White's Directory of Derbyshire & Sheffield 1857
Entries for the area of the Ancient Parish of Glossop.


GLOSSOP parish forms the north-east extremity of Derbyshire; the river Etherow separating it from Cheshire on the north and north-west, and has its rise in the Alpine ridges at the north-east extremity of the county, which is also the source of the river Mersey. The river Derwent has its rise at the north-east extremity also, where for some distance it is called the Wrongsley river, and separates this county and parish from Yorkshire, after which, entering the parish of Derwent, it takes that name; the water from the east side of Kinderscout flowing to it. The river Goyt, which rises from Axe Edge, near Buxton, bounds the south-west side of the parish; and near Marple bridge the Etherow has its confluence with the Goyt, and flows to Stockport. The parish is 16 miles in length, and averages 5 miles in breadth, and is intersected by the Sheffield and Manchester Railway. It is one of the most romantic parishes in the county, particularly the wild mountainous district on its eastern side, of which a considerable portion is moorland. Its western side is a highly flourishing district, and by far the most important seat of the cotton manufacture in the county.
This extensive parish comprises the townships or hamlets of Glossop, Chinley, Bugsworth and Brownside, Chisworth, Chunall, Dinting, Hadfield, Hayfield, Ludworth, Mellor, Padfield, Simmondley and Whitfield; besides many other populous hamlets and villages. Hayfield, Mellor, and New Mills are chapelries, and a district church has been erected at Little Moor, in Whitfield hamlet. The parish is returned as containing 31876a. 1r. 30p. of land, mostly pasture, except the east side, which is chiefly moorland; it abounds in clay, stone, slate, coal, and valuable waterfalls, which have for ages coursed their way through the deep dells, their solitude being but occasionally broken by the mountain shepherd; till the ingenious and enterprising capitalists perceived that -wealth flowed from the mountain rills, which speedily caused the solitude to be peopled with a teeming population, engaged in the busy scenes of commercial enterprise. In 1851, there were 5,559 houses, and 28,625 inhabitants, of whom 14,312 were males, and 14,313 females; rateable value, £60,942 19s. 3d. Pilkington dates the rise of manufactures here to the year 1784, in which year the first cotton mill was erected. The large cotton factories and other extensive establishments will be noticed in the localities in which they are respectively situated. Before the introduction of the cotton manufacture, that of woollen had made considerable progress; and we find there were no less than seven factories, and four fulling mills, only one very small woollen establishment remains, but the cotton factories are increasing and enlarging on all sides.
The manor of Glossop, which extends over Glossop and its seven hamlets of Glossop Dale, viz.: - Charlesworth, Chunall, Dinting, Padfield, Simmondley and Whitfield, and Ludworth and Chisworth, belonged, as parcel of Lagendale or Longdendale, to the crown, at Domesday survey. King Henry I granted it, as a part of a still larger district of his domain of the Peak, to William Peverel, on the attainder of whose son it reverted to the crown. King Henry II gave the manor of Glossop, with the church and its other appurtenances, in the year 1157, to the abbey of Basingwerk. King Henry VIII gave this manor, in 1537, to George, Earl of Shrewsbury. It now belongs to Lord Edward George Fitzalan Howard, youngest son of the late Duke of Norfolk, to whom it had descended from one of the co heiresses of Gilbert, Earl of Shrewsbury, who died 1610. This estate had been settled on a younger branch of the Howard family, and belonged to the late Duke before his accession to the title. Here are also many small freeholders.
Glossop is a small market town and township, 9 miles N. from Chapel-en-le-Frith, 14 miles E. from Manchester, 24 miles N.W. by N. from Sheffield, by turnpike road and 30 miles by rails, and 50 miles N.N.W. from Derby. It consists of Glossop, Howard Town, and Mill Town; situated in a beautifully romantic dale, surrounded by lofty hills. The old town is irregularly built, but many improvements have taken place within the last few years, by forming new roads and streets, &c. Mill Town connects itself with Howard Town on the Sheffield road leading to Glossop, or Old Town, in contradiction to New Town, or Howard Town, which forms the great focus of improvements, and is ¾ mile W. from Glossop. The township contains 4,820 acres of land, and in 1851 had 942 houses, and 5,167 inhabitants, of whom 2,713 were males and 2,754 females; rateable value, £10,057 3s. 6d. The different hamlets or townships in the manor of Glossop, keep their poor conjointly and roads separately, and contains 11,303 acres of lend, of the rateable value of £32,443 0s. 3d. Lord Edward George Fitzalan Howard is lord of the manor and owner. Here are upwards of 8,000 acres of moor land. The land is mostly pasture, and the farms generally small, let on small leases at an average rental of about 30s. per acre. The land let for building purposes, is on leases for a period of 99 years. A considerable portion of the land in Glossop Dale is let as accommodation land to the tradesmen; his Lordship being in every respect desirous to accommodate, improve, and encourage his tenantry, and to make Glossop a principal seat of the cotton manufacture. The direct line of railway communication with Liverpool, and the probability of that communication speedily extending between the eastern and the western seas, in conjunction with its local advantages; and the low rental of land, render every prospect of its being able to compete with the great emporium of the cotton trade, or with any other of the towns in Lancashire or Cheshire. The Church, dedicated to All Saints, is a vicarage, valued in the King's book at £12 18s. 9d., now £303. It is situate at Glossop (Old), and has been augmented with £400 parliamentary grant; the Earl of Ellesmere, patron, and impropriator; and the Rev. Alexander Thos. C. Manson, D.C.L., incumbent. The Church, a neat structure, with nave, chancel, side aisles, tower, and spire with 8 bells, was rebuilt, except the tower, and spire in 1831, and enlarged by the addition of two galleries, at the cost of £2,000, by which 800 sittings were obtained, of which 206 are free and unappropriated. The incorporated society for the enlargement of churches and chapels, having granted £200 towards the expense, and the remainder was raised by subscription. The late Duke, as impropriator, repaired the chancel, in which is a handsome monument for George Hadfield, Esq., of Mottram Old Hall, Cheshire, who died September 28th, 1831, aged 59. In 1855, his Grace the late Duke of Norfolk rebuilt the tower and spire to which the inhabitants added two new bells. The tower now contains a fine peal of eight bells. The Vicarage, a handsome Elizabethan mansion, a little south of the church, was erected by the present incumbent, in 1850. In the village, is an ancient cross. Glossop Hall, a handsome stone mansion, recently erected on the site of the Old Hall, is pleasantly situated a little N.E. of Old Glossop. It is the seat and property of Lord Edward George Fitzalan Howard, who succeeded to this estate on the death of his father the late Duke of Norfolk, in 1856.
Howard Town or New Glossop, ¾ mile W. from Old Glossop, forms the centre of the largest portion of the inhabitants of the township, and a focus for most of the other townships. It is sometimes called Glossop Dale, from its being situated in a fine valley, surrounded by bold mountains and romantic scenery, and presents one of the busiest scenes in the cotton trade that can well be conceived. Great improvements, by erecting new factories and the enlargement of old ones, have within the last 20 years been made. A Market was established under the powers of an act of parliament passed in the 7th year of the reign of Queen Victoria, by the late lord of the manor, which was opened 19th July, 1845. The market, held on Saturday, progresses very well, and presents an animated appearance in the evening. A Fair for cattle and merchandise is held on the 6th of May; and another was established in 1854, which is held on the first Wednesday after the 10th of October. Feast, first Sunday after 13th of September. A handsome Town-hall and Market-house was erected in the Italian style, of which the first stone was laid 28th June, 1838, (the coronation of Queen Victoria,) and opened as above stated. A Lock-up prison was erected in connection with the above. It contains 4 cells which are warmed by hot water. Mr. William Hatton is the superintendent, with four assistant constables. Behind the Town Hall is a covered Market-house, with shops for butchers, greengrocers, and other trades. The tower which crowns the Town Hall is provided with an excellent clock, and the whole enclosed by a low wall and palisading. The entire cost has exceeded £8,500, executed under the superintendence of Messrs. Weightman and Hadfield, architects, Sheffield.
In 1818, Howard Town contained only three houses, one a farm house occupied by the Wagstaffs, the other the Howard Arms Inn, and the last one was erected by Mr. Collier, father of the present Mr. Thomas Collier. In 1825, the late Mr. Wood, bought the Old Woollen mill, and in 1826, built six houses on the site thereof, since which period its progress has been very rapid, and it can now boast of many handsome houses, excellent shops, and superior inns. The Temperance Hall, in Howard town, is a neat stone building erected in 1850, by the Rechabite Club, at a cost of £800. A Cemetery is about to be erected on or near the Sheffield road, at the estimated cost of £6,000. There are to be three chapels, one for the church, one for the Dissenters, and one for the Catholics. The Odd Fellows, Foresters, Druids, and the Freemasons, have lodges here and several other Friendly Societies.
The Roman Catholic Chapel, situated on an eminence overlooking the old village of Glossop, is a handsome structure of the Tuscan style. It was erected in 1836, by the late Duke of Norfolk, from a design by and under the direction of Messrs. Weightman and Hadfield, at a cost of £3000. In the interior is a beautiful altar, the work of Mr. George Eadon, of Sheffield; an organ by Bishop, and an ancient picture of the Crucifixion, a copy from the celebrated original at Antwerp. The Chapel, together with Royle house, the chaplain's residence, commands a beautiful prospect of the surrounding hills, forms a pleasing contrast with their romantic wildness, and reflects much credit on the taste as well as the generosity of the noble founder. The Rev Theodore Fauvel is the priest. In connexion with the above are schools for boys and girls. The girls school is situated at Old Glossop; it was built by subscription in 1844, at a cost of about £500; it will hold about 400 children, and is under the care of the Sisters of Charity. The boys school is situated in Talbot street, and was erected in 1852, at a cost of £1400; it is a handsome stone building, with residence for the master, capable of accommodating 600 children; the average attendance is 60. There is also a night school which is attended by about 100 ; Mr. Wm. Hymers, master. The Methodists have a handsome stone chapel at Howard Town, erected in 1845, at a cost of £600; and also one at Glossop, built in 1813, and enlarged in 1830; with a day school, established in 1841, attended by about 120 boys and girls. There are Sunday schools in connexion with all the places of worship. The Association Methodists have a chapel in Hall street, between Glossop and Mill Town, built in 1836, and improved in 1845; cost £650, and will seat about 300. The Primitive Methodists' is a handsome chapel, situated in Howard Town, erected in 1855.
Savings' Bank, held in the Town Hall, was established 3rd Apl, 1844, under the patronage of his Grace the Duke of Norfolk. The balance owing to depositors on the 20th Nov., 1855, amounted to £13,981 17s 5d., of which sum 556 depositors had £13,319 3s, 8d.; 7 charitable institutions £195 0s. 3d., and two friendly societies £467 13s. 6d. The bank is open every Monday from eleven to one o'clock; Mr. Fras. Hawke, secretary.
The New Small Debts Act, or County Court. This important act which superseded the Court of Bequests, came into operation on the 15th of March, 1847.
Glossop County Court is held at the Town Hall, Howard Town, monthly, and the district comprises the following places, viz.: Betney Hill, Blackshaw, Brookfield, Brosscroft, Charlestown, Charlesworth, Chisworth, Chunall, Compstall Bridge, Cordingbrook, Crosscliff, Dinting, Freetown, Fattenhay, Gamesley, Glossop, Hadfield, Hayfield, Hole House, Howard Town, Hurst, Jerry Town, Littlemoor, Ludworth, Marple Bridge, Mellor, Mill Town, Moorsbottom Bridge, Padfield, Roworth, Rosegreen, Roughtown, Simmondley, Turnlee, Water Side, Whitfield, Woodseats, and Woolley Bridge; Joseph St. John Yates, Esq., judge, John Brookes, registrar, and Joseph Oates, high bailiff.
Gas Works were established under an Act of Parliament obtained during the session of 1845, the company to have a capital of £6,000, in shares of £10 each. The works are at Howard Town. The gasometer will hold 55,000 cubic feet, and there are 21 retorts; Mr. Wm. Wake, of Sheffield, is clerk to the Company; Mr. Geo. Tomlinson, manager; and Jas. Gill, working manager.
Water Works were established here in 1854, by the late Duke of Norfolk at an outlay of about £4000. Swineshaw Reservoir, the source from whence the town is supplied is situated about 1½
mile from Howard Town, and is about 5 acres in extent. It is conveyed from there in 7 inch mains, and one half of the town is already supplied with that necessary and useful article at a very moderate cost; besides which that portion of the hamlet of Whitfield called Little Moor is also supplied, a boon which cannot be too highly prized by the inhabitants, considering the great inconvenience they have at various times suffered for the want of it. Indeed, the whole neighbourhood has been greatly benefitted by its introduction into the town; Mr. Chas. Jno. Hadfield, manager.
The Grammar School, Old Glossop, a handsome Elizabethan stone building, erected by the late Duke of Norfolk, in 1852, at the cost of £2000. It is situated at the west end of the church-yard and consists of a boys', girls', and infants' rooms, with residence for the head master; the boys' room is 90 feet by 33 feet, and 23 feet high. The master's residence forms the eastern end of the building, and the girls' and infants' school-rooms the western. It will afford accommodation for above 500 children, and the average attendance is about 400. - (See charities) - Mr. Alfred J. Littler, head master.
The Mechanics' Institution, established in 1842, is held in the Grammar school, in connection with which is an excellent library of upwards of 10,000 volumes of books, besides the leading periodicals. It consists of about 100 members who pay an annual subscription of 5s.; Mr. Adam Knott, librarian.
Petty Sessions are held in the Town Hall, every Thursday fortnight. The attending magistrates are Wm. Sidebottom, Edmund Potter, and John Chapman, Esqrs, Messrs. Bennett & Grey are their clerks, and Mr. Wm. Hatton, chief constable for the Glossop division of the High Peak Hundred, superintendent of the lock-up-prison, and inspector of weights and measures for the same district. The other townships have each an assistant constable, chosen annually.
Railway. - The Sheffield and Manchester railway enters Derbyshire from Sheffield, from a tunnel three miles in length, about five miles N.E. by N. from Glossop, and crosses the extreme north verge of the county, and of this parish, crossing the Etherow at Broadbottom, near Charlesworth, by a viaduct of three very large arches; about 3 miles S.W. by W. from Glossop, it enters Cheshire; it crosses the Dinting Vale about 1 mile W. from Howard Town, by a lofty viaduct of 16 arches, constructed of timber and stone. Near the viaduct, and adjoining the road to Charlesworth, is Dinting railway station, 1 mile W. from Howard Town, and 12 miles from Manchester. Prom this point a branch railway runs to Howard Town, where there is a convenient stone station, with warehouses and coal wharfs, which are supplied from Duckenfield and Dunkirk collieries. Mr. Wm. Hy. Brain, station master, Howard Town, and Mr. Alexander Maxwell, station master, Dinting.
Reservoir Company. - This company was formed in 1837, when a capital of upwards of £6,000 was subscribed for the forming reservoirs to supply, in dry seasons, mills, extending from Glossop to the river Tame, at Stockport. Only one reservoir has been constructed at a cost of £10,000; it is situated between the hills, one mile S.E. from Glossop. Michael Jph. Ellison, Esq., is clerk to the commissioners.
Trade. - Glossop has for many years had its full share of the spirit and extension of the cotton spinning and manufacture, there being in the manor of Glossop upwards of 20 establishments for spinning, doubling, and weaving of cotton. There are extensive printworks in Dinting Vale, and others just within the county of Chester; besides which there are at New Mills, Mellor, and the district not within the manor of Glossop, about 30 different establishments for cotton spinning and manufacturing, with four extensive calico print-works. A reference to the Directories of the districts will show the names of the parties and the situations of each. There are also three extensive paper mills and one small woollen manufactory. The twist, or goods, are generally made for the Manchester market; which the proprietors regularly attend on Tuesday, where many of them have warehouses.
Charlesworth is a large village and township, on the road to Marple Bridge, 2½ miles S.W. from Glossop, formerly had a market and fair granted, in 1328, to the abbot of Basingwerk. It contains 1,452 acres of land, and in 1851 had 324 houses and 1714 inhabitants, of whom 850 were males and 864 females; rateable value £2999 14s. 4d. The Church, dedicated to St. John, is a neat stone edifice in the form of a cross, with nave, chancel, two transepts, and tower, was erected in 1849. The living is a perpetual curacy, of the value of £150, in the patronage of the Crown and Bishop of Lichfield alternately, and incumbency of the Rev. Goodwin Purcell, who resides at the parsonage house, a neat stone residence, situated near the Church and erected in 1853. The National school with a house for the teacher, is a small stone building erected in 1850, which will accommodate 150; the average attendance being about 70. The Independents have a chapel, rebuilt about 70 years ago, and enlarged in 1827, and a school-room, built in 1823. The Particular Baptists' chapel was built in 1835. The Wesleyan Methodists have a chapel and a day school; and the Primitive Methodists' chapel, built in 1843, has a day school in connexion with it. There is a machine manufactory and brass foundry, with a cotton band manufactory, besides other factories at the Coombs, Kinder Brook, and at Kinder Lee. Gamesly Upper and Lower, consists of a few farmers, half a mile N.W. from Charlesworth, extending to the Etherow, near which is Melandra Castle, a Roman camp. The Independents have had a congregation here from a very early period; and in 1716, Mr. John Bennett left the interest of £20 for the benefit of the minister.
Chisworth, a scattered village and hamlet, 4 miles S.W. from Glossop, and in that manor, contains 845 acres of land, and in 1851 had 114 houses and 555 inhabitants, of whom 291 were males and 264 females; rateable value £1175 5s; The Wesleyans have a chapel here, erected in 1831, and enlarged about four years ago; it is a neat stone building with turret and one bell. Here is a lodge of the ancient Order of Druids. Feast, first Sunday in August. The modern and busiest part is situated on the Marple Bridge road. Here is the Hole House mill for cotton spinning, manufactory, and a colliery. The Coombs 1 mile S.W., consists of three farm houses. Moorside and Sanderlane, half a mile N.W. from the Wesleyan chapel. In the year 1360, this manor was conveyed by Richard Foljambe and Robert de Holt to the abbey at Basingwerk.
Chunall, a hamlet and small ancient romantic village in the manor of Glossop, on the road to Hayfield, 2 miles S. from Glossop, contains 886 acres of land; and in 1851 had 23 houses and 113 inhabitants, of whom 68 were males and 55 females; rateable value £386 0s. 9d.; It consists of a few farms and one public house. The benevolent Joseph Haigh was born here. (See charities). Gnat Hole, half a mile N., is a woollen manufactory, and a little nearer Glossop is the paper manufactory of Mr. Thos. H. Ibbotson, Here is also a candle wick manufactory.
Dinting is a small scattered village and hamlet, usually called Higher and Lower Dinting, situated near the Glossop railway branch, 1 mile W. from Glossop, on a fine eminence, which commands a rich view of the vale and the surrounding district. It contains 584 acres of land, and had in 1851, 133 houses and 670 inhabitants, of whom 341 were males and 349 females; rateable value £2369 6s. 8d. The principal part of the inhabitants are at Dinting Vale, a small village which connects itself with Green Vale, at the Junction Inn. On entering this vale, the viaduct of sixteen arches, constructed of wood and stone, which crosses the valley and turnpike road, strikes the beholder with astonishment at the daring of the present generation. In the vale are the extensive calico print-works of Messrs. Edmund Potter & Co., who, about 16years ago, established a school, now attended by about 80 children. In connexion with the school they have also a reading-room for the workmen, which is open at noon, and every evening. Dinting or Glossop railway station, 12 miles from Manchester, is at a short distance from the viaduct, and near the road leading to Charlesworth; it is a convenient stone building; Mr. Alex. Maxwell; station master.
Hadfield, a township and ancient village, two miles W.N.W. from Glossop, bounded on the north by the Etherow, contains 367 acres of land; and in 1851 had 363 houses, and 1,989 inhabitants, of whom 952 were males, and 1,037 females; rateable value, £3,499 2s. 6d. The Sheffield and Manchester railway crosses the township a little south of the village, and has a station here. There are no mills in the village, but a little to the west is Brookfield mill, with several rows of buildings. Woolley Bridge, a bridge over the Etherow, about one mile W. by S. from Hadfield, at the junction of three roads, connecting Manchester Stockport, and Yorkshire, with Glossop Dale. Here is an extensive factory, and at a short distance on the Cheshire side, is a calico print-work. At Hadfield Lodge is a factory, and one in Padfield.
Waterside, a district and small village on a small brook near the Etherow, partly in Hadfield and partly in Padfield constablewicks. Here the Messrs. Sidebottoms have extensive factories, and on the Chester side are two other factories. Some good stone cottages have been erected here by Mr. William Bradbury, and the inhabitants are chiefly employed at the factories. The Wesleyans and Primitive Methodists have each a chapel here, and the former have a large day school, established in 1808, enlarged in 1832, and rebuilt in 1854; it will hold about 400 children, and the average attendance is 120. A large School Room was erected here in 1856, at a cost of £600, raised by subscriptions, exclusive of the site, which was given by the late Duke of Norfolk. It has been licensed for divine worship, and service is performed there twice every Sunday by the officiating curate, the Rev. Thomas M. Freeman. An organ and a gallery have been added since its erection; It will now seat 350 persons.
Ludworth, a small scattered village and hamlet, 6 miles S.W. from Glossop, and with Chisworth forms a township in Glossop parish, with which they keep their poor conjointly, and roads separate. It contains 1,703 acres of land, and in 1861, had 116 houses, and 1678 inhabitants, of whom 750 were males, and 828 females; rateable value, £3,092 5s. 11d.
Compstall Bridge, is a considerable village on the Etherow, over which is a bridge, 5 miles S.W. from Dinting railway station, 5 miles E. from Stockport, and twelve from Manchester. Here, on the Cheshire side, are the extensive calico printing establishment of Messrs. George Andrews and Sons, who employ nearly 2,000 persons. Compstall Road, leading to the bridge, is a populous district on the Derbyshire side. The Primitive Methodist chapel, erected in 1833, is a good stone building with turret and one bell, has lately undergone considerable repairs, and has had a new vestry added at a cost of about £50. The chapel will hold about 350.
Marple Bridge is a considerable village on the River Goyt, three-quarters of a mile S. from Compstall Road, in a very pleasant situation. The Independents have a neat chapel with turret and one bell, erected seventy years ago, but the religious interest connected with it is of very early date, having its origin from the labours of the Rev. Wm. Bagshaw, the Apostle of the Peak, and one of the 2,000 ministers who was ejected from the Church of England. The chapel has been twice enlarged and improved, and will now hold about 350. The Rev. James Wm. Banson is the pastor. The late Moses Hadfield, Esq., of Mottram, a zealous friend to the cause, bequeathed by his will, in the year 1844, the sum of £300, as an endowment on the chapel, and also erected new schools in connection with this place of worship. The ancient order of Foresters, Druids, Odd Fellows, and Freemasons, have each lodges here.
Padfield, a hamlet and village, pleasantly situated, overlooking the river Etherow, 1½ miles N.W. from Glossop, contains 642 acres of land, and in 1851 had 328 houses, and 2,051 inhabitants, of whom 1074 were males, and 977 females; rateable value £5470 9s. 9d. The Sheffield and Manchester railway crosses the village. The Wesleyan Methodists have a chapel erected in 1828, and the Independents one erected the same year, with Sunday schools. Here are three factories. A few years ago, a man getting stones, dug up a number of Roman coins in a good state of preservation.
Simmondley, small ancient irregular built village and hamlet, principally occupied by small farmers. It is situated on high ground, 1 mile S.W. from Glossop, contains 990 acres of land, and in 1851 had 125 houses, and 676 inhabitants, of which the number of males and females were equal; rateable value £1229 19s. The Hall, a very ancient house, is the residence of Mrs. Sarah Taylor. Lees Hall, an ancient mansion on a fine eminence, 1½ mile S.W. from Glossop, is the seat of Mrs. Hadfield, whose family have for along period resided here, and the property of Lord Edward George Fitzalan Howard. In 1844, the Independents erected by subscription a handsome school. The inhabitants in this village connect themselves with Green Vale, near the Junction Inn, near which are Turnlee, Bridgefield, and Primrose Mills.
Whitfield, a hamlet and pleasant village, 1 mile S. from Glossop, forms a populous district enclosed under an act passed in 1810, and contains 1577 acres of land, and in 1851, had 859 houses, and 4774 inhabitants, of whom 2334 were males, and 2440 females; rateable value £6,431 3s. 10d~ The land is mostly freehold. The principal villages are Charlestown and Littlemoor. Littlemoor joins Howard Town by an iron and stone bridge erected in 1837, near the Market place on the eastern side, and nearer to Whitfield is Charlestown. A handsome district Church, dedicated to St. James, was erected in 1845, at Littlemoor, in the early English style, it contains nave, chancel, side aisles, and transepts, with a tower and spire 114 feet high; the interior including the chancel, 82 feet 7 inches by 50 feet 8 inches, contains 1050 sittings, of which one half are free, having carved stall ends. At the west end is a gallery. The principal or west entrance has clustered pillars, arches with carved heads, above which is a colonade of pillars and arches, finished with an oriel window, It has also a north door; the approaches to the galleries is by a geometrical stone staircase in the tower. The east end gables are surmounted with octagon turrets and carved finials, it is lighted by a triple window, and the other parts by lancet windows. The tower is mounted with pinnacles, and has a bell 450 lbs. weight, and the spire with lucarnes, carved canopies and finial. The cost was about £4,500, of which sum £2,000 was raised by subscription, and the remainder by grants from various societies. The living is a perpetual curacy, valued at £276, in the patronage of the Crown, and Bishop of Lichfield alternately, and incumbency of the Rev John Teague, B.A., who resides at the Parsonage house, a neat stone building situated a little S.W. from the church, erected in 1848, at a cost of £900, raised by subscriptions and grants. Adjoining the parsonage are the National Schools erected in 1847, at a cost of £1,100. It is a substantial stone building for boys and girls, with a residence for the teacher; will accommodate 300 children. Here is also an endowed school. - (See Charities.)
The manor of Whitfield was conveyed in 1330, by Thomas le Ragged to John Foljambe; it has long been held with the manor of Glossop.
The Wren Nest factory at Green Vale was erected in 1816, and has recently been Considerably enlarged. At Turnlee, in Littlemoor, are two paper mills, and a wool carding and fur blowing establishment. The Methodists have a chapel at Whitfield. The Wesleyan Reformers have a neat chapel at Littlemoor, erected in 1854, and the Primitive Methodists have one at Green Vale, erected in 1835, in which a day school of 80 children are kept. The Independents have a large handsome chapel at Littlemoor, built in 1811, in which galleries were erected in 1829, at a cost of £300 ; it was enlarged in 1846, at a further cost of £1,350, and contains sittings for 1,000 persons. Sunday Schools are connected with the various chapels. In connection with the Independent chapel at Littlemoor, is an Infant' school. For Glossop and Whitfield schools, see Charities.
Glossop Poor-Law Union consists of the 10 hamlets and townships which comprise the manor of Glossop, for which 16 guardians are appointed, who meet every Thursday fortnight, at 11 o'clock, at the Workhouse, from 29th September, to 25th March; and at 2 o'clock, from 25th March to 29th September. It is a substantial stone building a little N.E. from the Church in Old Glossop, was erected in 1834, at a cost of £1,500, to accommodate 60 paupers. The average number of indoor paupers is 40. The places are Charlesworth, Chisworth, Chunall, Dinting, Glossop, Hadfield, Ludworth, Padfield, Simmondley, and Whitfield. Chairman to Board of Guardians, Jno. Kershaw, Esq.; Clerk Registrar of Births and Deaths, Mr. Geo. Bowden; Master of the Workhouse and relieving officer, Mr. Charles Taylor; Superintendent Registrar, Mr. John Slater; Surgeons, Mr. Wm. Howard, and Mr. James Rhodes.
Charities, - Joseph Haigh or Hague, Esq., by indentures of lease and release dated 10th and 11th January, 1779, conveyed to John Hague and eight others, a building which he had lately erected on a plot of land at Whitfield, for a school, and for the residence of a schoolmaster for the instruction of poor children within the parish of Glossop; and also a messuage at Low Loughton, in Bowden Middlecale, in the parish of Glossop, with several fields containing in the whole 7a. 2r. 9p. Cheshire measure, upon trust that they should in the first place, pay all rates and taxes, and should pay the clear rents to the schoolmaster, who should be appointed and reside at the school to instruct all the children within the said parish, not being under four years of age, in reading, writing, and arithmetic and the church catechism. By a memorandum endorsed on the indenture, and signed by Mr. Haigh, it is stated that on further consideration, he directed the master should be at liberty to receive the following payments, - for reading, 1d. a week; writing, 2d.; and arithmetic, 3d. On the 28th May, 1724, John Harrison, the survivor of the original trustees, conveyed the premises to John White, and seven others, subject to the alteration with regard to the price paid by children as above. The school is open to all the parish on the terms proposed; about 120 attend. The master occupies a dwelling house with a garden adjoining, the school room. The other premises consist of a dwelling house now let in two tenements, and about 17a. of land, statute measure, let for £32 per annum. The schoolmaster also receives £3 14s. 6d. per annum, as the dividends arising on £124 4s. 0d., three per cent, consols, being the produce of a legacy of £100 given by the will of the said Joseph Haigh. Ho also receives the sum of £1 5s. per annum, as the interest of one moiety of £50 given by Mary Doxon.
The above Joseph Haigh Esq , who died in March, 1786, by will, dated 21st November 1782, gave to his executors, Thomas Everett and three others, £1,000 upon trust, that the interest thereof should be annually laid out in clothing 12 poor men and 12 poor women in Glossop dale for ever. In 1845, 14 poor men and 16 poor women received a full dress each. £100 upon trust, that the interest should be paid to the schoolmaster at Whitfield; and £100 upon trust, that the interest to be applied as follows, - one guinea to be paid the vicar of Glossop, for preaching a sermon annually on the 26th of August, and 5s. for the clerk, and the remainder towards repairing and keeping clean his vault at Glossop. Ho also gave to the trustees of the school at Hayfield, £105, the interest to be applied towards the education of 10 poor children, out of that chapelry for ever. The above sums, amounting £1,627 6s. 4d., were laid out in the purchase of stock in the three per cent, consols, which now stands in the name of Thomas Wagstaff, of Highgate. Of the dividends amounting to £48 16s. 2d., £37 5s. 4d. is paid to the Glossop dale clothing fund; £3 14s. 6d. to Whitfield school; £3 18s. 2d. to Hayfield school; £1 1s. to the vicar of Glossop; 5s. to the clerk; and £2 12s. 2d, per annum forms a fund for the repairs of the testator's vault when ever it shall he required. A balance of £35 11s. 11d. applicable to this purpose, was in the hands of Mr. Whitfield at the time of our enquiry,
Glossop School, an ancient school-house containing two rooms, which has lately been enlarged for a Sunday school, the repairs of which have usually been paid out of the churchwardens' account, is endowed with £3710s., placed out at interest on a turnpike security at 5 per cent. The late Duke of Norfolk, who had a considerable estate in this parish, annually made a voluntary donation for the support of the school, and is supposed to have the appointment of the master. No children were instructed free. In 1852, His Grace the late Duke of Norfolk had the old school taken down and the present handsome structure erected on the site, at a cost of £2,000, and which he munificently endowed with £4000, 3 per cent, consols. It is termed the Grammar or Head school, and is capable of accommodating .550 children; the present attendance is above 400, viz., Upper school, 59 boys and 79 girls; Second school, 133 boys; Infants' school, 130. The terms are, boys, classical instruction, 15s. per quarter; Commercial only, 10s. Second school, boys, 4d. per week. Girls' school, First division 3d., and Second division 2d. per week. The Head master receives a salary of £70 per annum (and the fees) with residence; the Mistress £45 per annum, and the Infant schoolmaster £25 per annum, both inclusive of fees, but no residence. The schools are open to children of all denominations.
Joseph Haigh, Esq. In addition to the stock already mentioned, there is a sum of £248 8s. 10d. three per cent consolidated annuities, standing in the name of John Bowman and two others. It is observed that by a codocil annexed to his will, dated 7th of October, 1783, he gave to the vicar of Glossop, £80 in trust, to be distributed at his discretion amongst the poor and needy families in "the eight townships," intending probably the eight hamlets which comprise the township of Glossop. He also gave the sum of £8 to be in like manner disposed of in the chapelry of Hayfield; and there is a sum of £124 4s. 5d. three per cent, consolidated bank annuities, now standing in the name of Robert Raine and two others, for the poor of that chapelry. Whether the interest on these legacies had been permitted to accumulate to purchase the above stock, or they were separate gifts, does not appear. £7 9s., the dividend of the stock in the name of John Bowman, is laid out in the purchase of linen cloth, and distributed in the winter.
William Garlick, by will, dated 25th July, 1686, gave to the poor of the township of Glossop, the sum of £6 yearly for ever, to be paid out of two closes called the Wash Meadows and the house standing thereupon, with one dole in another close called the Oak Rydeing, being in or near Bowden Head, in the parish of Chapel-en-le-Frith, and he directed that the churchwardens and overseers of the township of Glossop, and their successors, should receive the yearly sum, and distribute the same to the poor of the township with all the hamlets, on the 20th day of February; he also gave to the said poor, the sum of £80 to be bestowed in land for the use of the said poor, together with £20 secured by the bonds of Nicholas Gray, deceased. By an indenture, dated 5th of December, 1689, it appears the premises at Bowden Head had been given up to the overseers and churchwardens of Glossop, but on what terms does not appear, but probably, as there is no account in what manner the legacy of £100 was disposed of, that estate was given up in consideration of the legacy. The estate contains 11a, 2r. 24p. let for £20 a year, which is distributed on St. Thomas's day to the poor.
Martha Wagstaffe, by will, 1689, gave to the poor of Glossop a rent charge of £2 per annum, vested in the churchwardens and overseers. The rent charge is paid from two fields in Holme, in the parish of Almondsbury, in Yorkshire, the property of William Leach, of Ramsden, near Holmfirth.
John Wagstaffe the elder, by indenture, 1718, for a nominal consideration, and for a provision for the poor of the township of Glossop, with the hamlets, granted to William Garlick and others, the churchwardens and overseers of Glossop, and their successors, a yearly rent charge of £3, clear of all taxes, issuing out of a messuage and lands in Gladwick, in the parish of Oldham, and payable yearly on the feast of St. Martin, upon trust, to dispose of the same yearly amongst the poor residing in the said township and hamlets. George Hadfield, Esq., of Old Hall, Mottram, is the owner of the lands in Gladwick, and pays the rent charge.
Donor unknown. The churchwardens receive the yearly sum of £5 from Mr. John Cheetham, of Gee Cross, near Stockport, in respect of 11 acres of land, part of an estate called Warneth, in the county of Chester, which we are informed, was reserved to the churchwardens on a lease granted to John Hibbert for a term of 2,000 years, dated 1st December, 1695; distributed on St. Thomas's day.
John Wagstaffe, junior, by will, in 1735, gave to the poor of Glossop a fee farm rent of £3, then vested in Samuel Wagstaffe. This rent charge is transmitted by the vicar of Mottram, to whom the estate belongs, which is situate in Mottram, Longdendale, in the county of Chester.
Thomas Hadfield gave by will, in 1743, the sum of £60 to the poor of the parish of Glossop, not receiving parish relief; secured on turnpike security.
Charles Hadfield, by his will, in 1795, gave £20 for the same purpose, placed on turnpike security.
John Bennitt, by will, dated 28th February, 1716, gave to the poor within the township of Glossop, viz., to all above the Coombe's Brooke £50, to be paid to the churchwardens and overseers; the interest to be given at the same time as William Garlick's. He also gave £20 for the use of Charlesworth chapel, for the interest of the dissenting minister that preached there; and if no dissenting minister there, the said £20 should go in like manner as the above-named £50; he also gave £10 to Tinswell chapel, for the benefit of the dissenting minister there, but if no such minister, then the interest should go to the poor of the township of Glossop. Divine service is still performed at the above chapel; and that £50 is on turnpike security, and distributed on St. Thomas's day.
Joseph Bray, by will, 1793, gave the sum of £30, to be placed out at interest on sufficient security, the annual interest to be distributed with Garlick's charity, and appointed George Roberts and Henry Bray his executors. The churchwardens and overseers now act as trustees, the amount being vested in turnpike securities.
Sarah Bray, by will, 1796, gave to the poor of this township the sum of £10, the interest to be distributed at the same time as her late brother’s; this is vested as the above.
Mary Doxon, by her will, 1815, bequeathed one-half of the yearly interest to arise in respect of the sum of £50 lent by her on mortgage of the tolls of the Marple and Glossop turnpike roads, to the master of Whitfield school; and the "other half to be divided with Garlick's charity; distributed on St. Thomas's day.
Harrison's and other Charities.―It appears from the parliamentary returns of 1786, that Thomas Harrison, by will, 1708, gave £10; Moses Hadfield, 1728, £5; Booth Waterhouse, 1734, £10; John Dewsnapp, 1736, £20; John Wagstaffe, 1738, £30; Sarah Carrington, 1738, £5; Charles Wagstaffe, 1738, £10; Henry Booth, 1740, £20; John Harrison, 1746, £10; Nicholas Garlick, 1750, £30; John Fielding, 1755, £10; John Garlick, 1757, £10; Mary Nicholson, 1759, £60; John Dewsnapp, 1772, £20, of which £18 was lost, leaving £2; and making a total of £212. These. donations, with some others, are vested in the securities of the tolls of the turnpike road from Chapel-en-le-Frith to Enterclough Bridge; and on the same security is £27 lately bequeathed by Mrs. Everatt; making the total amount £409. - £20 given by Charles Hadfield, and £25 by Mary Doxon, are placed on the security of the tolls of the road leading from Glossop to Marple, and make a total of income and interest to be distributed on St. Thomas's day of £55 14s., given in sums not less than 2s. 6d., nor exceeding 10s.
William Bagshaw, by will, dated 15th October, 1701, left a rent charge on certain closes lying within the precints of Wormhill, the sum of £50s. yearly, for ever, to be laid out as follows:- to the poor of Litton, 5s.; to the poor at or near Glossop or Charlesworth, 5s.; to the poor in the chapelry of Wormhill, 5s.; and for the encouragement of serious preaching and prayers, at the discretion of his heirs, £1 15s. The premises charged with this payment form part of the property of the Rev. William Bagshaw, in Wormhill, Nothing for many years, had been paid to Glossop and Charlesworth, but Mr. Bagshaw seems to have been ignorant of the charge, and on seeing a copy of the donor's will, promised it should in future be paid. The sum of £1 15s. is paid to the minister of Chinley Chapel.
Rev. Francis Gisborne's charity. - (See Bradley.) The yearly sum of £5 10s. received by the incumbent, is laid out in the purchase of woollen cloth and flannel, which he distributes amongst the poor of the township.
Hayfield is a considerable village, township, and chapelry, in the King's Field, 4¾miles S. from Glossop, 4½ N. from Chapel-en-le-Frith, and 18 miles E. by S. from Manchester, contains 7,204 acres of land, and in 1851 had 397 houses, and 1,757 inhabitants, of whom 880 were males and 877 females; rateable value, £5,469 4s. 4d. The Duke of Devonshire is lord of the manor, and the principal owners are, John White, Esq., B. H. Bamford, Esq., Mr. John Marriott, Executors of the late Mr. Thos. Marriott, Mr. John Gee, and Executors of the late Peter Slack, Esq., besides several smaller owners. The Church, dedicated to St. Matthew, is parochial, and is situated in the centre of the village, is a perpetual curacy, valued in the King's book at £6, now £96. It has been augmented with £600 benefactions, £600 Queen Anne's bounty, and £500 parliamentary grant. The resident freeholders are patrons, and the Rev. Wm. John Brock, B.A., incumbent. In 1819, the church was rebuilt, except the tower, by the inhabitants, unassisted by any public grant, at a cost of £2,000; it is in the modern Gothic style, and has a peal of six bells, The chapelry formerly consisted of Great Hamlet, Phoeside, Kinder, Beard, Ollerset, Thornsett, Chinley, Bugsworth, and Brownside; of these, Beard, Ollersett, Thornsett, and Whittle, now form a new district, with the church at New Mills. In the church is a handsome monument to Joseph Haigh, Esq., with a bust, (by Bacon,) erected at a cost of £420. He was born at Chunall, in 1695; he commenced life in a very humble sphere, and afterwards went to London, and became an opulent merchant. He had ten sons and two daughters, who all died in their minority. After the loss of his children, ho adopted a family of the name of Doxon, of Padfield, to whom he gave education and fortunes. He passed the latter part of his life in retirement at Park Hall, in Hayfield, where he died 12th March, 1786, and was buried at Glossop, where the beautiful monument in Hayfield Church was originally erected. The monument was taken down during some alterations in Glossop Church by the late Duke of Norfolk, and placed in one of the cells of the Lock-up for security, but a person of the name of "Marsden," who was confined in the adjoining cell for a breach of the peace, (and who was, as it was afterwards shown, insane,) during the night broke through the partition wall and mutilated the tablet, but the bust which was carefully packed in straw was preserved from injury. It was, however, rescued from untimely destruction by John White, Esq., of Park Hall, and is now deservedly the pride of Hayfield, and the chief ornament in the church. The School, a good substantial building, was erected in 1830, at a cost of £422, raised by subscription; and here are three Sunday schools. The Wesleyan and Association Methodists have each chapels here. A Library and News Room has also been established here. Fairs are held May 12th, and Oct. 10th; the former is a very large one.
'Park. Hall, one mile N. from the village, is the seat of John White, Esq. Here are two extensive paper mills, three cotton band, and three woollen manufactories, and three calico print works. The scenery on Bank Vale is beautiful, and presents a striking contrast to the moors N.E. of the village. A mason, who lettered a grave-stone in the churchyard in the year 1759, for Martha Cundy, aged 41, made it 401; a wag wrote underneath -
" Martha Cundy's dead and gone,
Her age is just four hundred and one."

After which, the mason took his mallet and chisel, and erased the cypher. Great Hamlet consists of the principal portion of Hayfield village, of which ½ mile N. is Little Hayfield. Kinder hamlet consists of some farm and cottage houses, situated in a pleasant vale, running from Hayfield, 1 mile E. Kinder Scout, 3 miles S.E. from Hayfield, is said to be the highest hill in the county. Phoeside, or Foreside hamlet, forms the south side of Hayfield, with various scattered farms in that direction.
Chinley, Bugsworth, and Brownside, form a joint township in Hayfield chapelry, and contain 3605a. 2r. 8p. of land, exclusive of 98 acres of roads and .waste; and in 1851 had 248 houses, and 1138 inhabitants, of whom 607 were males, and 531 females; rateable value, £2,897 18s. 0d. The Duke of Devonshire is lessee of the manor, under the Crown; and the principal owners are, H. M. Greaves, Esq., Mrs. Jane Barnes, Wm. Drinkwater, Saml. Bradburn, James Braddock, Executors of the late Thos. Moult, Wm. and Thos. Drinkwater, Henry Drinkwater, Executors of the late Joseph Braddock and Mr. Joseph Barnes.
Chinley, two and a half miles north by west, from Chapel-en-le-Frith is an extra parochial liberty and small village, which maintains its own roads. It was originally in the King's Field. James I. sold it, with part of Sherwood Forest, for £2,000, to two persons of the name of Badby and Weltden, on condition of paying a chief rent of £12, which is now paid to her Majesty. Tithes were commuted 1842: corn for £63, which is paid to Mrs. Wake and Jas. Sorby, Esq. £22 10s, is paid for small tithe, of which one half is paid to Lord Edward George Fitzalan Howard, and the other half to the vicar of Glossop. The Independents have a chapel here, erected by subscription in 1711. A house was erected for the minister in 1794, at a cost of £300. This chapel was erected for a congregation originally under the ministry of the Rev. Wm. Bagshaw, usually called the Apostle of the Peak, who was ejected by the the Act of Uniformity from the vicarage, in 1662, where he had preached 16 years, and who afterwards established a congregation at Malcalf, near Ford Hall, 2 miles N. from Chapel-en-le-Frith. Dr. Clegg succeeded the Rev. W. Bagshaw, during whose ministry the congregation removed to the present chapel. In 1834, Chinley school, at the New Smithy, was rebuilt, at a cost of £87, towards which a grant of £40 was obtained. At Bridgeholme Green is a cotton wadding manufactory.
Bugsworth, a hamlet and joint township, which keeps its own roads, 3 miles W. from Chapel-en-le-Frith. The Peak Forest Canal has a wharf here, and a Branch canal to Whaley, where the Cromford and High Peak Railway terminates. A School was erected in 1826, which is also licensed as a Dissenting place of worship.
Brownside, a hamlet which keeps its own roads, and joint township with Chinley and Bugsworth, is two miles N.N.E. from Chapel-en-le-Frith, consists of scattered houses.
Mellor, a scattered though pleasant village, township, and chapelry, on the Hayfield and Stockport road, 8 miles S.W. from Glossop, 7 miles E. by S. from Stockport, and 6 miles S.W. by S. from Dinting Railway Station; the principal part of the population being at Mellor Moor End. The township contains 2,500 acres of land, of which a small portion is moor land, and in 1851 had 428 houses, and 1777 inhabitants, of whom 894 were males, and 883 females; rateable value £5865 5s. 9d. The Duke of Devonshire is lord of the manor, and with John Moult, Peter Arkwright, Jonathan Jowett, Thomas Waller, W. Egerton, S. Ratcliffe, J. S. Woolley, E. Tomlinson, and James Lees, Esqrs., with the Duke of Norfolk, are the principal owners, besides several freeholders, The Church, dedicated to St. Thomas, is a perpetual curacy, rated at £8, now £123, has been augmented with £400 benefactions, and £600 Queen Anne's bounty. Trustees of the late John Thornton, Esq,, patrons. Rev. Matthew Freeman, incumbent. The Church situated on an eminence, a little north of the main road, is a small stone structure, with chancel, tower, and 3 bells, will seat about 700 persons, was built in the reign of King Stephen; the chancel was rebuilt by the inhabitants, in 1824, and the other parts restored in 1829, by a rate, and the ancient pulpit, carved from an oak tree, was removed to the chancel as an object of antiquity. There is also an ancient font, situated at the west end of the church. In 1824, an organ was placed in the east gallery of the church at a cost of £125. In the church yard is an ancient cross, used as a sun dial. Tithes have been commuted for £140. In 1821, a Sunday school was erected by subscription. The chapelry now contains the townships of Mellor and Ludworth, a portion having been taken to form the district of New Mills and also that of Charlesworth. The Primitive and the Association Methodists have each chapels here. A School, near the church, was endowed by the late Thomas Walklate with £26 per annum, of which £20 is paid to the master. - See Charities. About 90 boys and girls attend and are educated. Mellor Hall, a mansion upwards of 200 years old, was anciently the seat of the Mellor family, and afterwards of the Radcliffes; it was purchased in 1686 by James Chetham, Esq., and sold by Thomas Chetham, Esq., about 1797, to Mr. Ralph Bridge; part of the land has been purchased with Queen Anne's bounty, to augment the living, and the Hall is now the seat and property of Thomas and John Moult, Esqrs. This forms a busy district, having 5 cotton mills, employing steam and water power equal to about 300 horses, viz. - Bridget, Damstead, Dove Bank, Goyt, and Mill Clough Mills. The late Samuel Oldknow, whose untiring exertions in this neighbourhood changed the appearance of the country, designed and erected the mill near the Goyt, in 1792, two miles S.W. from Mellor church, with a water power of 120 horses; about 1000 persons are employed at in spinning cotton. It is very pleasantly situated, and is now the property of Peter Arkwright, Esq., and occupied by John Clayton and Co. Jonathan Jowett, Esq., has several collieries here. In the chapel and chapel yard are recorded several instances of longevity, viz. - Rebecca Higenbotton, died 1758, aged 99; Sarah Cooper, died 1779, aged 97; Mary Beard, died 1797, aged 101; Betty Fearnley, died 1799, aged 94. Here also is interred Matthew Miller and his five wives, the youngest being only 16 years of age, and the respective ages of the others 40, 58, 75, and 77. Here are several lodges of Odd Fellows and Ancient Order of Druids. Feast, first Sunday after St. James's.
Charities, - Mellor School. - By indenture, 1639, Thomas Booking, in consideration of £160 paid by Edward Walklate, in discharge of a legacy given by the will of Thomas Walklate, towards the maintenance of a free school at the chapelry of Mellor, and £20 paid by other inhabitants of the chapelry, for the further maintenance of the said school, granted and enfeoffed to Edward Walklate and seven others, and their heirs, several closes of land, situate in Offerton, upon trust, to pay and apply the rents thereof for the erection maintenance and upholding a free school, at Mellor, for the education of children of that chapelry. The property consists of a farm in Offerton, in the parish of Hope, called Glover's barn, and nine fields, containing 23 acres, with a right of common for sheep on some unenclosed land, let for £25 a year. The school, built soon after the foundation of the charity, in the chapel-yard, was rebuilt about 1811. All the children of the chapelry are admitted on the payment of a small sum weekly as fixed by the trustees.
Mary Chatterton, in 1760, gave £12 to the curacy of Mellor, the interest thereof to be annually paid for preaching a sermon on Christmas-day; and she also gave £5, the interest to be given in bread by the minister and churchwardens, on the same day to poor persons. The sum of £17 was laid out many years ago in the purchase of some land which forms part of an estate called Ringstones, the property of the incumbent for the time being. The sum of 5s. is laid out in the purchase of bread, and distributed on Christmas-day.
Rev. Francis Gisborne's charity. - (See Bradley) - The annual sum of £6 10s. received by the incumbent, which is laid out in woollen cloth and distributed to the poor of Mellor and Ludworth.
Rachael Stafford by will bequeathed £30, the yearly interest thereof to be bestowed in cloth towards apparalling the most necessitous. By indenture, 1793, this sum was vested on mortgage upon premises now the property of Wm. Barlow, by whom the annual sum of 30s. is paid to the trustees, which is laid out in the purchase of linen and distributed amongst the poor of the township of Mellor.
New Mills, near Stockport, an ecclesiastical chapelry and township, which comprises the hamlets of Beard, Ollersett, and Whitle, extends nearly four miles east, north, and south, from New Mills; which is a considerable village, near the river Goyt, on the Hayfield and Stockport road, 2½ miles S.W. from Hayfield, 43 N.W. from Derby, and 170 from London, and together contains 4,890 acres of land, of which 400 acres are moor land, soil various, but principally pasture, and in 1851 had 935 houses and 4,366 inhabitants, of whom 2,230 were males and 2,136 females; rateable value £10,000. Beard hamlet, extends south from New Mills, and contains 73 houses and 313 inhabitants, of whom 153 were males and 160 females. Ollersett hamlet, extending E. from New Mills, 87 houses and 493 inhabitants, of whom 253 were males and 240 females. Thornsett hamlet, extending N.E. from New Mills, 192 houses and 869 inhabitants, of whom 474 were males and 395 females. Whittle hamlet extends N. and N.W. from New Mills, and contains 583 houses and 2,691 inhabitants, of whom 1,350 were males and 1,341 females. The Queen, in the rights of the Duchy of Lancaster is lady of the manor, and the principal owners are W. T. Egerton Esq., M.P., W. G. Newton, J. Jowett, J. Ingham, R. Bennett, J. Taylor, H. Lees, Esqrs., and The Hon. W. H. F. Cavendish. The Church, dedicated to St. George, is a perpetual curacy, endowed by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners with £144 per annum. Vicar of Glossop, patron; Rev. John Rigg, M.A., incumbent. The Church, a handsome Gothic structure in the style of Edward III., with nave, chancel, side aisles, and lofty spire with one bell, is in a commanding situation in the hamlet of Beard, and will seat about 1000 persons, of which upwards of 400 are free; it was erected at a cost of £3,500. Of this sum £2,500 was paid by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners, and £1000 raised by subscription, The Earl of Burlington gave land for the site, stone for the building, and £160; Geo. Wm. Newton, Esq.., gave £200; Wilbraham Egerton, Esq., £150; John White, Esq., £50. It was consecrated by Bishop Ryder, of Coventry, (who had also given £50) July 26th, 1831. A Parsonage house is now about being erected, which will cost about £800, subscriptions have been entered into, and grants from the Commissioners of Gally Knight's Fund of £300, and from the Lichfield Church Diocesan Extension Society of £200 have been obtained, conditionally, that the undertaking be carried into effect without delay, The Hon, W. H. F. Cavendish has given the site, and subscriptions have been received from J. Ingham, Esq., of £50, Chas. Yates, Esq., £20, besides several smaller sums. A National school was erected in 1845, at a cost of £800, for which the Hon. Wm. Hy. Fdk. Cavendish gave land for the site and stone for the building; Humphrey Nicholl, Esq., of Broughton, near Manchester, gave £100, with other subscriptions, aided by grants from the Committee of Council for Education, and the National Society; it is a good stone building, will hold about 500, of whom 110 attend; there is a house attached for the master. The large tithes were commuted in 1841 for £107 10s. from which the vicar of Glossop receives £80; the remainder is paid to the Hon. William Henry Frederick Cavendish. Mrs. Harriet Wake, of Sheffield, Andrew Brittlebank, J. Roston, and Henry Lees, Esqrs., receive the small tithes. The Catholic Church of the Annunciation, erected 1846, at a cost of £4000 is a handsome structure in the decorated style of English architecture, and a perfect revival of an ancient parish church. It is situated on an eminence; and consists of nave, side aisles, south porch, sacristy, and tower and spire 110 feet high. The low massive pillars of the nave, with the deep solemn chancel, have a very striking effect. The cast window is richly decorated with stained glass; the centre light has a beautiful representation of the Annunciation, whilst the figures of St. John and St. Joseph ornament the side lights. These elegant decorations have been executed by Wailes, of Newcastle. The altar, font, and tabernacle are richly painted and gilt after the ancient manner. A capacious font of stone stands at the west end of the south aisle, and a beautiful stone image of the Blessed Virgin is placed in a niche over the west door. The cost of the edifice was chiefly raised by the unwearied exertions of the late Rev John Joseph Collins. Messrs. Weightman and Hadfield, of Sheffield, were the architects. The Rev. Bernard O. Donald, priest. The Wesleyan Methodist chapel was erected in 1810; it is a good stone building, with one bell and clock. In 1844 a day school was added, which is taught on the Glasgow training system, and was opened Sept. 29th, 1845. The Association Methodists have a neat stone chapel, erected in 1838, which, with four cottages, cost £700; and the Primitive Methodists have a good one, built in 1827, at a cost of £500. The Independents have one at Whittle, a good stone building, will hold 550, and has a day school attached. Sunday schools are attached to all the chapels. The Parochial school in Thornsett hamlet was built by subscription, in 1832, at a cost of £350; it is a good stone building and will hold about 300, the average attendance being about 80; a house for the master and mistress is now in course of erection which will cost about £100. The New Mills branch of a London circulating library was established in 1845, at Mr. Robt. Collier's, bookseller, Market-street. Subscribers paying £1 1s. per year, are entitled to order for perusal 10 to 15 volumes of new books annually, those paying 10s. 6d. a year have not the privilege of ordering books, but are entitled to the use of all the books procured for the first class, for whom about 260 volumes are now provided.
Gas Works were established a few years ago, near the river Goyt, by act of parliament, and the proprietors are empowered to carry the gas to Hayfield. The works are in Derbyshire, but near Grove Mill, which is in Cheshire. About 2,000,000 feet of gas is consumed annually. The Ancient Order of Shepherds, and Odd Fellows have lodges here. A fair is held on the 11th of May, and the Feast first Sunday after September the 19th.
Rowarth is a scattered village in Thornsett hamlet, from which it is 1½ mile N., and 4 miles S.W. from Glossop. It is pleasantly situated, and besides some farm-houses, contains Ringstones bleach works, two cotton and one paper mill. The Wesleyan Methodists have a small chapel here. Here is also an Endowed school, where about 40 children receive instruction. New Mills is altogether a busy district, having four calico print works, of which part are on the Cheshire side of the river Goyt, which divides the counties; 6 cotton spinners and manufacturers, and 7 candle manufacturers; Grove Mill, Rock Mill, Strine's Works, Torr and Torr-Top Mills are on the river Goyt; Beard Mill, Garrison Print-works, Bower's Mill, and St. George's Works, a calico printer's engraving establishment, are on the Kinder Brook. The late Mr. John Potts, in 1821, first conceived the idea of adopting the method used by engravers in the Potteries, with a view of producing a more durable and brilliant effect. His experiment was crowned with complete success, and proved the origin of a style of engraving adopted by every calico printer, not only in Great Britain and Ireland, but throughout the whole of Europe and America; previous to which, calico printing was done from wood blocks laid on by hand; it is now performed from engravings on copper rollers, moved by steam or water power, the block being superseded. Mr. Potts had a picture gallery, which contained many fine specimens of rare and valuable paintings in oil and water colours, since disposed of. Mr. Samuel Ready has succeeded to the engraving establishment, which is carried on with great success. The Kinder Brook has its source from the western side of Kinderscout, and its confluence with the river Goyt near the Torr, at Hibberts's mill.
The original name of New Mills was Bowden-Middle-Cale, situated along the north bank of the Goyt, and reaching from Kinderscout to Mellor. It formerly comprised the ten hamlets of Beard, Ollerset, Whittle, Thornsett, Great Hamlet, Phoeside, Kinder, Chinley, Bugsworth, and Brownside; about a century ago it was subdivided, when three of the hamlets were attached to Hayfield, three to Chinley, and the remaining four formed this township. Previous to this division, the inhabitants all ground their corn at a common mill in Hayfield; but, upon the division, a new mill was erected upon the Kinder, in the hamlet of Ollersett, and the name New Mills was in consequence conferred on the four hamlets. The village now forms a cluster of factories and houses, which rise one above another, from the bank of the river to the summit of the crags, a height of several hundred feet.
Hayfield Poor Law Union consists of four townships, having seventeen guardians, who meet every other Monday at 2 o'clock, at the Workhouse, a substantial stone building, erected in 1840 and 1841, at a cost of £2,700, to accommodate 87 inmates. It is situated in the hamlet of Ollersett, on a new road from Hayfield, which passes the Church and joins the London road at the Swan inn, Disley. The places comprised in the Union are Beard, Ollersett, Whitle, and Thornsett, which form a joint township, for which five guardians are elected; Hayfield, for which four guardians are elected; and Mellor, with four guardians. Disley township, with four guardians, is situated in Cheshire. The Union contains a population of 29,712 souls, of whom 14,850 were males and 14,862 females. There are at present 56 in and 140 out door paupers. Chairman to the Board of Guardians, John White, Esq.; Clerk and Superintendent Registrar, Mr. John Slater; Master and Matron, Job and Betty Harrison; Surgeon, Mr. Thomas Richard Jackson, New Mills; Relieving Officer and Registrar of Births, Deaths, and Marriages, Mr. Job Harrison.
Charities - Mary Trickett, by will dated 17th April, 1712, devised all her land, in Rushop, in the parish of Chapel-en-le-Frith, to Mary Trickett and two others, and their heirs, the rents, to be employed by them yearly, for ever, for the use of the poor of Bowden Middlecale; for clothing or keeping of poor children to school. The property consists of a house, with barn and out buildings, a garden, and three closes, containing in the whole, with homestead, 16a. 3r. 12p., situated at Bowden Edge, now let for £28 a year. Previous to May, 1823, it had been let on a long lease for £8 5s. per annum; and £60 was paid for dilapidation of the buildings, which have been put in a complete state of repair, at an expense of £95, and some improvements are to be made. The rent was formerly paid in equal portions to the overseers of Chinley, Hayfield, and New Mills, and expended in cloth. For the last five or six years (1826), the amount of the rent subject to the repairs has been applied in instructing poor children of the above named places in reading and writing. It seems advisable that some steps should be taken for ascertaining who was the surviving trustee under the will of Mary Trickett, and procuring a conveyance from her heir to new trustees,
Thomas Moult bequeathed 10s. to be paid from his estate, called Whicken, in Chinley, to a schoolmaster or mistress teaching at Chinley school, The owner of Whicken pays the rent charge to the master.
George Green, of Fourlane Ends, by will, bequeathed 10s, a year to a schoolmaster at Chinley, teaching grammar. This has not, for many years, been paid, on the ground that it is not a grammar school. The date of the will is not known; we are unable to refer thereto.
Nicholas Lingard, as stated on a tablet in the schoolroom, bequeathed 6s. a year to a schoolmaster at Chinley school, to be paid from Estmeats estate, in Chinley, and likewise 6s. charged on the Dakins estate, provided it be freed from the office of overseer of the poor. The master is appointed by the principal inhabitants, and keeps a school in a room long used for that purpose, who receives the above small donations, and one-third of the clear rent of Trickett's charity, already mentioned, and for which last four are taught reading, writing, and accounts.
Thomas Harrison, by will, in 1706, gave to the poor of Chinley, £10.; also, Sarah Carrington, by will, gave to the poor, £6. Both sums were vested with the overseers, and, in 1754, were expended towards building a house for paupers belonging the township, and it was agreed, at a vestry meeting, that 13s. 64. should be paid yearly out of the poor rates , as interest for this sum. The interest is distributed to the poor on St. Thomas's day.
Bernard Jenkinson, by will, 1786, bequeathed £100 stock, in the four per cent, bank annuities, to the churchwardens and overseers of the poor of the parish of Glossop, in trust, to distribute the interest yearly amongst the poor of the hamlets of Brownside and Chinley. The stock in the old four per cents, at the time of our inquiry, still stood in the name of Bernard Jenkinson. Some steps had been taken towards obtaining the money payable on the reduction of that stock, but it had not been received, in consequence of some difficulty in respect to the probate of the will. We have reason to hope no further delay will take place, and that the money will be reinvested. The dividends were distributed on St. Thomas's day, in sums varying from 1s. to 3s.
John Hyde, by will dated 8th Sept., 1604, gave certain premises to the Merchant Tailors' Company, London, upon trust, amongst other things, to pay £10 yearly to the minister of the gospel at Hayfield, in Derbyshire, for teaching grammar in a school within the chapel. The sum of £10 is transmitted by the clerk of the said company to the incumbent.
Mary Gaskell charged upon her estate, called Barns' Fold, £3 18s., to be paid to the incumbent, as master of the grammar school. The estate is now the property of John White, Esq., of Park Hall.
John Hadfield left the use of £60 for ever to a licensed master for teaching petties, as well as others more proficient, at the:chapel at Hayfield. £2 10s, is paid yearly as a rent charge on his estate at Shudehill.
Mary Trickett, - (already noticed.) One third of the clear yearly rents is paid to the master of this school.
Hague's Gift, - (already noticed.) The yearly sum of £3 18s. 2d. is paid to the master of this school for the education of ten children.
On account of the income derived from the above donations, a school is taught in an ancient building in Hayfield, called the Grammar Schoolhouse. This place has since been sold, and the money applied in building a new school, which cost. £422. Fifteen children are taught reading, writing, and accounts, without any charge - 4 in respect of Trickett's, and 11 of Hague's charity.
John Hague, Esq., by will dated 19th Feb., 1781, bequeathed to Dorothy Hague and five others, and their executors, the sum of £100, upon trust, to apply the yearly produce thereof to the schoolmaster of a certain school in Hayfield, called Hayfield School, who should instruct eight poor children in the said school gratis. We are informed this legacy was charged upon an estate called Barns' Fold, near Hayfield, which was purchased by Mrs. Dorothy Hague, and that, by her will, she directed that the yearly payment thereout should be increased to £16.
Joseph Hague, Esq. - (See Glossop.) The yearly sum of £3 14s. 6d. for this township is laid out in linen cloth, and distributed to the poor, by the incumbent, in winter.
John Bennett, by will, 1731, gave to his cousin, John Bennett, all his estates at Smithfield, on condition that he should pay to the churchwardens, yearly, the sum of 40s. on every 12th day of December, for the use of the poor of Great Hamlet, Phoeside, and Kinder, to be distributed on Christmas day, for ever. The estate belongs to John White, Esq., of Park Hall, by whom the 40s. is paid to the churchwardens, and distributed as above.
Edward Bennett, by will, directed his executors to pay and apply the yearly interest of the sum of £60, owing to him on the Hayfield turnpike road, yearly, for ever, amongst poor persons of the hamlets of Great Hamlet, Phoeside, and Kinder. He also directed his executors, after the death of his wife, to place and keep at interest, on good security, a sufficient sum of money out of his personal estate, as would produce a clear yearly sum of £7, and pay and apply the same amongst such poor persons of the above-named hamlets. The widow of the testator died in 1824, and means were about to be taken to secure a sum sufficient to produce the yearly sum of £7, at 4½ per cent. The whole has been distributed as above, by Mr. Gee, the executor. He also left £2 2s. per annum to, and for a minister performing service in the Wesleyan Methodist chapel.
Fanny Marriott, who died February, 1821, bequeathed £50 to her executors, John Lingard and Ebenezer Glossop, on trust, to divide the interest thereof, yearly, on the 25th of December, amongst the poor of Great Hamlet, Phoeside, and Kinder. The sum of £2 5s. 0d. is distributed in sums of 5s, to the most needy, by Mr. John Gee.
John Baddeley Radcliff's Charity, - (See Chapel-en-le-Frith.) The sum of £2 13s. 4d. was left annually to the poor of this township, but is lost.
Rev. Francis Gisborne's Charity. - (See Bradley.) The annual sum of £5 10s. received by the incumbent, is laid out in the purchase of flannel and coarse woollen cloth, and distributed amongst the poor of this township.

GLOSSOP DIRECTORY.
Includes OLD GLOSSOP, HOWARD-TOWN, MILL-TOWN, DINTING, and DINTING VALE.
Marked 1 are at Howard Town, and the rest at Old Glossop or where specified.
1 Post Office, at Mr. Joseph Oates, High st. Letters arrive from Manchester and all parts at 7.0 a.m. and 5.0 p.m., and are despatched at 1.18 and 7.0 p,m. Money Orders are granted and paid from 9.0 a.m. till 5.0 p.m. Receiving House, at George Allsop's, Old Glossop; letters despatched at 6.0, p.m.

Howard Lord Edward George Fitzalan, Glossop Hall
Ashcroft John, letter carrier, Hall st
1 Ball John, land and building surveyor, Norfolk st
1 Band Bold, town carrier, High st
1 Bancroft Thos., railway guard, Norfolk st
1 Barratt John, loom manager, High st
1 Beard Thos., loom manager, Rose Green
1 Beever James, eating house, Market st
1 Bennett Fras. Grey, solicitor, and coroner for the high and low divisions of the county of Derby, Norfolk sq
1 Boden Jas., collr. of rents, &c, Hall st
Booth Jas., second master, grammar school; h. Sheffield rd
Bowden Geo., clerk to Union, and registrar of births and deaths for Glossop district,
1 Brain Wm. Hy., station mstr., Norfolk st
Brocklehurst Jph., cotton band manufr., Mill Town
1 Brooks John, solicitor, & clerk to County Court, High st.; h. Littlemore
Buckley Edmund, coal agt., Smithy Bar
Buckley Edward, calico printer; h. Mount View
1 Chatterton John & Co., ammonia works, Shaw In.; h. Norfolk st
1 Collier John, clerk, High st
Cuthbert Jas., mill overlooker, High st
1 Eastwood Jno., Prim. Meth: minister, Shrewsbury st
Fauvel Rev Theodore, cath, priest, Royle House
1 Fielding Eliz., clock & watch mkr., High st
1 Fielding Wm, cab propr., Barnard st
1 Ford Jno., loom manager, High st
Freeman Rev Ambrose, (Wesleyan)
1 Foy Anthony, fishmonger, Chapel st
1 Gill James, working manager, gas works, Arundel st
1 Glossop Estate Offices, (Lord Edward Geo. F. Howard's), Henry st.; Michael Joseph Ellison, Esq,, agent
1 Hadfield Charles John, surveyor to Lord Edward G. F. Howard, and manager of the Water-works, Henry st.; h. Norfolk st 1 Hadfield Miss Elizabeth, Sheffield rd
1 Hadfield John, bookkeeper, Norfolk st
1 Hall Mr. John, Arundel st
1 Handford Edw.. corn miller, High st
1 Hatton Wm., superintending constable for Glossop division of the High Peak Hundred, and inspector of weights & measures, High st
1 Haughton Jas., gardener and seedsman, High st
1 Hawke Francis, managing clerk, to Lord Edward G. F. Howard, and actuary to savings' bank, Henry street; h. Hawkshead.
1 Heys Geo., herbalist, Arundel st
1 Higginbottom Mr. John, High st
Higginbottom Mr. Joseph
1 Holdgate Jph., overlooker, Talbot st
Howe Misses, Hall st
1Hymers Wm., master of Catholic school, Talbot st
Jowett Jonth., coal master, Dinting Vale
Kershaw Miss Hannah, Rose Green
Littler Alfred John, head master, grammar school
Manson Rev. Alex. Thos. C, D.C.L., vicar
Marrian Thomas, ale and porter brewer, Sheffield; Thos. Wagstaff, agent, High st .
1 Matthews Wm., excise officer, High st
Maxwell Alex, station master, Dinting Vale
Moody Math. T., bookkeeper, Dinting Vale
1 Moss Joseph, hawker, Mill Town
1 Neale Thos, road surveyor, Sheffield rd
Newton George, scrap iron dealer
1 Nightingale Jas, heald looker, Norfolk st
1 Nuttall Jas., stone quarry owner, Sheffield road
Ollerenshaw Jessie, plasterer, Simmondley lane
1 Pennington Levi, pawnbroker, High st
Rangeley Mrs. Sarah, Hall st
Rhodes John, vet. surgeon & shoeing forge, Rose Green
1 Robinson Wm., mill manager, Wren nest Mill
Siddall George, sup, goods department, Railway station; h. Heath
1 Siddell Geo., loom manager, Norfolk st
1 Slack Mrs. Ann, Sheffield road
1 Slater Thos., temp, house, Edward st
1 Smith Sarah, berlin wool repos., High st
Smith Rev. Robert, B.A., curate
Sowter Miss Emma, teacher at grammar schl
1 Swain Josiah, ironfounder, George st
Swann John, collr, of poor rates, Cross Cliff
Taylor Chas, master of Union Workhouse, and relieving officer
Taylor Samuel., inspector of Manchester Water-works, Hall st
Thomasson Wm., tobacco pipe maker
Tomlinson Geo., wood stewd., Spire Hollins
Tomlinson Wm., gardener, Hall st
Townley Fredk., man. print works, Dinting Vale
Unsworth Henry, manager, Simmonley In
1 Wagstaffe Mr. James, Sheffield road
1 Ward Jas., paper dealer, Norfolk st
1 Warren Henry, sol. clerk, High st
1 Watson Edw., land surveyor, Sheffield rd
1 Waterhouse Mark, loom manager, Norfolk street
1 Waterhouse Wright, loom manager, Norfolk st
Winterbottom Robert, parish clerk
1 Wood Daniel, cotton spinner; h. High st
1 Wood Saml., cotton spinner; h. High st
Wright Thos. & Jas., tobacconists., High st
Hotels, Inns, and Taverns.
1 Bridge Inn, Charles Knott, Market st
Bull's Head, James Pickford
1 Commercial Inn, Lydia Collier, Rose green
1 Globe Inn, Joseph Woodcock, High st
Greyhound, Mary Newton
Hare & Hounds, Charles Hadfield
1 Howard's Arms Inn & Bowling Green, Thomas Wagstaffe, High st
1 Junction Inn, Jas. Owen, foot of High st
Magnet Inn, Hugh Ollerenshaw, Dinting Vale
1 Manor Inn, John Pott, High st
1 Norfolk Hotel, Saml. Wallis, High st
Plough, Saml. Bennett, Dinting Vale
Queen's Arms, Thomas Higginbottom
1 Rose & Crown Inn, George Simmons, High St., Shepley Bridge
Royal Oak, Joseph Hampson, Sheffield rd
1 Station Inn & Railway Hotel, John Higginbottom, Norfolk st
Talbot, Nathan Darwent
Viaduct, Saml. Wagstaff, Dinting Vale
Academies
1 Adlington Mary Ann, Arundel st
1 Catholic, (Boys) Talbot st; Wm. Hymers, master
Catholic, (Girls) Sisters of Charity
Cockayne Hanh., Hall st
1 Davis Frances, Norfolk st
1 Drabble Eliz., Charles st
1 Ellis Sarah, Arundel st
1 Goodwin Wm., High st
Grammar, Alfred J. Littler, head master; Jas. Booth, second master; Emma Sowter, schoolmistress; & Joshua Winterbottom, infant master
Potter's School, Dinting Vale, Wm. Pilkington
1 Wood Geo., Shrewsbury st
Attornies.
1 Brooks & Marshall, High st
1 Bennett Wm. & Fras. Grey (and clerks to magistrates) Norfolk st
1 Ellison Thomas, Norfolk st
Auctioneers & Apprs.
1 Lewis John, Norfolk st
1 Oates Joseph, (& high bailiff to County Court, and inspector of weights and measures for Glossop market) High st
1 Wilkinson Jph., High st
1 Wogan Edward, High st
Bakers.
(See also Confectioners,)
1 Newton James, High st
1 Wilson George, High st
Bankers
1 Manchester & Liverpool District Banking Company, (draw on Smith, Payne, & Smiths,) Norfolk Hotel; S. B, Tomlins, manager
1 Savings Bank, High st., (open every Monday from 11 to 1 o'clock, Francis Hawke, actuary
Beerhouses.
Atkinson John
1 Band Betty, High st
1 Barber Joseph, (Tailor's Arms,) Charles st
1 Bowden James, Chapel st
1 Brooks John, Market st
1 Brown Rd., Chapel st
1 Doodson Geo., High st
Fielding Thos., Bernard st
1 Green Sarah, Arundel st
Hadfield Ellen
Hall Richard, Mill Town
1 Hampson George & Sarah, High st
1 Harrop Thomas, High st
1 Howard John, High st
1 Jackson Math., Norfolk st
1 Lancaster Hy. S., Chapel st
1 Roberts Wm., Edward st
1 Sale Lambert, (Lamb Inn,) Railway st
1 Scholes George, High st
1 Stafford John, Chapel st
1 Sykes Wm., Norfolk square
1 Wilkinson Jph., High st
1 Wogan Edward, High st
Blacksmiths.
1 Bennett Jas., Rose green
1 Farthing Thomas, Junction
1 Greaves Ben., (and general smith,) High st
1 Wood John, Charles st
Booksellers, Printers, & Stationers.
1 Irlam John, High st
1 Lister Lewis, (printer only) Norfolk square
1 Nutter John, High st
1 Schofield Chas., Norfolk sq
1 Slinn Jas., High st
1 Woodhead Danl., High st
Boot and Shoemakers.
Allsop George,
1 Barlow Wm., High st
Clough John
1 Hadfield Saml., High st
1 Hall John, High st
1 Hardman James, High st
1 Hollowood Chas., High st
1 Shepherd Abm., Rose green
1 Slater John, Arundel st
1 Smith Wm., High st
Winterbottom James, Hall st
1 Wormald Joshua, Norfolk sq
Braziers & Tinners.
1 Darwent Jno., Norfolk st
1 Edleston Elijah, High st
Lawton Caleb
1 Lawton John High st
1 Schofield Bold, High st
Brewery Agents.
1 Neal Thos., jun., (agent to Smith, Redfearn, & Co., Sheffield,) Norfolk st
Wagstaffe Thos., (agent to Thos. Marrian, Sheffield,) High st
Brokers.
1 Green Charlotte, (clothes,) High st
1 Harrison John, (machine,) High st
Mitchell Wm., (furniture,) Mill Town
Brush Makers.
1 Bradshaw Robt., High st
1 Holroyd Matthew, High st
Butchers
Bramhall Thomas
1 Chadwick Joel, High st
1 Davies Wm., Chapel st
1 Fielding Thos., Bernard st
1 France John, High st
Longden John, Hill st
Newton James
1 Patchett Geo., High st
1 Platt Geo., High st
1 Rogers Jonth., High st
Schofield John, Hall st
1 Schofield Jph., Rose green
Shaw Robert
1 Siddall Jph., High st
1 Stafford Jno., Chapel st
1 Tarbatt Henry, High st
1 Wagstaffe Jno., High st
1 Wagstaffe Thos., High st
1 Wilde Mary, Charles st
1 Winterbotham Ed., High st
1 Woolley Geo., High st
Cabinet Makers and. Upholsterers.
1 Ashworth John, Rose Green
1 Booth Jno., (dlr.,) High st
1 Dyas Edw., High st
1 Smith John Bower, Norfolk sq
Calico Printers.
Dalton Thos. & Jno., Hollingworth
Potter Edmnd. & Co., Dinting Vale
Chemists & Druggists.
1 Booth Jno., (& stamp office) High st
Fielding Eliza
1 Hardman H. Chas.,High st
1 Kinder Jno,, High st
1 Tomlinson Wm., High st
1 Wreaks Thos. P., High st
Clog & Patten Makers,
1 Arrowsmith Jas., High st
1 Holroyd Math., High st
1 Marriott Jacob, High st
1 Sale James, High st
1 Swires Thos., High st
Coal Merchants.
At the Railway Wharf.
1 Armitage Thomas
1 Dunkirk Coal Co.; Edw, Buckley, agent
Goodwin John
1 Hadfield John, (&lime); h Rose Green
1 Hinchcliffe John Zachariah
1 Rhodes James
Confectioners.
1 Braddock Robt., High st
1 Crook Ambrose, High st.
1 Hancock Jas., Railway st
1 Hastington Jph., High st
1 Mellor Sarah, High st.
1 Newton James, High st.
1 Stevens Job, Norfolk st
1 Swindells Thos., High st,
Corn and Flour Dealers.
See Grocers.
Cotton Spinners & Mnfrs.
Marked * are Spinners only
Bramhall Wm., Knott
* Hadfield John, Cowbrook Mill
1 * Handforth John, Shepley Mill
Kershaw John, Hurst
Ratcliffe Jno H. Kinder Lee
Shepley Robt. and Jas.
* 1 Stafford Joseph and Co., Arundell st.
1 Sumner Fras., Wren Nest Mitt
* Sykes Thos. P., (& doubler) New Mills and Bee Hive Mills, Jersey st., Manchester
1 Wood John & Bros. High st
Winterbottom John, Water Mill
Curriers, Leather Cuttrs, and Grindery Dealers.
1 Mottram John S., High st,
1 Shepley Samuel, High st
Earthenware, Glass, &c, Dealers.
1 Shepley Samuel, High st
1 Simcock Josh. Railway st
Farmers.
1 Beeley John, Cross cliff
Bennett Saml., Dinting Vale
Cooper George, Dinting
Darwent Nathan
Fielding Geo., Hurst
Fielding John, Hurst
Garlick Joseph, Dinting
Garlick Thomas, Dinting
Garside Thos., Brown Hill
Goddard Jph, Blackshaw
Haigh Wm., Dinting
Hampson Jph., Sheffield rd
Jackson John, High Jumble
Longden John, Hurst
Marshall Rd., Dinting Vale
Newton William, Dinting
Oldham Jas., High Jumble
Peace James, Mossey Lea
Pickford James
Platt Benjamin, Dinting
Platt Thomas, Dinting
Rowbottom Jas., Lane head
Shephard Robert, Whitfield Barn
Sheppard William, Dinting Ashes
Siddall George, Heath
Storer Chas., Mossey Lea
Winterbottom George, Woodcock road
Wood Allen, Blackshaw
Wyatt Jph., Blackshaw
Fire and Life Offices.
1 Atlas, Daniel Woodhead, High st.
1 Liverpool & London, Thos, P. Wreaks, High st.
1 Manchester, Fras. Hawke, Henry st.
1 Pelican, Francis Hawke, Henry st.
1 Peoples' Provident, John Ashton & Son, High st.
1 Times, Jas. Slin, High st.
Green Grocers.
1 Hadfield Jph., Norfolk st
1 Heap John, Bernard st.
1 Jackson Sarah, High st.
1 Newton James, High st
Newton William, Dinting
1 Padley William, High st
Grocers, Corn, Flour, and Provision Dealers.
1 Band Henry, High st
1 Barnes Betty, High st.
1 Beeley John, High st.
1 Bowers Wm., High st.
1 Blunt John & Co., (Cooperative store) Norfolk st. John Hallows, manager
1 Bramwell Jas., High st
1 Collier Thomas, High st
1 Collier Thomas, High st
Creswell George
Darwent Joseph
1 Farrand Jph. Hy., High st.
1 Fielding Aaron, High st.
Fielding Eliza
1 Hampson John, High st.
1 Handford Jph., High st
Hobson H. &H., Dinting Vale
Hollingworth Benj., Dinting terrace
1 Irlam John, High st.
1 Jackson Thos., High st
1 Lawton James, High st
1 Lawton Wm., High st
1 Newton Geo., Norfolk sq
1 Newton Thos., High st
1 Robinson Saml., Norfolk st
1 Shallcross Jas., Edward st
1 Shaw Ann, High st.
1 Sheppard Wm., High st.
1 Smith William, High st,
1 Sykes Edwd., High st
1 Sykes Wm., Norfolk square
1 Wagstaff Aaron, Rose Green
1 Williamson William, (and draper and carter for hire) High st.
1 Wood Charles, High st
1 Woodhouse A. C. and Co., High st.
Hair Dressers.
1 Barber Owen, Railway st.
1 Earp Wm., High st.
1 Ellis Wm. Hy., Norfolk st.
1 Winterbottom Thomas, Norfolk st
Hat Manfrs. & Dealers.
1 Georgeson Geo, High st
1 Walker Jas., High st.
Hosiers.
1 Armitage Thos., High st
1 Atkinson Chas., High st.
1 Beard James, Rose Green
1 Beeley James, High st
1 Dyas Eliz., High st
1 Haydon Margt., High st
1 Stevens Job, Market st
Ironmongers.
1 Edleston Elijah, (& basket maker) High st
1 Greaves Benjamin, (& general smith) High st.
1 Lawton John, High st
1 Matthews Wm., High st.
1 Mottram Jno. S., High st.
1 Shepley Samuel, High st
Joiners and Builders.
1 Ashworth Jno., Rose Green
1 Bowden Wm., Bernard st
1 Fielding John, Surrey st,; h. The Hurst
1 Garside Cyrus, Shrewsbury st.
1 Jackson Wm., High st.
1 Platt John, Chapel st.
1 Simmons Geo., (& cabinet and coffin maker) High st, Shepley Bridge
1 Thorpe Geo., Norfolk st.
1 Wright Thos., George st.
Linen & Woollen Drprs.
1 Ashton John & Son, High st
1 Atkinson John, High st.
1 Beard Thos., High st.
1 Bowden Jph., High st.
1 Flint Henry, High st.
1 Hall John, High st.
Harrison Levi, Norfolk sq
Hollingworth Benjamin, Dinting terrace
1 Longson Robt., Norfolk sq
1 Sellars John, (trav.) Norfolk st.
1 Woffenden Geo. Bernard st.
Milliners.
Those Marked * are Straw Bonnet Makers.
Ashcroft Mary, Hall st.
1 Barret Jane, High st.
1 Bate & Hobson, High st.
1 Bowden Cath., High st.
1 Branwood Mrgt. Arundel st
1 Drabble Eliz. Charles st.
1 Greaves M., High st.
1 * Hampson Ann, High st.
1 Harrop Sarah, High st.
1 Higginbottom Martha A., High st.
1 Isherwood Mary Ann, Norfolk st.
1 Lloyd Elizabeth & Eliza, Norfolk square
1 Nall Ellen, Norfolk st.
1 * Smith Ellen, High st.
1 Wagstaffe Mary and Jane, High st.
1 Wood Martha, High st.
1 Yates Sarah Ann, Edward st
Music Profrs. & Dealers.
1 Mason Geo., Norfolk st.
1 Shaw John & Son, (and mnfrs.) High st.
Painters, Plumbers, and Glaziers.
Marked * are Painters only.
1 Bowden James, High st.
1 Isherwood John, Norfolk st
Littler Thos., Norfolk st.
1 * Robinson Geo., High st.
1 * Wagstaff Aaron, Rose green
1 Watson Thomas, High st.
Saddlers & Harness Mkrs
1 Judson Randall, High st.
1 Kelsall Wm., Norfolk st.
Shopkeepers.
1 Berry Joshua, Edward st.
Bowden George
Bowden Joseph
1 Brocklehurst Thos. Chapel st
Cook Ann, Mill Town
Cooper James
1 Goodwin Wm., High st.
1 Hand Nanny, High st.
Liney John, Hall st
Maloney Martha, Hall st
1 Massay Daniel, High st
Platt Thos., Dinting Vale
1 Roberts Samuel, High st
1 Roberts Wm., Edward st
1 Schofield Jas., Sheffield rd
Schofield John, Hall st
Sellars Robt., Norfolk st
1 Shepherd Abraham, Rose green
1 Shorrock Arthur, Junction
1 Sykes John, High st
1 Wilkinson Geo., High st
Winterbottom Jas., Hall st
Stone Masons and Builders.
1 Bradbury Jordan, Rose gr
1 Broadbent John, Rose gr
1 Moore Wm., Norfolk st
1 Nail Joseph, Norfolk st
Ramage James
Stafford John, Simmondley ln
1 Yates Matthew, Edward st
Surgeons.
1 Howard Wm. Wardlow, Norfolk st
Hunt Wm. & M. D., Cowbrook Cottage
1 Jackson Wm., High st
1 Rhodes Jas., High st
Tailors and Drapers.
Mrkd. * are Drapers.
1 Barber Joseph, Charles st
Bowden Francis
1 Clark John, Norfolk sq
Dewsnap Luke, New Town
1 * Dewsnap Robt., High st
1 Froggatt Thos., Rose Green
Hall James
1 Hall John, High st
1 Hall John, jun., High st
1 * Kelley John, High st
1 * Longson Robt., Norfolk sq
1 * Mc Mellon Wm., High st
1 * Mc William John & Co., Norfolk st
1 * Ollerenshaw Wm., High st
1 Shorrock, Arthur, Junction
1 Smith Geo., High st
1 Wood Robt., High st
Tallow Chandlers.
1 Sykes Edward, High st
1 Sykes Wm., Norfolk sq
Toy and Smallware Dlrs.
1 Bradshaw Robt., High st
1 Lomas David, High st
Waste, & Marine Store Dealers.
1 Jones Thos. B., Bernard st
1 Thornley John, Edward st
Watch & Clock Makers.
1 Barber Samuel, High, st
1 Minshull John, High st
Wheelwright.
1 Wood John, Charles st
Woollen Drapers.
1 Robinson Jph., Norfolk st
Wooffenden Thomas, Mill Town
Woollen Manufactr.
Robinson Jph., (Exectrs. of,) Gnathole Mill
Railway Conveyance.
Manchester, Sheffield, and Lincolnshire Railway station, Norfolk street, and Dinting. There are eight Passengers' & four Goods' trains each way, daily; W. Hy. Brain, station master, Norfolk street, and Alex, Maxwell, station master, Dinting
Carriers to Stockport.
Dewsnap John, Highgate Hill, Fri.
Higginbottom Jas., Charlesworth, Fri. and Manchester, Tues.

WHITFIELD, &c, DIRECTORY.
Those marked 1 reside at Charlestown, 2 Freetown, 3 Littlemoor, 4 Primrose, 6 Turnlee, and the rest at Whitfield, or where specified.
1 Allen Edward, manager at paper mills
3 Atkin Rev. Thomas, (Indept.)
Bardsley Jno., master of Hague's school
5 Bennett Chas. Wm., managing clerk
Bennett Joseph, wool carder and fur-blower, Turnlee Mills; h. Turnlee
3 Bosley Miss Ann
3 Brooks John, solicitor; h. Bank ter.
4 Cocking Geo., wheelwright
Dearnaley Mrs. Sarah
3 Dewsnap Joseph, candlewick maker
3 Ellis Thos., furniture broker
3 Fox Daniel, manager at paper mills
3 Goddard Mr. William
1 Goldsmith John, herbalist
3 Handford J., tailor
3 Harrop George, joiner
3 Kershaw Miss Margaret
3 Kershaw Samuel, paper dealer
3 Lawton John, tin plate worker
Longstone Thos., stone mason
3 Newton Wm., coal dealer
3 Robinson Ann, National schoolmistress
Sykes John, cotton doubler, Bridgefield Mill
3 Teague Rev. John, B.A., incumbent
3 Thompson Wm., cattle doctor
3 Warhurst Thos., felt maker
Wood John, cotton spinner, Whitfield Lodge
3 Wright John, inland rev. officer, Bank Ter
Inns and Taverns.
3 Albion. Joseph Hollingworth
Bee Hive, John Shaw
1 Commercial, John Shaw
3 Crown, George Hampson
1 Drovers Inn, Elizabeth Archer
Beerhouses.
3 Bradbury George
3 Clayton William
3 Howard Aaron
3 Johnson William
Taylor John
Brick Makers.
5 Rennet Joseph
Patchett George
Butchers.
3 Brooks John
4 Buckler Wm.
3 Hollingworth Jph.
Nield Daniel
2 Orme Samuel
2 Thornley Robert
Farmers.
3 Ashton Thos. S.
Bennett Joseph
4 Clayton William
Fielding Geo., Hurst
Fielding James
Fielding John, Hurst
Garside John
Garside Thomas
Hampson, John
4 Howard Thomas
Jackson John, High Jumble
5 Kershaw Samuel
Longdon John, Hurst
Nield Daniel
Oldham Jas., High Jumble
Robinson Kitty, Jumble
Robinson Samuel, (& plasterer)
Shepherd Robert, Whitfield Barn
Grocers, and Corn Dealers.
3 Bagshaw Joseph
3 Hadfield John, (& draper)
3 Higginbottom Anthy (& small ware dlr.)
3 Maltby Jacob
3 Smithies Henry
3 Thornley Robert
3 Waterhouse John
Milliners & Dress Makers
Newton Jane
2 Orme Martha
3 Waterhouse Ruth
Paper and Paste Board Makers, and Stainers.
5 lbbotson Thomas Hamer
1 Middleton Chpr. G.
4 Rumney Robert, (stainer only)
Shoemakers.
3 Bates Joseph.
3 Clark William
3 Goldthorpe Wm.
3 Hadfield John
Hadfield John
3 Lowe Moses
3 Nield Joseph
3 Thornley James
3 Winterbottom Robt.
Shopkeepers.
3 Bradbury George
3 Broadhurst Joseph
Doxon Christopher
3 Dyson David
3 Flint Joshua
3 Howard Aaron
4 Howard Thomas
Priestnall Hannah
2 Priestnall John
2 Wood Thomas
2 Woodcock Paul
Stone Getters.
Ford William
Hampson Thomas

CHARLESWORTH DIRECTORY.
Bancroft Nancy, schoolmistress
Bateman Rev. Charles, (Independent)
Booth Jas. & Bros., machine makers and iron founders
Booth John, druggist
Booth Sarah B., National school
Cooper Mr. Joseph
Goodwin Mary, milliner
Purcell Rev. Goodwin, incumbent
Rattray James Wilkin, schoolmaster
Rowbottom J., stone mason
Shepley Margaret, tanner
Inns and Taverns.
Bull's Head, Joseph Booth
George and Dragon, Martha Booth
Grey Mare, Joseph Beard
Horse Shoe, James Higginbottom
Beerhouses.
Bowden Joseph
Bradbury Mary
Marsden Robert
Rowbottom Mary
Shepley Thomas
Blacksmiths.
Beard Joseph
Hall Thomas
Butchers.
Booth Thomas
Goddard Samuel
Cotton Band Mkrs,
Booth George
Booth John
Cotton Spinners.
Marsland John & Bros. Best Hill
Ratcliffe John Harrison, Kinder Lee Mill
Waller Ralph & Co., Bank Wood mill
Farmers.
Bennett Samuel
Dewsnap Joshua,
Hall John
Handford Robert
Harrison James, Gamesley
Harrison, John, Gamesley
Oldham Joseph
Ratcliff John, Kinder Brook
Thorneley Robert, Gamesley
Wyld John
Shoemakers.
Beard Samuel
Garside William
Jackson David
Shepley Thomas
Shopkeepers.
Ashton Robert
Bancroft William
Booth Martha
Bradbury Mary
Butterworth Peter
Goodwin Ebenezer
Mellor George
Moss Athr., (& branch post office)
Tailors.
Bardsley Thomas
Dickson Thomas
Jackson Hy., Hargate
Shaw John
Wheelwrights.
Beard Joseph
Wood John
Carriers to Stockport.
Dewsnap John, Fri.
Higginbottom James, Fri., and Manchcsr, Tues.

CHISWORTH DIRECTORY.
Marked 1 are at Combs, 2 Holehouse, 3 Moorside, and 4 Sander's Lane.
Clayton James, colliery agent
Cooper Joseph and Sons, cotton spinners & manufacturers, Holehouse Mills
Jowett J. & J., colliery owners, Chisworth, Ludworth, and Dinting collieries
2 Taylor George, blacksmith
2 Wagstaff Mrs. Sarah
Inns and Taverns.
Commercial Inn, John Woodhouse
Queen's Arms, John Rowbottom, Chewood
Beerhouses.
Cooper George
Swindells George
Cotton Band Mfrs.
Rowbottom James, Chewood
Rowbottom John, Chewood
Farmers.
2 Booth Charles
1 Booth James
2 Booth Ralph
1 Booth Thomas
Cooper John, Hill Top
Cooper Joe, Hill Top
4 Jackson James
3 Rowbottom Moses
4 Rowbottom Soln. (& stone mason)
Shepley John
Sidebottom Mary
Stanney John
Thornely James
4 Thornely Mary Ann
4 Thornely Nancy
3 Thornely Samuel
Shoemakers.
Cooper John, Hill Top
3 Cooper Moses
Shopkeepers.
2 Booth Ralph, (and baker)
Harrison Wright

CHUNAL DIRECTORY.
Dewsnap Joseph, candlewick maker, Chunal Mill
Morton Abraham, stone mason
Robinson John, manager, Gnat Hole
Robinson Joseph, (Exors. of the late) woollen mfrs., Gnat Hole
Robinson Mrs. Mary
Farmers
Bramhall Jonathan
Bramhall Thomas
Hall Henry
Neild James
Nield John
Pickford Samuel, (& vict.), Horse Shoe
Robinson Joseph, (Exectrs. of,)
Rowbottom Abraham, (& beerhouse)
Simpson Harvey

HADFIELD TOWNSHIP.
Includes Waterside 1, and Woolley Bridge 2.
Post Office Receiving house, at Joseph Garlick's, Waterside. Letters despatched at 4.45 p.m.
Foster Rev. Wm., (Wesleyan)
Hadfield John & Co., coal dealers, and manufacturers of fire bricks, glazed pipes, &c.
Lee James, skewer and bobbin turner
Lister Thos. E., master of Wesleyan Day school
Marsden Rev. Geo., (Wesleyan)
Mason Joseph, furniture & clothes broker
Norminton John, druggist
Pickford James, station master
Robinson Joseph, confectioner
2 Shepley Samuel, gent.
1 Sidebottom S., surgeon
2 Stansfield John, plumber & glazier
Woodhead Joseph, news agent
Inns and Taverns.
Anchor, Joseph Garlick
1 Commercial, John Tweed
Palatine, John Bond
Spinners' Arms, William Harwood
2 Spread Eagle, John Sykes
Beerhouses.
2 Crowther Wm.
Kidd Aquila, (and blacksmith)
Mills Henry
Smith Howarth
Wadsworth Leonard
Wroe William
Butchers
1 Dewsnap John
Garlick Joseph
Newton Richard
1 Sugden John
2 Sykes John
Clog and Patten Makers.
Bell James
Eastwood John
Shufflebotham Jph.
Cotton Spinners, and Mnfrs.
2 Lees Henry
Platt Thos. & Edwd., (& Padfield)
2 Rhodes Thomas
Shepley John & Wm, Brookfield
1 Sidebottom John & Wm and James
Farmers
1 Bradbury Wm.
Bray Henry
Newton Richard
Nield Thomas
Sheppard Jas., Top-o-the-Hill
Grocers, and Corn Dealers.
Band Jas., (& drugst.)
1 Bradbury Wm.
Bradshaw James
Brown Robert
1 Chatterton John
Cox James
Co-Operative Stores, John Broadbent & Company
1 Eastham George
2 Hampson Hannah
Marshall Robert
2 Platt John
2 Ridgeway John
1 Sykes Edward
2 Sykes Mary
Warhurst John
Warhurst Thomas
2 Woodcock Joseph
Joiners &Builders.
Warhurst James
2 Wheatley Benjn.
Linen Drapers.
1 Bradbury Wm.
2 Brown James
1 Chatterton John
Cox James
Howarth James
Warhurst John
Milliners.
Georgeson Ann J,
Warhurst Alice
Shoemakers.
Dutton John, Bank Bottom
Phair Matthew
1 Radcliffe Jonathan
Shopkeepers.
Barker William
Lee Joshua
Tailors.
Cawkill John
Gill Charles
Harris John
Railway Conveyance.
M. S. & Lincolnshire Railway Station. Trains betw. Manchester and Sheffield, 7 each way, daily; Jas. Pickford, station master.

LUDWORTH DIRECTORY.
Post Office, at Matthew Tym's, Compstall road; Letters arrive from Stockport at 8, a.m., and are despatched at 5.45 p.m.
Marked 1, reside at Compstall road; 2, Marple Bridge; 3, Mill Brow; and 4, Stirrup.
Andrew Charles, Esq., Springwood
Andrew George and Son, calico printers and manufacturers, Compstall mills
Andrew George, Esq., Ernscroft
1 Arnfield John, overlooker
Bardsley Hy., cotton spinner, Mill clough
2 Battley Samuel, surgeon
2 Benson Rev. Jas. Wm., (Independent)
Bostock Mr. John, Broadbottom, Cheshire
Docker Elizabeth, baker
2 Gee Daniel, leather cutter
Hibbert Joseph, wood turner
Hyde Edw. Clarendon, schoolmaster
1 Lee Robert, iron & tin plate worker
Ratcliffe Jph., cotton spinner and manufacturer, Hempfield Cottage
1 Sherwin Ralph, bookkeeper
2 Taylor William, blacksmith
1 Thornley Mrs. Hannah
2 Tomlinson Miss Ellen Ann
Wood Ralph and James, bleachers, Broad-stones
Inns and Taverns.
1 George Inn, Sarah Dean
2 Hare and Hounds, Wm. Taylor
Hare & Hounds, Joel Hamilton, Mill Brow
2 Horse Shoes, John Wright
2 Norfolk Arms, Charles Hydes
2 Railway Inn, Robert Fox
Rock Tavern, John Cooper
1 Spring Gardens, Caleb Warhurst
Beerhouses.
Bennett James, Mill Brow
1 Cooper John
Higginbotham Wm.
1 Holden Samuel
2 Kirk John
1 Matley Samuel
Platt Hannah
1 Tymm Joseph
2 Wood William
Blacksmiths.
2 Beesley Joseph
2 Taylor Wm
Butchers.
2 Ardern Robert
1 Woolley Wm.
Coal Masters.
Jowett J. & J., Ludworth, Chisworth, and Dinting Collieries
Tymm Joseph, Marple Colliery
Corn Millers.
2 Fox Robert
2 Hibbert Emanuel
Dress Makers.
1 Davies Ann
1 Swindells Sarah
Druggists.
1 Olliver Samuel
2 Tomlinson William
1 Warhurst Horatia
Farmers.
Bradley Geo. Sun Hill
3 Cooper Betty
Dawson Jas., Benches
3 Dawson Esther
Dawson F. & S., Benches
Fernley Robert, Lane Ends
2 Fox Nathaniel
Hall John, Benches
Hamilton Martha, Hollins
Harrison Moses, Arnicroft
Howard John
Hyde Wm., Mill Brow
3 Jackson Peter
2 Kirk John
Livesley Thomas
Longden Robt. Do, Smithy lane
2 Platt James
2 Platt Joshua
3 Taylor James
Wild John, Mill Brow
Wood Mary, Mill Brow
Wood Ralph, Arnicroft
Wood Ralph & James, Broadstones
Plumbers.
2 Middleton Richard
2 Middleton Robert
Shoemakers.
1 Beard John
2 Beard William
1 Harrison David
1 Openshaw Joel
2 Rathbone John
Renshaw Isaac, Mill Brow
1 Shaw William
2 Wain William
Shopkeepers.
2 Ardern Robert
Baxter Maria H.
1 Chadwick Henry
1 Cooper John
2 Fox Robert
2 Gee Betty
Co-operative Stores, Gibson, Sherwin, & Co., proprietors
Higginbottom James
1 Hootun Francis
2 Kirk John
Platt Hannah
2 Platt Joshua
1 Ratcliffe William
2 Rathbone John
1 Rowbottom William
1 Shallcross Esther
1 Warhurst Horatio, (and draper)
Spade and Shovel Makers.
Yardwood Richard
Yardwood Samuel
Tailors & Drapers.
2 Gibbons Isaac
1 Longley Josiah
2 Longley William
1 Oliver Abel
Wood Samuel
Wheelwghts, and Joiners.
Fox Henry
2 Lawton Jonas
Omnibus.
To Stockport, from the Spring Gardens Tavern, every Friday, at 9 a.m., and Saturday at 4 p.m., C. Warhurst, prop.

PADFIELD DIRECTORY.
Clifton Jonas, tailor
Ellis Samuel, butcher,
Fielding William, vict., and shoe dealer, Peel's Arms
Greaves Mrs. Jane, Hawthorne Cottage
Platt George, gent.
Rushby Mrs. Mary
Beerhouses.
Barlow Mary, Bross Croft
Booth Ralph
Siddall John
Cotton Spinners & Manufactrs.
Lees Samuel
Platt Thos. & Edwd., (& Hadfield Lodge)
Farmers.
Garlick George
Hadfield Mary
Jackson Solomon
Oldfield Mark, Deep Clough
Stubbs Joseph, Deep Clough
Roberts Jno. H., Bross Croft
Shoemakers.
Hinchcliff William, Bross Croft
Jackson Solomon
Shopkeepers.
Buckley Philip, Bross Croft
Robinson Cornelius
Siddall Joseph, Bross Croft

SIMMONDLEY DIRECTORY.
Dale William, vict, Angel
Dewsnap John, blacksmith
Dewsnap John, stone mason
Dewsnap Moses, beerhouse
Hadfield Mrs., Lees Hall
Jackson Levi, rope and twine manufacturer, Hobroyd
Lyne William, cotton band maker
Robinson Joseph, joiner
Scholes Isaac, shoemaker
Scholes William, butcher and shoemaker
Smithys Henry, shopkeeper
Farmers.
Bennett Randal
Bennett William
Beresford Samuel, Hobroyd
Bradley John
Buckley George
Dearnley William
Hage John
Higginbottom Joseph
Hill James
Jackson James
Jackson Susannah
Robinson Joseph, Hobroyd
Rowbottom George
Short James
Taylor Sarah

CHINLEY DIRECTORY.
Those marked 1 are at Bugsworth, and 2 Brownside, and the rest Chinley.
Barnes Mr. Joseph, Daisy Bank
Glossop Rev. Ebenezer, (independent)
1 Hadfield Thomas, coal owner
Harrison Ralph, cotton waste dealer
Hudson Robert, joiner & wheelwright
Hughes John, paper manfr.
Hughes Joseph & Son, paper manfrs.
1 Pott John, canal agent
1 Sattersfield Robert, lime burner
Wright John, road surveyor
Inns and Taverns.
1 Bull's Head, John Ford
2 Cross Keys, Josiah Barber
Crown, Joseph Simpson
Lamb, Isaac Porritt
1 Navigation Inn, Dnl. Hodgson, (& grocer)
Academies.
Parochial, Wm. Middleton
1 Wesleyan, David Bradburn
Blacksmiths.
1 Jackson John
Kirk George
Boot & Shoe Mkrs.
1 Drinkwater Joseph
Goddard Samuel
1 Lutman John B,
Wright John
Yeomans Wm.
Cotton Spinners & Manufacturers.
Lingard & Redfern
Makinson John Henry & Co., Bugsworth Mill
Riley William
Farmers.
Barnes James
2 Barnes Philip
Bennett James
2 Bradburn Samuel
1 Braddock Joseph & John
Bramwell Thomas
1 Broadhurst Wm.
Brocklehurst John
1 Carrington Anthony
Cooper George
1 Cresswell James
1 Cresswell Robert
1 Drinkwater Henry
1 Drinkwater Samuel
1 Drinkwater Thomas
1 Drinkwater Wm.
Goddard George
Goddard James, Mosley House
1 Goddard James, (& butcher)
Goddard Thomas
Goddard John, (& butcher)
Goddard Samuel
1 Gold John
Gregory Stephen
2 Hadfield Eliz.
2 Hadfield James, (& quarry owner)
Hadfield Joseph
Handford Henry
1 Hartle Joseph
2 Kinder John
Kirk George
Lingard Joseph
2 Lomas Wm.
Lowe Peter, (& quarry owner)
Marriott Joseph
Pearson George
Porritt John
Porritt Samuel
Porritt Wm.
1 Shirt Charles
Simpson Joseph
1 Trueman John
Waterhouse James
1 Whitehead John
2 Yates Robert
Yates Wm.
Shopkeepers.
Hadfield George
1 Simpson John
1 Stafford Wm.
Stonemasons.
Goddard James, Mosley House
Goddard Joseph
Goddard Thomas
Porritt John
Tailors.
2 Bradburn Samuel
Porritt Isaac
1 Wild Thomas
Carriers.
(To Stockport.)
James Cresswell and S. Gregory, Friday

HAYFIELD TOWNSHIP.
Marked 1, are at Kinder; 2, Great Hamlet; and 3, Phoeside.
Post Office, at Mrs. Rachel Quarmby's, George Inn; letters arrive from Stockport at 8 15 a.m., and are despatched at 6 p.m.
2 Bennett Wm., twine maker
2 Bennett Wm., manager
3 Bowden Mr. Joseph
2 Brook Rev. Wm. John, B.A., incumbent
2 Clark Wm. D., Esq.
1 Gibbs James Law, manager, Print works
3 Hall Mr. Amos
Helps Rev. Wm. S., academy
2 Lees John & Thomas, trimming mfrs.
2 Lucas Mr. Edward
2 Lyne David, painter and glazier
2 Marriott John, gent
2 Marriott Mr. Robert
2 Marriott Mrs. Sarah
2 Marriott Thomas, gent.
2 Marriott Wm., schoolmaster
2 Massey Abm., schoolmaster & stationer
2 Melling Jph., patten & clog maker
3 Richardson Wm., manager
2 Shaw Wm., green grocer
2 Slack Robert & Brothers, paper mfrs.
2 Taylor Peter, brazier & tinman
2 Turner George, cooper
2 Ufford John, inland rev. officer
2 Waterhouse Martha, draper
3 Waterhouse Samuel, gent.
2 Waterhouse Wm., tailor
White John, Esq., Park Hall
3 Wild James, poor rate collector
2 Wild Jas., surgeon, M.R.C.S., L.S.A.
Woolley John, gamekeeper, Hall
Yates Wm., gardener, Hall
Inns and Taverns.
2 Bull's Head, Wm. Gee
3 George, Rachel Quarmby
3 Grouse, John Hall
2 New Inn, Joseph Bowden
2 Pack Horse, Joe Bowden
Beerhouses.
2 Bennett George
2 Handford John
2 Hurst John
3 Rangley Esther
3 Stafford John
2 Turner Joseph
1 Warrington John
2 Waterhouse Samuel
Blacksmiths.
2 Brocklehurst James
3 Porritt Ralph
Boot & Shoe Mkrs
2 Bennett George
2 Hadfield Samuel
2 Turner Joseph
3 Walker James
2 Walker Wm.
Butchers.
3 Eyre Thomas
2 Eyre Thomas
2 Hudson,Thomas
2 Lee James
2 Turner Wm.
2 Wilden Wm.
Calico Printers.
Bennett Jph., (Exrs. of the late) Birch Vale
1 Kinder Printing Co., Turner, Norris and Turner
3 Monteith John & Co
Cotton Band Mfrs.
3 Bowden John and Benjamin
3 Turner Levi
2 Turner Robert
Cotton Spinners.
2 Armfield Joseph
Hibbert & Alcock, Clough Mills
Farmers.
2 Armfield John
2 Ashton John
2 Ashton Wm.
2 Barber John
1 Bennett Edward
2 Bennett Edward
1 Bennett James
3 Bennett Robert
1 Bradbury James
Bradbury Joseph, Coldwell Clough
2 Bradbury Joseph
2 Brierley Henry
3 Brocklehurst S., (& cattle dealer)
3 Brocklehurst Wm.
2 Fieldsend Wm.
1 Gee Francis
1 Gee John & Thomas
2 Goddard Joel
3 Goddard John
3 Goddard Joseph
2 Hadfield Maria
1 Hall Micah
2 Hall Samuel
2 Hallam Joseph
3 Hatfield Martha
2 Hibbert Thomas
2 Hurst John
2 Hurst Samuel
2 Lomas John
1 Marriott John, South Head
1 Marriott John, jun.
1 Marriott Samuel
2 Marriott Thomas
1 Marsland Henry, (& gamekeeper)
2 Mason Thomas
2 Middleton James
3 Morton John
2 Pickford Samuel
2 Platt Sarah
2 Pott John
3 Rangley Caleb
2 Rose Jonathan
1 Simpson John
2 Taylor Wm.
2 Thorpe Thomas
3 Turner Thomas
3 Warrington Jermh.
1 Wilcockson John
2 Wild Hannah
2 Wilson Benjamin
Grocers & Drapers
2 Handford John
3 Rangley Caleb
3 Rowbottom James
2 Walker John, (& druggist)
Woodcock Joseph
Joiners & Buildrs.
3 Mason Joel
2 Wheatcroft Joseph
Shopkeepers.
2 Bowden Joseph
2 Bradbury Robert
2 Charlesworth Geo.
3 Eyre Thomas
2 Redfern Henry, (& baker)
2 Stafford Robert
2 Trivett Thomas
2 Warhurst Robert
2 Wheatcroft Joseph
Stone Masons.
2 Armfield John
2 Pursglove Benj,
2 Pursglove Thomas
2 Warrington George, (& quarry owner)
Wheelwrights.
3 Hampson Wm.
3 Rangley Jonah
Woollen Manfrs
Eyre George, Walk Mills
3 Howard Wm.
Carriers.
(To Stockport.)
Barber, Tuesday and Friday; and C. Rangley, Friday

MELLOR TOWNSHIP.
Post Office, at John Bower's; letters arrive from Stockport at 9 a.m., and are despatched at 5 p.m.
Those marked 1 reside at Bradshaw, 2 Chatterton Lane, 2½ Cheetham Hill, 3 Cobden Edge, 4 Copstone, 5 Higher Cliff, 6 Holly Vale, 7 Holly Wood, 8 Longhurst Lane, and 9 Tardern.
Arnfield Mr. James,
Freeman Rev. Matthew, incumbent
Gibbs George, farm bailiff
Hambleton George, bobbin and skewer mkr
Jowett Jonthn,, Esq., colliery owner, Lower Hall
Lees James, Esq., Townscliffe
Leighton Wm., blacksmith, Moor End
Moult John, Esq., The Hall
Parkes Thomas, bookkeeper
9 Potts James, plasterer
6 Ratcliffe Hugh Goddard, cotton spinner
6 Ratcliffe Samuel, cotton spinner
Ratcliffe Thomas, cotton spinner; h. Damstead
4 Stafford John, stone mason
3 Tomlinson Mrs. Ellen
5 Turner Misses Elizabeth and Jane
Waller Thomas, Esq.
Wheeldon Joseph, manager at Cotton mills
Whitaker Mr. John, Stawberry hill
Inns and Taverns.
Church Inn, Jas. Longson, (& wheelwright)
Devonshire Arms, Samuel Oldham
Duke of Sussex, Hugh Stanney
2 Hare and Hounds, John Hudson
Holly Wood, Mary Bennett
Lamb Inn, John Neald, Hollins Moor
2½ Miners' Arms, Joshua Rose
Odd Fellows' Arms, Wm. Higginbottom
8 Royal Oak, John Hambleton
Academies.
Shallcross Joseph
Wilde Martha
Bleachers.
Wood Ralph &James
Butchers.
Bradbury James
Turner Aaron, (and beerhouse)
Cotton Spinners.
Burton and Fullerton, Mill Clough
Clayton John. & Co, Bottoms Hall
Ratcliffe Samuel and Brothers, (& manufacturers,) Holly Vale, and Damstead Mills
Waller Thomas, junr., Dove Bank Mills
Farmers.
Beard Saml., Hill Top
1 Beard William
Bennett Mary
Bowden James
Bradbury Joseph
1 Broom Isaac
Brown John, Lower Cliff
Collier John, Cross Gates
Drinkwater Thomas, Meadows
2 Gee Samuel
1 Hall George
3 Hadfield Charles
Hadfield Jas., Shiloh
Hambleton Elijah
Hambleton Thomas
Handford Joseph
Hibbert William
Higginbottom John, Gun
Hyde Ralph, Damstead
Johnson Jacob, Shaw
King William
3 Lowe George
2½ Middleton, Joseph
4 Middleton Rosey
Moss Jph., Knowle
5 Moult Wm. Jackson
Oldham Susannah & Elizh., Heathley Bank
Ollerenshaw David, Birchenhough
Pickford Joseph
Redford James, Lee
Richardson Francis, Appletree
Richardson Jno. Green Clough
Richardson My., Windybottom
2½ Rose Joshua
9 Stafford Obadiah
Stanney Hannah, Common Hill
Storer Joshua
Swann Joseph, Whitmore Hurst
Wadsworth Eli
Waller Thomas, jun., Lark Hill
Williamson Samuel
7 Wood John
Woolley Jas. Stanney, Green Hill
Shoemakers.
Pott Isaac
Sayer Thomas
8 Spilsbury John
3 Stafford Jabez
Wood James
Shopkeepers.
Arnfield John
Bower John, (& drpr.), Bank Top
8 Cooper Sarah
7 Hyde John
6 Thornely Sarah
Waterhouse John
Wild Jane
Carrier to Stockport
James Bowden, Fri.

NEW MILLS CHAPELRY.
Marked 1 are at Beard; 2, Ollersett; 3, Thornsett; 4, Rowarth; and the rest at Whitle, or where specified.
Post Office, at Mr. Robert Collier's; letters arrive from Stockport by mail, (gig) at 7 45 a.m., and are despatched at 6 45 p.m. Money Orders are granted and paid from 9 a.m. to 5 30 p.m.

NEW MILLS DIRECTORY.
Baldwin Joseph, manufacturing chemist
Barnes Mrs. Mary, Torr Top
Bennett Mrs Ann, High Lee
Bennett Peter, apothecary
Bennett Richard, gent.
2 Bennett Mr. Thomas
2 Carr Thomas, gent, Highfield
Cattle Rev. Henry, (Wesleyan)
Clayton Jph., manager Strines Printing Co.
Collier Robert, bookseller and printer
Faulkner John, bellman
4 Ford John, paper manfr., Grove
Gartside James, hairdresser
Hadfield James, trav. draper
Harrison Job & Betty, master & matron, Union Workhouse
Hawkesley Rev. Robt. J. T., (Wesleyan)
Heaton Evan, bookkeeper
Johnson John, general dealer
Lee Rev. Matthew, (prim, methodist)
Marshall George, colliery agent
Mason Henry, machine broker
1 Mellor John, wood steward
Moseley George, auctioneer & appraiser
O'Donald Rev. Bernard, catholic priest
Pearson George, saddler
Pearson John, coach proprietor
Poyser Mrs. Elizabeth
Ratcliffe Robert, attorney
Rigg Rev. John, M.A., incumbt. Parsonage
Simon Rev. Samuel, (Independent)
1 Slater John, clerk to the Union Workhouse
Smith Daniel, bookkeeper
Swann Jph., working manager, Gas Works
2 Taylor John, land agent & surveyor, Highfield House
Waterhouse Emma, straw bonnet maker
Wright Jph., plumber, glazier & gas fitter
Yates Mrs. Elizabeth
Yates Mrs. Sarah, Rook Cottage
Inns and Taverns.
Bull's Head, John Higginbottom
Cook, Fanny Sidebottom
Crown Commercial Inn, Richard Brayne
Dog & Partridge, John Allen
Fox, James Moult, Brookbottom
George & Dragon, Mary Knight
Grapes, John Bates
Green Man, Joseph Joule
4 Hare & Hounds, Samuel Broadhurst
4 Lime Cart, Samuel Carrington
4 Little Mill, Mary Nield
Mason's Arms, John Hibbert
Pack Horse, John Tomlinson
3 Printers' Arms, Samuel Harrison
White Hart, John Marshall
Academies.
4 Brierley Joseph
Catholic, Jph. O'Brian
National, (St. Geo.'s) John and Frances Fallows
3 Parochial, Benjamin Hiles
Simons Mary Cath.
Bakers
Small Wm.
Warren Peter
Beerhouses
2 Bartley Wm.
Hibbert Thomas
3 Wyatt Joseph
Blacksmiths
Higginbottom James
Higginbottom John
3 Liddard Thomas
Wyatt Joseph, (and machinist and agricultural implement maker,) Bridge st
Bleachers.
4 Turner Robert Anderton
2 Wild Samuel
Boot & Shoe Mkrs.
Benton Israel
3 Bowden John
Brown Samuel
Gregory George
Gregory John
Hague Benjamin
3 Heathcote Thomas
Taylor James
2 Wheatley Joseph
Willans John
Butchers.
Marked * are Pork
Brown Abraham
Coates John
* Cooper Job
* Goddard Heskey
3 Harrison Thomas
Sidebottom Eliz.
Sidebottom Robert
Calico Printers
2 Bennett John, Birch Vale
2 Bennett Jph. (Exrs. of) Birch Vale
2 Broadhurst William, Birch Vale; ho. Ravenslack House
Ingham James, Watford Bridge, (& 36, York street, Manchester) h. Watford Villa
Strines Co., J. Clayton, manager
Yates Charles, Rock Print Works
Candle Wick Mfrs.
Bagshaw Joseph
Chadwick Thomas
Froggatt Joseph
Godward John
Moult Thos. & James, Wood End
4 Rowbottom John
Wainwright James, (spinner)
Clog & Patten Mks
Sugden Robt. Bates
Williamson Wm.
Coal Masters.
3 Bradbury Joseph
2 Brocklehurst Joseph & Co.
2 Hall Levi & Elijah, Burnt Edge Colliery
3 Jowett Jonathan
Cotton Band Mfrs.
Chadwick James
Chadwick Thomas
Goddard Joseph
Godward John
1 Stafford John
Stafford Joseph, Salem Mills
Cotton Spinners.
Marked * are Mnfrs also.
* Hibberts & Alcock, Torr mill
Shepley George, (and doubler) Torr Top mill
Stafford Joseph, Salem mills
Thornley Marianna, Beard mill
* Wharmby George
Wyatt, Walker and Clayton, (and roving manufacturers), St. George's works
Curriers, &c.
Edge Wm. (& tanner)
Jackson John
Drapers.
Arnfield Thomas
Hadfield William
Hibbert Caroline
Ingham Jas. & Son
Thorniley Brothers, High st.
Thorniley Joseph
Sidebottom. Wm
Simister Robert
Earthenware &c Dealers.
Porter William
Simcock Enoch
Engravers (Calico Printers)
1 Bennett Robert
Ready Samuel Wellington, St. George’s works
Simpson Joseph
Farmers.
Arnfield Thomas
4 Ashton William
Beard John
Beard Samuel
Bennett James
3 Bennett Thomas
Berry Thomas
Bowden James
Bower Ralph
Hannah Mary
4 Bray John.
1 Broadhurst Samuel
Brayne Richard
1 Brunt George
4 Burgess John
Chadwick William
2 Dale John
3 Dearnaly Jph. And Wm., Aspenshaw
4 Drinkwater John.
1 Drinkwater Thos.
1 Fearnally George
Froggatt Thomas
4 Froggatt William
Goddard Joseph
Gould Matthew
4 Hadfield James
Hall Levi and Elijah
Hall William
1 Handford Henry
1 Handford John
1 Handford Joseph
1 Handford Thomas
3 Harrison Thomas
4 Hatfield Charles
4 Hatfield Maria
4 Hibbert Thomas
Higginbottom Eli
Higginbottom John
Higginbottom John
4 Higginbottom Peter
4 Higginbottom Saml.
2 Hill Samuel
2 Hopwood John
3 Howe James
4 Howe James
4 Howe John
2 Hudson David
Jones Rachael
Joule Joseph
3 Kinder —
2 Livesley Charles
Marshall William
Mellor John
Martin Hannah
Oldham Abner
1 Owen John
1 Pearson Jph., Hall
1 Pearson William
4 Pickford Samuel
4 Reece Peter
4 Reece William
4 Rowbottom Wm,
2 Shaw James
4 Shaw Thomas
Shovelbottom John, (and quarry owner)
Sidebottom Robert
Stafford Charles
1 Stafford John
4 Stafford Jonathan
Stafford Joseph
Swann Samuel
4 Sykes James
1 Taylor George
Thorpe James
2 Torkington Charles
3 Wild Benjamin
4 Wild Daniel
Wild William, Lower Slack
Fire & Life Offices
General, William Sidebottom
Manchester, Robert Ratcliffe
3 Royal, John M. Mosley
Star, Robert Collier
Green Grocers.
Arnfield Jonathan
Bennett Jonathan
Middleton James
Grocers and Corn Dealers
Marked * are Druggists also.
Arnfield Ann
Arnfield Thomas
Berry James
Bridge Charles
Bridge John G.
Chadwick Thomas
Crowther Ann
Handford John
Heap Ellen
* Hibbert Caroline
Kimer Thomas
* Sidebottom William
Warren Peter
Waterhouse Joseph
Waterhouse —
3 Wyatt Joseph
Hat Manufactrs.
Arnfield Samuel
Thornley Joseph
Horse & Gig Lettrs
3 Harrison Thomas
Sidebottom Robert
Iron and Brass Founders
Bradbury Charles
Bradbury Chas., junr.
Ironmongers
Marked * are Nail makers also.
* Bagshaw Joseph
* Mullaney John
Warren Joseph
Joiners
Hibbert Thomas
Howard Joseph
Pursglove John
Redfern Geo. Alfred
Waterhouse John
Milliners, &c
France Ann
Kimer Ann
Pursglove Margt.
Swann Mary
Waterhouse Emma
News Agents
Cooper Thomas
Pool Thomas
Painters.
Alsop Joseph.
Mc Bride J.
Shopkeepers
Ardern Mary
Ashton Thomas
Ashworth Hannah
Beard John
Beard John, jun.
Carrington William
Ellison Thomas
Ernhill Maria
3 France Robert
2 Frost Mary
Green Maria
Hadfield Thomas
Hibbert Charles
4 Hulme John
Johnson John
Mellor Tom
3 Molyneux Rachael
Porter William
Simister William
Smith Sarah
Warren John
Stone Masons.
2 Batley William
Frith William
Goddard William
Mason Robert
Potts Thomas
Stafford Chas. and Obadiah
Stafford John
Sutcliffe Isaac
Wild Samuel
Surgeons.
Jackson Thos. Rd.
3 Mosley John Michael
Tailors and Dprs.
Berry John
Boyle George
4 Froggatt Wm,
Hibbert James
Hibbert Joseph, Market st. and Disley
Higginbottom Wm.
Hulton Nathan
Longson William, Market st.
Murray Michael
O’Hara Thomas
Thorniley Brothers, High st.
Woolley Joseph
Tin Plate Workers
Hall Samuel
Mc Rae George
Watch. and Clock Makers.
Gill James
Smith Hny. Alfred
Wheelwrights
Broadhurst Thomas
Hampson James
Pearson Stephen
Coaches
To Manchester, The Mercury, from the Dog and Partridge, daily, at 8.30, a.m., John Pearson, proprietor
Carriers, to Stockport.
Barber Thomas, Tu., Wed., & Fri.
Smith Thomas, Tu.
Wild Jas. & Benj., Tu., Wed., & Fri.

Navigation

Button image GJH.me Home Page. Button image History Resources Page.


Last updated: 2 May 2017