Post Office Derbyshire Directory 1895
Entries for the area of the Ancient Parish of Glossop.


GLOSSOP (or Glossop Dale) is a municipal borough, market and union town, head of a county court district and petty sessional division, township and parish, on the borders of Cheshire, with a station, 192 miles by rail from London by Great Northern railway, 9½ from Ashton, 24½ from Barnsley, 87 from Birmingham, 65 from Burton, 47 from Chesterfield, 58 from Derby, 41 from Doncaster, 87 from Leicester, 34 from Leek, 4 from Liverpool, 73¾ from Lincoln, 13 from Manchester, 20 from Macclesfield, 74 from Nottingham, 30 from Sheffield, 66¼ from Stafford, 10½ from Staleybridge, 11 from Stockport, 53 from Uttoxeter and 72 from Wolverhampton. It is in High Peak hundred and High Peak division of the county, rural deanery of Glossop, archdeaconry of Derby and diocese of Southwell. The Manchester, Sheffield and Lincolnshire Railway Company's main line from Manchester to Sheffield is carried across Dinting Vale on a lofty viaduct of sixteen arches, constructed of stone, about a mile west from the Town hall, and there is a branch line from Dinting to Glossop and Hadfield. The parish contains the townships of Glossop Dale, Hadfield, Padfield, Whitfield, Charlesworth, Simmondley, Dinting, Chunal, Ludworth and Chisworth.
The borough is divided into three wards, viz.; All Saints, Hadfield and St. James'. The corporation consists of a mayor, 6 aldermen and 18 councillors. The borough has a commission of the peace and a police force. The water supply, derived from Peaknase moors, is collected in reservoirs at Swineshaw. The town is supplied with gas by a company formed in 1845.
Portions of the old parish of Glossop All Saints have been taken to form the ecclesiastical parishes of Whitfield, St. James'; Hadfield, St. Andrew's, and Dinting, Holy Trinity. The ancient parish of Glossop also contains the old chapels of Hayfield and Mellor, the new parish churches of Charlesworth and New Mills, Whitfield, and the new district church of Limedale, comprising the townships of Chinley, Bugsworth and Brownside. The ancient parish church of All Saints was pulled down in 1830. The present church is a modern edifice of stone, in the Early Gothic style, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles, south porch, vestry, organ chamber, erected in 1877 and a western tower with spire, containing a clock and 8 bells, re-hung and a chiming apparatus attached in 1877, at a cost of £180; the spire was rebuilt in 1856: the stained east window is a memorial to a late Duke and Duchess of Norfolk, Robert Shepley esq. and John Wood esq. former benefactors: the old church plate bears date 1745, but in 1877 a new set of plate was contributed by the parishioners: in 1886 the nave was reseated with open benches by Daniel Wood esq. of Moorfield, and in 1887 the church was restored and three stained glass windows were placed therein, at a cost of £1,300, defrayed by Miss A. A. Wood and others: a carved oak pulpit was also presented, at a cost of £325, by John Wood esq. of Whitfield house: an altar front, presented to the church in 1895, is of carved oak open work tracery panels, flanked by figures of SS. Chad and Aidan, with silk frontals to slide in a groove behind the tracery: the churchyard was closed against interments, with modifications, in 1857-8. The register dates from the year 1620. The living is a vicarage, tithe rent-charge £356, average £266, net yearly value £231, with residence, in the gift of Lord Howard of Glossop, and held since 1881 by the Rev. Adam Pyle Hamilton-Wilson.
The Rev. Christopher Howe, vicar 1793 to 1849 and for 40 years also incumbent of Woodhead, Cheshire, established a day school at Glossop, in which he personally taught, and partly rebuilt the parish church; he died 1st Sept. 1849, in the 85th year of his age and the 57th of his vicariate of Glossop, Mr. Charles Winterbottom, for upwards of 60 years sexton and clerk of the parish of Glossop, died at the age of nearly 88 years.
The Catholic church, dedicated to All Saints, a building in the Classic style, situated near Glossop Hall, was erected by Bernard Edward Duke of Norfolk, in 1837, and consists of chancel, nave and a belfry, containing one bell: over the altar is a fine copy of Domenichino's "Communion of St. Hyronome," the original of which is in the Vatican; there are also valuable paintings representing the twelve apostles: there are 120 sittings.
The cemetery of 6 acres, formed in 1859, was enlarged in 1894 and has mortuary chapels, it is now under the control of the parish council.
The Town Hall, with the Market House, was considerably enlarged in 1854.
The Free Library and Public Hall, Fauvel road, erected in 1887 by Herbert Rhodes esq. and Captain Edward Partington, at a cost of about £4,400, on a site given by Lord Howard of Glossop, is a building of stone in the Gothic style, containing a reading room and library of 530 volumes, lecture hall and a public hall: over the main entrance a tower with pinnacles rises to a height of about 80 feet.
There are Conservative and Liberal clubs, each having news and recreation rooms.
The Public Baths, Howard Park, erected in 1887, by Samuel Wood esq. and Mrs. Wood, of Moorfield House, at a cost of about £15,000, comprise a swimming bath, four private baths for males and a like number for females, and vapour and Turkish baths: the buildings include a ventilating tower 100 feet high.
Two newspapers are published here on Friday.
Here are cotton factories, and in the neighbourhood, calico printing establishments and paper mills: some of the former, and especially those of Messrs. John Wood and Bros. Limited, and Messrs. Francis Sumner and Co. Limited, are very extensive, employing in ordinary times from 5,000 to 6,000 work people. The first cotton mill was erected about the year 1784, but previously to this a few woollen factories and fulling mills had been in operation; one of these, The Gnathole mill, now covered with ivy, still remains.
At Dinting Vale are the large calico printing works developed by the skill and energy of the late Mr. E. Potter, and now carried on by Messrs. E. Potter and Co.
Hurst brook and Whitfield brook, two feeders of the Etherow, take their rise on the adjacent moors; the water of the latter possesses bleaching properties, which was taken advantage of in establishing the works at Charlestown. There are quarries producing building and paving stone. The principal market day is Saturday. Fairs are held on the 6th May, also the first Wednesday on or after the 10th day of October, for the sale of horses and cattle.
There are charities of £40 yearly value, distributed among the poor on St. Thomas' day, in money and clothing, by two representatives of the eight original hamlets of Glossop Dale.
The Wood's Hospital, Howard Park, founded and endowed in 1887, by Daniel Wood esq. of Moorfield, at a cost of about £6,000, the endowment fund being £19,000, is a structure of brick, cased externally with stone, and comprises two male and two female wards, holding about 16 patients, with kitchens &c. and an administrative block, containing the offices, store rooms &c.: to the west of the hospital is a detached laundry, with lodge keeper's residence.
Howard Park, North road, formed in 1887, at the joint expense of Lord Howard of Glossop, Samuel Wood esq. and Mrs. Wood, of Moorfield, is situated on an eminence, commanding a fine view of the town and neighbourhood; it is about 12 acres in extent.
At Old Cross, Old Glossop, are the remains of an ancient stone cross, about 12 feet in height and still in a fair state of preservation.
Glossop Hall, the seat of the Right Hon. Lord Howard of Glossop, is a noble building, in the style of a French château of the 18th century, and stands on gently rising ground above Howard Town, surrounded by trees: it was much enlarged and improved by Henry Charles, 13th Duke of Norfolk, grandfather of the present owner. The town and hamlets now comprising the manor of Glossop appears to have been divided in the time of Edward the Confessor into several parts among different Saxon proprietors, but in the Domesday Survey the whole of Glossop is put down as forfeited to the Crown; and the Conqueror afterwards gave it to his natural son, William Peveril, whose son Richard, however, being disinherited by Henry I. Glossop was again confiscated to the Crown, and in 1157 was granted by Henry II. together with the advowson of the church to the Abbey of Basingwerke, "in free and perpetual alms for ever," and this abbey had acquired before the 15th century nearly all the hamlets now comprising the Glossop estate; Glossop remained the property of Basingwerke Abbey till the dissolution of the lesser abbeys in 1536, when Henry VIII. seized it with other conventual property and afterwards granted it to the Earl of Shrewsbury, who in turn exchanged it with the Duke of Norfolk for estates in Ireland, and in this noble family it has remained to the present time; the present proprietor, lord of the manor and principal landowner, is the Right Hon. Lord Howard of Glossop J.P. cousin to the present Duke of Norfolk.
The land is partly moor and pasturage. The acreage is 40,136, being one of the largest parishes in England; of the township, 18,107 acres of land and 325 of water; rateable value, £19,360; the population of the ecclesiastical parish of All Saints in 1891 was 4,407; Glossop Dale population in 1891 was 24,557, including 5 officers and 102 inmates in the workhouse.
Parish Clerk, Johnson Hadfield.
The area of the municipal borough is 3,050 acres; the population in 1891 was All Saints' ward, 5,575; Hadfield ward, 7,658 and St. James' ward, 9,183, total, 22,416.

WHITFIELD is a township, and in 1844 was formed into a parish; it is 1 mile south from Glossop, and partly within the borough. This parish originally contained the whole of the townships of Chunal, Dinting and Hadfield, and parts of the townships of Glossop, Whitfield and Padfield, but it now comprises only the township of Chunal and parts of the townships of Glossop arid Whitfield. The church of St James is a building of stone, in the Early English style, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles and a western tower with spire and pinnacles containing 8 bells, added in 1884, and a clock placed in 1885 by Miss Wood, of Whitfield House: the organ, erected in 1860, was enlarged in 1870 and 1880: the brass eagle lectern was presented by Miss Wood, of Whitfield House, in 1882; and two stained windows have also been inserted to the memory of John, Daniel and Samuel Wood: the church is now (1895) being enlarged by the erection of a chancel and vestry and the whole interior is being reseated at an estimated cost of about £2,000: there are 1,100 sittings, 550 being free. The register dates from the year 1846. The living is a vicarage, gross yearly value £339, net £275, with residence, in the gift of John and S. H. Wood esqrs. and held since 1892 by the Rev. Henry Thornton Dudley M.A. of Queen's College, Oxford. The vicarage house, a stone building near the church,, has been considerably enlarged since 1872. There is a Mission established in Talbot street, for which Mrs. S. Wood has this year (1895) presented an iron church. The Sumner Memorial Catholic church, Sumner street,, dedicated to St. Mary, founded and endowed by the late Francis James Sumner esq. D.C.L. of Park Hall, Hayfield, and erected in 1887 by his heirs on a site granted by the late Lord Howard of Glossop, at a cost of about £17,000, including £5,000 for endowment, is an edifice of local stone in the Early English style, consisting of apsidal chancel, clerestoried nave of eight bays, aisles, side chapels, baptistery, south porch and an eastern turret with spire and ornamental finial, rising to a height of 90 feet and containing one bell: a very handsome stone screen separates the chancel from the side chapels: the altar and tabernacle are elaborately carved in alabaster, marble and Caen stone: the pulpit is entirely of Caen stone: the organ cost about £500: stations of the cross were added in 1889 at a cost of about £150: there are sittings for 900 persons: adjoining the church is a presbytery, built in 1889, by the Rev. Canon Charles W. Tasker, rector, to the memory of John Sumner esq.: adjoining the Catholic school in St. Mary's road, is a convent for the sisters of charity of St. Paul. Littlemoor Congregational schools, Victoria street, erected in 1881 at a cost, including fittings, of about £3,000, form a building of stone in the Italian style, and will hold 700 scholars; the schools are also used for lectures and concerts, and can be arranged so as to seat 1,000 persons: the front entrance, facing Victoria street, is surmounted by a turret 75 feet high. Whitfield House, the residence of John Wood esq. M.A., D.L., J.P. is a large stone building, in the Elizabethan style, standing in its own grounds. Lord Howard of Glossop is lord of the manor and principal landowner. The inhabitants are employed in the large cotton and paper mills just outside the township and in the bleach works within its boundaries. The soil is various; subsoil, clay. The chief crops are oats, hay and pasture. The acreage is 1,577; rateable value, £15,758; the population in 1891 was 9,031.
Charlestown is a place here.
Sexton, Thomas Marsden.
Wall Letter Box, cleared at 9.30 a.m. & 7 p.m
Chunal is a township, 2 miles south from Glossop and partly within that borough, in the High Peak division of the county, hundred of High Peak, parish, petty sessional division, union and county court district of Glossop, and in the ecclesiastical parish of Whitfield. The acreage is 885; rateable value, £542.

DINTING is a township, and was formed into a parish in 1875; it is partly in the borough of Glossop and has a station on the Manchester, Sheffield and Lincolnshire railway, 11¾ miles from Manchester. The church of the Holy Trinity, erected by the Wood family, of Glossop, and opened July, 1875, is a building of stone in the Gothic style of the 13th century, and consists of apsidal chancel, nave, aisles, an organ chamber forming a transept on the south side, vestry and a tower at the west end of the south aisle, with pinnacles and an octagonal spire, reaching a height of 137 feet from the ground to the top of the vane, and containing 6 bells: the nave is divided from the aisles by circular stone piers, with moulded caps and bases: the pulpit, of Caen stone and marble, was erected in memory of the patron and founder: the central window of the apse is a memorial to John H. Wood esq. d. 16 Dec. 1869, and was placed by his widow: the font, also presented by Mrs. Wood, consists of a basin of Caen stone on a shaft of red marble: the organ was presented by Mrs. Wood in 1882: the building has sittings for 630 persons, 90 of which are free. The register dates from the year 1875. The living is a vicarage, net yearly value £298, with residence, in the gift of the Wood family, and held since 1895 by the Rev. Edwin Charles Collier M.A. of St. John's College, Cambridge. There is a Methodist New Connexion chapel, built in 1860, with sittings for 300 persons, 100 of which are free. The area is 586 acres; rateable value, £7,864; the population in 1891 was 3,277.
Post, M. O. O., S. B., Annuity & Insurance Office. - George R. Fielding, sub-postmaster. Letters arrive through Manchester at 6.23 a.m. 2.2 p.m. & 4.22 p.m. & from Glossop at 10.30 a.m. & 4.22 p.m.; dispatched at 10.20 a.m. & 7.15 p.m.; Sundays, arrive at 7.40 a.m.; dispatched at 7.15 p.m. The nearest, telegraph office is at Glossop.
Wall Letter Box cleared at 8 a.m. & 6 p.m. & on Sundays at 8.30 a.m.
Brookfield is a hamlet 1 mile north of Dinting station. Here Is a cotton mill. The Congregational chapel, erected in 1883, is a building of stone in the Early English style: all the windows are stained.
Gamesley is a hamlet 1 mile west of Dinting station. In the hamlet of Gamesley are the remains of a Roman camp, called by the country people from time immemorial "Melandra" and "'Melandra Castle;" it stands on a bold eminence at the confluence of the Course Brook and the Etherow, and traces of walls and gates may be plainly discerned: tablets inscribed to Roman emperors, coins of the Emperor Domitian, a large sword and other objects of archaeological interest have been found here: the summit is still called "The Castle Yard," and a tradition exists that Melandra was one of the strongholds of the ancient British in the time of the Saxon invasion. On an opposite hill, called ''Mousley," is the site of another traditional castle. Some stones which came from Mousley Castle, inscribed with rude hieroglyphics, are still to be seen walled into the gable end of a house at Hadfield, and are evidently Runic. Both Melandra and Mousley lie on the Roman road from the camp of "Mancunium" (Manchester) to that of "Ad Petuariam" (Brough,near Castleton).

HADFIELD is a township, and in 1875, together with the chapelry of Padfield, was formed into a parish; it is on the borders of Cheshire, within the borough of Glossop and county court district of Glossop, 2 miles north-west from Glossop, with a station on the Manchester and Sheffield railway. The church of St. Andrew, erected at a cost of about £4,250 and consecrated July 4th, 1874, is a building in the Gothic style, consisting of apsidal chancel, nave, aisles, south porch, south transept, baptistery, organ chamber and a central bell turret containing one bell: the font, worked in native stone, was presented in 1874 by Mr. James Sherriff, of Christ Church, Canterbury, New Zealand, and formerly of Hadfield, and had previously been exhibited at the Colonial exhibition, Victoria: the richly-embroidered communion cloth was presented by the Rev. C. B. Ward M.A. vicar of Whitfield, and the credence table by Mr. Braddock, churchwarden: a new organ was erected in 1879, at a cost of about £650, by James Sidebottom esq. J.P. of Millbrook, Hadfield, as a memorial to his wife: there are 538 sittings. The register of baptisms dates from July 5th, 1874, and of marriages from August, 1875. The living is a vicarage, gross yearly value £260, in the gift of five trustees, and held since 1875 by the Rev. Joseph Hadfield, of St. Bees, rural dean of Glossop, and surrogate. There is a Mission church at Woolley Bridge. The Catholic church, dedicated to St. Charles Borromeo, is an edifice of stone, in the Early English style, erected in 1858 by the late Lord Howard of Glossop, and consisting of nave, aisles, sacristy, baptistery and a western tower containing one bell, a memorial to the late Father McDonnell: the beautifully carved high altar of stone was erected in memory of the late Father Hickey: in the church are several figures carved in stone and many valuable oil paintings, one of these, a copy of Raphael's "Transfiguration," being placed above the high altar. A new pulpit of Caen stone, marble and alabaster, was erected in 1894 as a memorial of the nomination of the Rt. Rev. Monsignor Canon H. Sabela as domestic prelate to his Holiness Pope Leo XIII. There are memorial windows to Lord Edward G. Fitzalan Howard, 1st baron Howard of Glossop, d. 1 Dec. 1883, & Augusta (Talbot) his wife, d. 3 July, 1862: outside the church is a vault belonging to the Howard family. Adjoining is a presbytery. The convent of Sisters of Charity of St. Paul, a fine building on the south side of the church, was erected in 1887, at the cost of John Dalton esq. of Rose Bank, Hollingworth. The Wesleyan chapel, built in 1878, has 713 sittings; the Primitive Methodist chapel, built in 1876, has 500 sittings; the Free Methodist chapel, built in 1876 and enlarged in 1885, seats 280. There are several cotton mills, in which the population are employed, and political clubs with news and amusement rooms. Hadfield Hall, the ancient mansion of the Hadfields of Hadfield, dating from 1646, has been converted into a couple of cottages; some years ago the handsome black oak carving was taken down and erected in a farm house on the Glossop estate. The township contains 357 acres; rateable value, £10,850; the population of the ecclesiastical parish in 1891 was 7,343.
Post, M. 0. & T. 0., S. B., Express Delivery & Annuity Office. - Squire Garlick, postmaster. Letters received through Manchester. Delivery, 7.15 a.m. 2.30 & 5 p.m.; dispatch, 10.15 a.m. 1 & 7 & 9 p.m.; Sunday, dispatched 7.15 p.m. Money orders granted & paid & savings bank business transacted from 8 a.m. till 6.30 p.m.; on Saturdays till 8 p.m.
Wall Letter Boxes: - Hadfield cross, cleared 7.50 a.m. & 5.40 p.m.; Station road, cleared 7.40 a.m. & 5.30 p.m.; Padfield at 8 a.m. & 6 p.m.; Crowdon at 10 a.m.
Letter Bag dispatched to Glossop at 1 p.m. & arrives from Glossop at 2.30 p.m

PADFIELD, adjoining Hadfield station, 1½ miles north-west from Glossop and partly within that borough, in the High Peak division of the county, hundred of High Peak, parish, union, petty sessional division and county court district of Glossop, is included in the ecclesiastical parish of St. Andrew's, Hadfield. The Wesleyan chapel, erected with Sunday school in 1880 at a cost of £2,000, will seat 400 persons. The population are employed in the cotton mills. The acreage is 643; rateable value, £20,432; the population in 1891 was 2,573.
Letters through Manchester via Hadfield arrive at 6.45 a.m. 3 & 5 p.m. Wall Letter Box cleared at 8 a.m. & 6 p.m

Post, M. 0. & T. 0., S. B. & Insurance & Annuity Office, Norfolk square. -Mrs. Sarah Elizabeth Rodley, postmistress. Letters arrive via Manchester, at 6.30 a.m. & 2.55 & 5 p.m.; dispatched to Manchester & all parts at 8.45 & 10.20 a.m. & 12, 1.20, 5, 7:25 & 9.30p.m. Money order office & post office savings bank open from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m.; on, Saturdays from 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. Telegraph office open from. 8 .a.m. to 8 p.m. Wall Letter Boxes: - Old Glossop, cleared at 9 a.m. 1 p.m, & 6 p.m.; Rose green, 9.10 a.m. & 6.10 p.m.; Princess street, 9.20 a.m. & 6.50 p.m.; Simmondley lane, 8.30 a.m. & 6.30 p.m.; Railway station, 9.45 a.m. & 7 p.m.

County Magistrates.
Howard of Glossop Lord, Glossop hall, Glossop, chairman
Carver. Thomas esq. The Hollins, Marple
Partington Capt. Edward, Easton, High st. east, Glossop
Rowbottom George esq. Chisworth, Broadbottom
Sidebottom Lieut.-Col. William M.P. Harewood lodge, Broadbottom, Cheshire
Sidebottom Tom Harrop esq. M.P. Etherow house, Hollingworth, Manchester
Sumner Francis John esq. Easthorpe, Leamington
Wainwright Joel esq. Finchwood, Marple bridge
Woolley Edward esq. High street west, Glossop
Clerk to the Magistrates, Thos. Michael Ellison, Ellison st
Petty Sessions are held at the Town hall at intervals of two or three weeks, at 10.30 a.m. Thursdays. The following places are included in the division:- Charlesworth, Chisworth, Chunal, Compstall Bridge, Glossop, Ludworth, Marple Bridge, Mellor & Simmondley

Borough Magistrates.
The Mayor
Barlow Thomas, The Avenue, Hadfield
Dawson William, Station road, Hadfield
Hunter Thomas Pearson, Talbot road, Glossop
Partington Capt. Edward, Easton, High street east
Rhodes Herbert, Mersey bank, Hadfield
Rhodes James, 25 Victoria street
Rowbottom Samuel, Shepley street
Shepley Charles, Wolfenden, Brookfield, Dinting
Sidebottom Lieut.-Col. William M.P. Harewood lodge, Broadbottom, Cheshire
Weetman John Aloysius, Wren Nest house
Clerk, Thomas Michael Ellison, Ellison street
The magistrates meet at Town hall every fortnight at 2.30 p.m.

Mayor - Alderman Edward Woolley.
Deputy Mayor - Alderman Samuel Rowbottom.
*Luke Darwent. *Thomas Rawsthorne, retires 1900. *Herbert Rhodes .ǁWilliam Dawson. ǁSamuel Rowbottom. ǁEdward Woolley
All Saints' Ward.
†Charles Davies. *John Barnes. *Benjamin Platt. ǂAlbert Andrew. ǂJames Langley.
St. James' Ward.
†William McMellon. †Capt. Edward Partington. *Thomas Pearson Hunter. *Walter Oliver. ǂRobert Bennett.
ǂThomas Anderson.
Hadfield Ward.
†William Sargentson. †Fletcher Rigge. *Joseph Bennett. *James Sargentson. ǂAlfred Walker. ǂIsrael Warrington.
Marked thus † retire in 1895. Marked thus * retire in 1896. Marked thus ǂ retire in 1897 Marked thus ǁ retire in 1899.

Officers of the Corporation and Urban District Council.
Town Clerk, Clerk to the Urban Sanitary Authority & School Attendance Committee, Thomas Michael Ellison, Ellison street
Borough Treasurer, W. H. Hollingbery, Norfolk square
Assistant Treasurer, T. S. Bowden, Town hall
Medical Officer of Health, James Rhodes, 25 Victoria st
Veterinary Surgeon, (Infectious Diseases), E. S. Gubbin, Fauvel road
Public Analyst, J. Carter Bell, Manchester
Borough Auditor, H. Broadhurst, Pikes lane
Surveyor, Thomas Haynes, Town/hall
School Attendance Officer, Thomas, Rhodes, High st. east
Librarian, Miss Warhurst
Water inspector, John Garner, 46 Church street
Head Constable & Inspector of Weights & Measures, Hackney Carriages & Superintendent of Fire Brigade;
William Henry Hodgson. Ellison street
Inspector of Police, John Cooper, Bankbottom, Hadfield
Sanitary & Lighting Inspector, Samuel Dane, Primrose la
Baths Superintendent, A. Sandiford
Collectors, General District Rate, S. Fletcher, Hadfield street, Padfield; Borough & Watch, James Bridge, 11 Hadfield place; Water, Thomas Nield, 11 Norfolk st; Highway, W. McMath, Brosscroft, Hadfield

Public Establishments.
Borough Police Office, Ellison street, Wm. Hy. Hodgson, head constable; 3 sergeants & 16 constables
Borough Police Station, Albert street, Hadfield, John Cooper, inspector, & 4 constables
Cemetery, Cemetery road, Hadfield, Thomas Michael Ellison, clerk
County Court, His Honor Thomas Ellison, judge; Thomas Michael Ellison, registrar & high bailiff; office Ellison street, open from 10 to 4, on Saturdays from 10 till 1.
The county court is held at the Town hall & comprises the following parishes:- Arnfield & district of Tintwistle, Brownside, Charlesworth, Chisworth, Chunal, Dinting, Gamesley, Glossop, Hadfield, Hollingworth, Kinder, Padfield, Rhodes, Phoside, Rowarth, Saltersbrook, Simmondley, Torside, Waterside, Whitfield, Woodhead & Woolley Bridge
For Bankruptcy purposes this Court is included in that of Ashton-under-Lyne, Christopher Jenkins Dibb, official receiver; Arthur Bayley Pother, assistant official receiver, Ogden chambers, Bridge street, Manchester
Certified Bailiffs under the "Law of Distress Amendment Act," Samuel Hollinworth, 1a, Victoria street & Robert Wooley Sykes, 9 Norfolk square
Free Library & Public Hall, Fauvel road
Inland Revenue Office, Slatelands road, Thos. Kamester, officer
Park, North road
Public Baths, The Park
Town Hall, High street west
Wood's Hospital, The Park, Albert Andrew L.R.Q.C.P.Irel. Robert Nelson M.D. Duncan John Mackenzie M.D., C.M. James Rhodes, William White M.D., C.M. James Horald Wylde L.R.C.P.L.Irel., W. E. S. Burnett L.R.C.P.Edin., Bennett Ralph Sidebottom L.R.C.P.Edin. medical officers; T. S. Bowden esq. hon. sec.; Miss Ellen Warrener, matron

4th Volunteer Battalion Cheshire Regiment (L, M & N Companies), Glossop detachment, Drill hall; Hon. Major John Wood, commanding detachment; Lieut. G. Knowles, commanding L Co.; Lieut. Arthur Sidebottom, commanding M Co.; Lieut. S. H. Wood, commanding N Co.; Brigade-Surg.Lieut.-Col. W. E. S. Burnett L.R.C.P.Edin. medical .officer; Rev. Henry Thornton Dudley M.A. chaplain; Edward Sampson, sergeant instructor

Glossop Union.
Board day every alternate Wednesday, at 3 p.m.
Glossop union comprises the following places:- Charlesworth, Chisworth, Chunal, Dinting, Glossop or Glossop Dale, Hadfield, Ludworth, Padfield, Simmondley & Whitfield. The population of the union in 1891 was 26,797; area, 20,943 acres; rateable value in 1895, £81,657
Treasurer, Wm. Hy. Hollingbery, Norfolk sq. Glossop
Collector, James Bridge,11 Hadfield place, Hadfield
Relieving & Vaccination Officer, John Wood Bowden, 1 Fitzalan street, Glossop
Medical Officers & Public Vaccinators, Glossop district, Albert Andrew, High street west, Glossop; Whitfield district, James Rhodes, 25 Victoria street, Glossop
Superintendent Registrar, Henry Barber, New Mills; deputy, A. Barber, New Mills
Registrar of Births, Deaths & Marriages, Glossop sub-district, Thos. Swindells Bowden, 3 Wellgate, Glossop
Workhouse, to hold 144 inmates, John Warrington, master; James Rhodes, medical officer; Mrs. Hannah Warrington, matron.

School Attendance Committee.
Meets at the Workhouse on wed. in each month, at 4-p.m.
Clerk, Thomas Swindells Bowden, 3 Wellgate, Glossop

Glossop Dale Rural District Council
Meets at the Wesleyan school, Chisworth, on Mondays, monthly, at 6,p.m.
Clerk, Thomas Swindells Bowden, 3, Wellgate, Glossop.
Treasurer, William Henry Hollingbery, Manchester & Liverpool District Bank, Glossop
Medical Officer of Health, Jas. Rhodes, Victoria st. Glossop
Sanitary Inspector; William McMath, Broscroft, Hadfield

Public Officers
Assistant Overseer, David Massey 62 High street east
Coroner for the Peak Hundreds, Chas. Davis, 6 Market st
Stamp Distributor, Mrs S. E. Rodley; Post off, Norfolk sq

Places of Worship, with times of Services.
Parish Church, Rev. Adam Pyle Hamilton-Wilson, vicar; 8 & 10.30 a.m.; 2.30 & 6.30 p.m.; wed. 7.30 p.m
Holy Trinity, Dinting, Rev. Edwin Charles Collier M.A., vicar; 10.30 a.m. & 6.30 p.m.; wed. 7.30 p.m
St. James', Whitfield, Rev. Henry Thornton Dudley M.A. vicar; Rev John Steadman Parry B.A. curate;10.30 a.m. & 6.30 p.m.; daily, 9.30 a.m.; wed. & fri. 7.30 p.m
St. Andrew, Hadfield, Rev. Joseph Hadfield, vicar; Rev. Joseph Ames Martin, curate; 10.30 a.m. & 6.30 p.m.; wed. 7.30 p.m
All Saints' Catholic, Rev. W. J. Baigent, priest; 9.30 & 11 a.m. & 6.30 p.m
Reformers, Howard street, Rev. Thomas Bromage; 10.30 a.m. & 6 p.m.; wed. 7.30 p.m
St. James' Mission Room, George street; 3.15 p.m.
St. Paul's Mission Room, High street west; 3 p.m
Talbot Street Mission Room; 3.15 p.m. & 6.30 on second & last Sundays in the month
Sumner Memorial Church, Catholic (St. Mary's), Sumner street, Rev. Monsignor Charles W. (Canon) Tasker, priest; 8.30, 9.30 & 11 a.m. & 6.30 p.m.; daily at 8 a.m.; Thurs. 7.30 p.m
Congregational, Littlemoor, Rev. William Latham Parker; 10.30 a.m. & 6.30 p.m.; wed. 7.30 p.m.; seat 800
Congregational, St. Mary's road, Rev. James Kendal Kirby; 10.30 a.m. & 6 p.m.; wed. 7.30 p.m.; seat 600
Free Methodist Church, Hall street, Rev. J. Slack; 10.30 a.m. & 6 p.m.; alternate wed. 7.30 p.m.; seat 450
Primitive Methodist, Shrewsbury street, Rev. Thomas Vaughan; 10.30 a.m. & 6 p.m.; wed. 7.30 p.m.; seat 730
Primitive Methodist Mission Room, Princess street
United Methodist Free Church, Whitfield, Rev. J. Slack; 2.30 & 6 p.m.; Thurs. 7.30 p.m; seat 400
Unitarian, Fitzalan street, Rev, B. Lambley; 10.45 a.m. & 6.30 p.m.; seat 300
Wesleyan, High street west, Rev. John M. Mangles & Rev. John Codd; 10.30 a.m, & 6 p.m.; Thurs 7.30 p.m.; seat 1,500.
Wesley street, 10.30 a.m. & 6 p.m.; Thurs 7.30 p.m.; seat 400. Whitfield, 2.30 & 6 p.m.; wed. 7.30 p.m.; seat 400

Endowed, Old Glossop, with master's residence, built & endowed in 1852 by Henry Charles, 13th Duke of Norfolk, & enlarged in 1887, for 250 boys, 250 girls & 100 infants; average attendance, 100 boys, 70 girls & 65 infants; Arthur Henry Roberts, master; Miss Moore, mistress; Miss Arnold, infants' mistress
Endowed, Whitfield (mixed), with masters residence, founded in 1779 by Joseph Hague esq. of Park hall, Hayfield, & endowed with £39 yearly, for 144 children; average attendance, 135; Walter P. Evason, master; Mrs. Elizabeth Ann Evason, mistress
Infants', Waterside, Hadfield, built in 1872, for 170 children; average attendance, 136; Miss A. E, Hall, mist
National (mixed), Dinting, built in 1875 & enlarged by Mrs. Wood in 1887, for 450 children & 150 infants; average attendance, 252 children & 39 infants; William Meakin, master; Miss Clara Riley, mistress; Miss Ada B. Consterdine, infants' mistress
National, Hadfield (mixed), erected 1835, for 550 children; average attendance, 334; Alfred Walker, master
National, Talbot street (girls & infants), built in 1880 for 250 children; average attendance, 162; Miss Jane Tattersall, mistress
National, Whitfield (mixed & infants), for 560 children; average attendance, 340; George Edward Cox, master; J. A. Pearson, assistant master; Misses S. A. Morriss, J. B. Shepley, Janet Cox & Gertrude Cox-Sutcliffe, mistresses
Day School, Padfield (mixed), erected 1887, for 217 children; average attendance, 197; William Lees Marshall, master
Congregational, Victoria street (mixed), built in 1881, for 700 children; average attendance, 270; Mr. Joseph Walkden, master; Miss M. I. G. Scafe, infants' mistress
Catholic, St. Mary's road, for 200 children; average attendance, 70; Sisters of the Order of St. Paul, teachers
Catholic, Old Glossop (mixed), for 120 children; average attendance, 70; Sisters of the Order of St. Paul, teachers
Catholic, Hadfield (mixed), for 200 children; average attendance, 190; Sisters of the Order of St. Paul, teachers
Wesleyan, High street (mixed & infants), erected 1851 for 400 children; average attendance, 264; R. H. Dickenson, master
Wesleyan, Old Glossop (mixed), erected 1824, rebuilt 1876, for 225 children ; average attendance, 146; Waltr. Houseman, master; Miss Hannah Thornhill Adshead, mistress
Wesleyan, Hadfield (mixed), erected 1808, enlarged 1822 & rebuilt 1854, for 300 children; average attendance, 200; Jas. Nelson, master; Miss Maria Nelson, mistress


Private Residents
Abrahams Chas. Arthur, Spire Hollin
Allen Edward, Lea Mount
Allen Edward Wagstaffe, Lea Mount
Anderson Mrs. 41 Norfolk street
Andrew Albert, 16 High street west
Armitage Mrs. 77 Norfolk street
Baigent Rev. W. J. (Catholic), Royle house, Old Glossop
Bennett Miss, 88 St. Mary's road
Booth Wm. Alfred, Slatelands road
Booth Wright, Rose cottage, North rd
Bowden John, 59 Norfolk street
Bowden Thomas Swindells, 3 Wellgate
Bowden William, 102 St. Mary's road
Broadhurst Charles, 10 John street
Broadhurst Harry, 51 Pike's lane
Bromage Rev. Thomas (Wesleyan Reform Union), Hollin Cross lane
Burns Rev. Jn. (Catholic), Sumner st
Charlesworth Alfred, 26 Howard st
Codd Rev. John (Wes.), North road
Collier James, 44 Sheffield road
Cox George Edward, Rose cottage, Hollin Cross lane
Crannage Alfred, 53 Hollin Cross lane
Cuthbert John, Spire Hollin
Darwent Wm. Henry, 21 Lord street
Davies Charles, Hurst
Davies Sydney, John street
Dearnaley Joseph, Parkfld ho. Nrth.rd
Dearnally Abel, 17 Lord street
Dickenson-Knowles Mrs. Holly bank, Talbot road
Dudley Rev. Henry Thornton M.A. Vicarage, Whitfield
Elliott Mrs. Margrt. 127 Victoria st
Ellison Thomas Michael, Ryecroft house, Hall street
Evason Henry Edward, 12 Henry st
Evason Walter P. 14 Hague street
Eversden John William, Highfield house, Talbot road
Eversden William, 2 Railway street
Fairclough Walter P. Mus.Bac.F.C.O. Shaw street
Fielding Christopher, 69 Norfolk st
Fielding Henry, 39 Norfolk street
Fielding Samuel, 9 Gladstone street
Garside Alfred, Surrey street
Garside Mrs. 56 Surrey street
Gillies Robert, 87 Primrose lane
Greaves William, 37 Norfolk street
Hadfield Charles, Viaduct house
Hadfield Henry, Cowbrook
Hadfield Joseph, 73 Norfolk street
Hadfield Misses, Lees hall, Turn Lee
Hadfield Samuel, 98 St, Mary's road
Hadfield Thomas, 75 Norfolk street
Haigh Thomas B. 13 Norfolk street
Hall William, Sunny bank, North rd
Hall William, Park view, North road
Hamilton-Wilson Rev Adam Pyle (vicar of Glossop), The Vicarage
Hampson Joseph, 5 Bank terrace
Hardman John, 47 Norfolk street
Higginbottom Charles, 113 Victoria st
Hollingbery William Henry, The Bank, Norfolk square
Howard of Glossop Lord J.P. Glossop hall; & Dorlin, Loch Sheil, Scotland; & 19 Rutlnd. gate, Lndn. S W
Howard William, Primrose lane
Hunter Thomas Pearson, Talbot road
Hurst John, 43 Sheffield road
Hyde William, 15 Sumner street
Jackson Mrs. Holly mount, Norfolk st
Jackson Walter, Hobroyd
Kirby Rev. James Kendal (Congregational), 27 Norfolk street
Knowles Chas. E. HolmDale, North rd
Knowles Francis Gordon, Beechwood, North road
Lambley Rev. R. (Unitarian), The Hurst
Lawton Mrs. 51 Norfolk street
Leech Alfred, Cowbrook cottage, Sheffield road
Lomas Miss Grace, 20 Howard street
Mackenzie Duncan John M.D. 64 & 66 High street west
McKnight Thomas, 61 Norfolk street
Mangles Rev John M. (Wesleyan), 1 Shrewsbury street
Merry James, 86 St. Mary's road
Mitchell Julian, 35 Norfolk street
Moran Frederick W. G. Oakleigh, North road
Moran Mrs. 15 Norfolk street
Nelson Jas. Milford ho. North road
Nelson Robert M.D. Norfolk street
Newton Mrs. Arundel villas, North rd
Nuttall Mrs. James, Sheffield road
Parker Rev. William Latham (Congregational), Littlemoor manse
Partington Captain Edward J.P. Easton High street east
Partington Herbert, Lea Mount
Pennington Miss, 57 Norfolk street
Pettit Edwin Walter, 12 Howard st
Platt Edward, Talbot house
Pollitt Mrs. 67 Norfolk street
Potts Joseph, 42 Sheffield road
Pratt James, 15 Lord street
Proctor Miss, 57 Norfolk street
Rawstorne Thos. 28 High street east
Rhodes James, 25 Victoria street
Roberts Geo. 16 Hollin Cross lane
Robinson Miss, Cowbrook
Robinson Ralph Bernard, 17 Arundel st
Rowbottom John, 31 Hall street
Rowbottom Samuel, Shepley street
Schofield Alfred Ernest, Norfolk st
Sidebottom Albert, 65 Norfolk street
Simpson John Thomas, 19 Norfolk st
Sidebottom Ralph Bennett, 20 Hollin Cross lane
Slack Chas. Hollywood, Sheffield road
Slack Rev J. (Methodist Free Church), 45 Sheffield road
Slack Mrs. Ryecroft cottage, Hall st
Smith Alfred Blades, 8 Hague street, Whitfield
Swire Hezekiah, 71 Norfolk street
Swire Thomas, 8 Spire Hollin
Sykes Samuel William Bennett, 84 St. Mary's road
Tasker Rev Monsignor Canon Charles W. (Catholic), Sumner street
Taylor David, 55 Norfolk street
Thorp Walter, Talbot road
Thorp William, 96 St. Mary's road
Tweedale John Wm. 45 Norfolk street
Tweedale Mrs. 45 Norfolk street
Vaughan Rev. Thomas (Primitive Methodist), North road
Walton Mrs. Moorside
Walton William, Lord street
Warhurst Mrs. 24 Howard street
Weetman Jn.. Aloysius, Wren Nest ho
Widdup William, 29 Norfolk street
Wilkinson Thomas, 2 Sheffield road
Wilson James, 33 Hall street
Wood John M.A. D.L., J.P. Whitfield house
Wood Mrs. 38 Kershaw street
Wood Mrs. 100 St. Mary's road
Wood Mrs. Samuel, Moorfield house
Wragg Mrs. 63 Norfolk street
Wyatt Mrs. Charlestown villa

Abrahams Charles Arthur, steward to Lord Howard of Glossop, Estate offices, Spire Hollin
Adshead Joseph & Son, house decorators, 40 High st. east
Allcock Phoebe (Mrs.), baby linen dlr. 5 High st. east
Allen Edward, mill manager, Charlestown road
Allen Michael, beer retailer, 64 Chapel street
Amps & Shelton (Misses), ladies' school, Primrose house
Andrew Albert L.K.Q.C.P.Irel. physician, 16 High st. west
Armitage Charles Henry, grocer, 93 High street west
Armitage John, wholesale fruiterer, Victoria street
Arrowsmith James, clog & patten maker, 132 High st. west
Ashcroft Jane (Miss), dressmaker, 98 Victoria street
Ashton George, draper & grocer, 8 Gladstone street
Ashton Matthew, umbrella maker, 44 High street west
Atkin Eliza (Miss), shopkeeper, 27 St;. Mary's road
Atkin William Edward, coal merchant, 36 St. Mary's road & Railway yard
Atkinson William, grocer, 117 High street west
Bagshaw & Fielding, coach proprietors, Surrey street
Bagshaw Arthur, cabinet maker, 26 High street west
Bagshaw Henry, Station inn, Norfolk street
Bailey Thomas, shopkeeper, 8 Chapel street
Bamforth & Barber (Misses), dress makers & shopkeepers, 2 Whitfield Cross
Bamforth Caroline & Alice (Misses), confectioners, 136 Victoria street
Bamforth Sam, ironworks manager, 83 Surrey street
Bamforth William, coal dealer, 13 Free town
Band Charles Downs, mason & builder, 27 Sheffield road
Barber & Siddall (Misses), shopkeepers, 17 Hope street
Barber Alice (Miss), confectioner, 92 High street west
Barlow Betty (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 91 Victoria street
Barnes Jas.& Son, drapers & milliners, 31 & 33 High st. wst
Barratt John, mill manager, 15 Lord street
Bates & Howarth, auctioneers, 22 Norfolk street
Bates Herbert, tripe dealer, 13 Hadfield place
Batty George, joiner, 45 Chapel street
Beard Elizabeth Ann (Mrs.), news agent, 44 St. Mary's rd
Beard James, farmer, Whitfield moor
Beard John, draper & milliner, 3 High street west
Beard John, tripe dealer, 134 High street west
Beeley James, ironmonger, Gladstone street
Beeley Joshua, yeoman, Moorfield
Beeley Samuel, draper, 22 High street west
Bennett Robert,pork butcher & beer retailer, 96 Victoria st
Bennett Robert, shopkeeper & beer retailer, 28 Freetown
Bennett Thomas, coal dealer, 126 Victoria street
Bennett Thomas, shopkeeper, 221 High street west
Bennett William, butcher, 6 Bennett's fold, Sheffield road
Benton William, stone mason, 4 Mount street
Beresford Joseph, shopkeeper, 191 High street west
Berry Joshua, coal dealer, 52 High street east
Beswick Edmund, hair dresser, 220 High street west
Bill Posting & Advertising Co. Lim. (John Kidd Hollingbery, sec.), Howard chambers, Howard street
Blackwell Samuel, brass & iron founder, George street
Boote James Percival, manager of the Manchester & County Bank, 19 High street west
Boardman & Sons, wheelwrights & smiths, High st. east
Boon Thomas, shopkeeper, 70 Freetown
Booth Eli, shopkeeper, Hall street
Booth James, agent for Prudential Assur. Co. 361 High st. wst
Booth Mary (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 19 Arundel street
Booth Nancy (Mrs.), farmer, Hobroyd
Booth Wright, brewery traveller, Rose cottage, North rd
Bottomley William Hy. grocer & corn dlr. 11 High st. east
Bowden John, hardware dealer & tripe dresser, 1 Collier street & 108 High street west
Bowden John Wood, relieving & vaccination officer, 1 Fitzalan street
Bowden Joseph, grocer, 36 Church street
Bowden Mary (Mrs,), shopkeeper, 199 High street east
Bowden Samuel, farmer, Heath
Bowden Thomas Swindells, registrar of births, deaths & marriages, & clerk to the guardians,& school attendance & assessment committees of Glossop union, & clerk to Glossop Dale rural district council, 3 Wellgate
Bowden William James, surgeon, The Poplars
Bowden William, ironmonger, 1 High street east
Bowden William, joiner & builder, Bernard street
Bowden Wm. Hy. builder & timber merchant, Howard st
Boyer Elizabeth (Mrs.), dress maker, 18 Princess street
Boyd John, joiner, 66 Victoria street
Bradbury Charles, butcher, 141 Victoria street
Bradbury Eliza (Mrs.), grocer, 16 Princess street
Bradbury James, shopkeeper, 10 Gladstone street
Bradbury George William, painter, 133 High street east
Bradbury John, butcher, 28 Princess street
Bradbury John, Commercial inn, 137 Hall street
Bradbury Joseph, farmer, Whitfield green
Bradbury Martha (Mrs.), grocer, 1 Charlestown road
Bradbury Robert, hair dresser, 6 Victoria street
Bradbury Thomas, chemist, 1 High street west
Bradbury William, gamekeeper, Sheffield road
Braddock Eli & Son, estate agents, 73 High street east
Braddock Walter, cycle maker, 74 High street east
Bradley George, beer retailer, 5 Bernard street
Bradley John E. beer retailer, 38 High street west
Bradley Ralph, beer retailer, 99 High street east
Bramhall Jabez, confectioner, 131 High street west
Bramhall John, saddler, 75 High street west
Bramhall Thomas, confectioner, High street & beer retailer, Market street
Bramwell Luke, confectioner, 98 High street west
Bramwell Mary Ann (Mrs.), confectioner, 76 High St. east
Bridge James, borough & watch rate collector & collector to the union, 11 Hadfield place
Bridge Thomas, Globe inn, 144 High street west
Briggs & Jowett (Misses), confectioners, 46 High st. west
British & Colonial Meat Co. butchers, 71 High st. west
Broadhurst Elizabeth Ann (Miss), dress maker, 10 John st
Brocklehurst Annie (Miss), dining rooms. 45 High St. west
Brooks George, greengrocer, 96 High street west
Brooks William Henry, fishmonger, 3 Victoria street
Brooks John, farmer, 16 Hague street
Brown David Matthew, Crown inn, 142 Victoria street
Brown Elizabeth (Mrs.), fried fish dealer, 170 High st. wst
Brown John, bootmaker, 112 High street west
Brown John, bootmaker, 5 a, Victoria street
Brownson George, tailor, 2 High street east
Buckley James Henry, pawnbroker, 13 High street west
Buckley Joseph Edwin, grocer, 123 High street west
Buckley Noah, farmer, Bridge-field
Buckley William, slater & plasterer, 23 Mount street
Bunn Herbert, confectioner, 84 High street west
Bunting Joseph, hair dresser, 13 Victoria street
Bunting Joseph Hague, photographer, 103 Victoria street
Burkhard Charles, pork butcher, 65 High street west
Burns Mary (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 29 Hague street
Buxton Bennett, farmer, Whitfield Barn
Campbell David, jun; commercial traveller, Corn street
Carrington William, shopkeeper, 64 Victoria street
Cemetery (Hadfield) (Thomas Michael Ellison, clerk); offices, Ellison street
Chadwick John & Son, outfitters, 363 High street west; & pawnbrokers; 2 Cross street
Chappell Raphael, grocer, 120 Victoria street
Chapman Henry, police sergeant, 49 Norfolk street
Charlesworth Frederick, Junction inn, High street west
Charlesworth Joseph, builder, 19 Shrewsbury street
Charlesworth William, butcher, 244 High street west
Clegg Lewis, commercial traveller, 14 Hollin Cross lane
Clowes Mary (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 237 High street west
Cluskey Elizabeth (Mrs.), house furnisher, 21 High st. east
Cockayne George, wheelwright, Primrose lane
Collier Joseph, Norfolk Arms hotel & posting ho. Norfolk sq
Collier Maria (Mrs.), Rose & Crown P.H. 89 High st. west
Conner John, shopkeeper, 271 High street west
Connor Alfred, confectioner, 289 High street west
Connor Patrick, beer retailer, 24 Arundel street
Consumers' Tea Co. (Ollerenshaw & Co. proprietors), Town Hall buildings
Cooke John, hatter, 59 High street west
Cooper Moses & Sons, tailors & drapers, 28 High st. west
Cooper Cephas, shoe maker, 11 Victoria street
Cooper John, beer retailer, 78 High street west
Cooper William, Commercial inn, Charlestown
County Court Office (His Honor Thomas Ellison, judge; Thos. Michael Ellison,registrar & high bailiff ), Norfolk sq
Cox Martha (Mrs.), tobacconist, 121 High street west
Craigh Elizabeth (Miss), dress maker, 21 Norfolk street
Crannage Alfred, watch & clock maker, 6a, High street west
Crossley Benjamin, farmer, Hurst Nook
Cunnington William, fishmonger, 70 Charlestown road
Cuthbert John, tobacconist, 80 High street west
Dacre Ann (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 88 Kershaw street
Dale George, news agent, 90 Victoria street
Dane Samuel, sanitary & lighting inspector to the corporation, Primrose lane
Darlington Edward, income tax collector, 7 Lord street
Darwent William Henry, ironmonger & gas & water fitter, & sec. to Conservative Club, 7 Victoria street
Darwent Frank, insurance agent, 19 Lord street
Darwent Luke, farmer, Bitten hill
Davis Charles, solicitor & coroner for the Peak hundreds, 6 Market street
Dearnaley Thos. iromnngr. & blacksmth, 125 High st. west
Depledge Joseph, shopkeeper, 43 King street
Devlin Francis, shopkeeper, 56 Arundel street
Dixon George Henry, coal dealer, 183 High street east & Railway yard
Dixon John, farmer, Pikes farm
Dixon Lucy (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 90 High street east
Doodson George, draper, 76 High street west
Downing William, tea dealer, 8 Norfolk street
Drinkwater James, farmer, 2 Hague street
Duckworth Tom, beer retailer, 1 Surrey street
Dunkerly Frederick, hair dresser, 70 High street west
Dutton James, Talbot inn, 25 Hall street
Dutton Thomas, painter, 88 High street west
Earnshaw Sarah Ann (Mrs.), beer retailer, Whitfield cross
Ellison Thomas Michael, solicitor & clerk to county & borough magistrates & town clerk, & clerk to the parish council & school attendance committee, & registrar of county court, Ellison street
Evason Henry Edward, cashier at Lord Howard's estate office, 12 Henry street
Eversden George, hatter, Town Hall buildings
Eversden John William, corn merchant, 16 High st. east
Eversden William, greengrocer, 2 Railway street
Fairclough Walter Peake Mus.Bac., F.C.O. professor of music, Shaw street
Fielding Enoch & Son, watch & clock makers, 24 High st. we
Fielding Charles, excursion agent, St. Mary's road
Fielding Charles, builder & stone deader, 37 Whitefield cross
Fielding Edward, shopkeeper, 2 Wesley street
Fielding James, grocer & draper, 132 Pike's lane
Fielding William Walton, shopkeeper, 20 Norfolk street
Fletcher Sarah Ann (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 63 Victoria street
Ford Eliza (Mrs.), Surrey Arms P.H. 133 Victoria street
Ford John, auctioneer, Charleston road
Foster Robert, clogger, 2 Milltown
Foster Thomas, beer retailer, 25 High street east
France James, butcher, 139 High street west
Free Library & Public Hall, Fauvel road
Freemasons' Lodge (Devonshire) (George Brown, tyler), Henry street
Freetown Working Men's Institute (Thomas Prince, sec.), Kershaw street
Furniss Brook, Albion inn, 15 Victoria street
Garlick William, coal merchant, Railway wharf
Garner John, manager, to Water works, 46 Church street
Garside Cyrus & Sons Limited, timber, slate, tile & cement merchants, Glossop saw mills, Surrey street
Garside John & Co. sauce manufacturers, Princess street
Garside Charles, herbalist, 26 Princes street
Garside Elizabeth (Miss), dress maker, 26 Princess street
Garside Joseph (Mrs.), farmer, Lees Hall farm, Turn Lee
Gas Co. (Joshua Sidebottom, cashier), Arundel street
Gaskell Peter joiner, 7 George Street
Glossop Carriage Co. Limited, undertakers & coach proprietors, Howard street
Gillott William Richard, music dealer, Victoria street
Glossop Conservative Club (William Henry Darwent, sec.), 26 Norfolk street
Glossop Cricket Club (Thos. R. Howarth, sec.), North, rd
Glossop Dale Chronicle & North Derbyshire Reporter (William Sheppard, proprietor; published Friday), 18 Norfolk street
Glossop Dale New Industrial Co-operative Society (Wm. Walton, sec.), Norfolk square; 369 High street west; 20 Charlestown road; 8 Hall st.; reg. offi. 2 Railway st
Glossop Dale Savings Bank (Thomas Bead Ellison, actuary), open on Saturdays, 12 a.m. till 1 p.m. & 6 to 7 p.m. Howard chambers
Glossop Horticultural Society (William Henry Darwent, sec.), 21 Lord street
Glossop Ironworks Co. Lim. (Sam Bamforth manager), Surrey street. T A "Iron,Glossop"; T N 11
Glossop Liberal Club (Joe France, sec.), Henry street
Glossop Richmond Building Society (John Kidd Hollingbery, sec.), Howard chambers
Glossop Working Men's Club (Wm. Henry Booth, sec.), St. Mary's road
Goddard James & William, stone masons, Hague street
Goddard Annie (Miss), milliner, 110 High street
Goddard Joseph, farmer, Gnathole
Goddard Joseph, fruit, fish & game dealer, 114 High st. wst
Goddard Mary (Miss), news agent & tobacconist, 240 & 242 High street west
Goddard William, stone mason, Hague street
Golden Alfred Percival, chemist, 48 High street west
Goldthorpe Elizabeth (Mrs.), beer retailer, 33 Charles st
Gregory Samuel, farmer, Moorfield
Green John Thomas, beer retailer, 40 Pike's lane
Greenwood Edwin, stationer & bookseller, 57 High st. east
Greenwood John, farmer & stone merchant, Tan Yard frm
Griffin John, tailor, 11 George street
Gubbin Ernest Sargent M.R.C.V.S.Lon. veterinary surgeon, Fauvel road
Hadfield —, wire mattress maker, Hadfield street
Hadfield Charles, farmer, Bank bottom
Hadfield Eli, grocer, 105 High street east
Hadfield James, Arundel Arms P.H. Cemetery road
Hadfield John, cotton spinner, Cowbrook mill
Hadfield Joseph, carrier, 53 Norfolk street
Hadfield Joseph, greengrocer, 16 Norfolk street
Hadfield Joseph, shoe maker, 97 High street east
Hadfield Samuel, mill manager, Sumner street
Hadfield Thomas & Son, drapers & outfitters, 29 High st. we
Hadfield Walter, boot & shoe maker, Shepley street
Haigh Matthew, shopkeeper, 11 Arundel street
Hall Charles & Sons, tailors & drapers, Leeds house, High street west
Hall Isaac, boot maker, Freetown
Hall James, grocer, 146 St. Mary's road
Hall James, tripe dealer, 61 High street east
Hall Joseph, shoe maker, 201 High street east
Hall Robert, cabinet maker, 1a, Gladstone street
Hambleton Joshua, gamekeeper, Sheffield road
Hamnett Jas. & Son, watch & clock makers, 14a High st. ea
Hampshire James, shopkeeper, 89 Gladstone street
Hampshire John, stone mason, Gladstone street
Handforth Mary (Miss), dress maker, 31 Princess street
Hardman John, dentist, 11 Norfolk square & 47 Norfolk st
Harrison Abel, coal merchant, Railway street; & at Broadbottom; Dinting & Hadfield railway stations; & mineral water manufacturer at Simmondley Springs
Harrison Charles Smith, grocer & corn dlr. 122 High st. west
Harrop John, patent medicine vendor, 71 High street east
Hawke Robert George, architect, Norfolk street
Haynes Thomas, surveyor to corporation, Town hall, High street west
Heap Rushforth, sewing machine agent, 20 Sheffield road
Helm Brian, grocer & tobacconist, 36 High street east
Hesketh Richard, Surrey Arms hotel, 67 High street west
Hewett William, shoe maker, 8 Collier street
Heywood Edward W. pianoforte dealer, 62 Victoria street
Hibbs Hannah (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 213 High street west
Higginbottom James, estate agent, 1 Railway street
Higginbottom John, shopkeeper, Dinting vale
Higginbottom John Sml. draper & milliner, 17 High st. we
Higginbottom William, draper, 2 Victoria street
Hill David, insurance agent, 102 Victoria street
Hill Hugh, farmer, The Hurst, Bridgefield
Hill Mary (Mrs.), farmer, Cliffe road
Hill William, baby linen dealer, 94 High street west
Hinchcliffe John & Co. coal merchants, Railway yard
Hinchcliffe Henry, stone dealer, 5 Lord street & Blake quarry, Blackshaw Clough
Hodgson William Henry, head constable of borough police, & inspector of weights & measures, Police office, Ellison street
Holdgate Wm. & Bros, florists & seedsmen, 23 Fitzalan st
Holdgate James, painter, glazier &c. 149 High St. west
Holdgate Thomas, shopkeeper, 5 Milltown
Holdgate William, iron broker, 33 St. Mary's road
Holdsworth George, photographer, Shrewsbury street
Hollingbery John Kidd, chartered accountant, Howard chambers, Howard street
Hollingbery Wm. Hy. manager of the Manchester & Liverpool District Bank, & borough treasurer & treasurer to the union & rural district council, Norfolk square
Hollingworth Hannah (Miss), shopkeeper, 27 Derby street
Hollinworth Saml. stationer, news agent & agent to the Allan & Dominion line of steamships, 1a, Victoria st
Hollins William, spring mattress maker, 6 Charles street
Holmes Frank, quarry master & dealer in paving setts, hewing stones &c. Lees Hall quarry, Turn Lee; res. Pike's lane
Howard Frederick, hair dresser, Market street
Howard George Frost, beer retailer, 13 Bernard street
Howard John, beer retailer, 78 High street east
Howard Sarah (Mrs.), farmer, Ashes
Howard William, joiner & builder, 27 Hadfield street
Hudson Ralph, stone dealer, Turn Lee road
Hunter Thomas Pearson, draper, 9 High street west
Hurst Aaron, grocer, Charlestown
Hyde Geo. milliner & fancy draper, 9 High street west (Error in original, should be 12)
Hyde Walter, hatter & tobacconist, 34 High street west
Independent Order of Good Templars (meet every week at Good Templars' room, Edward street, Tuesdays 8 p.m.) (Samuel Wood L.D.), 15 Charles street
Ingerson Ann (Mrs.), dress maker, 6 Cross street
Ingerson John, tailor, 6 Cross street
Ingham Hannah (Mrs.), dress maker, 73 High street west
Ingham John, builder & contractor, Shrewsbury street
Inland Revenue Office (Thomas Kamester, officer), Slatelands road
Irlam Wm. Hy. stationer, printr. & bookbndr High st. we
Irvine Wm. nurseryman, Hawkshead Nursery gardens, Old Glossop
Jackson Maria (Mrs.), draper, 106 Pike's lane
Jackson Isaac, belt fastener manufacturer
Jackson Levi (exors. of), rope, twine & cotton band manufacturers & farmers, Hobroyd
Jackson Rowland, tobacconist, 4 High street east
Jacobs William, Bridge inn P.H. Market street
Jefferson Henry, spring mattress maker, Howard street
Johnson James, shopkeeper, 273 High street west
Jones William, greengrocer, 32 High street west
Jowett Harriet Ann (Miss), confectnr. see Briggs & Jowett
Kamester Thomas, inland revenue officer, 16 Slatelands rd
Keightley John Charles, draper, 118 Victoria street
Kenny Margt. (Mrs.), confctnr. & dress ma. 6 High st. east
Kenyon Walter, clogger, 68 High street west
Kershaw John, clogger, 138 Victoria street
Kershaw Jonathan, greengrocer, 377 High street west
Kidd Elizabeth (Miss), confectioner, 12 High street east
Kinder George, grocer, 198 High street
Kinder Henry, chemist & dentist, 85 High street west
Kinder Walter, slater & plasterer, 35 Sumner street
Knott Samuel, farmer, Hurst
Lamb Edmund, goods inspector, 31 Norfolk street
Lancaster Elizh. (Mrs.), Wheat Sheaf P.H. 16 Wellgate
Lawton & Co. drapers, 27 High, street west
Lawton John, tinplate worker, Wellgate
Leach Frederick, pie maker, 10 High street west
Lee Hannah & Clarice (Misses) & Craven, confectioners, 104 High street west
Lee George, fried fish dealer, 129 High street east
Lee John, shopkeeper, 40 Hope street
Lee John, shopkeeper, 12 Milltown
Leighton Maria (Mrs.), hair dresser, 195 High street east
Lester James, fruiterer, 63 High street east
Lewis Esther (Miss), baby linen dealer, 24 High street ea
Littlewood Dick, yeast dealer, Surrey street
Lockwood Thomas, coal merchant, Railway yard
Lomas Robert, beer retailer, 16 Chapel street
Longden Alfred, farmer & stone engraver, Cemetery road
Longden Elizabeth (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 88 Victoria st
Longstone William, shopkeeper, 106 Charlestown
Lowe Moses, shoe maker, 91 High street west
Lowe William, tailor, 117 Gladstone street
Lyne Thomas, beer retailer, 21 Charlestown road
Mackenzie Duncan John M.D., C.M. Surgeon, 64 & 66 High street west
McMellon William, tailor & draper, 18 High street west
Makin Martha (Miss), dress maker, 21 Princess street
Manchester & County Bank Lim. (branch) (James Percival Boote, manager), High street west; draw on Union Bank of London Limited, London E C
Malkin Samuel (exors. of), corn millers, High street east
Manchester & Liverpool District Banking Co. Limited (branch) (W. H. Hollingbery, manager), Norfolk sq.; draw on London office, 75 Cornhill E C
Marsden Elijah, shopkeeper, 73 Hall street
Marsden Joel, farmer, Lane Head
Marsden Herbert, farmer, Lane side
Marsden Thomas, shopkeeper, 40 Church street
Marshall Thomas, hosier, 86 High street west
Massey David, assistant overseer, 62 High street east
Mawson Thomas, saddler & harness maker, 8 Norfolk sq
May Thos. & Sons, basket & skip makers, 53 Victoria st
May Amos, skip maker, 59 High street east
Melia Daniel & Co, tea merchants, 11 High street west
Mellor Josiah, auctioneer, 74 High street west
Merry Jas. ironmongr. plumbr. & gasfitter, 34 High st. east
Metcalfe Sarah (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 218 High street west
Middleton Thomas, boot maker, 114 Victoria street
Miller Thomas & Co. grocers, 50 High street west
Minting Thomas, shopkeeper, 9 Chapel street
Mitchell Julian, surgeon-dentist, 35 Norfolk street
Moran & Knowles, solicitors, Howard chambers; Howard street; & at Hadfield
Morley Joseph, grocer, 50 Church street
Needham Joseph, saddler, 56 Church street
Needham Walter, farmer, Hurst
Nelson Joseph, shoe maker, 105 Gladstone street
Nelson Robert M.D. surgeon, Norfolk street
Newton Ann (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 72 Gladstone street
Newton Charles, beer retailer, 17 Gladstone street
Newton William, grocer, 45 Bernard street
Nicholls George, beer retailer, 277 High street west
Nield James, boot & shoe maker, 20 High street west
Nield Thos. tea dlr. & water rate collector, 11 Norfolk st
North Derbyshire & North Cheshire Advertiser (Advertiser Printing & Publishing Co. Lim. publishers & proprietors; pub. sat.), Howard street
Nuttall George Howard Arms, 17 High street
Nutter Robert, beer retailer, 1 Surrey street
Ogden Kay, insurance agent, 25 Lord street
Oldham Abner, shopkeeper, 6 Chapel street
Oldham Hannah (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 197 High street east
Oldham Jsph. Edwd. professor of music, 2 Turn Lee road
Olive & Partington, paper makers, paper stainers & tin foil manufacturers, Turn Lee & Dover mills; & 11 Newmarket lane, Manchester
Oliver Alfred, grocer, 30 Queen street
Oliver Homer, grocer, 142 High street west
Oliver James, shopkeeper, 103 High street east
Oliver Walter, ironmonger, 39 High street west
Ollerenshaw Abel, herbalist, 136 High street west
Ollerenshaw John, slater & plasterer, 30 Talbot street
Ollerenshaw John, farmer, Cross Cliffe
Orme Joseph, draper, 197 High street west
Orme Thomas, joiner, High street west
Osbaldeston Martha (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 42 Arundel st
Owen Hugh, boot & shoe maker, 8 John street
Page Samuel, hair dresser, 6 Norfolk street
Parker Thomas, news agent, 60 High street west
Parkinson Malcolm M.D. physician & surgeon, Arundel st
Partington Edward, paper manfr. see Olive & Partington
Patchett Arthur, butcher, 6 High street west
Patchett Margaret (Mrs.), butcher, 36 High street west
Pearson Hugh, shopkeeper, 5 Freetown
Pedley William Higginbottom, tea dealer 78 Princess st
Pemberton John, beer retailer, 78 High street east
Philharmonic Society (W. P. Fairclough, Mus.Bac., F.C.O. sec. & conductor), Shaw street
Pickford Alfred, baker, 106 Gladstone street
Pickford Fred, Grapes inn, 305 High street west
Pickford Job, chipped potato dlr. 82 & 363 High st. west
Pickford John, grocer, 84 Victoria street
Pickford Lot, greengrocer, 56 High street west
Pilkinton Peter, Bee Hive inn, 35 Hague street
Platt Benjamin & Son, grocers & drapers, 119, 121 & 123 High street east
Platt George, butcher, 49 High street west
Platt Edwin Jas. coal mer. Railway yard & Bank street
Platt John, grocer, 12 Wellgate
Poole John Henry, tailor, 85 High street east
Potts Henry, joiner, St. Mary's road
Potts Joseph, joiner, 45 Sheffield road
Proctor Robert, chemist & drysalter, 7 High street west
Public Baths (Wm. Heginbotham, man.), Howard park
Public Weighbridge (Thos. Parr, weigher), Railway yard
Pye John, farmer, Heath
Pye Richard shopkeeper, 3 Duke street
Rathbone John, boot maker, 140 High street west
Rawstorne Thomas, mill manager, 28 High street .east
Redfern Ann (Miss), glass & china dealer, 68 High st west (Error, should be 58)
Redfern Isaac, shopkeeper, 35 Gladstone street
Redford Joseph, grocer, 70 Victoria street
Rhodes James M.R.C.S.Eng. surgeon, & medical officer of health to urban & rural district councils, & medical officer & public vaccinator, Whitfield dist. 25 Victoria st
Rhodes John, surgeon, 25 Victoria street
Rhodes Thomas, school attendance officer to corporation, High street east
Riley Thomas, Bull's Head P.H. 72 Church street
Roberts Charlotte (Mrs.), draper, 90 High street west
Roberts George, sec. to Shepley Mills Spinning Co. 16 Hollin Cross lane
Roberts Wm. Hy. calico printers' designer, 23 Lord st
Robinson & Co. painters & glaziers, 62 High street west
Robinson James, painter, 2 & 4 Norfolk street
Robinson Joe, contractor, 31 Freetown
Robinson Walter, draper, 12 & 14 Norfolk street
Rodley Sarah Elizabeth (Mrs.), stamp distributor & registry office, Post office, Norfolk square
Roe Jn. clerk of works to Lord Howard, 14 Wesley st
Rolly Alice (Miss), milliner, 8 High street east
Rowbottom James, cotton spinner, Hurst mills
Rowbottom John Charles, stone mason, 134 Victoria st
Rowbottom Maria (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 259 High st. west
Rowbottom Samuel, cotton spinner & band manufacturer, Meadow mills
Sale Harriet (Mrs.), beer retailer, 11 Chapel street
Sampson Edward, drill instructor, Hadfield street
Schofield Mary Ellen & Annie (Misses), stationers, 6 Norfolk square
Schofield James, butcher, 83 High street east
Schofield Samuel, boot maker, 78 Pike's lane
Scholes Albert, butcher, 127 High street west
Seddon William Henry, Manor inn, 77 High street east
Sellars Squire, draper, 5 High street east
Shaw Edwin & Co. piano dealers &c. 9 High street east
Shaw George, news agent, 128 High street east
Shelton Summers, ladies' school, see Amps & Shelton
Shephard Charles, provision dealer, 130 High st. east
Shepherd John, farmer, Mossy Lee
Shepley Mill Cotton Manufacturing Co. Limited (George Roberts, sec.), Shepley mill
Sheppard Martha (Mrs.) & Son, mineral water manufacturers, Shrewsbury street
Sheppard James, farmer & furniture remover, Ashes
Shreeve Walter, butcher, 15 High street west
Shrimpton & Co. provision dealers, 81 High street west
Siddall Mary (Miss), shopkeeper, see Barber & Siddall
Siddons Joseph, farm bailiff to Lord Howard of Glossop, Blackshaw farm
Sidebottom Peter, gas company's collector, Princess st
Sidebottom Ralph Bennett L.R.C.P.Edin. Surgeon, 20 Hollin Cross lane
Sidebottom Samuel, beer retailer, 14 Milltown
Sidebottom Samuel (Mrs.), farmer, Hollin Cross lane
Slater Charles, hair lesser, 138 High street west
Smith Charles Lewis, cabinet maker, 55 High street east
Smith Edward, boot & shoe maker, 47 High street west
Smith Ellen. (Miss), milliner & dress ma. 69 High st. ea
Smith Emma (Mrs.), ladies' seminary, 55 High st. east
Smith James, draper, 38 High street east
Smith Thomas, boot & shoe maker, 35 & 37 High st. we
Smith Thos. commercial traveller, Turnlee ho. Turnlee rd
Stagg & Son, wholesale wine & spirit mers. 8 Norfolk sq
Statham Mary (Mrs.), dress maker, 11 Pike's lane
Steel Elijah, greengrocer, 76 Victoria street
Stokes Henry Schofield, Greyhound inn, Hope street
Summer Francis & Co. Lim. cotton spinners & manufacturers (William Thorpe, manager), Wren Nest mills
Swann George, watch & clock maker, 238 High st. west
Swire John & Son, boot & shoe makers, 8 High street west & 21 Victoria street
Swire Henry, boot & clog maker, 21 Victoria street
Swire William, fancy draper, & agent for W. & A. Gilbey Lim. wine & spirit merchants, 5 High street west
Sykes Robert Woolley, auctioneer, 32 Bernard street
Sykes Sarah (Mrs.), Royal Oak P.H, Sheffield road
Tarbatt Henry, butcher, 216 High street west
Taylor & Beverley, decorators, 118 Pike's lane
Taylor Charles, farmer, 131 Hall street
Taylor Charles, Queen's Arms P.H. 1 Shepley street
Taylor John, farmer, Ashes
Thorn James, coal agent, 33 Norfolk street
Thornley Betty (Miss), grocer, 4 Charlestown road
Thornley James, farmer & carrier, Hague street
Thornley Noah, butcher, 74 Victoria street
Thorp Walter, coal merchant, Henry st. & Railway yard
Thorpe William, mill manager, 96 St. Mary's road
Tinker Henry, beer retailer, 120 Charlestown road
Tomlinson May (Miss), farmer, Turn Lee
Torkington William, corn & flour dealer & family grocer, 14 High street west & 23 Station road, Hadfield
Town Hall, High street west
Townend Herbert, boot repairer, 58 Victoria street
Turner Ephraim, fruiterer, 72 High street east (wrongly printed as 7)
Turner Isaiah, greengrocer, 53 High street east
Turner Manasseh, fruiterer, 26 High street east
Tweedale John William, solicitor, Norfolk square
Volunteer Battalion (4th), Cheshire Regiment (L, M & N Companies), Glossop Detachment (John Wood, hon. major commandant; Lieut. G. Knowles, commanding L Co.; Lieut. Arthur Sidebottom, commanding M Co.; Lieut. Samuel Hill Wood, commanding N Co.; Brigade-Surg.-Lieut.-Col. W. E. S. Burnett, medical officer; Sergt.-Instructor, Edward Sampson); head quarters, Drill hall
Wain Joseph, smallware dealer, 14 High street east
Walton Eliza (Mrs.), draper, 52 High street west
Walton John, bleacher, Charlestown works
Walton William, chip potato dealer, 140 Victoria street
Ward Annie Eliza (Miss), dress maker, 29 Pike's lane
Warhurst Alice (Mrs.), dress maker, 24 Howard street
Warhurst Emily (Mrs.), confectioner, 20 High street ea
Warhurst Samuel, confectioner, High street east
Warhurst Samuel Emanuel,grocer & tea dlr. 38 Princess st
Water Works (Jn. Gardner, supb.; Thos. Neild, collctr)
Waterhouse Albert, builder & contractor, 60 Victoria st
Waterhouse Jonathan, stationer, 130 High street west
Waterhouse Thomas, grocer, 25 Norfolk street
Watkinson Mary Ellen (Miss), confectionery High st. we
Watkinson Samuel, drysalter, 14 Charlestown road
Watts George, shoe maker, Freetown
Warrington Jacob, beer retailer, Arundel street
Weight Ann (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 163 High street east
Wharmby George, oil & lamp dealer, 27 Hall street
Whitehead Michael, shopkeeper, 42 Arundel street
Whitely James William, draper, 112 High street east
Whitham John Thomas, reporter, 5 Simondley lane
Whittingham Francis & Son, brush mas. 10 High st. ea
Wild Benjamin, greengrocer, 12 Charlestown road
Wild Rachael (Mrs.), baker, 121 Gladstone street
Wild Samuel, shopkeeper, 9 Victoria street
Wilkerson William Nichols, Market hotel, Market street
Willey John William Crane, cabinet maker, 17 Norfolk st
Williamson William, earthenware dealer, 100 High st. we
Willis George Henry,chipped potato dealer, 185 High st. we
Willis Harriet (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 9 Charlestown
Wilson Robert, coach proprietor, High street west
Wimpenny Arthur, stone dealer, 10 Silk street
Wood John & Brothers Limited, cotton spinners & manufacturers (David Taylor, sec.), Howard Town mills
Wood's Hospital (T. S. Bowden esq. hon.sec.), Howard pk
Woods (Emma), parochial nurse, Whitfield; Mrs. Rumney, nurse
Wood Charles, beer retailer, 3 Norfolk street
Wood Charlotte (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 87 High street east
Wood John, farmer, Derbyshire level
Wood John, grocer & corn dealer, 25 High street west
Wood Joseph, butcher, 29 Gladstone street
Wood Martha (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 38 Kershaw street
Wood Peter, milliner, 53 High street west
Wood Samuel, shopkeeper & wheelwright, 13 Charles st
Wood Sarah Ann (Miss), shopkeeper, 61 Hague street
Wood Thomas, farmer, Hobroyd
Wood Thomas, joiner & builder, Hadfield place
Wood Thomas, rag merchant, 6 Derby street
Woodcock Charles, undertakers' agent, 65 High st. east
Woodcock Ebenezer, shopkeeper, 164 High street west
Woodcock Elizabeth (Mrs.), grocer, 51 Victoria street
Woodcock George, fancy draper, 51 High street west
Woodcock Matthew, boot maker, 57 High street west
Woodhead John, Hare & Hounds P.H. 27 Hall street
Woodhead Matt, stone mer. 27 Hall st. & Law quarries
Woodhead Thomas, grocer, 1 Edward street
Woodhouse Joseph, butcher, 36 Church street
Woolley Edward, butcher, 77 High street west
Woolley Thomas, grocer, 61 High street west
Wright George, umbrella repairer, 63 Hall street
Wright Henry, draper, 79 High street west
Wright Jn. Thos. grocer & tobccnst. 72 High street west
Wright Mary Ann (Mrs.), chipped potato dealer, 63 High street west
Wyatt Cephas, farmer, Blackshaw
Wylde James, farmer, Hawkshead

Shepley Charles Woffenden
Aldous Henry, shopkeeper
Belmont James, grocer
Hall Robert, shopkeeper
McMath John, grocer
Moss Joseph, news agent
Robinson William, farmer
Rowbottom Alfred, Royal Oak P.H. & monumental mason
Shepley John & William Lim. cotton spinners & manufrs. Brookfield mills
Shephard George, draper
Wilson Sarah (Mrs.), milliner

Bann George, farmer, Monks' road
Bann Jsph. frmr. Hollingworth head
Goddard Wm. Grouse inn, & farmer
Hadfield John, farmer
Robinson Sarah Ann (Miss), farmer
Shepley William, farmer
Shotwell James, farmer
Wood John, farmer

Barr John, Dinting lodge
Collier Rev. Edwin Chas. M.A. Vicarage
Hollingworth Saml, Simmondley lane
Lawton Mrs. Simmondley lane
Pilkington William
Sheppard William, Simmondley lane
Sykes William, Simmondley lane
Bradbury Geo. grcr. 4 Dinting vale
Fielding George Raffald, butcher & postmaster
Fielding Harold, farmer
Ford Samuel, farmer
Hadfield Charles, cashier at Messrs. E. Potter & Co.'s print works
Harrison Abel, coal & cannel factor, Railway station; & at Glossop
Higginbottom John, shopkeeper, 79 Dinting vale
Pickford Frederick, Plough inn
Platt Thomas, farmer, Hill top
Potter Edmund & Co. calico printers; wareho. 10 Charlotte st. Manchester
Potter Edmnd. & Co. soap mannfrs. wareho. 10 Charlotte st. Manchester
Roberts Hannah (Mrs), shopkeeper
Smith Samuel, Viaduct inn
Waterhouse Sarah (Mrs.) farmer & lime dealer
Wild John, farmer & carrier
Wood James, clogger

Platt Thomas, Prospect villas
Rowbottom Mrs. Ann, Prospect villas
Booth Samuel, farmer
Clayton Samson (Mrs.), farmer
Dearnaley Edward, shopkeeper, Prospect view
Garlick John, shopkpr. Cottage lane
Gilbert James Hy. minrl. watr. manfr
Hinchcliffe Jas. Magnet inn, & carrier
Hinchcliffe Tom, carrier & coal dealer, Cottage lane
Johnson Sarah Arm. (Mrs.), grocer
Marsden Moses, farmer
Oliver Homer, grocer
Oldroyd Timothy, frmr. & contractor
Salvation Army Home of Rest (Capt. Hetty Trees, matron)
Sykes Jonathan & Thomas Beard, slaters & plasterers
Thornley Andrew, farmer
Thornley James (representatives of), farmers
Turner James, farmer & greengrocer
Walker Jas. shopkpr. Cottage lane
Walton James, farmer

Private Residents.
Booth Joseph, Hadfield road
Booth Thomas, Kent villa
Buckley Henry, 2 Bross croft
Dawson William, Tnowl house
Eastham James Cook, The Thorns
Hadfield Rev. Joseph (vicar)
Luke Usher
Martin Rev. Joseph Ames (curate), Croft house
Rigge Fletcher, Rockley house
Rhodes Herbert J.P. Mersey bank
Ridgway James, Green lane
Sansom Walter M.B., C.M
Sabela Right Rev Monsignor Canon Hermann Jos. (Catholic)
Shaw John, Kent villa
Somers Noble
Walsh Benjamin, Hadfield road
Whelan John Joseph, Hadfield road
White William M.D. Hadfield road
Aldous Thomas, window blind manufactr. Hadfield road
Aldous William, farmer & shopkeeper, Main road
Aldous William, shopkeeper, 170 Hadfield road
Ashton Reuben, grocer, 89 Hadfield road
Atkinson William, grocer, Church street
Axon John William, fishmonger, 17 Station road
Bailey Mary (Mrs.), shopkeeper, Platt -street
Bamford James, Victoria P.H. Brosscroft
Barker William, grocer & farmer, Hadfield road
Barlow William, Pear Tree hotel, Hadfield road
Battey Daniel, draper, 90 Station road
Belfield Edward, Anchor inn, Hadfield road
Bell James, clogger, 31 Station road
Bennett Thos. & Son, drapers & furn. dealrs. Station rd
Bentham Jane (Mrs.), stationer. 47 Station road
Booth Henry, butcher, & grocer, 117 Station road
Braddock Thomas & Co. grocers, 1111 Station road
Braddock Thomas, farmer, Park road
Bramhall John, coal merchant, Station yard
Bratherton Richard, station master
Broadbent Elizabeth Ann (Miss), confctnr. 97 Station rd
Broadbent Ellen (Mrs.), shopkpr. & frmr. 52 Bross croft
Broadbent Samuel, confectioner, 14 Platt street
Broadbent Zilpha (Miss), shopkeeper, 72 Bross croft
Brook Edwin, hair dresser, Bankbottom
Brooks Albert, greengrocer, 113 Station road
Butterworth William, news agent, 22 Bank street
Calvert William David, 87 Station road
Chadwick Azariah, coal dealer, 33 Bankbottom
Chadwick William Thomas, pawnbroker, Station road
Challoner John, shopkeeper, 31 Padfield lane
Challoner Samuel, grocer
Clayton, Williams & Co. skip nail manufrs. Station road
Clayton Edward, butcher, 86 Station road
Consumers' Tea Co. (Ollerenshaw & Co. proprietors), 39 Station road
Cooper John, inspector of police, Bankbottom
Corker William, Commercial inn, Bankbottom
Cox John (Mrs.), draper, 109 Station road
Crannage Frederick, watch maker, 5 Station road
Crawford David, Palatine & Railway hotel, Station road
Cromie Miss, dress maker, 36 Bank street
Cumberland Charles, joiner, Kiln lane
Cuthbert William, beer retailer, 78 Station road
Dane Charles, outfitter, 121 Station road
Dane Laura (Miss), dress maker, Stanyforth street
Darwent Luke, farmer, Bettin hill
Dawson William, plumber & painter, Station road
Dearnley David (Mrs.), beer retailer, Woolley bridge
Derbyshire Alfred Edward, decorator, 150 Station road
Dewsnap John, farmer, Hadfield cross
Dewsnap William, butcher, 1a, Station road
Dickinson James, hair dresser, 33 Station road
Downing: William, tea dealer, Station road
Duckworth Samuel, blacksmith, 36 Station road
Earnshaw Abraham, butcher, 43 Station road
Edwards William, Spread Eagle P.H, Woolley bridge
Etches William J. watch maker, Station road
Equitable Co-operative Society Limited (Jas. Harwood, sec.; Charles Loxley, treasurer), Station road & Woolley bridge; & Padfield & Tintwistle
Eversden Arthur, greengrocer, 116 Station road
Eversden George, draper, 72 Station road
Eversden George Cooper, grocer, 102 Waterside
Eversden John William, confectioner, 128 Station road
Eversden William, grocer, Bank street
Fielding Ann (Miss), confectioner, 52 Station road
Fielding Herbert, grocer, 60 Station road
Firth Edward, shopkeeper, Woolley bridge
Fowden Martha (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 335 & 337 Hadfield road
Garlick Hugh, shopkeeper, 1 Station road
Garlick Squire, postmaster, Waterside
Gill Wright, grocer & quarry owner, 49 Station road
Goddard Elizabeth (Mrs.), milliner, 89 Station road
Greaves James, boot maker, 42 Hadfield road
Greaves William, baker, Station road
Hadfield & Hollingsworth Coal Association (Thomas Sharpe, sec)
Hadfield Conservative Club Co. Limited (James Phair, secretary)
Hadfield Liberal Club (Frederick Broadbent, sec)
Hadfield Thomas & Son, drapers. 91 Station road
Hadfield Thomas, draper, 84 Station road
Haigh William, boot & shoe maker, 9 Station road
Hampshire William, ironmonger. 51 Station road
Harding George, shoe maker, 238 Woolley Bridge road
Hardy William, greengrocer, Station road
Harrison Abel, coal & cannel factor, Station yard
Harrison James, confectioner, 118 Station road
Harrison Martha (Miss), milliner, 3 Waterside
Harrop Hugh, tailor, 25 Station road
Heywood William, confectioner, 7 Station road
Higginbottom John S. milliner, 130 Station road
Hinchcliffe Benjamin, insurance agent, 10 Bross croft
Hinchcliffe Thomas John, stationer & news agent, 1a, Railway street
Hirst Mary Ann (Mrs.), draper, 96 Station road
Hodges Albert, fishmonger, 76 Station road
Howarth George Frederick, draper, 62 Station road
Howarth Moses, confectioner, Station road
Hoyland Miriam (Mrs.), ironmonger, Station road
Hudson John Green, saddler, 45 Station road
Hurst Thomas, clothier, 72 Station road
Irish National League Club (Patrick Welch, sec.) 32 Bankbottom
Jakeman Albert, stationer & news agent, 126 Station rd
Jagger & Fearnaley, printers, 112 Station road
Johnson Samuel, fried fish dealer, 69 Station road
Johnson Thomas, coal merchant, Station
Jolley Kezia (Mrs.), Spinners' Arms P.H. Marsden street
Lee Amanda (Miss), grocer, Woolley Bridge road
Livesley Squire, draper, 101 Station road
Lockwood Thomas, coal merchant, Station yard
Lomax John, tripe dealer, 53 Station road
Loxley John, farmer, Hadfield cross
Luke Usher, surgeon
McMath William, high-way rate collector & sanitary inspector to the rural district council, Bross croft Manchester & Liverpool District Banking Co. Limited (branch), Station road; draw on London office, 75 Cornhill EC
Manchester & County Banking Co. Limited (branch), Station road; draw on Union Bank of London Lim. London E C
Marsden Alfred, shopkeeper, Woolley Bridge road
Martin William A. draper, 11 & 13 Station road
Mason William James, boot & shoe maker, Station road
Maygowen Jn. Alfred, shopkpr. & beer retailer, Waterside
Moran & Knowles, solicitors, Station rd.; & at Glossop
Moran William John Grove, chemist, 15 Station road
Morrison Hannah (Mrs.), dress maker, Osborne street
Murphy John, shopkeeper, 46 Station road
Nadin William, confectioner, 106 Waterside
Nelson Samuel, tailor, 74 Station road
Newton Samuel, general dealer 103 Station road
Nuttall Joshua, shopkeeper, Railway street
Patchett Henry, brick maker & butcher, 32 Station road
Platt Edward & Son, cotton manufacturers
Platt Joe, butcher, 19 Bross croft
Poyser John, boot maker, 92 Station road
Public Weighing Machine (Edwin. Rothwell, weigher), Station yard
Rhodes Thomas Limited, cotton spinners & manufacturers, Mersey mills; & 42 George st. Manchester
Richardson John, drug stores, 9 Bankbottom
Rigge Fletcher, sec. at T. H. Sidebottom & Co.'s, Waterside mills
Roberts Geo. Wm. & Co. cabinet mas. 54 Bank street
Robinson Alonzo beer retailer, 41 Station road
Rogers William Thomas, tailor, 35 Station road
Ross James, grocer, Woolley bridge
Sansom Walter M.B., C.M.Edin. physician & surgeon
Scholes James, butcher, 39 Railway .street
Shaw Annie (Mrs.), shopkeeper, Woolley bridge
Shaw Mary (Miss), shopkeeper, 80 Hadfield road
Sheppard Robert, draper, 29 Station road
Shufflebotham Joseph, clogger, 1a, Station road
Sidebottom T. E. & Co. Lim. cotton spinners & manfrs. Waterside mills & Bridge mills; & 20 Pall mall, Mnchstr
Sidebottom Henry, builder, Station road
Sidebottom John, cattle dealer, Hadfield road
Siddall Teresa (Mrs.), dress maker, 32 Bank street
Skelton John, shopkeeper, 5 Bross croft
Smallpage & Co. grocers & beer retailers, Waterside
Storey John Woodcock, builder, Station road
Sutton Thomas, stone mason, Railway street
Swire John, clogger, Woolley bridge
Swire William, draper, & agent for W. & A. Gilbey, wine & spirit merchants, 123 Station road
Taylor Frederick, hatter & tobacconist, 131 Station rd
Thompson James, stationer & news agent, 82 Station rd
Thornley Deborah (Mrs.), shopkeeper, 79 Station road
Thorpe Walter, coal merchant, Station yard
Torkington Charles Henry, tripe dresser, 19 Station road
Torkington William, grocer, 23 Station road
Toulson William, draper & outfitter, 77 Station road
Wadsworth Tim, hay & straw dealer, Railway street
Wain John, shopkeeper, 103 Hadfield road
Walker Elliott Morton, draper, 105 & 107 Station road
Walsh William, grocer, 154 Station road
Wardle Albert, butcher, 94 Station road
Warhurst Martha Ann (Miss), confectioner, Church st
Warhurst Samuel, contractor, Salisbury street
Warhurst Seth, draper, 37 Station road
Warrington Israel & Sons, grocers, Green lane
Whelan John Joseph, surgeon, Hadfield road
White William M.D., C.M. physician, Hadfield road
Wibberley Denman, butcher, 3 Station road
Wilde John, blacksmith, 73 & 75 Station road
Williams John, plumber, 50 Station road
Willis Charles, boot & shoe maker, 125 Station road
Winterbottom Jabez, butcher, 108 Station road
Winterbottom Robert, registrar to burial board, Cemetery lodge
Wishart Jessie (Miss), draper, 148 Station road
Wood Hannah. (Mrs.), refreshment rooms, 152 Station rd
Wood William, tripe dresser, 142 Station road
Woodcock Matthew, boot & shoe maker, 44 Station road
Woods James Joseph, shopkeeper, 14 Albert street
Woolley Edward, butcher, Woolley bridge
Woolley Thomas, fried fish dealer, Woolley bridge
Worsley Arthur, joiner, 42 Bross croft
Worsley Henry, shopkeeper & commission agent, 40 Bross croft
Worth Henry, draper, 124 Station road
Wyatt Henry, chemical manufacturer, Bross croft
Wynn Patrick, tripe seller, 34 Station road
Youles Robert, shopkeeper, Woolley bridge

Handforth James
Mapp Charles
Mayhew John
Platt Edward
Platt William, Padfield brook
Sargentson James, Rosey Bank house
Sargentson William, Glenthorne
Bennett Joseph, farmer, Brook farm
Bland Robert, farmer, Deep Clough
Booth Albert, farmer, Windy Arbor
Booth Elizabeth (Miss), newsagent, 16 Platt street
Broadbent Samuel, farmer & shopkpr
Brooks Willis, shopkeeper
Crossland John, farmer, Deep Clough
Cundy William, shopkeeper
Equitable Co-operative Society Lim. (James Harwood, sec.; Charles Loxley, treasurer)
Fielding Mary & Ellen (Misses), drapers & confectioners
Gee James Albert, farmer, Torside
Goddard Jabez Solomon, farmer, Little Padfield
Greenwood Hy. farmer & tripe dresser
Handforth James, cashier at Messrs. Thomas Rhodes & Son, Hadfld. mills
Hoyle Joseph, farmer
Jacobs Charles, beer retailer
Oldfield Mark, farmer, Deep Clough
Padfield Liberal Club (Frank Sargentson, sec)
Phair Betty (Mrs.), Peel's Arms P.H
Platt Edwd. & Son, cotton manufctrs
Platt Joe, butcher
Pogson Samuel, clogger
Rhodes Thomas & Son, cotton spinners & manufacturers, Hadfield mills; & 26 Booth street, Mosley street, Manchester
Sargentson Jas. cotton waste dealer & blowing manufacturer
Wild Walter, grocer


CHARLESWORTH, on the borders of Cheshire, is a township and parish, formed in 1849 from that of Glossop, including, Chisworth and Simmondley, in the High Peak division of the county, hundred of High Peak, and in the petty sessional division, union and county court district of Glossop, rural deanery of Glossop, archdeaconry of Derby and diocese of Southwell. Charlesworth township is 1½ miles west from Dinting station on the Manchester, Sheffield and Lincolnshire railway, 2½ miles south-west from Glossop, 13 from Manchester and 200½ from London. The church of St. John the Baptist, erected in 1849, at a cost of £2,700, is a cruciform building of stone in the Early English style, consisting of chancel, nave, north porch and a tower on the north side forming a north transept, and containing one bell, dated 1849: there are 480 sittings, 100 being free. The register dates from the year 1849. The living is a vicarage, tithe rent-charge £3, gross yearly value £170, with 3 acres of glebe and residence, in the gift of the Crown and Bishop of Southwell alternately, and held since 1878 by the Rev. George Collins M.A. of St. Catharine's College, Cambridge, and ad eundem M.A. Oxon. There is a Congregational chapel (formerly a Catholic chapel), and a Particular Baptist chapel, built in 1835. Cotton spinning and rope and cotton band making are carried on here. Lord Howard of Glossop is lord of the manor and the principal landowner. The soil is clay; subsoil, sandstone. The land is principally in pasture. The area is 1,463 acres; rateable value, £4,753; the population of the township in 1891 was 1,519, and of the ecclesiastical district 2,477; acreage, 3,322; rateable value, £4,768.
Post & Telegraph Office.- Miss Ellen Hague, sub-postmistress. Letters through Manchester via Broadbottom,
which is the nearest money order office, arrive at 8.10 a.m. & 6.15 p.m. & are dispatched at same times.
Wall Letter Box, cleared at 8 a.m. & 6.30 p.m.; Sundays, 10 a.m.
Schools. National (mixed), for 360 children; average attendance, 250; William S. Llewellyn, master Congregational, Charlesworth, erected in 1823, for 350 children; average attendance, 106; Thomas Ramsden Shaw, master
Wesleyan, Chisworth (mixed), erected in 1871, for 130 children; average attendance, 72; Mrs. Phoebe Bagshaw, mistress

CHISWORTH is a township, 4 miles south-west from Glossop and about 1 mile, by field paths, from Mottram Station. Here are cotton mills and collieries. Chisworth House is the residence of James Brown esq. The acreage is 794; rateable value, £1,782; the population in 1891 was 436.
Wall Letter Box cleared at 8.30 a.m. & 5.45 p.m
Wesleyan Methodist chapel, built in 1834, with a small burial ground attached.

SIMMONDLEY is a township, partly within Glossop borough, near the Manchester and Sheffield railway, 1 mile south-west from Glossop. The acreage is 989; rateable value, £2,098; the population in 1891 was 522.
Letters through Glossop, which is the nearest post, money order & telegraph office, arrive at 9 a.m. The nearest Letter Box is at Dinting
The children of this place attend the day schools at Charlesworth, Dinting & Whitfield.
Congregational (branch) Sunday School, erected in 1884.

Arnfield James
Booth John, Littlefield house
Collins Rev. George M.A. Vicarage
Moss Robert
Partridge Rev. Josiah Herbert (Indep)
Ratcliffe Mrs. Woodseats
Rowbottom James, Beech house
Rowbottom Joseph, Lee Vale house
Rowbottom Miss
Smith Crossland, Lee Vale cottage
Thornley James, Spring cottage
Ashton James, farmer, Warehouse fold
Beaumont William, shopkeeper
Booth George & Sons, cotton band manufacturers, Lee Vale mill
Booth John & Son, cotton band manufacturers, Lee Vale rope -works
Booth Elizh. (Mrs.), farmer, Lee brow
Booth John, butcher
Booth John, butcher & farmer
Booth John, cotton band manufac­turer, see George Booth & Sons
Booth Joseph, farmer
Booth Samuel, farmer, Springfield ho
Boothley William,ironmonger,Lee vale
Bowers Samuel, slater & plasterer
Burdekin Thomas, farmer, Woodseats
Charlesworth & Chisworth Conservative Club (John Thomas Wooliscroft, sec)
Charlesworth & Chisworth Liberal Club (Ben. Harrison Rowbottom, sec)
Cooper Edwin, com. traveller, Mayhouse
Cooper Geo. shoe ma. & frmr. Leigh brw
Cooper Moses, tailor, grocer & farmer
Cooper Rhoda (Mrs.), draper
Co-operative Stores (Thos. Halias. sec)
Dakin Reuben, grocer & corn dealer
Davenport Thomas, Gray Mare inn
Drinkwater William, farmer
Fielding Joseph, grocer & draper
Garlick Ann (Mrs.), beer ret. & farmer
Garside William, shoe maker
Goddard James, farmer
Hague Charles, grocer, Post office
Hague Ellen (Miss), sub-postmistress
Hall Elijah, farmer, Stock well farm
Hallas James, George & Dragon P.H.
Handforth Thomas, farmer
Harrison John, farmer, Coombs farm
Harrison William, farmer, Hargate hl
Higton Thomas, farmer
Higginbottom Joseph, farmer
Higginbottom Wright, farmer
Jackson John, joiner
Jackson Joseph, farmer
Jackson William, farmer
Longson Thomas, farmer
McKinley John, Horse Shoe inn
McMinn John, insur. agent, Lee vale
Neal Edward, greengrocer
Ratcliffe John Harrison, cotton spinner & cotton band manfr. Kinderlee mills
Redford Samuel, farmer, Hargate hill
Rowbottom James, cotton spinner & doubler & cotton band manufacturer, Holehouse mills
Rowbottom James, farmer
Shaw John, tailor
Shepley Joseph, shoe maker
Shepley Thos. hide & skin dlr.& farmer
Sidebottom Benjamin, shopkeeper
Sidebottom Charles, shopkeeper
Sidebottom William, farmer
Smith Crosland, cotton band manufr
Smith John, farmer, Woodseats
Sykes Jonathan & Thomas Beard, slaters & plasterers
Swallow James, quarry owner
Taylor William, joiner
Thornley Alice (Mrs.), grocer
Thornley James, wheelwright
Walker Thomas, farmer
Wharam Walter, Bull's Head P.H
West Joseph, farmer
Wild William, farmer
Willis Charles, boot ma. Lee vale
Wood Ralph & Samuel, wheelwrights & smiths
Wood John, farmer

Brown James, Chisworth house
Clayton Mrs
Harrison Joseph, Fair view
Ratcliffe Mrs. Rarewood house
Rowbottom George, Chewwood
Wild Joseph Holehouse
Commercial.Ashton Hannah (Mrs.), farmr. Sandy la
Ashworth Wright, quarry owner
Beard Joel, farmer, Sandy lane.
Booth Fdk., farm bailiff to Mrs.Ratcliffe
Brown James, bleacher
Clayton Abel (exors. of), colliery owners & mining engineers
Clayton James, farmer
Cooper Caleb, farmer, Hill Top farm
Cooper James, farmer, Holehouse
Co-operative Stores (Geo. Hallas, sec)
Crowshaw John, shopkeeper
Hallas Geo. (Mrs.), Commercial inn
Hallas Jonathan, farmer
Harrison G. Crawshaw, shopkeeper
Hett Elizabeth (Mrs.), dressmaker
Mycock William, farmer
Rowbottom James, cotton doubler, Chewwood
Rowbottom Jesse, farmer, Moorside
Salt Alfred (Mrs.), farmer, Boarfold
Salt Charles, farmer, Sandy lane
Salt James, farmer, Boarfold
Sidebottom Ann (Mrs.), farmr. Sandy la
Sidebottom Harry, shopkeeper
Thornley James, farmer
Thornley Jas. jun. Farmer, Intakes frm.
Varley Selina (Mrs.), shopkeeper
Wild Joseph, farmer

Smith Alfred
Bennett John, farmer, Plainstead
Bennett John, farmer, Cownedge
Bennett James, farmer
Brindley James, farmer, Simmondley Hall farm
Charlesworth William, farmer
Dewsnap Samuel, farmer & beer ret
Dixon Peter, farmer
Hadfield Charles, farmer, Cownedge
Harrison Abel, mineral water manufacturer, Simmondley springs
Higginbottom Hugh (Mrs.), farmer, Rose farm
Hill Jane (Miss), farmer
Hurst William, farmer
Jackson Albert, farmer
Lyne George, picker maker & cotton band manufacturer
Lyne Thomas, farmer
Marshall Thomas, farmer
Newton Robert, slater & plasterer
Redford Sarah (Mrs.), farmer
Robinson Samuel, farmer
Shaw John James, cattle dealer
Smith Alfred, farmer
White Thomas, shopkeeper


HAYFIELD is a township and parish, formed in 1837 from that of Glossop and consisting of the hamlets of Great Hamlet, Phoside and Kinder, in the High Peak division of the county, Glossop county court district, hundred of High Peak, petty sessional division of Chapel-en-le-Frith, Hayfield union, rural deanery of Glossop, archdeaconry of Derby and diocese of Southwell. Hayfield is the terminus of a branch line from New Mills on the Manchester, Sheffield and Lincolnshire railway, 5 miles south from Glossop station, 4 north from Chapel-en-le-Frith, 18 from Manchester, 10 from Buxton, 3 from New Mills and 11 south east from Stockport: the village, built of stone, has a scattered and bleak appearance, and is about 622 feet above the sea-level, standing on the banks of the Sett, a rapid mountain stream which rises on the western slopes of the Peak. The church of St. Matthew, situated between the Kinder stream and Phoside volley, was originally erected in 1386, and rebuilt in 1818 at a cost of £2,000, and is an edifice of stone in the Early English style, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles, south porch and an embattled western tower with pinnacles, containing a clock and 6 bells: the tower was rebuilt in 1894: there is a monument with bust, by Bacon, to the late Joseph Hague esq. of Park Hall, d. 1786, and others to the Rev. John Badley, curate of Hayfield (1764), and to the Rev. George Buckley Bower B.D. rector of Great Billing, Northants, and archdeacon of Richmond, Yorks (1800): the stained east window was erected in December, 1879, by Mrs, Bennett, of Birch House, in memory of her husband; and there are others to the late Levi and Elijah Hall, Mrs. Hall, of Moorlands, and the late Wright Turner esq. (1881): the brass Eagle lectern was presented in 1891 by the present incumbent, at a cost of £100, as a memorial to his late wife, who died in 1890: the church affords 850 sittings, 50 being free: an additional burying ground of 1 acre was bought by a rate and consecrated in 1862 : the Rev. John Wesley visited Hayfield and preached in the church in 1755 during the incumbency of Mr. Badley. The register dates from the year 1622. The living is a perpetual curacy, net yearly value £180, in the gift of the resident freeholders, and held since 1877 by the Rev. Ricketts Raymond Ricketts, of St. Bees: a parsonage house was erected in 1869, at a cost of £1,200. There are Wesleyan, Primitive Methodist and United Methodist chapels, and Liberal and Conservative clubs. The facilities for manufacture, owing to the abundance of water, are very considerable, and two extensive calico-printing works are carried on, besides the print works at Birch Vale, a mile south: there are also two paper mills at Bank Vale, and cotton mill at Little Hayfield: formerly a good deal of twine, locally known as "bant," was made here: twice a year a shepherds' meeting is held, when the various sheep marks are agreed upon and strayed sheep exchanged: fairs for cattle are held here May 12th and October 10th. The charities amount to £23 yearly for clothing, chiefly by the gift of the late Joseph Hague esq. of Park Hall (1778): prior to 1820 the poor had a right of turfery on "Old Pits," a plot of 40 acres on Leygate Moor. Due south of Hayfield lies Chinley Tor, a steep and rugged mountain, 1,493 feet high, commanding fine views over the valley of the Goyt and the adjacent summit of Eccles Pike (1,225 feet) southwards; to the west lie Whaley Moor (1,347 feet) and Sponds Hill (1,357 feet); northwards there is an extensive prospect over Disley, Poynton Park and the plains of Cheshire: this district is believed to have been at one time in Roman occupation, and some coins of the 8th century have been found on the Doctor's road, near Bowden Bridge, one part of which road was paved: previously to 1830, the flat piece of ground near the Kinder Print Works was common land, and known as "Cutlers' Green," cutlery having, it is said, been made here before its manufacture was known in Sheffield; halfway between this spot and Hayfield is the Whitworth well, famous for its curative properties. The village, from its peculiar situation, has always been liable to floods, one of which, in 1748, destroyed some lives, several water mills and part of the churchyard; in August, 1799, the bridge was washed away, and in 1809 a number of buildings; again, on the 16th June, 1858, the torrent tore up the mill weir and carried away the backs of four houses abutting on the stream. By an ancient custom Hayfield had the privilege of electing a mayor, an office which the late John Hobson esq. filled for thirty years: Joseph Bowden esq. was elected mayor of Hayfield in 1844. Park Hall, the residence of Francis William Ashton esq. 1 mile north of Hayfield, was formerly the abode of the late Joseph Hague, a generous benefactor to this neighbourhood: he began life by selling small articles from a basket, and subsequently went to London, where in course of time he became an opulent merchant; he died at Park Hall on the 12th March, 1786, and was buried at Glossop. The Duke of Devonshire K.G., P.C. is lord of the manor; F. J. Sumner esq. and James Watts are the principal landowners. The area of the township is 7,920 acres, and of the parish 11,309 acres; rateable value, £13,356; the population of the township of Hayfield in 1891 was 2,856.
Parish Clerk, Joseph Bennett Downes.
Post, M. O. & T .O., S. B., Express Delivery & Insurance & Annuity Office. - John Pursglove, postmaster. Letters are received through Stockport at 6.25 a.m. & 3.30 p.m.; dispatched at 8.15 a.m. 3.0 p.m. & 8.0 p.m.; on Sundays arrive at 6.25 a.m.; dispatched at 7.20 p.m
Surveyors of Highways for Hayfield. - Great Hamlet, Isaac Hudson & John Chambers; Phoside Hamlet, Joe Hall & William Porritt; Kinder, W. H. Wilson & James Ripley

Hayfield Union.
Board day, Monday, fortnightly.
Hayfield Union comprises the following places :- Disley Stanley (partly in Chester), Hayfield Mellor & Newtown. The population of the union in 1891 was 12,873 ; area 17,951 acres; rateable value in 1894, .£57,057
Clerk to the Guardians & Committee, Henry Barber, Spring bank, New Mills
Treasurer, Alfred Smith, Manchester & County Bank, Stockport
Relieving & Vaccination Officer, Thomas Mower, Newtown, Cheshire
Medical Officer & Public Vaccinator, James Edwin Anderton L.R.C.P.Edin. Spring bank, New Mills.
Superintendent Registrar, Henry Barber, Spring bank, New Mills ; deputy, A. Barber, New Mills
Registrar of Births, Deaths & Marriages, George Walker, New Mills; deputy, A. Grundey, New Mills
Workhouse, Low Leighton, a building of stone, built in 1840, to hold 96 inmates; John Livesley, master; medical officer, J. E. Anderton L.R.C.P.Edin. New Mills; Miss Martha Ann Livesley, matron

Hayfield Rural District Council
Meets at Workhouse, monthly, on Mondays.
Clerk, Henry Barber, Spring bank, New Mills
Treasurer, Alfd. Smith, Manchester & County Bk. Stockpt
Medical Officer of Health, Charles John Bennett, Buxton
Sanitary Inspectors, John Fox Gee, Hayfield; Joseph Marsland, Mellor

A School Board of 5 members was formed 9 April, 1881; John Fox Gee, clerk to the board
Board (mixed & infants), built in 1888, for 183 children; average attendance, 175; George Lowerson, master; Miss Eliza Robinson, infants' mistress
National (mixed & infants), erected in 1830 & enlarged in 1879, for 290 children; average attendance, 90; Thos. Beardwood, master; Miss Clara Bentley, infants' mist
Wesleyan, erected in 1874, for 281 children; average attendance, 174; Alfred Lowe, master

Railway Station, William Procter, station master

BIRCH VALE is a village, 2 miles east from New Mills, 1 mile west from Hayfield, with a station on the Sheffield and Midland railway: calico printing is carried on here very extensively, and there are also quarries producing paving sets and wall stones, besides coal pits. Here is a Free Methodist chapel.
Post, M. O. & T. O., S. B., Express Delivery & Insurance & Annuity Office.—Arthur Hirst, sub-postmaster. Letters through Stockport arrive at 6.10 a.m. & 3.20 p.m. & are dispatched thereto at 8.15 a.m.. & 3.45 & 8.0 p.m.
Railway Station, James William Ryley, station master

LITTLE HAYFIELD is a hamlet three-quarters of a mile north of Hayfield, with a cotton mill, color and pigment works, and a Primitive Methodist chapel, built in 1851; there are sittings for 200 persons, 70 being free.

Private Residents.
Ashurst Frederick M.B
Bennett John, Holly house
Giveen George Martin L.R.C.P
Hadfield James, Swallow house
Hall Joe, South view
Horrox Thomas, Bank Vale cottage
Leech Robert
Marshall Mrs. Sarah
Ricketts Rev. Ricketts Raymond, Parsonage
Slack Albert, Oaklands
Slack Christopher, Bank Vale house
Walton Joseph, The Mount
Wimpenny Abel Buckley, Oak villa
Ashley Thomas, shopkeeper
Ashurst Fredk. M.B., C.M. surgeon
Bamber Emeline (Mrs), George hotel
Bennett James, butcher, Church st
Bennett John, grocer
Bennett Thomas, blacksmith
Booth Isaac, beer retailer
Booth Joseph, clogger, Market street
Bowmer Joseph, hair dresser
Boyle Walter, builder
Bradbury Joseph, butcher
Bradbury Mary (Mrs.), greengrocer, Church street
Bradbury Thomas, general dealer
Brocklehurst Thomas, blacksmith
Brocklehurst Wright, grcr. & druggst
Brown Wm. Brittain, Bull's Head P.H
Chatterton John Thos. drpr. High st
Conservative Club (Fdk. Woolley, sec)
Co-operative Stores (Robert Barber, manager)
Cottam Henry, Royal hotel
Digby Joseph, beer retailer
Eversden John Wm. corn merchant
Fielden Jn. Bevan, Black Horse inn
Garside Luke, stationer & tobacconst
Gee John Fox, assistant overseer, tax collector & sanitary inspector to rural district council, clerk to school board & clerk to parsh. cncl
Giveen George Martin L.R.C.P.Edin. surgeon
Gee Joseph, joiner & confectioner
Goodwin Thomas, beer retailer
Greenwood Thomas, butcher
Hadfield Benj. slater & plasterer
Hadfield James, shoe maker
Hadfield Mary Jane (Miss), dress ma
Hadfield Ruth (Mrs.), shoe maker
Hallam Edward Montague, farmer
Hampson John, wheelwright
Handford Jane (Mrs.), grcr. & draper
Hayfield Coal Co. (Jn. Brocklehurst,sec)
Hayfield Gas Works (John Brocklehurst, sec)
Hayfield Printing Co. (Abel Buckley Wimpenny, manager)
Hill Walter, apartments
Howard Saml. coal mer. Station yard
Hudson J. G. saddler
Hudson John, confectioner
Johnson Sarah (Mrs.), frmr. Cote la
Liberal Club (Joseph Bowden, sec)
Lithgow John, cashier at Printworks, Sycamore house
Lister Susan (Mrs.), confectioner
Livesley Alfred & Son, chemists
Lowe Hannah (Mrs.), grocer & corn dealer, High street
Manchester & County Bank Limited (sub-branch) (Hy. Barber manager), Church street; open Wednesday & Friday from 10 a.m. till 2 p.m.; draw on Union Bank of London Limited, London EC
Marsland John, farmer, Shudehill
Marshall Hannah & Martha Ann (Misses), dress makers
Mason Edwin, Builder & ironmonger
Mason Thomas, stone dealer
Moseley John Edward, boot maker
Morris Arthur, beer retailer
Ollerenshaw Joseph, grocer
Parrott & Shaw, grocers, Church st
Porritt James C. butcher
Porritt Ralph, blacksmith
Porritt William, draper, joiner & wheelwright
Procter William, station master
Pursglove Benjamin, greengrocer
Pursglove John, grocer & postmaster
Rangeley Ernest, boot maker
Redfern Margaret (Mrs,), tea rooms
Renshaw John, beer retailer
Rose John, farmer, Shudehill
Rowbottom Jn. Charles, monumental mason, Park view
Schofield Bold, tinplate worker
Shepley Jas. painter & apartments
Sandiford John J. aprtmnts. Grotto ho
Sellars Squire; draper
Slack John, paper manufacturer, Bank Vale mills
Smith Thomas, grocer & draper
Swann Joseph, ironmonger
Stanway John, greengrocer
Swindells Henry, boot maker
Torkington John, pork butcher
Torkington John, sen. draper & farmr
Turner George, cooper
Turner Elizabeth (Miss), fruiterer & fishmonger
Walton Jsph. coal merchnt. The Mount
Walton Josiah, grocer
Warrington Levi, mason
Waterhouse Jn. jun. butcher & farmr
Waterhouse Rebecca (Mrs.), aprtmnts
Waterhouse William, tailor
Wimpenny Abel Buckley, manager of the Hayfield Printing Co. Oak villa
Wood Ann (Mrs.),stationer,Bridge end

Ashton Francis William, Park hall
Bennett John & Co. pigment & color manufacturers, Primrose vale
Bowden Tom, farmer & steward to F. J Sumner esq. Little Hayfield ho
Bradbury Samuel, farmer, Hallett
Etchells Israel Smith, farmer, Spray ho
Garrett James, farmer, Blackshaw
Goddard Esther (Mrs.), farmer
Hadfield Randal, frmr. Brown Hill frm
Hearsaum Davd. frmr. Brook Houses
Hibbert Thomas, farmer, Brookhouse
Hudson Isaac, New inn, & joiner
Hurst James, farmer, Blackshaw
Joyce Edward, beer retailer
Marriott Francis, farmer
Marriott Thos. farmer, Brook houses
Platt Edward & Son, cotton manufacturers (Frank Pilkington, mgr)
Rose Jonathan, farmer, High barn
Rose Isaac, farmer, Knars
Stafford Wm. Farmer, Tom Hayes frm
Waterhouse Chas. farmer, Soapybarn
Waterhouse Isaac, farmer, Lane head
Wild James, grocer
Whiteley Geo. Fredk. chimney sweepr

Downs James, Rock hall
Kenyon James, Stone's house
Watts James, Farlands
Ripley James, Bowden bridge
Wilson William Henry, Kinder bank
Barnes Joseph, farmer, Lower house
Bennett Thomas (Mrs.), farmer, Tunsted clough
Bradbury Edmd. frmr. Coldwll. Clough
Gee John Thomas, farmer & auctioneer, Ashes
Hall Squire, stone dealer
Kinder Fire Brigade (Thomas Hodgson, superintendent)
Kinder Printing Co. Limited, calico printers, Kinder works
Marriott George, cashier at Kinder Printing Co. Lim. Kinder bank
Marriott Samuel, farmer, Hill house
Marriott Saml. farmer, Upper house
Needham John Wm. farmer, Booth
Pollitt Robert, farmer, South head
Wardle Bros, stone dlrs. Ellerbank
Wild Fred, Sportsman's inn
Wilcockson Sarah (Mrs.), farmer, Kinder head

Barber John, farmer, New house
Bradbury Thos. farmer, Chinley moor
Brocklehurst Eli Adam,frmr. Ridge top
Brocklehurst Squire, farmer
Cooper John, farmer, Highgate head
Ford Elijah, farmer, Hill house
Ford James, farmer
Green James, farmer, Stubbs
Goddard William, beer retailer
Hadfield Benj. farmer & plasterer
Hadfield Eli, farmer
Hadfield Thomas, farmer, Highgate
Higginbottom Rowland, farmer, Barnesfold
Hudson James, cattle dealer, Ridge Top lane
Hudson Joseph, frmr. Clough head
Morton John, farmer, Heys
Porritt Jn. Hy. frmr. Ridge Top lane
Porritt Ralph, farmer, Hazelhurst
Turner John Wm. farmer, Ridge top

Beck Frederick, Meadow bank
Bennett Thomas J.P. Birch Vale ho
Bennett Joseph, Westwood
Chambers John, Higher cliffe
Hall Misses, Moorland house
Holland Alexander, Netherhaigh
Lowerson George, Birch view
Pearson Mrs. Hall bank
Turner Mrs. John, Spring villas
Wyatt Walter, Birch Vale crescent
Ashton Isaac, farmer, Coldharbour
Ashton James, farmer, Ravensleach
Barlow Ralph, shopkeeper
Baxter James, block cutter
Beard Richard, butcher
Bennett Charles E. & Co. Limited, yarn bleachers & sizers
Bennett John & Sons, calico printers
Bennett James, stone dealer
Bennett Thomas, calico printer, see John Bennett & Sons
Clayton James, Grouse inn
Froggatt James, farmer, Highwalls
Hall Charles, greengrocer
Hibbert Geo. Hy. frmr. Lower cliffe
Hobson Ellen (Mrs.), shopkeeper
Hudson Joseph, builders' merchant
Hirst Arthur, grocer, Post office
Howarth Wm. Jas. M.D., Ch.B. surg
Lawton Joseph, beer retailer
Livesley Saml. farmer, Weathercotes
Marshall Jacob, farmer, Bankhead
Mellor Thomas, joiner
Ramwell Samuel, shoe maker
Randles William Bate, shopkeeper
Robinson Hugh, Sycamore inn
Ryley James, station master
Taylor Benjamin, farmer, Higgnbttm
Taylor Mary (Mrs.), shopkeeper
Wardle James, farmer, Birch hall
Williamson Joseph, stone dealer
Wyatt Dennis & Sons, draprs. & grcrs


MELLOR is a township, chapelry and parish formed out of Glossop in 1838, 2 miles east from Marple station on the Ambergate and Manchester section of the Midland railway, 8 miles south-south-west from Glossop, 7 north-east from Stockport, 9 west from Chapel-en-le-Frith and 173 from London by road and 177 by Midland railway, in the High Peak division of the county and hundred, Glossop petty sessional division, Hayfield union, rural deanery of Glossop, archdeaconry of Derby and diocese of Southwell, divided from Cheshire by the rivers Goyt and Etherow. The church of St. Thomas is a building of stone in the Perpendicular style, consisting of chancel, nave, south porch and a western embattled tower with pinnacles containing 3 bells and a clock, the first and third of which are dated respectively 1639 and 1615: there is a stone font of very early date and an oak pulpit, both curiously carved: a stained window was presented by Mr. Cooper, of Marple, in 1874, and another was given in 1879 by Mrs. Pearson of Stockport, in memory of her husband: the church was restored during the period 1873-91, at a cost of about £800, and affords 600 sittings: in the churchyard is a gravestone recording the deaths of a man and his five wives. The register of baptisms dates from the year 1629. The living is a vicarage, gross yearly value £160, net £133, including 41 acres of glebe, in the gift of and held since 1859 by the Rev. Thomas Matthew Freeman, Lic.Theol. of Durham University and surrogate. A charity of £7 5s. yearly, left in 1818 by the Rev. Francis Gisborne, formerly rector of Staveley, and Stafford's charity of 29s. yearly, are for clothing. There is a Primitive Methodist chapel built in 1827, and a Free Methodist chapel built in 1850. Cotton spinning and bleaching are carried on in the neighbourhood, but the collieries are not now worked. The principal landowners are Frederic Charles Arkwright esq. of Willersley Castle, Matlock, the trustees of the late John Craven esq. of Mellor Hall, who are lords of the manor, Jonathan Jowett esq. of Lower Hall and Ralph Wood esq. The soil is various; subsoil, gritstone. The chief crops are hay and the land is in pasture. The township contains 2,331 acres; rateable value, £5,710; the population in 1891 was 1,096 in the township and 2,900 in the ecclesiastical district.
Post Office. - James Marshland, sub-postmaster. Letters arrive at 7.30 a.m. from Stockport; dispatched at 6.25 p.m. Postal orders are issued here, but not paid. The nearest money order & telegraph office is at Marple Bridge.
A School Board of five members was formed 9 June, 1894, J. Marsland, clerk to the board
Endowed Board School (mixed), founded in 1639, by Thomas Walklote & others, with an endowment of £20
yearly paid to the School fund, & rebuilt 1881, for 200 children; average attendance, 80; William Henry Smith, master
Carrier. - John Bradley, to Stockport, Tues. & Fri

LUDWORTH is a township in Mellor parish, Glossop union, 6 miles south-west from Glossop, adjoining the Marple junction on the Sheffield and Midland railway. Here is a Primitive Methodist chapel built in 1875. There are quarries producing wall stones and paving setts. The area is 1,390 .acres; rateable value £2,510; the population in 1891 was 2,240.
Wall Letter Box, Mill Brow, cleared at 7.45 p.m

COMPSTALL ROAD is a place in this township, consisting of one long street, on rising ground, 1 mile east from Marple station. Here is a Primitive Methodist chapel built 1867. Ernocroft is the residence of George Henry Hill esq. C.E. Names of residents at Compstall Bridge are given in the Cheshire Directory.

MARPLE BRIDGE is a place in this township, built on the east bank of the river Goyt, and has a junction station on the Sheffield and Midland railway. The surrounding scenery is very picturesque, and many villa residences, chiefly of merchants and manufacturers from the neighbouring towns, have been built on the adjacent hill sides. The Catholic church of St. Mary was erected in 1859 at the expense of the late Lord Howard of Glossop: there is also a Congregational chapel.
Post, M. O. & T. O., S, B., Express Delivery & Insurance & Annuity Office. - Mrs. Margaret Stanley Smith, sub-postmistress. Letters arrive via Stockport at 5.30 & 10 a.m.; dispatched at 9.45 a.m. & 8.20 p.m.
Catholic School (mixed), for 100 children; average attendance, 60; Miss Mary Cossum, mistress
Names of residents at Marple & Lower Marple are given in the Cheshire Directory

(Marked thus * receive their letters through New Mills.)
Private Residents
Ashcroft James, Mellor hall
Allen Miss, Mellor lodge
Ashworth H. M. Mount Pleasant
Bagnall Walter Geo. Mansion house
Cowen James, Tarden
Duckworth Cephas, Church villa
Freeman Rev Thomas Matthew L.Th. Vicarage
Furniss Edwin
Henshall James, Mellor cottage
Jones Thomas, Lower hall
Jowett Jonathan, Lower hall
McKellen Samuel, Duncan, Brook lea
Lythan Mrs. Brook house
Mainprice Chas. Edward, Knowl villa
Pridham Mrs
Ratcliffe John G. Holly vale
*Tucker Rev. William Henry Browse M.A. (curate of Strines), Higher cliffe
Talbot Henry, Capstones
*Wild John, Lark hill
Withnell John Wm. Woodbine cottage
Wood George, Torr Top
Allen Louisa (Miss), ladies' school, Mellor lodge
Ashworth Thomas, farmer
Barber John, farmer, Brookbottom
Beard Geo.(Mrs.), farmer, Chatterton la
Beard Samuel, farmer, Hill top
Bennett James, farmer, Cannon hill
Booth Alfred, farmer, Gun farm
Bowden Benjamin, farmer, Drakecarr
Bradbury James (Mrs.), butcher & general dealer
Bradbury Saml. Farmer, Linnett clough
Bradbury Wm. farmer, Tarden farm
Bradley John, farmer, Lane head
Brown Martin (Mrs.), farmer, Capstones
Bullock Samuel, farmer, Heathy bank
Chorlton John Wm., farmer, Snapehey
Collier Charles, farmer, Cross gates
Collier Elzh. (Mrs.), frmr. Windy bottm
Cook Ambrose, farmer, Knowl
Critchlow George, farmer, Nortonslee
Downs Joseph, farmer, Sharpfields
Girls' Home (Mrs. Mary Ann Petts, matron), Ivy cottage
Griffiths John, shopkeeper
Hadfield John, frmr. Mellor Hall farm
Hadfield Thomas, farmer, Cobden edge
Hambleton Charlotte (Mrs.), farmer
Harrop John, farmer, Oak farm
Harrop William, Oak P.H. & farmer
Hartle Wm. & Arth. frmrs. Bradshaw
Hinchcliffe John, farmer, Pistol farm
Hinchliffe Benj. farmr. Bradshaw trees
Hudson Ralph, farmer, Chatterton la
Johnson James, shopkeeper, Holly vale
Jowett William, wadding manufacturer, Cataract mills
Lindley William, farmer, Cheetham hl
Lomas John, farmer, Shiloh
Marshington Philip, farmer, Bradshaw
Marsland Jsph. frmr. Longshaw clough
Marsland Joseph, assistant overseer & inspector of nuisances to Hayfield rural district council
Mellor Cricket Club (A. E. Calvert, hon. sec)
Mellor Lawn Tennis Club (Jas. Jowett, hon. sec)
*Moult John, surveyor & estate agent, Lower cliffe
Nadin Aaron, farmer, Birchenough
Nadin John, farmer, Higher bangs
Needham Isaac, frmr, Cobden Edge frm
Neild John, farmer, Holly end
Nield Robert, shopkeeper
Oldfield Joseph, farmer, Worthington
Pickford Chas. farmer, Townscliffe
Pickford Joseph, farmer, Meadows
Pike William, shopkeeper
Potts Alfred, grocer
Potts Lewis, butcher
Ratcliffe John G. cotton spinner & bleacher, Hollyvale mills
Redford James, farmer, Cheetham hill
Reed Wm. Sportsman's Arms P.H
Richardson John, farmer, Greenclough
Richardson John, farmer, Holly vale
Rowbottom Geo. farmer, Spring bank
Rowbotham Jn. blacksmith & carrier
Schofield John, shoe maker
Shaw Wm. farmer, Linnett clough
Simpson Joseph, frmr. Birchenough fm
Sigley Thomas, farmer, Whitehouse
Stafford Charles, farmer, Capstones
Stafford Lettice (Mrs.), farmer & Apple Tree P.H
Stafford Wm. Devonshire Arms P.H
Taylor John, farmer Higher banks
Tether John; farmer, Horsepool
Turner William Thomas, butcher
Tymm Joseph, farmer
Walkden Jas. Oddfellows' Arms P.H.
Walker Thos. farmer Cheetham :hill
Wardle John, farmer, Strawberry hill
Wild Peter, farmer, Higher Tarden
Wood Hannah (Mrs. ),frmr. Holly wood
Wood Josiah, shopkeeper
Wood Ralph, cotton bleacher, Holly-head works

Ardern James
Bass Charles Ernest, Sunhill
Brown George William, Bleak house
Prince Arth. Helmsfield cot. Millbrow
Thompson John Cheeseborough, Newport villas
Wainwright Joel J.P. Finchwood
Allsop William, farmer, Cowhey
Beard Sml. Hare & Hounds P.H. Millbrow
Bennett James, beer retailer, Millbrow
Bennett John, quarry owner, Millbrow
Bowden Samuel, farmer, Heys
Dawson Thomas, farmer, Millbrow
Edwards Charles E. farmer & Rock tavern, Brookbottom
Fearnaley Thomas, farmer, Greengate
Hague Thos. beer retailer, Lane ends
Hall John, farmer, Woodheys
Hambleton William, farmer, Hollins
Hammersley Mary (Miss), farmer, The Benches
Harrison Benjamin, farmer. Earnicroft
Harrison John, farmer, Sun hill
Hartle William, farmer, Smithey lane
Higginbottom Jesse, farmer & assistant overseer, Lane- ends
Higginbottom Wright, farmer, Loads
Howell Lawrence, beer retailer & shopkeeper, Lane ends
Hudson Geo. farmer & quarry owner, Clough end
Hudson John, farmer
Jackson Joseph, farmer, Stirrup
Lingard Wright, farmer, Lane ends
Longson Robert, farmer, Stirrup
Potts Harriett (Mrs.),frmr. Cote green
Ratcliffe John, candle-wick manufacturer; warehouse, Millbrow
Rowbottom Joe, farmer, Smithy lane
Salt John, farmer, Stirrup
Thorpe John, farmer, Ludworth houses
Wood William, farmer, Broadstone
Wood James (Mrs.), farmer, Millbrow
Wood Saml. (Mrs.), farmer, Broadstne
Wormold John, farmer, Twitches

Private Residents.
Adams Samuel
Fernley George, Lane ends
Holmes James Colley, Ludworth house
Humphreys James Maxwell
Hyde Samuel E. Victoria terrace
Jenkinson Joseph Arthur
Lodge Percy D. Mayfield
McSweeney Rev Cornelius (Catholic), St. Mary's
Peate Robert T. Lee cottage
Taylor John Thomas, Riversdale
Toothill Rev. Alfred (Congregational)
Wood Ralph, The Poplars
Ardern Jas. Saml. farmr. Pear Tree P.H
Baron Charles, Norfolk Arms hotel & posting house
Buck William, iron & tinplate worker
Chadwick James, Horse Shoe P.H.
Hibbert Matilda Octavia (Miss), shopkeeper
Jenkinson Joseph Arthur, surgeon
Hibbert Thos. Emmanuel, builder
Hyde Frederick, shopkeeper
Ingham Chas. (exors. of), blacksmiths
Longley Mary Goddard (Mrs.), chemist
Lydiate George, confectioner
Morgan Rebecca (Mrs.), grocer
Marple Gas Co. Lim.(Wm. Johnson, sec)
Mayall Elizabeth (Mrs.), Rail-way inn
Platt James, shopkeeper
Smith Margaret Staveley (Mrs.), shopkeeper & sub-postmistress
Walton M. J. boot maker
Webb Mary (Mrs.), shopkeeper
Yarwood John, spade & shovel maker

Hill George Henry C.E. Ernocroft
Shaw John, Poplar grove
Sherwin Thomas
Artingstall Jn. Compstall Gardens P.H
Bann Samuel, shopkeeper
Boote Charles, beer retailer
Booth James, house decorator
Bowden Joseph, shopkeeper
Compstall Co-operative & Industrial Society Lim. (Jas. Ardern, mangr)
Compstall & Ludworth Liberal Club (Joseph Sidebottom, sec)
Hagarty John, tailor
Hinchcliffe Francis, farmer
Hinchcliffe Wm. shopkeeper & tailor
Lomas Joe, butcher
Mycock William, George hotel
Ogden Frank, Windsor Castle P.H
Ratcliffe William, shopkeeper
Swindells Henry, beer retailer
Smith Thomas, shopkeeper
Swan Samuel, tinplate worker
Wild John, shopkeeper
Woolley Mary Alice (Mrs.), shopkeeper


NEW MILLS, originally called "Bowden Middle Cale" derives its present name from a corn mill built upon the Kinder, in the hamlet of Ollerset; it is a township and parish, formed in 1884 from Glossop parish, and comprising the hamlets of Beard, Ollerset, Thornset and Whitle, in the High Peak division of the county, hundred of High Peak, Hayfield union, Chapel-en-le-Frith petty sessional division and county court district rural deanery of Glossop, archdeaconry of Derby and diocese of Southwell. It formerly comprised seven hamlets, but has been divided, three of the hamlets being attached to Hayfield, and the remaining four now forming the township and parish. New Mills is a large village, on the river Goyt, 7½ miles south-west from Glossop, 8 south-east from Stockport, 170 from London by road, and by railway, St. Pancras 173, Euston 192 miles. The London and North Western and Midland railways have stations here, and there is a branch line from the latter to Hayfield.
It was under the control of a Local Board from 1875, but under the provisions of the "Local Government Act, 1894" (56 and 57 Vict. c. 73), an urban district council is now the governing authority. The urban district comprises the new parish of Newtown, formed from Disley in Cheshire under the provisions of the "Local Government Act, 1894."
The church of St. George, in the village of Beard, erected in 1831, is a building of stone, in the Pointed style, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles, south and west porches, and an embattled western tower with pinnacles and spire, containing 1 bell, dated 1831, the stained east window was presented by Mrs. John Mackie; and there are several other memorial windows, also a monument to James Ingham esq. J.P. (1868), and a brass to his widow (Sept. 1875): the font is a memorial to John Taylor esq. J.P.: there are 850 sittings, 350 being free. The register dates from the year 1831 and is in good condition. The living is a vicarage, net yearly value £300, with residence, in the gift of the vicar of Glossop, and held since 1869 by the Rev Frederick William Newman M.A. of St. Peter's College, Cambridge. The church of St. James the Less, a chapel of ease to St. George's, a building in the Lancet style of the 13th century, was erected in 1880-1, at a cost of £2,750, by John Mackie esq. of Crigglestone, Yorks, and New Mills, and Mary, his wife, together with the almshouses adjoining, as a memorial to James Ingham esq. and Martha, his wife, the parents of Mrs. Mackie, formerly resident at New Mills, and consists of apsidal chancel and nave, north porch, organ chamber and vestry, and western turret containing one bell: in the apse are three stained windows and at the west end is a stained window presented by Mr. and Mrs. Mackie: the pulpit and font are of carved stone: the communion plate and linen were given by the parishioners and the brass lectern by the late R. B. Mackie esq. M.P. and his daughter Edith: there are 150 sittings, all free. The Catholic church, dedicated to St. Mary, erected in 1838, is a building of stone, in the Early English style, consisting of chancel, nave, aisles, and a western tower with spire, containing one bell: an altar has been erected by Dennis Lane esq. of London. The Wesleyan chapel, St, George's road, was erected about 1810, and has an attached cemetery; the Primitive Methodist chapel, Spring Bank, was built in 1876; and the Free Methodist chapel, Spring Bank, built in 1838, was rebuilt in 1892. The almshouses, six in number, erected from the designs of Mr. W. Swinden Barber F.R.I.B.A. are built on three sides of a quadrangular plot of land near Spring Bank, in New Mills; the dwellings occupying the north and a portion of the east side of a quadrangle, the west and south sides of which are appropriated to the church; they are occupied by 11 poor and aged persons, who receive a weekly allowance from Mrs. Mackie. The Public Hall, erected in 1871, at a cost of £2,500, was opened in the same year by the late Duke of Devonshire K.G., P.C.: a tower was added in 1875, and a clock with chimes presented by the late Mrs. Ingham, of Watford Villa: the lower rooms are divided into offices and board room: the Savings Bank also occupies a room here, which is open on Saturdays from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m.: the general management of the building is vested in trustees, of whom James Hibbert esq. Fern Bank, is chairman. A county court is held here alternately with Buxton and Chapel-en-le-Frith,; on Fridays. Cattle fairs are held on May 11th and October 7th. Here are iron and brass foundries, calico printing and bleach works, cotton spinning and cotton band manufactories. The drinking fountain in front of the Public Hall was erected in 1892 as a memorial to John Mackie esq. The late James Ingham esq. of Watford Villa, left £500 in 1868, the interest of which is, applied to the education and clothing of poor children in the township: Trickett's charity consists of the rent of a farm at Sparrowpit, near Chapel-en-le-Frith, now (1895) let for £24 per year, which sum is in part distributed in clothing to poor persons and also applied to education of the children of the parish. The principal landowners are Lord Egerton of Tatton and F. J. Sumner esq. The soil is clay: subsoil, clay. The area of the parish is 5,042 acres of land and 36 of water; rateable value, £22,396; area of the Urban district, 5,205 acres; rateable value, £27,080, the population in 1891 was parish, 5,498 and of the urban district, 6,661.
High Lee, Lady Shaw Bottom and Watford are places in the village.
Parish Clerk, Joseph Waterhouse.
Post, M. O. & T. O., S. B., Express Delivery & Annuity & Insurance Office. - George Walker, sub-postmaster. Letters are received via Stockport, delivered at 7 a.m. & 3.30 p.m.; dispatched at 10.45 a.m. & 8.20 p.m.; on Sundays at 7.30 p.m. Money orders are granted & paid from 9 a.m. till 8 p.m.; on Saturday till 8 p.m
Wall Letter Boxes, Bridge street, cleared at 10.15 a.m. & 8 p.m.; & High street, cleared at 10.20 a.m. & 8 p.m
County Magistrates for New Mills Sub-Division of Chapel-en-le-Frith Petty Sessional Division.
Arnfleld Joseph esq. High Lea hall, New Mills, Stockport
Bennett Thos. esq. Heathfield, Birch Vale, near Stockport
Carver Thomas esq. The Hollins, Marple, Stockport
Hibbert James esq. Fern Bank, New Mills, Stockport
Hodgkinson Samuel esq. Poise house, Tokington, Cheshire
Rumney William Edward esq. Watford lodge, New Mills, Stockport
Turner Lieut.-Col. Henry, Cale Green, Stockport
Wainwright Joel esq. Ludworth, Marple Bridge, Stockport
Clerk to the Magistrates, John Burton Boycott, Chapel-en-le-Frith
Petty sessions are held in the Public Hall monthly, on Wednesdays at 10.30 a.m. with an occasional court when required

Urban District Council.
Offices, Public Hall.
Council meetings every fourth Monday at 5.30 p.m.
ǁEdward Godward, chairman.
ǁTimothy Livesley. ǁJohn Smith. ǁDaniel Wood. *James John Hadfield. *Joseph Hyde. *Hugh Robinson. *Ernest Offord Stuart. §John Lowe. § William Charles McKenna. §Frederick Thornley. §John Thomas Wharmby
Marked thus ǁ retire in 1896. Marked thus * retire in 1897. Marked thus § retire in 1898.
Clerk, Joseph Pollitt, Public hall
Treasurer, Henry Barber, Spring bank
Medical Officer of Health, James Edwin Anderton L.R.C.P Edin. Thornfield
Surveyor, Edward Jones, Public ball
Sanitary Inspector & Inspector of Canal Boats, Henry Richardson
Collector, William Lowe

County Court, Public hall, held alternately with Buxton & Chapel-en-le-Frith; for places in the district, see Chapel-en-le-Frith

Public Officers
Inspector of County Police, William H. Oliver
Medical Officer & Public Vaccinator, Hayfield Union, Jas. Edwin Anderton L.R.C.P.Edin. Thornfield
Superintendent Registrar of Hayfield Union, Henry Barber, Spring bank; deputy, Arthur Barber
Registrar of Births, Deaths & Marriages for Hayfield Sub-District, George Walker, Market street; deputy, Abel Grundy, Market street

A School Board of 7 members was formed 2 October, 1875; Edward Godward, clerk-to the board; W.T. Robinson, High street, attendance officer
Board, Spring bank (mixed), erected in 1878, at a cost, inclusive of site, of £2,620, & enlarged, in 1890 for the purposes of a technical school, including,a chemical laboratory for 80 students: in 1891 it was organised as a science day school, & is now (1895) a county district technical school; receiving 20 free scholarships annually from the County Council: in 1895 it was further enlarged by the addition of new technical class rooms and a library with 200 volumes, given by Mrs. Mackie, of Watford villa: the school will hold 370 children; average attendance, 260; John A. Nichols, master; Miss L. E. Peck, mistress
Catholic, erected in 1860, for 35 boys, 35 girls & 10 infants; average attendance, 30 boys, 22 girls & 18 infants; Miss Catherine Courtenay, mistress

Railway Station, Richard Henry Clarke, station master
Carrier to Stockport, James Beard, Torr top, wed. & Fri

BEARD is a hamlet half a mile south of New Mills, and 3 miles west of Hayfield. Here are candlewick mills, chemical works, an iron and brass foundry and quarries producing paving setts; the Midland Railway Company has also a goods yard. F. J. Sumner esq. is the principal landowner.
National School (mixed), built in 1863, for 300 children; average attendance, 260; Samuel Whitehead, master

HAGUE BAR is a hamlet 1 mile west from New Mills, east from Strines station and 3 east from Marple. Brookbottom is a place half a mile north-east from Hague Bar. The Primitive Methodist chapel, built in 1874, will seat 200 persons. Lower Cliffe is a place 1 mile north-west from Hague Bar.
Board School, erected in 1878, for 130 children, & enlarged in 1893 for 66 more; average attendance, 135; James Henry Gregory, master

LOW LEIGHTON is a hamlet 1 mile south from New Mills and 3 west from Hayfield. Here is the workhouse of the Hayfield union. There is also a meeting house for the Society of Friends, built in 1717, with a small cemetery attached.
Letters through Newtown (Cheshire), arrive at 9 a.m.
Wall Letter Box cleared at 6.30 p.m. week days only

OLLERSET is a hamlet 1 mile south-west from New Mills and 2 west from Hayfield, consisting principally of scattered farms and some villa residences. Birch Vale station adjoins this hamlet. F. J. Sumner esq. is the principal landowner.

ROWARTH is a hamlet 2 miles east from Mellor and 3 north-east from New Mills, consisting principally of scattered farms. The United Methodist Free Church have a chapel here.
Letters are received via Stockport & delivered by foot messenger from Marple bridge. Wall Letter Box cleared at 7.45 a.m.

STRINES is a hamlet 1 mile by rail and 2 by road westward from New Mills, and 2 east from Marple, with a station on the Sheffield and Midland railway. Calico printing is carried on here very extensively, and the place is much frequented by picnic and pleasure parties from the adjacent large towns.
Post Office.- James Stafford, sub-postmaster. Letters are received via Stockport about 6 a.m. & dispatched
from New Mills at 8.10 p.m. Postal orders are issued here, but not paid. Disley is the nearest money order
& telegraph office.
Railway Station, James Poultney, station master.

THORNSET is a hamlet 1½ miles north-east from New Mills and half a mile west from Birch Vale station. Letters through Birch Vale. Here are Primitive Methodist & Independent chapels; the former was built in 1869.
Board School (mixed), erected in 1878, for 300 children; average attendance, 220; Thomas Frith, master; Miss Sarah C. Hay, infants' mistress

WHITLE is a hamlet 1 mile north-east from New Mills, consisting of scattered farms and villa residences, and commands a fine view of the adjacent scenery. In the valley are bleach works. Fern Bank is the residence of James Hibbert esq. J.P. and Watford villa that of Mrs. Mackie. Here is a Congregational chapel, built in 1786.
Letters through New 'Mills' arrive at 9.30 a.m.

Private Residents.
Anderton James Edwin, Thornfield
Arnfield Edwin, Springfield villa
Arnfield Joseph, High Lee hall
Arnfield Thomas Owen, Rock cottage, High Lee
Barber Henry, Spring bank
Brayne John William, Market street
Campbell Walter, Stanley mount
Cochrane John, Springfield
Evans Alfred William, Hillside
Frost Edward, The Rocks
Grindrod Charles, Spring .bank
Hawthorn Jn. Hurst Lea; Union road
Higginbottom George, Spring villa
Hill James, Lily bank
Hill William Francis, Peak house
Howarth Wm. Jas. M.D. Rock villa
Hughes Samuel, Chapel street
Kirkham James, Union road
Leman John Samuel, Hall street
Lees Mrs. Holly bank
Livesley Alfred, Chapel house, St. George's road
Lloyd Rev. George Edward (Primitive Methodist), Spring bank
Nicholls John A. Stanley mount
Ogden James, Westfield house
Pollitt John, High Lee
Potts George Hall street
Purssglove John, High street
Purssglove Mrs. Ivy cot. Market st
Rumney Edw. Bryan, Watford lodge
Roberts Rev. William Lee (United Meth. Free Ch.), Spring bank
Salisbury Henry, Rock villa
Swindells Thos. Holme cot. High Lee
Thompson Rev. Edward (Wesleyan), Wesley mount
Turner John, High street
Wharmby John Thomas, High Lee
Wild William, Springfield house
Wright Mrs. Bank, cot. Lark's hill;
Wyatt Mrs. Lee house
Alexander James, Bull's Head P.H. High street
Allen George, fruiterer & fishmonger, High street
Alien John William, general draper, Market street
Alsop & Clayton, painters, Market street
Alsop George, painter & plumber, High street & Meal st
Anderton James Edwin L.R.C.P.Edin. surgeon & medical officer of health to New Mills urban district council, & medical officer & public vaccinator for Hayfield union, & certifying factory surgeon for the whole of the district, Thornfield
Antrobus Edward, insurance agent, Union road
Armstrong Elizabeth (Miss), ladies' school, High street
Arnfield Jsph. & Edwin, millwghts. & engnrs. Globe iron wks
Arnfield Isaac, grocer, Bridge street
Arnfield Jonathan, yeast dealer, Spring bank
Ash Thorns, beer retailer, High street
Ashworth A. & A. (Misses), drapers & dress mas. Market pl
Bagshaw Joseph, manufacturing ironmonger, Market st
Barber Arthur, deputy superintendent registrar
Barber Henry, manager of the Manchester & County Branch Bank, actuary to the Savings Bank, clerk to the guardians, assessment & rural district councils, & superintendent registrar of Hayfield union, & agent to the Royal Fire Insurance Co. Spring bank
Bardsley Evan (Mrs.), Dog & Partridge P.H. High street
Barker Charles, joiner, Union road
Barton M. M. & S. (Misses), fancy repository, Market st
Bates William, grocer, High street
Bennett, Boycott, Orme & Goodman, solicitors, Public hall
Berry John, painter. Spring bank
Berry Matilda (Miss), dress maker, Spring bank
Bertwhistle James, fried fish dealer, Market street
Bertwhistle John, beer retailer, Market street
Beverley John, farmer, Lark's hill
Booth Joseph Edwin, St. Alban's P.H. Torr Top street
Boycott John Burton (firm, Bennett, Boycott, Orme & Goodman), solicitor, clerk to the magistrates, commissioner for oaths & solicitor to the New Mills Economical Building Society, Public hall
Boyle John, stone mason, High street
Bowden Walter, toy dealer, High street
Bradbury John, shopkeeper, Bridge street
Braddock Joseph, general dealer, Meal street
Braddock Joseph Kirby, draper, Market street
Brayne John William Ward, chemist & druggist, Market st
Broom Richard, boot & shoe maker, Market street
Broome Abraham, butcher, Meal street
Broadbent John, Grapes P.H. High street
Brown Richard, solicitor & registrar of county ct. Public hl
Brownhill George Henry, White Hart inn, Dyehouse lane
Brunt George, Pack Horse inn, Bower lane
Bunting George, hair dresser, High street
Burgess Joseph, monumental mason, Hyde bank
Chadwick George, tripe dresser, Market street
Chadwick Wm. cotton band manufacturer & frmr, High Lee
Chatterton Thomas, slater & plasterer, Torr Top street
Clayton Jane (Mrs.), grocer, Torr Top street
Clayton Ralph, painter, see Alsop & Clayton
Conservative Club (J. P. Liddell, sec.), Union road
Co-operative Society (Henry Turner,manager), Spring bnk
Cooper Benjamin (Mrs.), pork butcher, Union road
Cooper Margaret Ann (Mrs.), hosier, Market place
Crabtree Joshua, confectioner, Union road
Croft Alfred, boot & shoe maker, Market street
Croxall Samuel, umbrella repairer, High street
Davies Joseph, apartments; 3 Torr Top street
Dyer William, hair dresser, High street
Ellis Samuel, hair dresser, Market street
Ellison Thomas, grocer, tailor & draper, High street
Etchells Elizabeth (Mrs.), Queen's Arms P.H
Evans Seth, reporter to."Glossop Advertiser." Union-road
France Robert, shopkeeper, Market street
Freemason Lodge (Peveril of the Peak) (Thomas Hibbert, tyler), Union road
Frost Edward, dentist,The Rocks
Gee John Thomas, auctioneer, Spring bank
George William, butcher, Market street
Godward Edward, school board clerk & secretary to the New Mills Economical Permanent Building Society Graham George, tailor, Spring bank
Green James, greengrocer, High street
Grindrod Charles, surgeon, Spring bank
Grundey Abel, draper & outfitter & deputy registrar of births, deaths & marriages, Market street
Hall Henry, chimney sweeper, Rock street
Hall Samuel, tinplate worker, Market street
Hampson Hannah (Miss), ladies' outfitter, High street
Harrop Joseph, hosiery manufacturer, High street
Harrop Robert, butcher, Market street
Harwood James, shopkeeper, High street
Heggie Andrew, tobacconist, High street
Hewitt Samuel, assistant overseer, The Rocks
Hibbert Joseph, shopkeeper, High street
Hibbert Thomas, joiner, High street
Higginbotham John, ironmonger, Market place
Higginbotham Mary (Mrs.), grocer, High street
Higginbottom George & Edwin, manufacturing chemists, Salem chemical works
Higginbottom Eliza Ann (Mrs.), draper, High street
Higginbottom George, coal merchant, Hyde bank
Higginbottom Isaac, shopkeeper, Union road
Higginbottom Sarah Ellen (Mrs,), tobacconist, Market st
Higgins Horace William, George hotel, High street
Hill Isaac, greengrocer, Union, road
Howard George & James, painters, Rock street
Howarth William James M.D. surgeon, Rock villas.
Howes Esther (Mrs.), confectioner, Bridge street
Hulton Ellen (Mrs.), confectioner, High street
Ingham James Anthony, hatter &c. Union road
Ingham Mark, draper, High street
Jackson Isaac G. watch & clock maker, Market street
Johnson Charles Frederick, solicitor, see Johnsons
Johnson Joseph, pawnbroker, High street
Johnsons, solicitors, High street
Jones Edward, surveyor to urban district council, Public hl
Kelvey Richard,.hair dresser, Torr Top street
Leach James, grocer, Market street
Lee J. & R. coppersmiths, Union road
Leigh Wm. Andrew, stationer, printer & bksllr. Market st
Livesley Alfred & Son, chemists, High street
Livesley Timothy & Sons, butchers, High street
Livesley Mary Jane (Mrs.), milliner, High street
Lloyd Benjamin, beer retailer, Rock street
Lockwood James, saddler, Market street
Lomas Joel, watch & clock maker, Market place
Lomas John, boot maker, 5 High Lee terrace
Lomas Mary Ann (Mrs.) confectioner, High street
Lomax Joseph Dale, grocer, Market street
Lowe Elizabeth (Mrs.), draper, Union road
Lowe Wm. collectr. to the urban dist. Council, Public hall
Lydon James, apartments, Torr Top street
Manchester & County Bank Limited (branch) (Henry Barber, manager), High street; draw on Union Bank of London Limited, London EC
Marsh Louisa (Mrs.), grocer, Torr Top street
Maughan John, Railway hotel, Market street
May Walter, agent for Singer's sewing machines; High st
Mechanics' Institute (Jas. Anthony Ingram,sec.),Union rd
Mottershead John Henry, pork butcher, High street
Nail Samuel M.B. surgeon, Market street
New Mills Conservative Club (John Pemberton Liddle, sec.) Union road
New Mills & District Liberal Association (Richard Thornley, sec)
New Mills Economical Permanent Building Society (Edward Godward, sec.), Public hall
New Mills Gas Co. (Edward Jones, manager)
New Mills Spinning Co. Torr Top street
New Mills, Water Works (Tom Bowden, manager)
Ogden, Thomas, smallware dealer, Union road
Oliver William H. inspector of police, Police station
Orme John Henry (firm, Bennett, Boycott, Orme & Good-man), solicitor
Parson William, boot & shoe maker, Market street
Pearson Samuel, blacksmith, Hyde Bank road;
Pennington James, shopkeeper, Spring bank
Plant William Albert, grocer, Torr Top street
Platt Thomas, smallware dealer, Union road
Pogson Joseph, draper, Union road
Pollitt John & Son, accountants & surveyors, Public hall
Pollitt Jsph. clerk to the urban dist. council, Public hall
Pott William, grocer, Market street
Potts Albeit, fishmonger, High street
Potts William, grocer, Hall street
Potts William, shopkeeper, Eaves Knoll road
Public Hall (George E. Walker, sec)
Purssglove George Eyre, Masons Arms P.H. High st
Redfern Alfred Isaac, joiner & shopkeeper, Spring bank & High street
Richardson Elizabeth (Miss), shopkeeper, Chapel street
Richardson Hy. sanitary insp. & inspctr. of canal boats
Richardson James, toy dealer, High street
Rigby Thomas, hatter, High street
Roberts Leah (Mrs.), shopkeeper, High street
Robinson W. T. school attendance officer, High street
Robinson William, grocer, High street
Robinson William, stationer & news agent, High street
Royle Joseph, beer retailer, Market street
Rumney Edward Bryan, calico printer, Watford bridge
Ryley Samuel, stationer, Market street
Sandham Richard, farmer, Wilhey
Savings Bank, open on Saturday from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. (Henry Barber, actuary), Public hall
Sayer John, cabinet dealer, Market street
Schofield Frederick John, tailor, Chapel street
Schofield Joseph, butcher, High street
Sellars Joseph, tailor, Market street
Shaw Arthur, tobacconist, Market street
Shepley Eli, hatter & draper, Union road
Sidebottom Elizabeth (Mrs.), confectioner, Market street
Simister Emma (Miss), draper, High street
Smith Margt. (Mrs.) & Albert, furniture dlrs. Union rd
Smith F. W. painter, Meal street
Smith Joseph, agent to Midland Rail-way Co. Beard ter
Stafford Obadiah, stone mason, High Lee
Stafford Thomas, farmer, Knight-wake farm
Stansfield Jonathan, beer retailer, Bridge street
Street) John Edward, boot & shoe dealer, Market street
Swan Thomas, Cock inn, High street
Swindells Henry, farmer, Mouseley bottom
Thornley Frederick, printer, Union road
Toovey Clement, confectioner, Market street
Turner Carrie (Miss), ladies' school, High street
Turner Henry, manager to Co-operative stores, Hall st
Turner James, tobacconist, High street
Turner John William, draper, High street
Turner Thomas, wardrobe dealer, Torr Top street
Vaughan Andrew, dentist, Spring bank
Walker Arthur, solr. & commissnr. for oaths, Spring bnk
Walker George, stationer & printer, & registrar of births, deaths & marriages, Hayfield sub-district, Post
office, Market street
Wallace J. J. (Mrs.), pork butcher, Market street; wholesale & retail park butcher; home cured hams, bacon, lard & sausages
Wallace William, tailor, High street
Warrington Elijah, joiner & shopkeeper, Church brow
Watson Henry, Crown hotel, Market street
Wells William, watch & clock maker, Market street
Welsh Domini, apartments, Torr Top street
Wharmby Jas, grocer & china & glass dlr. Market st.
Wharmby John Thomas, confectioner, Market street
Whitehead Wm. Thomas, professor of music, Spring bnk
Wild Jesse, plumber, Torr Top street
Wild William, commission agent, Springfield house
Williamson James, beer retailer, High street
Williamson Peter, tripe dresser, High street
Wilson Robert, confectioner, High street
Wood George, estate agent, Spring bank
Wood George, shopkeeper, Station road
Wood Joseph, shoe maker, High street
Woolley Bold, confectioner, Spring bank
Wright Frederick, hardware dealer, Torr Top street
Wyatt Edwin Henry, smallware dealer, High street
Wyatt John George, oil merchant, High street
Wyatt John William (Mrs.), milliner, Market place
Wyatt Sarah (Mrs.), draper, Market street
Yates Edward, brass founder, Torr Top street

Bridge John Gregory
Chadwick John, Daisy bank
Coates Joseph Ed-ward, Beech house
Higginbottom Edwin, Quarry bank
Jones Edward, Hurstfield
Longson James, Church road
Lewis James, Aspenshaw hall
Newman Rev Frederick William M.A. New Mills vicarage
Thorpe Frederick, Church road
Thornley Richard, Hurstfield
Broadhurst William, contractor, Brown Brow
Campbell Walter, engraver to calico printers, see Salisbury & Campbell
Greenhalgh Edward, photographer, Church road
Handford Joseph, frmr. Bold beard
Hammond Maria (Mrs.), grocer, Church road
Higginbottom James, palisade & ornamental iron gate maker
Hill Jas. candle wick manfr. Beard mill
Hill William Francis, candle wick manufacturer, Beard mill
Hodgson William, grocer, Church rd
Lockwood Thomas, coal merchant
Longson James & Son, iron founders, Midland iron works
Lowe John, coal merchant
Pearson Samuel, blacksmith
Salisbury & Campbell, engravers to calico printers
Scattergood & Warrington, joiners & builders
Stafford Daniel, farmer, Beard hall
Thornley Mariana (Mrs.), candlewick manufacturer, Beard mill
Titterton Jane (Miss), farmer, Marsh Lane head
Walton William, coal merchant
Warrington Elijah, joiner & builder, see Scattergood & Warrington
Warrington Harriet (Mrs.), confectioner, Church road
Woolley John, farmer, Howcroft

Moulten William
Beard Edward, shopkpr. Brookbottom
Broadhurst Sophia (Mrs.), wheelwrt
Crossland Joseph, farmer, Brookbttm
Gell Walter, beer retailer
Higginbottom John Thomas farmer, Lower Hague
Jepson Charles, farmer, Brookbottom
Joule Jn. Martin, farmer, Shaw farm
Kershaw Arthur, Commercial inn
Scott George Harry & Co. drysalters
Storer Samuel, farmer
Thorpe James, farmer, Hague Fold
Thorpe Joseph, farmer, Hague Fold
Wood John, shopkeeper

Jackson Mrs. Highfield
Stafford John, Dale house
Ashton James, farmer
Broadhurst John, wheelwright
Goble Richard, Hare & Hounds inn
Hudson John & Sons, contractors
Oldham Robert, shopkeeper

(Marked thus * receive their letters through Newtown, Stockport; thus † through Furness Vale & thus ‡
through Birch Vale.)
Private Residents.
*Bridge Miss, Ollerset cottage
*Hadfield James John, Bowden villas
*Higginbottom Charles
Poole Charles Edward, Diglands
*Wild Mrs. Pleasant view
‡Ashton James, farmer, Ravensleach
‡Ashton John Wm. frmr. Coldharbour
†Hall Levi & Elijah (exors, of), coal merchants
‡Hall Charles, farmer, Ovenhill
*Hall John, farmer, Moor lodge
*Hall William, farmer, High hill
*Hudson David, farmer
*Hudson David, frmr. Ollerset farm
*Hudson John, farmer, Piece farm
*Hudson Nancy (Mrs.), frmr. Gib hey
*Needham Joseph, farmer, Gib hey
*Ollerset Coal Co. Lim. (James Ramsbottom, manager)
*Ollerenshaw Thomas, farmer, Hollinghurst Head
†Reece James, farmer, Shedyard
Williamson Reuben, quarry owner
Wood George Wm. beer retailer
*Woolley Jonathan, farmer
*Wyatt John Henry, shopkeeper

Turner Mrs
Ashton John, farmer, Long Lee
Bennett John, farmer, Slack farm
Bennett William, farmer
Bowden Bernard, frmr. Back Rowarth
Bradbury Robt. Lit. Mill inn, & frmr
Chadwick Samuel, farmer, Lane side
Cooper Alfred (Mrs.), farmer
Froggatt Abner, frmr. Matley moor
Hadfield Charles, farmer, Cone edge
Hallam Jsph. farmer, Further slack
Handford Jn. (Mrs.), frmr. Matley mr
Hibbert Danl. farmer, Golden spring
Hinchcliffe Jonthn. frmr. Ringstones
Marsland Win. farmer, Matley moor
Miller Win. frmr. Briar Grove slack
Rowbottom Joseph, farmer, Ringstone
Rowbottom Joseph, farmer, Rings tone
Simpson Joseph, farmer
Southern Samuel, farmer, Slack
Thornley Benjamin, Hare & Hounds P.H. & farmer, Hollins moor
Waterhouse Thomas, shopkeeper
Whitlock James, frmr. High Roworth
Woodward Geo. farmer, Hollins moor

Barratt Walter, Ivy bank
Bowden Joe, Ivy bank
Campbell Peter, Glengogt
Hopwood Frank, Spring mount
Nevill Charles Henry, The Cottage
Poultney Ephraim
Stafford James, sub-postmaster
Stephens Thomas, beer retailer
Strines Printing Co. calico printers (Peter Campbell, manager)

Bennett Thomas, colliery proprietor
Bennett Thomas, farmer,Thornset flds
Butler William, farmer & Jordan Arms P.H
Goddard James, farmer, Aspenshaw
Hadfield James John, yarn bleacher & sizer, Garrison bleach works
Hall William, frmr. High hill farm
Hill Isaac, shopkeeper & butcher
Hudson Elizabeth (Mrs.), Printers' Arms P.H
Lowe John, coal merchant & farmer, Francis farm
Marshall Herbert, farmer
Mason John, shopkeeper
New Mills Co-operative Society Lim. (No. 1 branch)
Phethean John & Co. Lim. Bleachers, Bate mill
Rowcroft Geo. farmer, Feading hey
Walton James, .beer retailer

Hibbert James J.P. Fern bank
Mackie Mrs. Watford villa
Rumney Mrs. Fern bank
Bennett William, farmer, Abbytree
Billinge Charles Brough, farmer, Broadhurst edge
Billinge Thos. frmr. Broadhrst. edge
Brunt George, Pack Horse P.H. Boar la
Fernaley John, farmer, Beardhough
Keeling James, farmer, Beardhough
Mannifold William, shopkeeper
Marsland Eli, farmer, Hodghey
Rowcroft James, farmer
Stafford Edwin, farmer, Tanpits
Stafford James (representatives of), farmers
Stafford Thomas William, builder, Whitle bank
Shufflebottom John, farmer
Sandon Richard, farmer, Willhey


Button image Home Page. Button image Glossop History Resources Page.

Last updated: 13 August 2020