hibbert Matilda. Octavia (Miss), shopkeeper
Higginbotham Ralph T. boot & shoe ma
Hyde Mary L. (Mrs.), shopkeeper
Ingham Chas. (exors. of), blacksmiths
Jenkinson Joseph Arthur L.S.A. srgn
Kennerley Harry S. photographer
Kirby Florence (Miss), fancy draper
Longley Mary Goddard (Mrs.), chemist
Lydiate George, confectioner
Marple Gas Co. Limited (Charles Johnson, sec)
Mayall Elizabeth (Mrs.), Railway inn
Pownall Livinia (Mrs.), grocer
Smith Margaret Staveley (Mrs.), shopkeeper & sub-postmistress
Yarwood Emmanuel, builder
Yarwood John, spade & shovel maker & ironmonger
Yates George, Norfolk Arms & posting house

COMPSTALL ROAD.
Cochrane John E
Hill George Henry C.E. Ernocroft
Turner William A. Poplar grove
COMMERCIAL.
Artingstall Jn. Compstall Gardens P.H
Barber William, beer retailer
Bonyd Mary Ann (Miss), shopkeeper
Bowden Joseph, shopkeeper
Bridge John Edward, George hotel
Broughton Mary (Mrs.), fried fish dlr
Compstall Co-operative & Industrial Society Lim. (Jas. Ardern, mangr)
Compstall & Ludworth Liberal Club (Robert Walker, sec)'
Eaves Oswald, shopkeeper
Gatenby John B. boot & shoe maker
Hinchcliffe Francis, farmer
Lomas Joe, butcher
Moyst Henry, beer retailer
Ogden Frank, Windsor Castle P.H
Petty William (Mrs.), butcher
Sidebottom James, beer retailer
Smith Joseph, painter
Smith Thomas, shopkeeper
Vinden Edward, greengrocer
Wild John, shopkeeper
Woolley Mary Alice (Miss), shopkpr

NEW HILLS, originally called “Bowden Middle Cale,” derives its present name from a corn mill built upon the Kinder, in the hamlet of Ollerset; it is a township and parish, formed in 1884 from Glossop parish, and comprising the hamlets of Beard, Ollerset, Thornset and Whitle, in the High Peak division of the county, hundred of High Peak, Hayfield union, Chapel-en-le-Frith petty sessional division and county court district, rural deanery of Glossop, archdeaconry of Derby and diocese of Southwell. It formerly comprised seven hamlets, but has been divided, three of the hamlets being attached to Hayfield, and the remaining four now forming the township and parish. New Mills is a large village, on the river Goyt, 7½ miles south-west from Glossop, 8 south-east from Stockport, 170 from London by road, and by railway, St. Pancras 173, Euston 192 miles. The London and North Western and Midland railways have stations here, and there is a branch line from the latter to Hayfield.
It was under the control of a Local Board from 1875, but under the provisions of the “Local Government Act, 1894” (56 and 57 Vict. c. 73), an urban district council is now the governing authority. The urban district comprises the new parish of Newtown, formed from Disley in Cheshire under the provisions of the “Local Government Act, 1894.”
The church of St. George, locally in the township of Beard, was erected in 1831, and is a building of stone, in the Pointed style, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles, south and west porches, and an embattled western tower with pinnacles and spire, containing 6 bells, presented in 1898 by James Hibbert esq. J.P.; the stained east window was presented by Mrs. John Mackie; and there are several other memorial windows, also a monument to James Ingham esq. J.P. (1868), and a brass to his widow (Sept. 1875) : the font is a memorial to John Taylor esq. J.P. and the lectern was given by the parishioners, as a memorial to the wife of the present vicar: the church was renovated in 1897 and affords 850 sittings, 330 being free. The register dates from the year 1831 and. is in good condition. The living is a vicarage, net yearly value £300, with residence, in the gift of the vicar of Glossop, and held since 1869 by the Rev. Frederick William Newman M.A. of St. Peter’s College, Cambridge. The church of St. James the Less, a chapel of ease to St. George’s, a building in the Lancet style of the 13th century, was erected in 1880-1, at a cost of £2,750, by John Mackie esq. of Crigglestone, Yorks, and New Mills, and Mary, his wife, together with the almshouses adjoining, as a memorial to James Ingham esq. and Martha, his wife, the parents of Mrs. Mackie, formerly resident at New Mills, and consists of apsidal chancel and nave, north porch, organ chamber and vestry, and western turret containing one bell: in the apse are three stained windows and at the west end is a stained window presented by Mr. and Mrs. Mackie: the pulpit and font are of carved stone: the communion plate and linen were given by the parishioners and the brass lectern by the late R. B. Mackie esq. M.P. and his daughter Edith: there are 150 sittings. The Catholic church, dedicated to St. Mary, and erected in 1846, is a building of stone, in the Early English style consisting of chancel, nave, aisles, and a western tower with spire, containing one bell: an altar has been erected by Dennis Lane esq. of London. The Wesleyan chapel, St. George’s road, was erected about 1810, and has an attached cemetery; the Primitive Methodist chapel, Spring Bank, was built in 1876; and the Free Methodist chapel, Spring Bank, built in 1838, was rebuilt in 1892. The almshouses, six in number, erected from the designs of Mr. W. Swinden Barber F.R.I.B.A. are built on three sides of a quadrangular plot of land near Spring Bank, in New Mills; the dwellings occupying the north and a portion of the east side of a quadrangle, the west and south sides of which are appropriated to the church; they are occupied by 11 poor and aged persons, who receive a weekly allowance from Mrs. Mackie. The Public Hall, erected in 1871, at a cost of £2,500, was opened in the same year by the late Duke of Devonshire K.G., P.O.: a tower was added in 1875, and a clock with chimes presented by the late Mrs. Ingham, of Watford Villa: the lower rooms are divided into offices and board room: the Savings Bank also occupies a room here, which is open on Saturdays from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m.: the general management of the building is now in the hands of the local authority. A county court is held here alternately with Buxton and Chapel-en-le-Frith, on Mondays. Cattle fairs are held on May 11th and October 7th. Here are iron and brass foundries, calico printing and bleach works, cotton spinning and cotton band manufactories. The drinking fountain in front of the Public Hall was erected in 1892 as a memorial to John Mackie esq. The late James Ingham esq. of Watford Villa, left £500 in 1868, the interest of which is applied to the education and clothing of poor children in the township: Trickett’s charity consists of the rent of a farm at Sparrowpit, near Chapel-en-le-Frith, now (1899) let for £24 per year, which sum is in part distributed in clothing to poor persons and also applied to education of the children of the parish. The principal landowners are Earl Egerton of Tatton and Francis John Sumner esq. of Park Hall, Hayfield. The soil is clay; subsoil, clay. The area of the parish is 5,042 acres of land and 36 of water; rateable value, £23,684; area of the Urban district, 5,205 acres; rateable value, £28,826; the population in 1891 was parish, 5,498, and of the Urban district, 6,661; the population in 1898 was 6,750.
High Lee, Lady Shaw Bottom and Watford are places in the village.
Post, M. O. & T. O., T. M. O., Express Delivery, Parcel Post, S. B. & Annuity & Insurance Office.- George Walker, sub-postmaster. Letters are received via Stockport, delivered at 7 a.m. & 3.30 p.m.; dispatched at 10.45 a-m- & 8.20 p.m.; on sundays at 7.30 p.m. Money orders are granted & paid from 9 a.m. till 8 p.m.; on Saturday till 8 p.m.
Wall Letter Boxes, Bridge street, cleared at 10.15 a.m. & 8 p.m.; & High street, cleared at 10.20 a.m. £ 8 p.m.
COUNTY MAGISTRATES for New Mills Sub-Division of Chapel-en-le-Frith Petty Sessional Division.
Arnfield Joseph esq. High Lea hall, New Mills, Stockport
Bagnall Walter George esq. Aspenshaw hall, Thornset New mills, Stockport
Bennett Thomas esq. Birch Vale house, near Stockport
Carver Thomas esq. The Hollins, Marple, Stockport
Hibbert James esq. Fern Bank, New Mills, Stockport
Hodgkinson Samuel esq. Poise house, Tokington, Cheshire
Rumney William Edward esq. Watford lodge, New Mills, Stockport
Slack Christopher esq. Hayfield, Stockport
Turner Lieut.-Col Henry, Cale Green, Stockport
Wainwright Joel esq. Ludworth, Marple Bridge, Stockport
Clerk to the Magistrates, John Burton Boycott, Public Hall, New Mills & Chapel-en-le-Frith
Petty sessions are held in the Public Hall monthly, on Wednesdays at 10.30 a.m. with an occasional court when required
URBAN DISTRICT COUNCIL.
Offices, Public Hall.
Council meetings second & last Wednesday in month at 7 p.m.
Chairman, Alfred J. Redfern.
Vice-Chairman, Hugh Robinson.
Retire in April, 1900: John Thomas Heginbotham, Thomas Waterhouse, Robert Oldham, Daniel Wood
Retire in April, 1901: Edward Godward, Eli Marsland, James John Hadfield, Joseph Pott
Retire in April, 1902: John Cochrane, Hugh Robinson, Alfred Isaac Redfern, John Thomas Wharmby
Officers.
Clerk, Joseph Pollitt, Public hall
Treasurer, Henry Barber, Spring bank
Medical Officer of Health, James Edwin Anderton L.R.C.P Edin. Thornfield
Surveyor, Edward Jones, Public hall
Sanitary Inspector & Inspector of Canal Boats, Henry Richardson
Collector, George Platt
County Court, Public hall, held alternately with Buxton & Chapel-en-le-Frith ; for places in the district, see Chapel- en-le-Frith
PUBLIC OFFICERS.
Inspector of County Police, William H Oliver
Medical Officer & Public Vaccinator, Hayfield Union & Certifying Factory Surgeon, James Edwin Anderton L.R.C.P.Edin., M.R.C.S.Eng, Thornfield
Superintendent Registrar of Hayfield Union, Arthur Walker, Spring bank
Registrar of Births, Deaths & Marriages for Hayfield Sub-District, George Walker, Market street; deputy, Abel Grundy, Market street
Schools.
A School Board of 7 members was formed 2 October, 1875 ; Edward Godward, clerk to the board; W. T. Robinson, Chapel street, attendance officer
Board, Spring bank (mixed), erected in 1878, at a cost, inclusive of site, of £2,620, & enlarged in 1890 for the purposes of a technical school, including a chemical laboratory for 80 students: in 1891 it was organised as a science day school, & is now (1899) a county district technical school, receiving 20 free scholarships annually from the County Council: in 1895 technical class rooms were added & a library of 200 volumes, given by Mrs. Mackie, of Watford villa, & new laboratories, a room for experimental dyeing & printing & rooms for an elementary department are now (1899) in course of erection: the school will hold 370 children; average attendance, 260; John A. Nichols, master; Miss L. E. Peck, mist
Catholic, erected in 1860, for 35 boys, 35 girls & 10 infants; average attendance, 50 boys, 30 girls & 25 infants; Miss Mabel Patrick, mistress
Railway Station, Thomas Bark, station master
Carrier to Stockport, James Beard, Torr top, wed. & fri
BEARD is a hamlet half a mile south of New Mills, and 3 miles west of Hayfield. Here are candlewick mills, chemical works, an iron and brass foundry and quarries producing paving setts ; the Midland Railway Company has also a goods yard. F. J. Sumner esq. J.P. is the principal landowner.
National School (mixed), built in 1863, for 300 children ; average attendance, 260; Samuel Whitehead, master
HAGUE BAR is a hamlet 1 mile west from New Mills, 1 east from Strines station and 3 east from Marple. Brookbottom is a place half a mile north-east from Hague Bar. The Primitive Methodist chapel, built in 1874, will seat 200 persons. Lower Cliffe is a place 1 mile north-west from Hague Bar.
Board School, erected in 1878, for 130 children, & enlarged in 1893 for 66 more; average attendance, 135; James Henry Gregory, master
LOW LEIGHTON is a hamlet 1 mile south from New Mills and 3 west from Hayfield. Here is the workhouse of the Hayfield union. There is also a meeting house for the Society of Friends, built in 1717, with a small cemetery attached.
Letters through Newtown (Cheshire), arrive at 9 a.m. Wall Letter Box cleared at 6.30 p.m. week days only
OLLERSET is a hamlet 1 mile south-west from New Mills and 2 west from Hayfield, consisting principally of scattered farms and some villa residences. Birch Vale station adjoins this hamlet. F. J. Sumner esq. J.P. is the principal landowner.
ROWARTH is a hamlet 2 miles east from Mellor and 3 north-east from New Mills, consisting principally of scattered farms. The United Methodist Free Church have a chapel here.
Post Office.- Thomas Waterhouse, sub-postmaster. Letters are received via Stockport & delivered by foot messenger from Marple bridge. Postal orders are issued here, but not paid. Birch Vale is the nearest money order & telegraph office, 3 miles distant
Wall Letter Box cleared at 7 a.m. & 6.30 p.m. week days only
STRINES is a hamlet 1 mile by rail and 2 by road westward from New Mills, and 2 east from Marple, with a station on the Sheffield and Midland railway. Calico printing is carried on here very extensively, and the place is much frequented by picnic and pleasure parties from the adjacent large towns.
Post Office.- James Stafford, sub-postmaster. Letters are received via Stockport about 6 a.m. & dispatched from New Mills at 8.10 p.m. Postal orders are issued here, but not paid. Disley is the nearest money order & telegraph office, 2 miles distant. Parcels & letters are dispatched from here at 4.10 p.m.
Railway Station, Samuel Booth, station master
THORNSET is a hamlet 1½ miles north-east from New Mills and half a mile west from Birch Vale station. Letters through Birch Vale. Here is a Primitive Methodist chapel, built in 1867; and an Independent chapel
Board School (mixed), erected in 1878, for 300 children; average attendance, 220; Thomas Frith, master
WHITLE is a hamlet 1 mile north-east from New Mills, consisting of scattered farms and villa residences, and commands a fine view of the adjacent scenery. In the valley are bleach works. Fern Bank is the residence of James Hibbert esq. J.P. and Watford villa that of Mrs. Mackie. Here is a Congregational chapel, built in 1786. Letters through New Mills arrive at 9.30 a.m.

NEW MILLS.
PRIVATE RESIDENTS.
Anderton James Edwin, Thornfield
Arnfield Edwin, Springfield villa
Arnfield Joseph J.P. High Lee hall
Arnfield Thomas Owen, Rock cottage, High lee
Astle Mrs. Louisa, Hall street
Barber Henry, Spring bank
Barker Rev. James (Free Methodist), Spring bank
Bennett Arthur, Rose villa
Blaney Rev. James (Primitive Methodist), Spring bank
Bowden John R. Spring villa
Brayne John William, Market street
Buswell Edmund, Hillside, Hall street
Campbell Walter, St. George’s road
Chapman William, Rock villa
Cochrane John, Springfield
Edmundson Rev. William Duncan (Congregational), The Manse
Frost Edward, The Rocks
Grindrod Charles, Spring bank
Hawthorn Mrs. Hurst Lea, Union road
Higginbottom George, Spring villa
Higginbottom John, High lee
Hill James, Lily bank
Hill William Francis, Peak house
Hughes Samuel, Chapel street
Kirkham James C. Church brow
Lees Mrs. Holly bank
Leman John Samuel, Hall street
Livesley Alfred, Chapel house, St. George’s road
McKenna Rev. Father William C. (Catholic), High lee
Maughan John, Hall street
Miller Thomas, White bank
Nicholls John A. Stanley mount
Pollard James, Lee bank
Pollitt Mrs. Margaret, High lee
Pratt John, Chapel street
Purssglove John, High street
Rhodes Joseph, High lee
Rumney Wm. Edw. J.P. Watford ldg
Salisbury Mrs. Jane, Church brow
Scott Rev. George (Wesleyan), Wesley mount
Smith Joseph, Westfield house
Swindells Thomas, High lee
Wharmby James, Lee house
Wharmby Jn. Thos. Stanley mount
Wild William, Springfield house
Wright Mrs. Bank cot. Lark’s hill
Wyatt Mrs. Chapel street
Wyatt John S. Lee bank
Yates Edward, Church brow
COMMERCIAL.
Alexander James, Bull’s Head P.H. High street
Allen John William, fancy diaper, Market street
Alsop & Clayton, painters, Market street
Anderton James Edwin L.R.C.P.Edin., M.R.C.S.Eng. surgeon & medical officer of health to New Mills Urban District Council, & medical officer & public vaccinator for Hayfield union, & certifying factory surgeon for the whole of the district, Thornfield
Armstrong Elizabeth (Miss), private school, High street
Arnfield Jsph.&Edwin, millwghts. & engnrs. Globe iron wks
Arnfield Isaac, grocer, Bridge street
Arnfield Jonathan, yeast dealer, Spring bank
Ashworth A & A. (Misses), drapers & dress mas. Market st
Bagshaw Joseph, manufacturing ironmonger, Market st
Barber Henry, manager of the Manchester & County Branch Bank, actuary to the Savings Bank & treasurer to the urban district council, agent to the Royal Fire Insurance Co. Spring bank
Barber Thomas, painter, Meal street
Bark Thomas, station master
Barton M. M. & S. (Misses), fancy repository, Market st
Bates Arthur, music warehouse, Union road
Beard James, carrier, Torr top
Bennett, Boycott, Orme & Goodman, solicitors, Public hall
Bennett Clara (Mrs.), beer retailer, Rock street
Berry Elizabeth (Mrs.), shopkeeper, Spring bank
Bertwhistle James, fried fish dealer, Market street
Bertwhistle John, beer retailer, Market street
Beverley John, farmer, Lark’s hill
Booth Joseph Edwin, St. Alban’s P.H. Torr Top street
Bottomley Arthur, newsagent, High street
Boycott John Burton (firm, Bennett, Boycott, Orme & Goodman), solicitor, clerk to the magistrates, commissioner for oaths & solicitor to the New Mills Economical Building Society, Public hall Boyle John G. stone mason, High street
Bradbury John, shopkeeper, Bridge street
Braddock Joseph, general dealer, Meal street
Braddock Joseph Kirby, draper, Market street
Brayne John William Ward, chemist & druggist, Market st
Briggs James, insurance agent, Spring bank
Broom Richard, boot & shoo maker, Market street
Broome Sarah Ann (Mrs.), butcher, Meal street
Bromilow Joseph, George hotel, High street
Brown Richard & Co. solicitors, Public hall
Brown Richard, solicitor & registrar of county ct. Public hl
Brownhill George Henry, White Hart inn, High street
Bunting George, hair dresser, High street
Burgess Joseph, monumental mason, Hyde bank
Campbell Walter & Co. engravers to calico printers, St. George’s road
Chadwick Agnes & Laing Jesse (Misses), dress makers & milliners, High street
Chadwick George (Mrs.), tripe dresser, Market street
Chapman William L.R.C.P. & L.R.C.S.Edin. surgeon, Rock villa
Chatterton Thomas, slater & plasterer, Torr Top street
Childer John, shopkeeper, Spring bank
Clarke William, grocer, Torr Top street
Clarke William R. saddler, Market street
Clayton Jane (Mrs.), grocer, Torr Top street
Clayton Ralph, painter, see Alsop & Clayton
Co-operative Society Limited (Henry Turner, manager), Spring bank
Crabtree Joshua, confectioner, Union road
Crabtree Joshua, smallware dealer, Market street
Croft Alfred, boot & shoe maker, Market street
Crossley Janet (Mrs.), tobacconist, High street
Croxall Samuel, umbrella repairer, Torr Top street
Davies Joseph, apartments, 3 Torr Top street
Dyer William, hair dresser, High street
Eaton Annie (Mrs.), fried fish dealer, High street
Eaton William, boot & shoe repairer, High street
Etchells Alice (Mrs.), Queen’s Arms P.H. Union road
Etchells John James, Dog & Partridge P.H. High street
Evans Seth, reporter to “Glossop Advertiser,” Union road
Trance Robert, shopkeeper, Market street
Freemasons’ Lodge (Peveril of the Peak) (Thomas Hibbert, tyler), Union road
Frost Edward, dentist, The Rocks
Gee John Thomas, auctioneer, insurance agent & land agent to W. H. G. Bagshaw esq. Spring bank
George William, butcher, Market street
Gibbin James, shopkeeper, High street
Glegg Henry, boot & shoe dealer, Union road
Graham George, tailor, Spring bank
Green James, greengrocer, High street
Gregory James, schoolmaster, Union road
Grindrod Charles M.R.C.S.Eng. surgeon, Spring bank
Grundy Harry, insurance agent, Union road
Hall Samuel, tinplate worker, Market street
Halstead Richard, Cock inn, High street
Harrop Joseph, hosiery manufacturer, High street
Harrop Robert (Mrs.), butcher, Market street
Harrop Sarah (Miss), shopkeeper, High street
Hartle Arthur, farmer, Eaves Knoll
Hawley Jesse, grocer, High street
Hibbert Thomas, joiner, High street
Higginbotham John, ironmonger, Market place
Higginbotham Mary (Mrs.), grocer, High street
Higginbottom George & Edwin, manufacturing chemists, Salem chemical works
Higginbottom Eliza Ann (Mrs.), draper, High street
Higginbottom Elizabeth (Mrs.), draper, Union road
Higginbottom George, coal merchant, Hyde bank
Higginbottom James, blacksmith, Hyde Bank road
Higginbottom Sarah Ellen (Mrs.), tobacconist, Market st
Hill Isaac, greengrocer, Union road
Hill Lily (Miss), confectioner, High street
Howard George & James, painters, Rock street
Huby William, shopkeeper, Church brow
Hulton Ellen (Mrs.), confectioner, High street
Hunters (The Teamen) limited, grocers, Market street
Hyde Sarah (Miss), dress maker, High Lee road
Ingham Brothers, drapers & milliners,Union rd & High st
Ingham James Anthony, hatter & clothier, Union road
Ingham M. & B. drapers, High street
Jackson Isaac G. watch & clock maker, Market street
Johnson Charles Frederick, solicitor, see Johnsons
Johnson Joseph, pawnbroker, High street
Johnsons, solicitors, High street
Jordan & Bowden, solicitors, High street
Jowett Chas. solicitor & commissioner for oaths, Market st
Kirk James & Co. coal merchants, Station yard
Leach Annie (Mrs.), grocer, Bridge street
Lee J. & R. coppersmiths, Union road
Leigh Robt. Wm. stationer, printer & bookseller, Market st
Livesey Alfred, Railway hotel, Market street
Livesley Alfred & Son, chemists, High street & Union rd
Livesley Timothy & Sons, butchers, High street
Livesley Charles H. milliner, High street
Livesley John T. ironmonger, Union road
Lomas Dinah (Mrs.), shopkeeper, Eaves Knoll road
Lomas Joel, watch & clock maker, Market place
Lomas Mary Ann (Mrs.), confectioner, High street
Lomax Joseph Dale, grocer, Market street
Lowe William, confectioner, Union road
Lydon James, apartments, Torr Top street
MacAlva Richard, hair dresser, Torr Top street
Manchester & County Bank Limited (branch) (Henry Barber, manager), High street; draw on Union Bank of London Limited, London E C
Marsh Louisa (Mrs.), grocer, Torr Top street
Martin Joseph, earthenware dealer, High street
Mawdsley William J. butcher, Bridge street
Mellor Elizabeth & Kate (Misses), drapers, Market place
Miller & Co. grocers, Market street
Mosley Joseph T. butcher & pork butcher; wholesale & retail pork butcher; home cured hams, bacon, lard & sausages, Union road
Mottershead John Henry, pork butcher, High street
Mower Thos. relieving officer to Hayfield union, Market st
Murray Mary (Mrs.), draper, Market street
Nadin Sarah (Mrs.), baker, High street
Nall Samuel B.A., M.B., D.P.H., M.R.C.S.Eng. surgeon, Market street
New Mills Coal Co. (John Hyde, proprietor), coal merchants, Market street
New Mills Conservative Club (John Pemberton Liddle, sec.). Union road
New Mills & District Liberal Association (Thomas Stafford & John Whiteford, secs)
New Mills Economical Permanent Building Society (John S. Wyatt, sec.), Public hall
New Mills Gas Works (Edward Jones, manager)
New Mills Spinning Co. Torr Top street
New Mills Water Works (Tom Bowden, manager)
Oliver William H. inspector of police. Police station
Ollerenshaw John James, butcher, Market street
Orme John Henry (firm, Bennett, Boycott, Orme & Goodman), solicitor
Parker John, skewer maker, Hall street
Parrott jun. & Sons, fruiterers, Market street
Parsons Edward, assistant overseer, 6 Kinder view
Parsons William, boot & shoe maker, Market street
Pearson Samuel, blacksmith, Hyde Bank road
Pennington James, shopkeeper, Spring bank
Platt Geo. collector to the urban district council, Union rd
Pogson Fred & Sarah Jane (Miss), drapers, Union road
Pollitt Joseph, clerk to the urban district council & accountant & surveyor, Public hall
Pott William, grocer, Market street
Potts Joseph, grocer, Hall street
Pritchard Alfred, shopkeeper, Station road
Public Hall (Joseph Pollitt, sec)
Purssglove Sarah Ann (Mrs.), Masons’ Arms P.H. High st
Ravenscroft George, plumber, Hyde bank
Redfern Alfred Isaac, joiner & shopkeeper, Spring bank & High street
Redfern James B. joiner, High street
Richardson Elizabeth (Miss), shopkeeper, Chapel street
Richardson Hy. sanitary insp. & inspctr. of canal boats
Richardson James, toy dealer, High street
Roberts Leah (Mrs.), shopkeeper, High street
Robinson W. T. school attendance officer, Chapel street
Rowbottom Joseph, confectioner, Bridge street
Royle Joseph, beer retailer, Market street
Romney Edward Bryan, calico printer, Watford bridge
Sandham Richard, farmer, Wilhey
Savings Bank, open on Saturday from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. (Henry Barber, actuary), Public hall
Sayer John, cabinet dealer, Market street
Schofield Frederick John, tailor, Chapel street
Schofield Joseph, butcher, High street
Sellars Joseph, tailor, Market street
Sharples Mary (Mrs.), dress maker, Union road
Shaw Alfred, fruiterer, High street
Shawcross Albert, stationer, Market street
Shepley Eli, hatter & draper, Union road
Shepley Thomas, shopkeeper, Hall street
Sherratt Samuel, apartments, High street.
Sidebottom Elizabeth (Mrs.), confectioner, Market street
Simister Emma (Miss), draper, High street
Slater Isaac, butcher, Market street
Smith Cicely (Mrs.), worsted manufacturer, High street
Smith Emily (Mrs.), furniture broker, Union road
Smith Frederick W. plumber, High street
Smith Henry, agent to Midland Railway Co. Beard terrace
Smith John, coal merchant, Station yard
Smith Samuel, Crown hotel, Market street
Snaith. William, printer, High street
Stafford T. W. & Son, ironmongers, Market street
Stafford Obadiah, builder, Ivy cottage. Market street
Stafford Obadiah, stone mason, High Lee
Stafford Thomas, farmer, Knightwake farm
Stafford Thomas (Mrs.), dress maker. High Lee
Stansfield Jonathan, beer retailer, Bridge street
Street John Edward, boot & shoe dealer, Market street
Swindells William, fried fish dealer, High street
Taylor Robert, loan office, Hall street
Thornley Frederick, printer, Union road
Toovey Clement, confectioner, Market street
Turner Elizabeth (Mrs.), draper, High street
Turner Henry, manager to Co-operative stores, Hall st
Turner James, tobacconist, High street
Turner Thomas, shopkeeper, Meal street
Victoria Chemical Co. (Hargreaves Pollard, proprietor), chemical manufacturers, St. George’s road
Walch Dominic, apartments, 1 Torr Top street
Walker Arthur, solicitor & commissioner for oaths, clerk to Hayfield. guardians, superintendent registrar, solicitor to New Mills urban district council & clerk to the union assessment committee, Spring bank
Walker George, stationer & printer, & registrar of births, deaths & marriages, Hayfield sub-district, Post office, Market street
Wallace William, tailor, High street
Wells William, jun. watch & clock maker, Market street
Wharmby James, grocer, Market street
Wharmby John Thomas, confectioner, Market street
Whitehead Alfred, surgeon, Spring bank
Wild Jesse, plumber, Torr Top street
Wild William, commission agent, Springfield house
Williamson James, beer retailer, High street
Wilson Robert, confectioner, High street
Wood George, estate agent, Spring bank
Wood George, news agent, High street
Wood Joseph, shoe maker, High street
Woolley Bold, shopkeeper, Spring bank
Worrall George, Grapes inn, High street
Wright Frederick, hardware dealer, Torr Top street
Wyatt Edwin Henry, smallware dealer, High street
Wyatt Henry, architect, Spring bank
Wyatt John George, oil merchant, High street
Wyatt John William (Mrs.), milliner, Market place
Yates Edward, brass founder & mechanical engineer, Torr Top street

BEARD.
Bateman Arthur D. Beech house
Bridge John Gregory
Chadwick Mrs. John, Daisy bank
Higginbottom Edwin, Quarry bank
Longson John, Church road
Newman Rev. Frederick William M.A. New Mills vicarage
Thornley Richard, Hurstfield
Warrington Elijah, Church road
COMMERCIAL.
Broadhurst William, contractor, Brown brow
Hammond James, grocer,Church road
Hall Levi Joseph, farmer & colliery proprietor, Beard Wood farm (letters via Furness Vale)
Handford Joseph, frmr. Bold beard
Higginbottom James, palisade & ornamental iron gate maker
Hill Jas. candle wick manfr. Beard mill
Hill William Francis, candle wick manufacturer, Beard mill
Hodgson William, grocer, Church rd
Howard William, farmer
Lockwood Thomas, coal merchant
Longson James & Son, iron founders, Midland iron works
Lowe John, coal merchant
Morton John, farmer, Lane end
Ollerenshaw Thomas, farmer, Brownhill
Pearson Samuel, blacksmith
Scattergood & Warrington, joiners & builders
Stafford Daniel, farmer, Beard hall (letters via Furness Vale)
Titterton Annie (Miss), farmer, Marsh Lane head
Walton William, coal merchant
Warrington Elijah, joiner & builder, see Scattergood & Warrington
Woolley John, farmer, Howcroft

HAGUE BAR.
COJCHEBCIAL.
Broadhurst Thos. &Wm. wheelwrights
Cottam Henry, Commercial inn
Crossland Joseph, farmer, Brookbttm
Gell Walter, beer retailer
Gittins Richard, shopkeeper
Higginbottom John Thomas, farmer, Lower Hague
Joule Jn. Martin, farmer, Shaw farm
Saunders Geo. W. Fox inn, Brookbttm
Scott George Harry & Co. drysalters & india rubber manufacturers
Storer Samuel, farmer
Thorpe James, farmer, Hague Fold
Thorpe Joseph, farmer, Hague Fold
Wilson Francis, farmer, Brookbottom
Wood John, shopkeeper

LOW LEIGHTON.
Jackson Mrs. Highfield
COMMERCIAL
Ashton James, farmer
Bowden Eliza Jane (Miss), dress ma
Broadhurst Jn. wheelwright & shopkpr
Dyson Robert, stone merchant, High Hill quarry
Goble Richard, Hare & Hounds inn
Hudson John & Sons, contractors
Hudson David, farmer, Highfield
Oldham Robert, shopkeeper
Porritt Charles, butcher
Stafford John, shopkeeper
Turner Sarah (Mrs.), draper

OLLERSET.
(Marked thus * receive their letters through Newtown, Stockport; thus † through Furness Vale & thus ‡ through Birch Vale.
PRIVATE RESIDENTS.
* Bridge Miss, Ollerset cottage
* Hadfield James John
* Hadfield Thomas, Bowden villas
* Higginbottom Charles
* Howard Joshua Henry, Bowden villas
* Wild Mrs. Pleasant view
COMMERCIAL.
‡ Hall Charles, farmer, Ovenhill
* Hall Mary (Mrs.), farmer, High hill
* Hall Wm. farmer, Hollinghurst head
* Hallworth Henry, beer retailer
* Hudson John, farmer, Piece farm
* Hudson Sarah Ann (Mrs.), farmer, Gib hey
* Hudson Nancy (Mrs.), farmer
* Marshall Herbert, farmer, Overlee
* Needham Joseph, farmer, Gib hey
* Ollerenshaw Thos. farmer, Brownhill
* Ollerset Coal Co. Lim. (James Ramsbottom, manager)
† Reece James, farmer, Shedyard
Williamson Reuben, quarry owner
* Woolley Jonathan, farmer
* Wyatt John Henry, shopkeeper

ROWARTH.
Hickey John, Anderton house
Turner Mrs
COMMERCIAL.
Bennett Robert, farmer, Thornset fields
Bennett William, farmer
Beverley James, farmer, Knarsnook
Bradbury Robt. Lit. Mill inn, & frmr
Chadwick Matthew, farmer, Lane side
Christie Thomas, farmer & Hare & Hounds P.H. Hollins moor
Cooper Alfred (Mrs.), farmer
Crossland Benj. farmer, Back Rowarth
Elliott James, farmer, Rowarth farm
Froggatt Abner, frmr. Matley moor
Hallam Joseph, farmer, Near slack
Handford Jn. (Mrs.), frmr. Matley mr
Hibbert Danl. farmer, Golden spring
Hinchcliffe Jonthn. frmr. Ringstones
Livesley Saml, farmer, Hollins farm
Moorcroft Geo. H. farmer, Ringstones
Potts Wm. farmer, Briar Gro. slack
Sigley Edward, farmer, Further slack
Simpson Joseph, farmer
Thompson Alfred, farmer, Matley moor
Waterhouse Thomas, shopkeeper
Whitlock James, frmr. High Rowarth
Woodward Joseph, farmer, Long lee

STRINES.
Barratt Walter, Bridge mount
Bowden Joe, Ivy bank
Broadbent Edward, Ivy bank
Campbell Peter, Glengogt
Guest Miss, Spring mount
Higginbottom William, Glen wood
Hopwood Frank, The Cottage
Nevill Charles Henry, The Cottage
Percival Robert P. Eskdale
Booth Samuel, station master
Stafford James, sub-postmaster
Stephens Thomas, beer retailer
Strines Printing Co. calico printers (Peter Campbell, manager)

THORNSET.
Bagnall Mrs. Amy, Aspenshaw hall
Ashworth Arthur, shopkeeper
Barker Wm. farmer, Aspenshaw farm
Bennett Bobert, farmer, Thornset fields
Bennett Thomas, colliery proprietor
Bennett Wm. farmer, Briergrove frm
Bradbury Joseph, beer retailer
Butler William, farmer & Jordan Arms P.H
Castre Andrew, farmer, Carr nook
Dalton Isaac, farmer, Bankhead farm
Hadfield James John, yarn bleacher & sizer, Garrison bleach works
Hill Isaac, shopkeeper & butcher
Howe Joseph, farmer, Weathercoates
Hudson Elizabeth (Mrs.), Printers’ Arms P.H
Jones John, beer retailer
Lomas George, shopkeeper
New Mills Co-operative Society Lim, (No. 1 branch)
Phethean John & Co. Lim. bleachers. Bate mill
Rowcroft Geo. farmer, Feading hey
Sidebottom Jsph. farmr. Ladygate frm
Simms Edwd. frmr. Thornset Hey fm
Simms Wm. farmer, Francis farm
Wardle James, farmer, Blakehall farm

WHITLE.
Hibbert James J.P. Fern bank
Mackie Mrs. Watford villa
Medcall Charles, Castle hill
Rumney Mrs. Fern bank
COMMERCIAL.
Arnfield Eliza (Miss), dress maker, Daisybank
Bennett William, farmer, Appletree
Bennett William, farmer, Whitlefold
Billinge Charles Brough, farmer, Broadhurst edge
Brunt George, Pack Horse P.H. Boar la
Crossland Thos. frmr. Broadhurst edge
Fernaley John, farmer, Beardhough
Garlick Jas. frmr. Redditchshaw frm
Keeling James, farmer, Beardhough
Livesley Jabez, frmr. Castle Edge frm
Marsland Eli, farmer, Hodghey
Rowcroft James, farmer
Stafford Edwin (Mrs.), farmer, Tanpits
Stafford John Thomas, farmer
Stafford Joseph, farmer
Stafford Thomas William, builder & contractor, Daisy bank
Woodworth Charles, farmer, Piece frm

Navigation

Button image GJH.me Home Page. Button image History Resources Page.


Last updated: 12 February 2017